Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

RV Reviews

Jul 12, 2019
Had a problem getting the tube to the river to float. You rent the tubes, so I feel there should be a boundary line of distinction between cabin campsite and thru traffic to river to float. We love your KOA. Been coming for years. Love our grandsons can hang in hammocks or put a pup tent to enjoy that experience. Management Is so much friendlier this year. Appreciate parking bikes by pool. Thanks!
Jul 11, 2019
Good place to stay, the rest room are clean and the staff is friendly, some areas need to renovate but ok
Jul 10, 2019
Close to town of Cherokee and surrounding sites/attractions in The SMNP. Large, clean, campground with lots of staff who were helpful and accommodating. Part of a big group and they easily accommodated (60ppl) over very busy over 4th of July week. We had a nice large RV spot right along river and group gathered there in the evenings. Also, group rented various cabins throughout the campground.
Jul 10, 2019
We totally enjoyed our stay. The kids loves the pool and we love our on the river site. We loved that trash was picked up daily from our campsite and that we saw KOA workers riding around a lot. Great place.
Jul 10, 2019
The shuttle took us to the casino but then failed to pick us up at the agreed upon time. Every phone we could find to call went to voicemail or to the nation wide reservation number. Ended up getting an Uber. So paid KOA and Uber for same trip. Apologized but did not offer any compensation.
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Every thing was great!
Jul 10, 2019
Poor management, Nasty bathhouses, Camp Site in desperate need of repair, no security, items stolen from campsite and management could care less. Tons of employees riding around on golf carts, but what they do, I have no idea. SIX employees rode by our site with trash out and never picked it up. Loud campers and employees partying after quiet hours and no answer from the after hours security.
Jul 10, 2019
Good as usual
Jul 10, 2019
My grand son enjoyed the activities. We all enjoy being to get together and enjoy the mountain views and camp fires.
Jul 10, 2019
Extremely disappointed! Slow check in. Excessive amount of bikes blocking check in spots. Bikes and people on road blocking vehicles. No bike paths. Too many people in pools and jumping pad (50+). No enforcement of unit count. Partying/fireworks all hours. Wedding reception with flood of people. Watermelon thrown on vehicle. Too small spot (S290) for $75. Spot was a muddy, trashy mess. Scary place
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
For the price of your sites I expect better service ex: no toilet paper and soap in bathrooms, sewage connection broke off, wasps problem we had to take care of ourself, computer system down for check in, on a positive note all roads paved and in good shape.
Jul 09, 2019
There use to be more activities. The bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. The indoor pool was not at all clean our entire visit. We had to wait in line a long time at the office to purchase items. We still enjoy our time at the KOA, but might consider another campground next time.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Enjoyable location. Nice shaded areas with well maintained concrete pull through pad. Camp store could have been stocked better and had longer hours. Campground is older but in good repair. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy check-in process with plenty of space for a bigger rig. There are tons of things to do in and around Cherokee, NC.
Jul 08, 2019
Wonderful campground!
Jul 08, 2019
Had an issue with our guaranteed site, but the people there were very helpful and made sure all was taken care of. Can't say enough good things about Daren & Priscilla as well as Chris. Daren went above and beyond to make sure our site was taken care of - even after hours. Priscilla is a joy to interact with and Chris came by frequently to see if we needed anything. You have a great crew!
Jul 08, 2019
Darin and Priscilla are the best!!! Darin really took care of us when our site booking got mixed up. Also manager was kind to give us a comp night for the trouble.
Jul 08, 2019
Great place to stay my family loves it. The only thing that could use improvement is housekeeping. The bathrooms got stocked and straightened up but not cleaned.
Jul 08, 2019
We had a great time and we will be making this our annual vacation spot for sure! Centrally located and truly have no complaints.
Jul 08, 2019
Had a great time! Staff is much better than years past!
Jul 08, 2019
We stayed at this KOA for 15 night & were satisfied with our stay. The campground had many planned activities for children, as well as many children amenities. If we should vacation in the area again, we would definitely return to this campground.
Jul 08, 2019
Stay was ok place not very clean and I tried to make reservations for next Memorial Day weekend end I was told I had to make a 4 night reservations and had to be Thursday through Monday even though there was no way I could come on that day I am very disappointed in Koa if this is a corporate decision which is what I was told not sure I’ll be back
Jul 08, 2019
It was not as relaxing as some KOA's we are used to. This one had many, many more cabins, which seemed to change the clientele. We encountered several, not so friendly guests that just made the family feel uncomfortable. The pool/waterslide was also closed for 2 of the 3 days we were there due to maintenance issues. I know this is unforeseen, but it was a disappointment for the kids.
Jul 08, 2019
Campground and bath houses were clean
Jul 08, 2019
Very clean and family friendly campground. Large sites and lots of activities to keep us entertained.
Jul 07, 2019
We came in Tues afternoon and was able to set up camp right away. The staff were all very nice (especially Joanne) . We only had one incident that required a little attention, and as soon as I mentioned it, it was dealt with. I will say the bathrooms were always freezing, so make sure you dress for it. This KOA is very nice and very clean. Love it there, didn’t want to leave.
Jul 07, 2019
AWESOME!! Sites were clean, Restrooms/Showers were clean ONLY COMPLAINT - Internet is MUCH BETTER than previous years, but wish it could be even better. Couldn't watch Netflix or Prime at night, buffering too much. And we even have a KING WiFi booster.
Jul 07, 2019
came up to see unto these Hills. We have known of This KOA from previous trips to the area. Visited once. but never stayed. We're glad we did this time
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Been staying in KOA in Cherokee for a while.there has been upgrades to the campground which is great but it has also caused the rates to go up.sorry to say that we want be staying as much as we use to.
Jul 06, 2019
Very clean facilities.. views are amazing and no matter how big your rig is they have a spot for you! We took advantage of the 5.00 shuttle to town to shop and was glad we did t have to try and navigate our RV in the shopping center!!!
Jul 06, 2019
Friendly staff. Good activities. Very clean. Pool showing it's age.
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
The campground was great, unfortunately it rained the first two days we were there making the ground kind of muddy at the campsite. We made the best of bad weather and gave us a good mini-vacation. Thanks for being there. Dale
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
Great as always!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground. Lots of activities. However the campstore closed at 6PM which was too early considering it takes 15m to go into town for anything. We never had usable cable for entire 8 days and the wifi signal is very poor. The indoor pool water needs a much better filtering and chlorination system. Gotta pick up game on the amenities to charge these prices.
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground with tons to do. My only complaint is RV 36’ towing (they usually add 10’ for tow) was placed in site 229 which at MAX can have 38” backed as far as the stops. Too tight at $90 a night. (I did complain multiple times but too full to move). Next sites 230-234 are really large and nice.
Jul 04, 2019
I was shocked to be charged an extra $3.50 per night for resort fees that were not indicated on the web site when I booked my reservation. I believe I should have been told when I booked. I know it's not much extra , it the principal.
Jul 04, 2019
Had a great time. The staff was all very nice and our dogs loved it so much one of them took off on a walkabout and we had to hunt him down.
Jul 04, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. After we left we missed it so much we tried to change our plans just to go back and stay longer!
Jul 04, 2019
Loved the campgrounds. The pool needs to be supervised! Lots of kids with no parents. Also it was very hard to find. My phone,iPad or on star wouldn’t work in the mountains. I finally got through to the campground and she gave me the wrong directions. It took us 2 extra hours to find you once we got in Cherokee.
Jul 03, 2019
A fine 4-day stay. Only downside was poor cell service (AT&T) and no real other option but to drive several miles into the village to call and wait for a return call. Medical issue.
Jul 03, 2019
Tried calling several times. They did t return messages. The spots are muddy. There is a fence around the ponds. Very misleading.
Jun 30, 2019
I think we just happened to get the worse site on the campground. The website is a little deceptive in explaining when you choose your site. The pond sites back up to an ugly, broken Chain linked fence with barbed wire running in top, but at the same time , the gate was left open allowing access to the campground from the highway. The table on site was coated with slime, needed cleaning.
Jun 29, 2019
very clean public areas,... and friendly staff... nice camping spots always enjoy my stay at Cherokee KOA
Jun 28, 2019
Terrible site(s93) broken unlevel pad, huge deep puddle in road in front of site. Site s93 should not be used in bad weather. I would never stay there again even if it was free.
Jul 16, 2019
Loved here the lady who checked us in was an amazing peach clean fun great activitys
- Christy K on Google
Jul 16, 2019
We have been coming to the Cherokee koa for 11 years! This will be our 12th! We've stayed in tents, primitive cabins, upgraded cabins and the really nice cabins with full amenities! We have always had an amazing time and look forward to our trip coming up this year! See you soon!
- Scott Hamilton on Google
Jul 14, 2019
Wonderful place to stay.
- AJ Stevenson on Google