Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 23, 2018
Well, some of the activities had not started yet because they don't start till Memorial Weekend but we had a good time. It was rainy most of the time we were there and the water stayed ponded up in places. Overall we had a good stay.
May 23, 2018
May 22, 2018
Campground nice, great location, bathrooms clean, sites nice size, great store. Our only complaint was, we ordered breakfast sandwiches from the grill, it 30 minutes to get our order, and that was after I went to manager to complain. The sandwiches where cold and terrible.
May 22, 2018
Nice, clean and friendly place only needs more trash cans thru out the campground. Loved the fishing! We will be back.
May 21, 2018
A Front desk check in person was not helpful and had a bad attitude.
May 21, 2018
KOA never got the cable to work for the TV
May 21, 2018
This is our favorite destination. The camp ground is great. It has large campsites and can accommodate the largest rigs. The sites are large, so you don't feel to close to your neighbor. We come here to ride our motorcycle in the mountains. The location is perfect. Can't wait to come back.
May 21, 2018
Every thing was great as usual with the exception of the dumpster on other side of fence at camp site 55. It needs to be moved or replaced. The smell was horrible. It spelled like rotten fish or something like that. Otherwise no complaints. We will come back.
May 21, 2018
We have stayed here many times in the past but won’t be staying again. They stuck us in a spot WAY at the back while there was MANY unused spots that we could have been in. Asked for spot with patio and instead was t even able to open awning due to tree being right in front of our RV. Talked to people at front desk to at least get some knocked off of stay and they did NOTHING!! Campers beware!!!
May 21, 2018
Large park. Lots of things to do.
May 20, 2018
Only negative is that there were not enough washing machines. Otherwise everything was good.
May 20, 2018
Campground site is awesome and most people are really nice. However, tent sites are very close to the road and the stinky pond, and one of the employee is both incompetent and unfriendly: she told us that a dog for a tent site is 25$/day while it is free!! and she did want us to pay 25$ for stayin only one more hour in order to wait for our tent to dry.
May 15, 2018
Our 2nd time staying here; had a great time. Staff are on top of things, Grill is wonderful, camp activities fun. Our site was wonderfully shaded for our pop-up so we didn't need our AC. Recommendation is 9 only because of the extra fees tacked on (resort fee, tribal tax), causing me to add a qualifier to my rave. Love the clean bathrooms & the store is well stocked with food & souvenirs.
May 15, 2018
Our site was about 75’ away from a Giant trampoline which as expected was very loud from open till close all 9 days. We paid extra to be on the river but this ruined our trip. The kids were excited, yelling, and loud. I think KOA rules say no pit bulls - nobody is watching. I do love the area but I hope my next trip here is far away from that playground.
May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
May 14, 2018
The campground overall was great. People were friendly, trees and grounds are beautiful, and the bathhouse is updated and clean. The only complaint I have is the indoor pool. It was full of debris and was very dingy. Needs lots of attention.
May 14, 2018
We have been many times . The manager was very rude and downright disrespectful. I hate to think that this is our last time staying here . We had 9 campsites totally and every one had the same problem.
May 14, 2018
Everyone was very friendly. The camp ground was very peaceful. We enjoyed our stay very much.
May 14, 2018
We loved it.. wish we could have stayed longer
May 14, 2018
Super friendly and the site was perfect.
May 13, 2018
May 13, 2018
We always loved staying at the KOA, but this stay when we asked to move our campsite so that our 17 month old would not be so close to the road when we were at the campfire, we were told that someone else was checking in that day. No one showed up our entire stay. As a mom I was very disappointed in the customer service with that incident. They campground was not even crowded :( very disappointed.
May 11, 2018
The best KOA I have ever stayed in. It was very impressed.
May 09, 2018
Everyone at the KOA here was awesome. Super friendly and went out of their way to help. Jerry really helped me out the first nite when I needed an extra water hose. He went out of his way and let me use one he had at his place since the store was closed already. Many thanks Jerry! And to all who made our trip here so pleasant. Thanks, Greg from Missouri.
May 09, 2018
Staff was friendly and helpful. The camp has great amenities with indoor/outdoor pools, kids activities, well stocked store and a beautiful trout stream that surrounds the area. It is only about 5 miles to all of the area attractions and casino. We had a great time and will be back again.
May 08, 2018
a very nice place, everybody was nice, I didnt care for the lady who first greeted us though, if I had to deal with her the whole time I would have left
May 08, 2018
The grass at our site had not been mowed in some time. Our sewer hookup was clogged. The cable was not clear at all. They were working on it but it never worked properly. The staff are super friendly and always very helpful though. The indoor pool was a bonus.
May 07, 2018
Ce fut une très belle semaine. La seule chaise c’est le manque de signale pour le téléphone. Ns avons un commerce et ce fut difficile pour Ns de garder contact avec nos employées
May 07, 2018
Staff was so friendly and helpful. The environment was very safe! I didn't worry about letting my kids come and go to the playground, bounce pad and riding bikes. We will definitely be back!
May 07, 2018
We had a great time. Staff was very nice. The grounds were beautiful.
May 07, 2018
We have stayed at several KOAs in the USA and this is by far the best. Very nice and helpful staff. When we pullef into our parking spot we found the power box had a bad breaker, we reported it to the desk and in no time at all the maintenance man was there to give us power. Though our grandchildren were not with us this trip there were plenty of activities for children to participate in.
May 06, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were nice and clean. We loved the fishing ponds. We enjoyed our stay and definitely will return.
May 03, 2018
First we did`nt get the rate for our stay that was shown in the reservation confirmation from our online booking. The lady at the desk told us, that the rates shown in the computer are correct. Nearly 20 dollar more! There followed a long discussion. Only after the manager came to it, the correct rate was possible. However, no one could tell us why there was a difference between the rates.
May 02, 2018
I tell everyone how great your place is, hands down best in the area.....thank you.
May 01, 2018
Best bathrooms and very helpful workers
May 01, 2018
Had an amazing time!
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
Had a great time as usual. This was my second trip this summer and I am planning on staying in June and October
Apr 30, 2018
We had the most amazing time at Cherokee KOA!!!
Apr 29, 2018
Fantastic
Apr 27, 2018
Apr 27, 2018
Beautiful area with the campground right next to the river. Dog park on the premises and quiet in the evening.
Apr 26, 2018
Very nice campground, will be back. Only thing next time i would choose a different site, the one we stayed at was too close to the fishing gate.
Apr 25, 2018
Apr 25, 2018
Absolutely perfect. The staff was great. We will return
Apr 24, 2018
Apr 24, 2018
Beautiful park with friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend it.
Apr 23, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much. The only negative for our stay was the breakdown of the indoor hot tub, which is one of 2 reasons we stay at this particular campground with a higher nightly rate for amenities. When we inquired about the issue, and we understand things breakdown and require parts and time to fix, we would've appreciated perhaps a small credit or extra Value Points as a courtesy.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award