Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 15, 2017
Very nice leveled concrete site. Location adjacent to many attractions.
Oct 15, 2017
We had a great time!! We love the indoor pool, the bouncy pillow, and the banana bikes. The stafff was also extremely nice. I did not like that the builders started hammering in the morning while I was still trying to sleep. I think that they should wait to make loud construction noises until at least 9:00. People go on campus my trips to relax and do not want to be awoken by hammering.
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed our trip, however several of the tent sites are too small for large tents. The site that I was assigned to had no grass at all. All it had was mud and roots. I had to put my tent on my sisterâs site which was next to us.
Oct 15, 2017
Such a treat...beautiful campground and the staff was so kind courteous and helpful
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
The only negative is we always stay in a deluxe cottage/cabin on the river and the Wi-Fi is nearly non existent so it makes it hard to work or keep up with emails. Other than that love the place.
Oct 14, 2017
KOA store closed way to early. No coffee no one know how to fix the machine. Nice clean restrooms and showers. Really friendly staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Beautiful area, peaceful campground.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Arrived 5pm Tuesday with no food on board RV. Found shop shut and restaurant shut. RV too large to take into town Security recommended a take away from town but they refused to deliver to site. Toilets and hookups OK but Internet weak. No bus service as advertised. Had to take taxi at $25 each way. So a remote site with few facilities in Octobet
Oct 13, 2017
We checked in late, (10:15pm) the 2 gentlemen who checked us in were great. They took time to show us around, pointed out where everything was and made sure we were comfortable once we set up camp. Only problem we had was with someone staying in a cabin behind us, complaining we were making too much noise as we were setting up. We were done by 11:00pm.
Oct 13, 2017
The stay was as usual good. Only thing I can complain about is the walnut trees over where we parked at our cabin. Those walnuts beat or cars to death so I moved them. To keep them from damaging our cars. Cabin 243 is nice, river front. The people in the cabin next to us didn't barely give us any room to get in and out. Had to drive by them to get to our parking.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 12, 2017
It has an indoor pool and the campground is nice
Oct 12, 2017
Extremely kind and helpful staff!
Oct 12, 2017
WiFi, cable, hot tub didnât work or kept breaking down with confrontations with employee when reporting. A problem with there system for scheduling I was told I had 15 minutes to produce a receipt or get out of the camp ground, when I had scheduled to be there,very rude! Other than the one office girl all other employee were helpful and courteous. And the ground were nice.
Oct 11, 2017
My grandchildren wanted to see the mountains and I had been to Cherokee before so I chose to take them there. They really enjoyed the trip.
Oct 11, 2017
Great Place bad WiFi. Very bad.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
The campground is nice. The bathrooms were not cleaned very well at all, it was signed out that staff was cleaning them but the same big balls of hair were in the shower the entire 6 days of our stay. Also there was construction noise from the front office until after 9 pm one evening which did not make for a relaxing time by our fire that we had planned.
Oct 11, 2017
I was thrilled about my stay until I went to check in and the lady told me someone made a mistake on my reservation.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Staff super friendly, campground very clean and well kept, beautiful scenery. Bath houses clean and readily accessible. Plenty of camping supplies and groceries at the KOA store made things very convenient. Will definitely be back in the future.
Oct 11, 2017
Nice place that's VERY well hidden in the mountains. Tons of room and lots of sites / choices on where to stay. Office staff was very friendly and helpful, and support staff was great after hours. Only downside is the WiFi. It's so bad I think they should just consider getting rid of it altogether, rathe than "try' and make it work.
Oct 11, 2017
Charging for every additional person stating "for extra service", but don't have enough stuff to simply serve and clean up; toilets simply run out soup for 1,5 days. Many tries with falling nuts over and damaging the vehicles, I tried to park 5-7 feet apart to save my car and I have been advised that my car will be town away :( and who's going to pay for the damage-it's your unexpected experiences
Oct 10, 2017
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Kottage in the river had fire rings removed. My family goes to KOA for a camping experience and most of our meals are planned to be cooked on the campfire. We were told there was. "Community fire" on the patio. It was gas logs. Very disappointed in the lack of fire pits and that we weren't notified of this ahead of time.
Oct 10, 2017
My family has come to Cherokee KOA many times. We consider it our "home KOA" This time we were disappointed to find out we could not have a campfire at the cottages we were in. They had removed the fire rings! What's camping without a fire? All the other sites had fire rings. Also the campfire grill closed early and without notice. Not my best experience. Not sure if we will be back.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
We did have one rough day with a neighboring campers dog that continuously barked and were a little disappointed that all of the info said there was a mini golf and there wasn't but everyone was super friendly and we still loved it!
Oct 10, 2017
The staff was awesome in every way, They went above and beyond to help us and to make our stay feel like home. We will definitely be back.
Oct 10, 2017
My truck has dents all over it from the walnut trees that I had to park under at my cabin. They need to be cut down before they cause more damage to another vehicle.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the location of this very spacious park. Only negative would be that the staff closed the pool and hot tub at 8:00 when the posted closing time is 9:00. When all of the construction is completed the campground will be awesome.
Oct 10, 2017
Campground was great. While leaving we had to ask employees to move vehicles away from dump station for access. Once finished dumping, the water did not work for rinsing pipe. Had read reviews expressing concerns about the dump station. Address needs to be Big Cove Rd.; not Campground Access Rd.
Oct 10, 2017
This was our first time camping as a family and we had a great time. The campground was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My girls loved the jumping pillow and indoor pool. Overall a great experience!
Oct 09, 2017
Deluxe cabin smelled like cigarette smoke, beds were not comfortable, not worth the price. Staff acted like they didn't care.
Oct 09, 2017
We stay here a lot. But for years the tv cable the wifi phone service just sucks. We do not go to do just this but when you want to check bad weather coming in unavailable . The phone we have no service the wifi even if you get the code it tells you wrong code. Most visits never can use. So we purchased a antenna to help with your horrible service this does not work. So in our future we are lookin
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Check-in and check-out procedures were much improved over past years. Fish cleaning table is much appreciated. I realize Port-a-potty is not your responsibility but it was an environmental catastrophy last weekend. It remained unserviced for 5 days. Any influence you might have on cleaning schedule would be appreciated. If cabin is empty, it would be convenient to allow early check-in.
Oct 09, 2017
we really enjoyed our stay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. very nice and safe area. We will be back again to rent a cabin. Thanks again for a great weekend
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
great
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Had an excellent time. Staff was wonderful.
Oct 09, 2017
1. Adjacent campers were allowed to check-in at 11pm and proceeded to set up until midnight. 1. Wi-fi continues to be poor year over year, and was unavailable for half of our stay. 3. Outdoor pool and hot tub was closed even though temps were forecast to be summer highs throughout the weekend.
Oct 09, 2017
Staff is awesome, cabin was very clean. My wife and I have stayed here in our travel trailer several times and plan to continue to camp her. You will not be sorry you picked the Cherokee KOA for your trip!
Oct 09, 2017
It was enjoyable as always, however, the site I reserved was very difficult to get into. We thought that when someone saw what sight we were going into, it should have been changed to a larger site with easier access. We didn't know we were on a small site with a 33' fifth wheel, we're not from there, we were traveling. Hope somebody looks out for us in the future....
Oct 09, 2017
Awesome customer service. The Wi-Fi password never worked. I wish that someone would have told us about the alternative way into the campground since we were in an RV. We lost our brakes coming across the parkway to our campsite.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award