Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2017
Wi Fi was not good at all. Back at cabin none at all Ants in cabinet
Sep 24, 2017
The campground is in the heart of the beautiful smokey mountains. It is fully paved although some pavement and curbs could use repair. It is apparent that they are working on beautification projects. But overall if you're looking for pure scenery without the glitz this is the place. We will definitely be back !
Sep 24, 2017
I Love this place! I Love the Cherokee Reservation, whitewater rafting and the Train Ride. I have visited this Campground again and again over the years. This Campground should be a "Destination"! The mountain views are incredible.
Sep 24, 2017
We stayed for one night but we got what we were looking for, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Will definitely be coming back!
Sep 23, 2017
We had an excellent stay. The facility was well keep and the staff was very helpful and polite. The restrooms were clean and well keep "looked new". I would recommend two items for the men's restroom and showers, one not enough hooks in the shower cannot hang towel, clothes and other needs on one hook. Second, lights should be in front over the mirrors, currently a shadow is cast on ones face.
Sep 23, 2017
Our stay was amazing! There was plenty for us to right on the campground. The only issue I really had was that certain amenities that were listed on the website and in the paper I received when we arrived were no longer there for example they have removed the putt putt course. Other than that it was a fantastic week. The staff is absolutely amazing and very friendly.
Sep 23, 2017
I've visited this KOA for 20 years and love it. But this visit we had a few issues, one day 3 staff members cut across our campsite at least a dozen times to clean the cabin behind ours. One woman even stopped on our patio to check her phone for a few mintues. Also, while the cabin was amazing the sheet had stray random hairs and felt unclean, and the floors were very dirty. I still love this KOA.
Sep 22, 2017
We called and asked if we could come in a day early since we were victims of the Hurricane Irma, and still had no power. We arrived to find out that that one additional night was going to cost us $205 more. That's ridiculous. We were supposed to be in a deluxe cabin. Our cabin was far from deluxe. No one had even bothered to clean the patio area, wash the tables or chairs or get all of the cobwebs
Sep 22, 2017
Staff is awesome and super friendly.
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This was our third visit to Cherokee KOA! We love it here and will be returning soon!
Sep 21, 2017
Our space was too small for our rv, Cable was snowy the whole time we were there. Reported it to a KOA workcamper who smiled and said "Yeah..mine is like that at my camper too". Another one told me it was because of the storm,weather was good, hurricane was in Florida, not NC. Internet did not work unless we were in the store. Worst experience ever. Will not recommend to anyone.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
A beautiful clean park. Nice spacious lots with lots of trees. The swimming pool was wonderful, clean and heated. The hot tub was a great surprise and the heated water in it was perfect for my sore Fibromyalgia muscles. The dog play area was another surprise and loved to watch them play. We plan to come back again next year. Thank you for a great visit.
Sep 21, 2017
We stayed here one night on our way home from a 44 day trip through 20 States and 5 Canadian Provinces. It was our 21st KOA on this trip and 48th in the last three years. This is a nice Campground and we would recommend it, and more than likely we will be back ourselves.
Sep 20, 2017
Nice campground, lots of activities for kids. Nice pool area. Great service, someone was always about maintaining the property. Our bathroom was newly redone and the best we used on our 3 week trip.
Sep 20, 2017
We love staying in the cabins at KOA campgrounds, and Cherokee is now added to our favorite list. The particular cabin we stayed in (387) was newer and not as equipped in the kitchen as your website indicated. Not a big deal! We purchased a few items that we left behind for others to use. Other than that, we had a wonderful time - love the Smokies and all that it has to offer. Thank you!
Sep 20, 2017
EVERYONE WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AS ALWAYS. CAMPGROUND WAS CLEAN AND NEAT AS ALWAYS.
Sep 20, 2017
Overall a good stay. Wished the outdoor pool could have been open. Weather was beautiful and hot! Sad the putt putt course was torn up...heard it wasn't a money maker. The store was crowded with the outdoor area closed that usually handles the bike rentals. The bathroom near the playground near the back need a updating.
Sep 20, 2017
The campground, the staff & amenities were great. Service was good & punctual. Our cabin was very nice, had fresh linens, but missing a few kitchen utensils. Our only complaint was with the reservation desk. Asking about the need for a fishing permit at the nearby trout farms, were told absolutely yes! 3 permits and $33 later + $79 at the trout farm, we found out it was false.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Awesome
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
My family hasn't been here on 10 years. Bathhouse wasn't as nice and they stop movies on Labor Day. We use to come in October and more was going on then. When I booked the site I wasn't offered KOA rewards. But after the stay I'm glad I didn't get it. There were gun shots right outside the campground at 3am the first night and 8 pm the second night. No one that worked there had any clue about it.
Sep 20, 2017
Cabins weren't very clean-fairly clean, but not very. Cabin had an odd smell. The screen on the door was broken. We thought we were getting a cabin on the water/river, but instead we were a row back, behind RV's. Bathrooms were very clean and nice/new. Staff were kind and helpful. It would be nice if the cabins, RV's, and tents were in totally separate areas...for ambiance. Cool bounce area for ki
Sep 20, 2017
I love coming to the KOA in Cherokee it is always clean and beautiful surroundings.The staff that takes us to our site or brings wood is always super helpful.The only complaint I have is the staff in the office they are just flat out rude. They always talk to me like I am stupid and that I am just a bother. I have called and left messages about a stay (I am still waiting on a response from May).
Sep 19, 2017
Great time, friendly staff, clean site
Sep 19, 2017
Nice Staff that seem to love what they do.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
It was a great place to visit the people who work there are really great to help you with anything I look forward to going back.
Sep 19, 2017
LAST TIME NEVER GOING BACK. YOU HAVE CHANGED PEOPLE AND NOT IN A GOOD WAY CHECK IN PEOPLE HAS LITTE OR NO KNOWLEDGE . ONE LADY ACTS LIKE YOU ARE THERE FOR HER PLEASURE. ALL ACTS JOB SCARED ? OVERPRICED MY DROP KOA MEMBERSHIP . MAINTENANCE PEOPLE FUMBLING AROUND IN DARK. HAVE BEEN IN OTHER KOA FROM CANADA TO ORLAND OTHER OVER THE YEARS . AND YEARS OF VISITING THIS KOA IS HIGHLY DISAPPOINTING
Sep 19, 2017
Staff was excellent and accommodating. WiFi and cable TV quality is not the best. Although I was informed that in the next few months they were updating they're internet connection to fiber.
Sep 19, 2017
Very clean quiet place. Staff was friendly with plenty to do in and around the campground
Sep 19, 2017
They put us a different sit than the one we booked. When I booked the stay the lady told me we would be on a deluxe site with extra chairs and table. We did however get a spot that was concrete. We plan on staying at the KOA in Pigeon Forge the first week in Oct. They have got it together. We have stayed there 2 times and we love it.
Sep 19, 2017
Staff was friendly and waved as the buzzed about servicing the many Kampers. Would stay in a upgraded site next time for better view. New Weekend Get Away location.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
booked two stay on jan10.2017 cabin for 505 HANDICAP paid that day,, got cabin on may 12,13 2017 614863,, WE CAME THIS WEEKEND WHICH I BOOKED IN JAN10.2017 PAID FOR 505 209.35 WITH YOUR EMPLOYEE JOSS,, WE ARE HANDICAP THATS WHY I BOOK IT EARLY,,, THEY MOVED US TO 509 SUCKED SMELLS LIKE SEPTIC POOP BAD, WE NEED HANDICAP TOLIT GAS GRILL NOB MISSING, CALL ME VERY UPSET RYAN 1 770-796 2692 TAMA
Sep 18, 2017
Everything was great except the cobwebs and dirt in the cottage needs to be tended to. Spring Cleaning is past due.
Sep 18, 2017
Very nice large campsite on the river. There were some issues however that definitely need to be addressed if I'm to ever come back. First is the bathhouses. They were filthy and need to be cleaned more than once per day when there are a lot of campers. The site was not clean when we arrived and effort was wasted on cleaning other sites no one stayed in. Wifi?? There isn't any!!
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was great, the weather was warmer than expected. We would have liked to have had the tubing shuttle during this VKR weekend. We also would have enjoyed a movie night or dance party, but none of the outside activities happen.
Sep 18, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed here. Good location. Lots of amenities. Friendly staff. The area is a cell phone dead zone. Be aware of that and plan accordingly.
Sep 18, 2017
Seemed in construction by the demolish of mini golf and lack of planned activities
Sep 18, 2017
This KOA use to be super but now it needs maintenance of indoor pool area & hot tub. Both are dirty with yellow water. The hot tub jets are still broken so it is like sitting in a hot dirty bath. This area could be so much better with little investment. Clean water, working jets, nice lighting & maybe so mood music would bring more cheer to this place. Too much construction on busy weekend.
Sep 18, 2017
Great enjoyed it so much
Sep 18, 2017
We love this campground, but unfortunately this trip was not as good as previous trips. They messed up our reservation, then the lady who checked us in was rude. Also my grandkids love the put put area, but it was being tore out :( Usually when we stay on special weekends they offer lots of activities for the kids, but there was none of that this year.
Sep 18, 2017
Everything was great, we will be back!
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was great, everyone was very friendly, camp site was good. The only complaint is the WIFI is really bad even before it got crowded.
Sep 18, 2017
Had a nice laid back weekend fishing for trout, eating well and relaxing from work.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award