Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Very courteous & friendly staff. Pet friendly. Clean comfortable cabins. Grounds kept in pristine condition. Will be back.
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Love staying with the wonderful people at Cherokee KOA. They did everything in there power to make us comfortable. The only thing negative and it was brought to there attention was none of the bath house were totally handicap accessible. My husband is in a wheelchair and didn't have rails or seat in the showers for him.
May 16, 2019
Had a great time. Stayed in a Deluxe Cabin on the river. It rained the whole time we were there, but we enjoyed the indoor pool and my husband and little boy fished in the trout pond out front. We hiked (in the rain) in the Smokey Mountains close by.
May 14, 2019
May 14, 2019
Perfect eve though in the heavy rain! They gave me upgrade cabin in the rain kindly.
May 14, 2019
Had fun this past weekend even though it rained. We will see you soon.
May 10, 2019
Weather was beautiful. I had a very relaxing stay. My patient and his fiance enjoyed fishing and shopping in the campstore. No fish caught but fun trying. Clean and well maintained facilities. We will be back.
May 06, 2019
Awesome
May 05, 2019
We had a wonderful stay. I was a little disappointed that the sink in the kitchen was also the bathroom sink in the Deluxe Loft Cabins, but nothing can be done about that now, The maps and promotions indicate that the fishing ponds are stocked "twice weekly". In past 2 years, stayed for a week and there was only 1 stocking each time. May not have control of this, but it shouldn't be advertised
May 02, 2019
Always a great time! We had a cabin right in the river. It was very clean and peaceful. We saw elk on our way to the KOA and had 4 geese visit every evening right across the river. Being at the KOA in Cherokee, NC is one of our favorite places to be. We were also lucky enough to catch some trout. We will be back next year!
May 01, 2019
Had a studio cabin but it lacked coffee cups or glasses. A comfortable chair in the room would be great to have. People were very pleasant and the site was lovely on the river. Better designation of the different cabins and their locations would have been much more helpful. It all worked out well though
May 01, 2019
Apr 30, 2019
The cabin we rented smelled like dog poop the entire time. Seemed like they did not clean the place. Toilet paper was low had to go ask for more. Paper towel had like five sheets left. Service was nice, but house keeping did not do a good job cleaning. Grill didn’t work. They should’ve checked it before renting the place to us. The heater in the living room didn’t even work.
Apr 29, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
The cabin was very nice and we found everything we needed. The gas grill on the deck was very welcomed and we used it every evening. Everyone associated with KOA we interacted with were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 29, 2019
Everyone who works here was super nice! The kind of people you want to be around on vacation.
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
I arrived to Cherokee KOA on 4-23-2019 for a get away with my grandchildren. We arrived about 1:00pm and were told that we couldn't check in until after 3:00pm because STAFF was cleaning cabins. OKAY that understandable!!! The cabin was NASTY toilet didn't flush dishes were dirty hair in tub I had to clean before I could give baths we have stayed here for years and wanted our Grandchildren to have
Apr 28, 2019
Was ready to check in at 3p but waited 2 hrs for our cabin to be ready. Cabin was in terrible location with views of the entrance into KOA and drain pipe. Not on the river like it says. Wouldn’t recommend deluxe cabin 513.
Apr 27, 2019
Camp ground and cabin were very clean. Will stay here again.
Apr 27, 2019
cabin 243, Your site had a promo $114 per night but the woman said she didn’t know about it. I had to pay $149. Got in after 3 and I was not happy with the cleanliness. Food was under the drawers in refrigerator,grease on stove top,floor not sweep well, food on headboard, none of bathroom dispensers filled until Wed. Hot & cold reversed throughout cabin, hair in shower, a/c filters not cleaned .
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
We did not have a reservation but upon arrival we requested a cabin that we liked..(k251).it was occupied so we asked for the one next door (k252). We got k250. No TV or fridge or large deck. We had k251 reserved last summer but it was being upgraded. No one called to tell us ahead of arrival. We do not plan to return to koa Cherokee.
Apr 26, 2019
Loved the deluxe cabin on the river. Staff members were very helpful. Only problem we had was with the gas grill. It had a lot of build up and the whole inside caught on fire during preheat. Turned it off and shut the lid to put out the fire. Could use more lighting/shelves in bathroom. Mirrow placement/lighting is not good for shaving and makeup. We hope to return soon.
Apr 26, 2019
Not thrilled about new management. Pool had way to much chlorine and no bathrooms were open inside. What’s that tell ya.? Three boys playing football on the bouncy and kept playing after we complained.they were knocking over the little ones. Men’s bathroom had no hot water and soap was never filled in dispensers. Usually KOA can deliver wood ice after hours. It was a ghost town. Last time her
Apr 26, 2019
Camp Ground is great well maintained. Frustrated that we got there at 11:30 we knew check in was at 3:00pm. We purchased our fishing license then..came back at 3:00pm sharp house cleaning still had not gotten to our cabin. We were told 15 more minutes came back at 3:15 house keeping again said 15 or 20 more minutes. We came back at 3:30 cabin still not ready. We finally checked in around 3:45.
Apr 26, 2019
Under new management, again. Grass was high, bathrooms needed attention and a simple request was not granted due to being "sold out" which was not at all true. We normally love, love, love our stay here, but I guess something is being lost in the transition. Our cabin was nice, as always I had to plug holes in the screens with tissues, but the view of the river was breathtaking.
Apr 26, 2019
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and quick to help. Love the location and all of the activities to do on site.
Apr 25, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO STAY. RESERVATIONS MADE ON LINE BUT WHEN GOT TO THE KOA THE CABIN BOOKED ONLINE WAS DIFFERENT. MOST OF FRONT DESK STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMADATING. ONLY ONE YOUNG GIRL UP AT FRONT DESK WAS VERY RUDE WHEN ASKED TO CHANGE TO ORIGINAL CABIN BOOKED ON RIVER. KIDS LOVE IT.
Apr 22, 2019
Enjoy it very much
Apr 22, 2019
We arrived in thr middle of terrible weather - flooding and high winds - after hours and there was still someone there to show us to our cabin. Awesome service!
Apr 22, 2019
Other than the rain we had an awesome time fishing in the pond was a real success & the cabins was very clean & cozy we will be going back soon
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
only complaint is hot tub was only barely warm and not functioning, and pool closed early 2 nights we were there of the 4 nights we stayed.
Apr 21, 2019
The surroundings of the campsite are stunning. The website explicitly says that there's a linen rental available that includes blankets and pillows. This was not true and management did nothing to help, even though we have three little girls and the nights we're very cold. Other campers helped us out! Bathhouse was not thoroughly cleaned during 5 night stay!! Clogged toilets during whole stay.
Apr 21, 2019
Had to wait for about 30 minutes for the cabin to be “cleaned”. Which it wasn’t very clean, the floor was nasty and gritty, the cabinet tops were sticky and had crumbs on them. I don’t think I will be returning.
Apr 20, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. The staff could have been a little more friendly and welcoming. The restrooms also needed some maintenance. 3 of the 4 stalls in the restroom nearest to us were out of order all 3 days of our stay. We loved the campground and the many activities for our children! The cabin we stayed in was great!
Apr 20, 2019
Great time as always! My grandkids love it.
Apr 19, 2019
We had a wonderful time. The bunk beds were very, very tiny. Our son is 6'2" and had a difficult time. The cabin was clean but we couldn't use any pans for cooking due to overuse (time for some new pans). Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Apr 19, 2019
Restrooms need to be cleaned and checked,cabins should be restocked every other day with towels,
Apr 19, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
I always love staying here. The staff is always great and the facilities are always great!
Apr 18, 2019
Apr 18, 2019
I’m really happy we went back! I met the new manager she was Great! Everything was very nice! Also a shout out to Mike and Brandon who were very helpful! Making plans to go back! Glad the old manager is Gone! Love this place!
Apr 18, 2019
This KOA is gorgeous! Our cabin was perfect and in the most beautiful setting on the river. We didn’t have much luck in the trout pond, but were in a arms length away from a group that had tremendous luck! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bath houses were remodeled well, but floors could have been swept more regularly and kept up. Overall, Can’t wait to go back!
Apr 18, 2019
We had so much fun during our stay! The property is so clean and beautiful. We will be back!
Apr 18, 2019
Great place to stay ! To bad we stayed only one night, and it rained . My family of four stayed in a Deluxe cabin , sleeps up to four. The cabin was in good shape. Bathroom was clean ,with no signs of previous visitors, that's a great thing! Great living area, wonderful kitchen , awesome flowing creek to listen too! I will be back !!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals