Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2018
Plus de 45 minutes pour l’admission !!! La préposée à la réception avait peu de connaissances sur la façon de nous attribuer un site. Il a fallu payer 2 fois plus un crédit ?!?!?!? �� Je n’ai jamais compris ma facture finale !!!! Pendant tout ce temps, nous avons entendu le signal agressant de l’ouverture de la porte. � De plus l’eau de la piscine était trouble et sale !!!
Aug 13, 2018
Our 4 children that were with us always had lots to due. Felt the customer service was lacking, very seldom a register open in the store so had to wait for people to check in!
Aug 13, 2018
Our family was bit by bedbugs, spider webs were all over the cabin, pools were grey and dirty the entire time. I wrote a letter with all the information and included pictures, however , I've received NO response at all. So very disappointed.
Aug 13, 2018
The one thing that you need to address is your food court. Sign says we start when a order is placed. When I placed a order and it was 25 minutes later and they had not even started on it, so I got my money back. Someone needs to do some training on short order cooking. When you are in a hurry this is not a good relationship. Everything else was ok.
Aug 13, 2018
Needs lots of updating. I also recommend the seasonal employees you hire are taught about the surrounding area.We had so many questions and way too many times we were given shoulder shrugs and I dont knows. One employee specifically, Gary, was so rudeI told him had he worked for me Id have fired him on the spot!!!! Definately need some training
Aug 13, 2018
Cable was terrible and staff could not identify or repair the problem. Campers paid for cable service that did not function and should have received a credit.
Aug 13, 2018
rained every day still had fun
Aug 13, 2018
Family of 4 stayed in cabin all way in back of campground. The cabin was nice and so was our spot by water - the issue was parking! Too many cabins placed in corner - people were parking everywhere - blocking our car and also taking our parking spot. Bathrooms in back were awful -always dirty, missing soap and then no hot water at all Saturday night. Not sure I'd revisit this location.
Aug 13, 2018
We have been camping at Cherokee KOA for the past 30 years. Always a great camping experience. Very friendly staff and clean well kept grounds and facilities.
Aug 13, 2018
we had 2 grandchildren with us, age 3 and 1, the outside pool was too cold but we spent several hours in the indoor pool, the Saturday nite DJ dance party was a hit, the grill did a good job, the site was great (deluxe site).
Aug 13, 2018
I rated a 3 because the cabin was comfy, the activities were great for the kids and pools were fun! However, the bath houses were terrible, no soap, nasty floors and used tampons were there all weekend after being reported multi times from several people. 2 of the 4 showers in the bathrooms were out of order! I will never come back due to that. Especially having little kids!
Aug 13, 2018
We love camping at Cherokee! However this KOA over the years has become extremely crowded. Traffic through the campground is heavy. Grill by the pool was very slow. Took our kids to the upper playground where there are 2 tiny bounce houses made for 1-5 yr to find ten or so 7-10 year old boys having an unsupervised wrestling match. Bathrooms smelled terrible. We still love Cherok
Aug 13, 2018
We love staying at the koa although the indoor pool is a little grungie looking and cloudy not being able to see the bottom at the shallow end i was a little discouraged but we loved the outdoor pool. We love the dance parties also . We also love the perks of being a value card member.
Aug 13, 2018
We didn’t like the new wrist bands it just seems pointless . Also that when I called to get my spot they started charging $10 bc we ask for a certain area never had that happen before. The Best part was the fish pond &The driver that took us on the shuttle to the into these hills play on sat night he was awesome and very informative of the area. Over all it was good
Aug 13, 2018
Great area, great stay, enjoyed everything except office staff at check in wasn't friendly talked with attitude....but besides that was an awesome trip and beautiful site!!!
Aug 13, 2018
We always have a great time at Cherokee koa. But this time the staff tried to put me in a camp site that my camper would not fit in, so I had to drive back through the camp ground and try to park and so register for another site. That's the only reason this place does not get a 5 this time. Could have just told my escort a site number that was empty and see if I could have got in it.
Aug 13, 2018
We stayed in cabin K305 and were disappointed by the pet urine smell inside. We were also missing a curtain on one window. The curtain was promptly replaced. This KOA is due to have some processes automated. Check in/out and purchases in the office take too long causing backups. Maybe barcode scanners?? Banana bikes are showing their age, too. Still recommend this KOA for the staff & location.
Aug 13, 2018
Everything but 1 was exceptional. However the young campers across from us were drink and extremely loud til about 2am. Otherwise it was a great time wish the hot tub was open later I have really bad back problems and would have liked to have used it around 11 or so to help relax it so I could rest some.
Aug 12, 2018
Pet friendly, clean, nice indoor and outdoor pools, fishing, tubing, dog park, kids playground, biking, jump pillow, what’s not to love about this place? When we were packing to leave, my grandson told his mom that they need to sell their S.C. house and move to Cherokee. I think we all felt that way.
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
I was SHOCKED there was no refrigerator in the basic cabin. 5 previous basic cabins (at other KOAs) had a waist high refrigerator in them. The pool needs upgraded filter system-sunscreen lotion scum was horrendous; and the hot tub water was yellow green-EWWWWW! Otherwise fine stay.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Everything was great except the pools and hot tubs and the areas right around them were not very clean. Everything else was nice and we would probably come back every year if it had been cleaner.
Aug 11, 2018
first thing was a huge pothole when turning into KOA. lowes sales asphalt in a bag. this would be an easy fix. also,the bathhouse(#2) wasnt kept clean or toilet paper holder filled. saw several guys wearing yellow koa t-shirts. but after reporting the bathhouse was horrible. 2 hours passed and nothing done to clean bathhouse. and the odor was awful. the cabin i was in was clean.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Very nice staff and very clean
Aug 10, 2018
The bathhouses were very nasty and so was the pools and hot tubs other than that everything was great...My family have been coming to this campground for the last 25 years and have never seen housekeeping or pools in this bad of shape. This is a big issue for our family..don't know if we will be back...we do have reservations in October at the Townsend KOA hoping for better results in the up keep
Aug 10, 2018
More activities. Employees that where more informed
Aug 10, 2018
Awful: Our 2 Rm cabin was FILTHY, 1/2 the windows had issues, a Rm was infested with spiders (I had over 30 bites & had to call my Dr when I got home), firewood sucked, took 3 Hrs & telling 3 people about something breaking to get it fixed, they caused life threatening situations on the river, kept trying to kick my adult kid out of pools (Bracelet On), showers STUNK badly. Office Did NOT Care :(
Aug 10, 2018
Campground still has potential. Pool is pretty gross, the pool slide is covered in mildew. The bathhouses need to be sprayed down. The staff ‘picks’ a fight with everyone!! Each time I went in the office there was a staff member fighting with a customer. Seems like horrible leadership....
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
8/3/2018 to 8/7/2018, site 275. Concrete pad was half covered over in mud, wet mud. We parked in mud that never dried up the 4 nights we were there.The bathrooms - a disaster, the kind of trash no one wants to see on a floor that stayed there for 2 days.Pools were so dirty you couldn't see the bottom there was dirt and debris floating in the hot tub water, nasty foam bubbles. Very disappointed
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 09, 2018
I have been staying at this KOA for over 10 years and have seen a decline in the past few. As indicated by others the campground is getting rundown and the staff are not pleasant. Once we got to our site I began to set up and when I plugged in I got shocked and called for help. When they arrived they told me this site should have been shutdown and I had to move.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
We have been staying here for several years.In the past staff was warm & friendly, not the case this time. Also I and several others were disappointed in the maintenance and cleanliness, not up to years past standard. In particular the pool and jacuzzies were green and cloudy.Wouldn't let kids in outside one Black mold / mildew all over pool deck and water slide, tell it had ben there sometime.
Aug 08, 2018
We've stayed here many times.No problems.This time was different.The campsite I requested was given to someone else. I asked for this campsite when I called the Cherokee KOA to make my reservation. I was not told that I had to pay $10 to guarantee my site.The site they had us on was too small for our camper. We walked around in the rain looking at sites. Several other people had the same problem.
Aug 08, 2018
Rude staff. Not truthful and hateful. Manager very demeaning. We have been going Koa Cherokee for 30 years and always loved it. No longer will be staying there. Susie and Brad
Aug 08, 2018
We paid for a cabin with a/c and our cabin did not have a/c. Our friend's cabin didn't have a/c or a refrigerator and they paid for it. Our other friends also did have a/c. Very disappointed.
Aug 08, 2018
The campground is very nice. We booked a covered picnic table. When we arrived, it wasn’t covered and was behind our camper. It was also a complete swamp due to all of the rain. Had the picnic table had an awning as promised, it wouldn’t have been this way. We went to the office right away and they were to send someone to our sight. They never showed up.
Aug 08, 2018
No wifi at cabins farthest from the front office. Playground was a mud hole. No parking to take kids swimming if your walking from the farthest end of the campground. All staff was excellent and very nice. I like the people but not the campground for the price paid.
Aug 08, 2018
The campground was nice and clean, despite the rain we had a great time. Hope to stay there again.
Aug 08, 2018
We love the area and we stayed at this campground the year before. We'll definitely go back. The only problem we had this year is the customer Servicw in the front office was EXTREMELY poor this year! They were not very friendly or knowledgeable whatsoever. Thank goodness for the maintanence department because they were a plethora of information and very friendly!
Aug 08, 2018
Have been going there for over 40 years and been happy. We had an awful awful campsite this time!!!
Aug 08, 2018
I trief
Aug 07, 2018
The overall stay was good. My four boys love going to this KOA every summer as I did with my parents when I was a kid. Our cabin was not ready at 4:00 so we had to wait around in our car for an hour. The game room was closed because it had been vandalized three weeks earlier, my boys were really bummed. Couldn’t tube the river because the river was to strong. Hope to have Better luck next ye
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
I booked cabin 222 and then adjusted the dates and in doing so I was moved to 386 because I did it on line. No one told me to lock it in. Very late check in at 4:30. Cabin not ready ??
Aug 07, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals