Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Experience the best in cabin camping with our Fall Cabin Deal

Book Now
Sep 15, 2019
Everything was perfect! thank you for making our vacation well worth it. We cannot wait for our trip next year back.
Sep 14, 2019
Our cabin was very nice located on a beautiful little river. The whole campground was very clean and up kept and the staff was courteous and helpful!
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
Spacious cabin. Would be nice to have bathrooms closer to the cabins on the far end. Loved how quiet it was! Needs more parking for that end. Your maintenance manager brought his own air compressor to fill our daughters tire! He was awesome!! He was kind and patient and quickly responded!!! When we checked out that morning the tire compressor was broken.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Love it every time we come
Sep 09, 2019
Overall our stay was nice and relaxing, as it always is. With the exception of neighbors across from our cabin 353, who had three dogs that barked excessively during the day at every passerby. Thankfully at night the dogs were brought inside the camper and we were able to have a good night's rest. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The grounds around our cabin and the entire campground looked great
Sep 09, 2019
Great campground with lots of amenities to keep the kids busy . It’s close to town and the Smokies I rented a rustic cabin however to my surprise there was no AC. It was 87 degrees outside and hotter in the cabin . The fan just made it feel like a convection oven . It cooled off as the sun went down so the nights were fine . It explains why so many of their cabins are empty this time of
Sep 09, 2019
Loved it!!
Sep 09, 2019
Some of the help are kinda rude. Some are extremely nice. Since the campground has changed hands. Some employees shouldn’t have been hired or brought on.
Sep 08, 2019
Wonderful staff. Fantastic cabin. Great campground. Best place to stay in Cherokee NC.
Sep 07, 2019
Never been the camping type but tried the KOA cabin option for a change of pace. We had a blast. We had a deluxe cabin which was small but clean and cozy. Awesome fire pit, friendly staff, cool trout stream outside the front door. It was a great way to enjoy the mountains without giving up amenities of a hotel. And we got to bring the dogs and they loved all the new smells of the outdoors.
Sep 06, 2019
the grounds are nice, however it's to crowded to be a great place. Every square foot has a cabin or campsite.
Sep 06, 2019
The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA will always be our favorite location! They are consistent with great customer service over the years. The campground is always in impeccable condition. I grew up going with my parents. And now I have my own kids to enjoy the experience with!
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
I’ve been coming to Cherokee KOA for almost 20 years now. We had a great trip. The bathrooms were almost always clean. The staff was very friendly. Everything was great except for the following. The firewood is way too expensive, wet and does not burn properly. Very frustrating. On a holiday weekend there was only one person taking orders and cooking. 1 cashier inside with a long wait.
Sep 04, 2019
I love the atmosphere at Cherokee KOA. I do think they are overpriced, compared to other campgrounds and even other KOA's. They have a good amount of activities planned, but the communication in getting this info out PRIOR TO the stay would be nice, so campers can come prepared to participate.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place and other campers were friendly and respectful. The staff was great. The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Sep 04, 2019
Everything was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Priscilla is amazing.
Sep 03, 2019
Even though we didn’t bring our dogs this time, I am so happy to know it’s an option when staying in your cabins. We will be back...with our dogs! We had a wonderful stay. Only wish we had more time to stay.
Sep 02, 2019
We rented the Deluxe Cabin and it was filthy. The floors, walls, and bed. The bed had dog and human hairs all over the sheets. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned. The only way we would come back to stay is if we were in our own camper. The location of campground is beautiful. We paid way too much money for the filth we stayed in.
Sep 02, 2019
It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The amenities were well-kept. The only complaint is the mattress on the sleeper sofa is super uncomfortable!
Aug 26, 2019
Lot so to do but service was poor. Asked for towels for our deluxe cabin on multiple times and they did not arrive. Had a calendar of events for kids but every time we went over to the schedule event no one was there. Asked a question to the woman at the registration counter and got a very rude response, my wife got very upset. Overall the service was the worst of any KOA we have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2019
Very pleased with the check in process and the politeness and assistance with the staff. The cabin was very clean upon our arrival. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during our entire stay!!! �
Aug 25, 2019
Another pleasant and relaxing stay. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 24, 2019
To begin with when I got there they tried to give me a different cabin than what I booked it took a while to get it straightened out. Then our cabin looked like mildew on windows and deck was dirty. Not what I expected your pictures are deceiving on your site. in our cabin was supposed to have dishes and silverware but did not. And drove 12 hours to get there and end up like this.
Aug 24, 2019
Nice Deluxe cabin on the river but had a few small roaches in sink at night,and shower got cold a couple of times but altogether a nice campground with nice employees!
Aug 24, 2019
love it and have already came back Wednesday thru Friday and brought family with us 8/21-8/23
Aug 24, 2019
very relaxing and good fishing love the cabins we were in and would tell everyone we know about our relaxing time in the koa
Aug 23, 2019
Great campground!,nice cabins,lots to do there and everything is close, Joann seemed to be the most help and seemed like she really wanted to,not so much with everyone that we encountered, would recommend this campground.
Aug 22, 2019
There were a few maintenance items in the cabin that should be addressed - bolts/screws in floor vents sticking up, nails sticking out of trim in doorway, missing bolts/loose arms on patio chairs. The cabin itself was fantastic and the floor plan worked great for my family. Overall, our stay was fantastic.
Aug 22, 2019
Fun as always.
Aug 22, 2019
Stayed in basic cabin, everything was good with it, we have stayed at this location numerous times, and we were disappointed that you no longer do the tubing shuttle that we always enjoyed. But other than that we had a good time
Aug 14, 2019
This was our first time in a KOA campground. Our cabin was fabulous, exactly what we expected from the website, clean, well-supplied/stocked, and an incredible location right on the river. The staff were friendly, prompt to respond, and knowledgeable. Signage was clear leading to the campground and within the campground.
Aug 14, 2019
Rented a cabin for the first time and it was not very clean. Ants,spiders. Toilet dirty, microwave dirty, grill dirty upon arrival but was cleaned right away by friendly staff. Hair on sheets. Dust caked on exhaust fan and ceiling fan. Checked out a night early. Brought ants home with us in our laundry. Indoor pool water was cloudy. Rated a 2 because of very friendly staff member Daren!
Aug 14, 2019
Great location..friendly staff and nice cabins
Aug 13, 2019
Tres bien prise electrique exterieur ne fonctionne pas referer a un preposer toujours pas reparer a notre départ lumière intérieure brule bbq tres sale désuet
Aug 13, 2019
The only reason I don’t give a five is because our ceiling fan did not work, and the parking for our cabin wasn’t designated so having an inside cabin, when we came back to the cabin every time we had to search for parking.
Aug 13, 2019
Cabin was not ready until 340. After traveling we were tired and just wanted to get unpacked. Everything else about our stay was great. The kids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
Beautiful location with many great amenities. Our grill was broken, reported it but no one came to fix it.
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
We enjoyed our stay in a rustic cabin at KOA Cherokee.
Aug 09, 2019
Nice campground. Loved pool. Cabin needs repairs. Siding busted and ugly pipes running under steps. Dog hair behind food bowls. And my child found a razor in bunk bed. ��
Aug 09, 2019
Great cabin stay. Clean, quiet and welcoming park. Very pleasant staff.
Aug 09, 2019
Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Shower stalls outside doors did not lock. The bathrooms were pretty nasty. The cabins were very close together. There is a tv in the main room with a small bench to sit on, but would have made more sense to have a tv in the bedroom too or instead of in the main room. Staff were a little rude. Pretty area but definitely needs some work.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
2nd year staying there for the Talking Trees children's trout tourney. My five year old loved the playground, indoor heated swimming pool, and the ability to safely bicycle around the campground. Stocked trout river in the back and three stocked ponds in front of the campground! We stayed in a basic cabin but noted the bear proof food storage boxes at the tent camping sites. Covered picnic tables
Aug 08, 2019
Awesome time with friends and family
Aug 08, 2019
Cabin was great - there were some ants but not really a problem. Only complaint I would have is check in I think it would be better if cabin renters could check in early if the cabins are ready. Everyone lining up exactly at 3 was ridiculous.
Aug 07, 2019
We have been coming since 2011 with friends and family. This koa has always provided us the perfect place to make the best memories! The river access, pool, cafe, jump pillow, staff were all 5 stars. A huge thank you to The new manager Rachael and her staff. She is doing a great job making upgrades to an already amazing place. Thanks again for another great vacation. See you again soon!
Sep 18, 2019
Caught our limit
- Karen Burnette on Google
Sep 17, 2019
Great place
- Gary Whisnant on Google
Sep 16, 2019
Amazing campground, lots of amenities, stellar views of the river and my husband had a great time fishing!
- Tiffany Granims Gallagher on Google