Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

RV Reviews

Jul 10, 2020
Awesome weather, great atmosphere, clean, safe, well kept up Campground! We can’t wait to return.
Jul 10, 2020
Amenities needed some updating - no coin machines for laundry, food cafe often out of items, the general store had rude ladies working, and the place was way above 75% capacity.
Jul 09, 2020
We had the river Spot and it was really nice, the people that work there where very nice. Our RV Spot could have been cleaner as the firepit had cigarette butts in it. Also the pot holes in the roads can use some improvements. Other than that all worked out really nice, the environment there was great. We will come back again next year.
Jul 09, 2020
very clean, attentive and friendly staff!
Jul 09, 2020
Golf cart we rented would not run very well--clerk acted like she did not care.Did not offer to return our rental fee . Was told i would be on a river but no river even though the rate was for a water river not a blocked one.
Jul 09, 2020
Great KOA; one of the nicest in the country. The only problem is their phone system; you can never get in touch with them, even when you are in the campground.
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
Campground is huge and staff members are plentiful and nice. One person checking us in could use a little more training. The roads have some potholes that need repair. The wifi needs upgrading badly. A beautiful place to spend a few days. Try to get a spot on the river.
Jul 09, 2020
NEED MORE HELP AT THIS LOCATION! The lines at the front counter were constantly a long wait. Bathrooms could have been serviced more often. Toilets not working was also an issue. I was told that due to a lack of help, there were no shuttle boxes being run into town. Made it difficult to move around if you came in an RV and only had ONE taxi available for the whole mountain. I use KOA all the
Jul 09, 2020
I could tell that the staff whipping around in golf carts were working their tails off, but the campground still felt unkept. There was some trash on our site when we got there and the bathrooms showers were so dirty. It’s a super busy, loud, crowded campground which some people love; just wasn’t for us.
Jul 09, 2020
Enjoyed our visit. Excited about new ice cream place coming soon. Hope they will have longer hours than 6pm. Hot water in one bathhouse ran out. May want to look into that.
Jul 09, 2020
The rapids was great.
Jul 09, 2020
We had a great time camping at the Great Smokies KOA. Unfortunately we did not find time to fish but hope to do so later this year.
Jul 09, 2020
Our site was next to a group of folks with at least 12 people and immediately they complained about me using the 30 amp hookup which I paid for. Had to deal with nasty looks and LOUD neighbors all week. Only complaint about the facility was the bathrooms, not very clean. Great customer service though.
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
When we go to a KOA we expect manicured sites, clean common areas (food places, pools, etc) and that was not the case in Cherokee. May be a result of reduced hours due to COVID. But campground looked tired.
Jul 08, 2020
There was very low water pressure and could not use our shower. I told one of the workers that drove by abt it, but no help. The pool was way too crowded and there was no attendant on duty.
Jul 08, 2020
My pad had huge raised areas from roots of the large tree that dropped hundreds of spiked balls, which made walking the site very unpleasant. I spent an hour raking them up. The grounds maintenance was nowhere what I expect at a KOA. The staff did not seem to have a handle on things when I asked about scheduled events that didn't occur as scheduled. The sites were very crammed together.
Jul 08, 2020
Love the large sites and concrete pads. Easy to get in and out of. Did not visit bath houses.
Jul 08, 2020
Need more activity’s for the kids. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. Grounds need to be cleaned and scrapped more often. Breaker boxes need to be updated. They expect 3 campsites to run off one power meter and expect it not to throw. Need a lot of changes.
Jul 08, 2020
It was extremely crowded and loud! This was my first and last time staying in a commercial campground. It's not for me. Most people seemed to be enjoying themselves. I thought the sites were very small and found the bright lights and noise unpleasant.
Jul 08, 2020
Easy access to sites, friendly staff Great fishing
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Great Staff! Very friendly and helpful. Quality of campsite we were on was far below KOA standards. Flooding/ponding issues, gravel was not level or contained. The campground was crowded. Campground appeared full with little to no separation between campers to comply with CDC guidelines on social distancing even though reservation website indicated the campground would not be fully occupied.
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Best 4th July stay we’ve had in awhile, this campground and the staff was great
Jul 08, 2020
My premium site was worth the few extra dollars. Some of the lower sites were extremely wet due to lots of rain. Will be back soon.
Jul 08, 2020
They put us in a mud site. One helper said to use the 4 wheel drive. The other said talk to the office. Talked to the office Sunday morning and they said they were full and could not move us. LIES!! There were at least 30 sites open Sunday night including 84 which I suggested and the three sites around us. Nice facility. The employees are useless.
Jul 08, 2020
Great place to stay if you have kids. It has a pool and playground Ponds and river for fishing The cost is high. Doesn't have full hookups on some camp sites. Camp sites are very close together.
Jul 08, 2020
We stay here a few times a years. Services and amenities get better every time. Always awesome.
Jul 08, 2020
Great place to stay
Jul 08, 2020
It started with a lost reservation (I used the app). Next a water outage (water main break). Then a power issue and that was Day 1. On Day 2 our power went completely out and we had to pack ALL our camp up and move in 90+ degree weather. Our new site had power but there was mud and tree roots galore. Capacity was like 95% despite NC governor's mandate. Will be my last stay at this run down KOA!
Jul 07, 2020
From check in to check out, our experience with KOA Cherokee/Great Smokies was TOP NOTCH!!!! Wish we could have stayed longer!!! Next time for sure!!!
Jul 07, 2020
Great access to the Smokies. Well maintained campground. Certain low areas flood when it rains.
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Worst koa We have ever stayed at. Potholes everywhere, flooded roads with sewer smell, totally under staffed. Gates at pool not unlocked during open hours, ice cream not open on time to name a few. NO additional cleaning for COVID seen. Others complaining of bed bugs. Just overall terrible! Very disappointed. On a good note, the July 4th parade was cute!
Jul 06, 2020
Great Campground, people are so nice. Will be back.
Jul 04, 2020
Jul 03, 2020
Security was lax. Maintenance was subpar.
Jul 03, 2020
Lot to do. Great campsites with pull through concrete.
Jul 03, 2020
Beautiful site on the river. Peaceful. However, it was an immediate turn off upon arrival seeing that stagnate pond out front and the locals fishing there. Also it would have been nice had there been steps down to the river throughout the campground.
Jul 02, 2020
Thank you all for making our vacation a fun filled experience. Your facilities are so clean and nested beautifully in the area.
Jul 02, 2020
We did not know there was an event that night. The music was to loud and distorted, Kids were not social distancing, there wasn't enough help in the check in. Alchol cans & bottles were left all over the nature island just so the rain the next morning washed it all away. The next day it was better. The event was over. The faclity is nice and well thought out.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
A lot of construction going on. I didn’t like how people walked right through your campsite to get to office/pool area. We enjoyed fishing in the ponds but there isn’t much access to the river.
Jul 02, 2020
Water pressure and temperature in the showers closer to the office need to be fixed.
Jul 02, 2020
Arrived to find my camping site was not available. Took the staff more than 1 hour to find me a camping site. New site had a pop up camper stored on the site I paid for. Staff would not move it. Never had a worse experience with staff at any campground. Worst camping experience ever. Very unprofessional staff running campground. Roads throughout campground full of pot holes.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 11, 2020
Very clean cabins. Very nice people.lots of things for the kids to do..just all around a great place to stay
- roger mcabee on Google
Jul 10, 2020
GREAT fishing
- ikonik652 epip games on Google
Jul 13, 2020
My family really enjoyed this campground for a weekend getaway not too far from home. Very kid friendly. And doing a very good job mitigating this covid 19 mess while remaining open. The only area for improvement i saw was some flood puddles and mud in certain sites and on some roads after heavy rains . But wasnt a huge deal. Thought they could gravel a few places better. Only reason I didn't give this campground 5 stars. 2 pools! For kids. With a neat jumping bubble and a playground helped to keep the kids occupied. Can't wait to return later this fall.
- barry neal on Google