Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now
Jul 11, 2020
It was so peaceful and lots too do. My kids loved it! We will definitely be back. Thanks for adding to our fun memories. We will remember this trip forever ��
Jul 10, 2020
Jul 10, 2020
Bathrooms were not cleaned, there was no soap in the dispensers for 2 days, the shower was clogged, there was no toilet paper for 2 days. There was men’s underwear left on the floor under a sink for at least 2 days. They ran out of ice to sell and when we did get ice it took them over 30minutes to come unlock the coolers so we cld get it after purchasing
Jul 10, 2020
Had a wonderful time.
Jul 10, 2020
Very good customer service good upgrade on cabin.prive for bike rental high for 1hours ride that runs into money trying keep kids enteretainef.ovet all good place.
Jul 10, 2020
Bathrooms were not clean. People in at check in were rude. Bathroom at no time during day were clean. No soap in dispensers. No toilet paper and or very little in holders. That is how I can tell they were not cleaned. Plus the dirt that is in toilet bowl didn’t change all day.
Jul 09, 2020
We enjoyed the location & porch area of our cabin! It was amazing! But the floors had not been cleaned at all & there was trash/several items on the floor and bed from previous occupants. Very disappointed the kiddie pool had been boarded up instead of being repaired; we have 2 small kids & were expecting for them to have that to play in. Bathhouses were not cleaned regularly and rarely had soap!
Jul 09, 2020
Great cabin on the Raven Fork. Great pizza from the grill. Great maintenance crew.
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
We loved our cute little cabin! We will definitely be back!
Jul 09, 2020
While I was appreciative of the manager Rachel switching me to a nicer cabin - one with AC, a kitchen and bath - I ended up getting scabies from staying there (cabin 502) over 4th of July weekend. The campground needs to sanitize and spray for bed bugs and mites in between guests. I've spent a lot of money and time trying to get rid of them. Will not stay at a KOA again.
Jul 09, 2020
It was a relaxing and Great stay
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
I love this campground. Everyone was super nice. My only complaint is that the cabin we stayed in was too close to the cabin behind us. Their fire pit was right outside our bedroom.
Jul 08, 2020
My main issue with the KOA in Cherokee, N.C. is that the food on site that you can buy is NOT a decent value. On one particular day, we paid $21.00 for a poor excuse of " tacos". There was no cheese, lettuce, tomato, sour cream or anything except flavorless meat and about 5 little chopped onions on each tiny "taco with everything" I'm still pissed off about wasting my money!!
Jul 08, 2020
The campground was great but some of the employees were rude especially one in the office named Joanne she is extremely rude and would scream at guests if they forgot their mask and refuse to help them even when they was the only customer at the desk!! If you ask her a question she would be hateful and tell you if you don’t like it you can leave the store! Employees even complained about her!!
Jul 08, 2020
Very nice but we did encounter several problems on the third night. 1. Check in was 3 and we didn't get in until 5. Had to keep the cars running because of the food. 2. We were promised a two-bedroom cabin with a loft and only got a two bedroom. was told on check in that those only rent for a eek at time. 3. Water was off for an hour. 4. Toilet ran all night. 5. Batteries in remotes were not there
Jul 08, 2020
I personally think the cabins on the river are overpriced as you have no bathroom , no a/c, have to bring your own linens . You can stay in a hotel cheaper and have a pool at your disposal as well . Dont think that you should charge for tubes only thing you offer addtl vs a hotel is a dog park & bouncing pad !!!! I went ahead a booked a cabin for next year cause my son by I’m tHinking of canceli
Jul 08, 2020
The campground has a nice variety of amenities and the location is convenient to Cherokee and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Unfortunately, we will not return due to our cabin not being cleaned upon arrival (management did take care of it when alerted), the bath house not being cleaned regularly, and our neighbors being kicked out of their cabin at 2am. It was not what we had hoped.
Jul 08, 2020
The cabin was not on the river- just rocks. We had rats. The sheets were stained. They wouldn't let us check in until 4. We've stayed at this campground with my family for 20 years and recently the campground has gone down hill. We will not be back and it makes us so sad.
Jul 08, 2020
My family and I enjoy a lot , hope next time we can rent a golf cart
Jul 08, 2020
The bathroom water heater couldn’t keep up with the demand. Very busy weekend so lot of people using it. Maybe change water hearted to gas on demand for consistent hot water.
Jul 08, 2020
It was fantastic, a little crowded at some of the campsites. I think more monitoring of occupancy is definitely needed.
Jul 07, 2020
the stay was great we had two, two room cabins for the family i will say they have kill mattress in them lol
Jul 07, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 07, 2020
Ants in cabin.Propane got cut off to gas grill ruining a steak dinner on second night.Community has fire pit only lit once during stay. Ask employees to light it and all said “don’t know how”. Ask for manager twice never got back to us. Cabin beside us had 7 people in it only supposed to be 4. Kept us up till 2am. Again ask for managers. Nothing. Don’t know if I would return
Jul 04, 2020
Did not get the cabin we were told we were getting. Was told river front and bunk beds we had a creek and two full side beds
Jul 04, 2020
Wonderful facilities and helpful staff. A great way to visit the Smokies. We definitely plan on returning.
Jul 03, 2020
If I had known about vthe masks ahead of time I would of went to another state
Jul 03, 2020
Fast friendly check in..All prices increased there should be.New picnic tables,fill potholes,fix game room,return putt putt &,clean hot tubs.My bigges complaint Hot Tubs! Children used them for swimming pools,jumping,rafts & magmt did nothing when told.I've been a customer for27 yrs& if I could have used hot tubs my vac. could have been excellent.We paid over $1500 to stay 4days amenities slack
Jul 03, 2020
I loved it as much as I did when I was 10, now my 10 yr old loves it too! We stayed in a deluxe cabin, it was nice mostly, but there is only harsh,bright overhead lighting,even in the loft, desperately needs lamps. Also the couch is small, fits two and maybe one small child, with nowhere to sit a drink except the floor. The campground is awesome though, and beautiful.Next time I will bring a lamp!
Jul 03, 2020
Bathrooms needed attention! Crowded not friendly as once was. Still a nice location. Got an alarmingly call that I didn’t have a reservation not sure what that was about?! I will return because we have been many times.
Jul 02, 2020
We had a great time, we return every year for 6/7 years.
Jul 02, 2020
Despite the Covid 19 issues my stay was amazing. The staff followed safety protocols. I saw safety steps I had not seen anywhere else. The hospitality was amazing. Super helpful and friendly staff. Special thanks to Drew for helping me out as he was driving by my site delivering wood, saw I needed help, and came right back and set me right up. We have been coming to this KOA since '79- excellent
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
The area in which the campgrounds reside is beautiful. Most of the staff was friendly and the children activities were great. The bathrooms/showers however were not cleaned or maintained throughout the day or from day to day. I witnessed a staff member open the bathroom door look in and shrug then sign off the sheet. The bathroom did need to be cleaned. My wife reported that there was the same in
Jul 02, 2020
We were disappointed that our cabin didn’t have a couple things: 1) campfire pit/ring - I’d think that would be a standard commodity in a campground. 2) Oven - the cabin description stated there was a full kitchen. We brought food that needed to be cooked in an oven. I think one has to assume that a “full kitchen” includes an oven.
Jul 02, 2020
I was a little disappointed because we came to the area to fish. I purchased a riverfront cabin only to be placed in a spot that the river was completely dried up. I complained and was offered nothing to remedy the situation. Other than that I was hppy with the campground. Sadly, because of this I will probably not come back.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
It was wonderful!! We just need to get away for the day, so happy we could book 1 night(thank you). The 2 fur babies had a great time and slept all the way home. It's just a 3 hour drive away.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
I’ve been coming to Cherokee KOA for at least 17 years. We’ve always enjoyed the campground. That being said there is a female working the front desk that is very rude and discourteous. This was witnessed by a manager and she acknowledged and apologized for the cashiers behavior. The pool area was not sanitized. The chairs and tables were filthy and never cleaned at all. This concerns me.
Jul 02, 2020
Jul 02, 2020
i have been coming to koa for 25 years or more bring genarations with me my kids ,friends family and telling every body that is interested in camping. i brought my three little grandson camping in 2019 for the halloween trick or treet they had a blast and want to come back again. and we shurly will because we love to fish also . so we will see you next time and thanks for every think. be safe!
Jul 02, 2020
Loved the activities! Would have liked to see more cleaning happening during this pandemic time. Bathrooms were freezing, need cleaning more than once a day. Indoor pool felt stuffy and dirty. Everyone was super nice! Cabin curtains should be washed between guests. No dustpan. Old meat in freezer. neighborshowed up with way more than 6 people. Kids should count, as they were all over the place.
Jul 02, 2020
A little piece of paradise in the Smokies.This was my 4th or 5th stay.Always enjoyable except....Bathroom could be better kept.And having same registers for campers and shoppers(fishing license)is extremely frustrating.I make sure I get ice and firewood,snacks.bait etc... before I arrive.Staff is great.And snack bar is now a joke.Might as well just sell pizzas...Out of other things.Still
Jul 02, 2020
We enjoyed our time there very much. Our cabin was near the end, which woman at Check-in warned would be loud (because of nearby rushing water) but it was perfectly relaxing. Website confusing as to which cabins had AC so I booked thinking ours did. It did not and was hot during day. Communal bathrooms in back stunk. Front ones freezing but cleaner. But overall, nice place, great location!
Jul 02, 2020
It was an okay stay. The cabins were super close and the bathrooms near us smelled horrible / were dirty the entire time we went to use them. The jacuzzi outside’s water was filthy too. We didn’t really have any expectations but probably won’t stay at this KOA again, will try Murphy’s or Pigeon Forge.
Jul 02, 2020
We had a great time.
Jul 02, 2020
It was good except the cabin we stayed in fire places was crooked and too close to mulch for comfort. Also we had issues with parking because the cabin was way to close to others.
Jul 11, 2020
Very clean cabins. Very nice people.lots of things for the kids to do..just all around a great place to stay
- roger mcabee on Google
Jul 10, 2020
GREAT fishing
- ikonik652 epip games on Google
Jul 13, 2020
My family really enjoyed this campground for a weekend getaway not too far from home. Very kid friendly. And doing a very good job mitigating this covid 19 mess while remaining open. The only area for improvement i saw was some flood puddles and mud in certain sites and on some roads after heavy rains . But wasnt a huge deal. Thought they could gravel a few places better. Only reason I didn't give this campground 5 stars. 2 pools! For kids. With a neat jumping bubble and a playground helped to keep the kids occupied. Can't wait to return later this fall.
- barry neal on Google