Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711


92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions


Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Mar 13, 2018
Our stay was awesome and the hospitality was terrific!!!
Mar 08, 2018
Friendly staff and everything looked good and clean.
Mar 02, 2018
Feb 20, 2018
Feb 19, 2018
This is a very nice campground, very big with a lot to do onsite. It also has pretty views of the mountains. We thought the set up of the indoor pools changing rooms were odd though. There were 3 of them to the side of the pool and yet they had a roof and doors on them with NO lights inside! So once you closed the door you were in complete darkness.
Feb 13, 2018
Enjoyed our stay. My dogs enjoyed getting off the leash in the dog park. Check in went well. Staff very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to coming back in the summer.
Jan 29, 2018
All of staff were very nice but a little overbearing. I felt like a team members golf cart road by every 2 seconds! Not a relaxing camping trip at all! It almost felt like we were being watched at times. Bath houses were clean and nice but EXTREMELY hot. It felt like death. Hot Water took 12 mins to get warm. I wanted to enjoy our stay but it didn't happen. We left a day early!
Jan 27, 2018
Just overnight. Friendly and helpful staff. Good amenities.
Jan 14, 2018
We were very impressed by the staff and the campgrounds. We had a blow out on the way and I called to let them know I would be late. They called to check on us later in the day. There was someone there when we got their in the evening and he took us to our site and helped us back in. He took the time to explain all the hook ups and the whole staff was so considerate and nice during our stay.
Jan 12, 2018
We had a great time!
Jan 09, 2018
This is a great campground! Very clean, friendly staff. So happy with our stay. Would definitely stay here again!!!
Jan 06, 2018
The stay was ok. But the pricing not so good.
Jan 04, 2018
Expected the KOA’s water pipes to be insulated as we were prepared for the cold mountain temps with a heated water hose which did not freeze but their water pipe did . Everything else was great !
Jan 03, 2018
Loved it.....
Jan 03, 2018
Everyone at the campground was very friendly during our stay! Even with the cold they all had smiles on their faces! The campground was kept clean and we were able to relax without any issues from other campers or the campground itself! This was our 3rd stay at this KOA and we will definitely be back!
Jan 02, 2018
Very clean & Nice campground. Employees were very nice.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
We were very unhappy that we were charged for a second day. We missed the check out time by an hour and a half. Very displeased...
Jan 01, 2018
We enjoyed our week long stay. The kids were disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn’t working though.
Dec 30, 2017
Dec 28, 2017
It was very nice, great host. I'll definitely return as this is our 3rd time staying there. We always use an RV site, only thing was being that they were not busy and aware of the rain they were having they would have considered setting us up at a site that did not flood all around us, it seemed like all the sites across from the office had great drainage except Site #5, stay away from that site.
Dec 27, 2017
everyone was helpful and nice very clean
Dec 24, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff 5 stars if indoor pool were heated. Understable that outdoor amenities were limited due to offseason camping. Bath houses very clean!
Dec 22, 2017
Super friendly staff. And the bathrooms/showers were great.
Dec 12, 2017
We stayed in the off season. Some of staff were very friendly some were not as friendly. No one was rude. Women’s bathrooms clean, men’s were not great. Little unorganized on our check-in. We did have a great time. Kids enjoyed playground.
Dec 11, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay...the snow didn't allow us to utilize all of the campground features, but we will definitely be returning. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the facility was great!
Dec 07, 2017
Dec 07, 2017
The cable sucked but Kevin was awesome!!!
Dec 06, 2017
We had a very nice stay, but we have stay here several times. Also nice and clean. Friendly employees. I have mentioned this before but your roads need to have the name at the end of each road. It makes it hard to find the correct road to turn on when you arrive after hours especially after dark. Need a few street lights in the campground also. But we will be back soon. Thank you.
Dec 04, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
Dec 03, 2017
Looking forward to coming back this summer!
Dec 02, 2017
Had a wonderful time. New remodeled bathrooms/shower very nice. Staff very helpful Will be back
Nov 30, 2017
This place was awesome ! Every one that worked at this location was very nice, polite and was willing to point you in the right direction if needed. The spot we stayed in was really clean and all the utilities worked as expected . When i was packing up, the really nice ground keepers offered to take our bag of trash ! Thats good stuff in my eyes ...I can't wait to go back !!
Nov 30, 2017
We had a wonderful time!
Nov 29, 2017
Nov 29, 2017
Nov 29, 2017
If you don't have kids, don't bother. All to expense for camping is to support the extensive amenities, most of which are for kids.
Nov 28, 2017
Great sites. Great staff.
Nov 28, 2017
We love it at the Cherokee KOA and will be back !!!!
Nov 28, 2017
Bath houses well very clean!!!!! The overall apperence was very good!!!!
Nov 27, 2017
We stayed for a week, great place, clean and very helpful staff, your general store is tops too, also thanks fir putting the Thanksgiving Dinner together, from Florida and will be back. Campground is a 10.
Nov 27, 2017
it was great .
Nov 27, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
Was not ask about a membership for KOA would like to find out more.
Nov 27, 2017
We had a nice time as usual. We'll be back....
Nov 27, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots to do, great amenities and accessible to many places.
Nov 27, 2017
We have stayed here about a dozen times and this was by far the best time we have had. Everything was as it should be and the staff was awesome, friendly and helpful. You folks even arranged for great weather. Thanks and happy holidays.

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award