Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2018
Always a great time!!! Thank you
Oct 16, 2018
Love this campground because of its location. But activities seem very disorganized and confusing. The roads need attention, We came for the Halloween weekend as we have for the past 3 yrs, each year their haunted island has been on our list to see. We haven't as of yet because the line is huge and they only let 5 in at a time, after an hour wait we left each year. The Judging of sites is a mess!!
Oct 16, 2018
Haunted island was better this year.
Oct 16, 2018
Staff was very helpful and campground was very clean
Oct 16, 2018
The two room deluxe cabin was nice. Drawback is one of the rooms is two tiny and barely fits, my daughter is claustrophobic. We arrived around 10 pm, and I still had to make the beds for my kids when they were already sleeping and we were too exhausted from the trip The activities were good and also the haunted island. The campground is family friendly and fun.
Oct 16, 2018
The campground itself is nice but the cabins are not well equipped. We arrived at 10 pm and there was no bedding for the pullout sofa and the two bulbs were not working. They couldn't help us and we had to manage with what what was there! The cabin wasn't cleaned well and the refrigerator was too noisy!
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
We stayed during the Halloween activities and we loved the excitement of staff and fellow campers..the campground is week kept and bathrooms very clean...cable could use upgrades..
Oct 16, 2018
Awful . I reserved a deluxe site and they put me into a regular site with power and said my resevation said it was deluxe . And said we couldn’t move because they over booked the site .
Oct 16, 2018
great location, friendly staff. a lot of great activities for the kids, great internet - wi-fi, my only complaint is the cable TV. The picture quality is absolutely terrible and the channel selection needs upgraded.
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
The staff was stressed and not friendly. Went to the office and Asked about a shuttle. After she put her breakfast down and chewed it up, she informed us abruptly that there was not one because it was Halloween weekend. It was October 13th. Our view of the “trout pond” was a barbed wire fence, porta potty and a dumpster. We heard the potty door slam closed all weekend because it was a public p
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Everything was great except the cable tv service was out at our site and at several sites around us for the six days we were there.
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
The Halloween activities were really fun and the haunted island was surprisingly super scary and fun
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Great place well kept
Oct 16, 2018
enjoyed the activities for the kids they loved the trick or treating wish they would have at least did a movie on sunday night to though.
Oct 15, 2018
no internet or tv.
Oct 15, 2018
We have been coming to this campground every year for 16 years. This year instead of our usual deluxe cabin on the river we were put at the very far end of the campground on a runoff stream. The cable was not working, we brought it up & were told sorry, not offered an alternative cabin or discount. We just didn't feel like our business was appreciated.
Oct 15, 2018
Apparently there are new owners since last year & while I enjoyed the new decorations to the campground the prices has changed so much with added charges to each camping site or cabin. We have stayed for many years now at this KOA but after this past weekend we will no longer be staying at this KOA in October 2019. We had 4 total sites and each had so many extra charges. We were very disappointed!
Oct 15, 2018
Very nice facilities and great staff
Oct 15, 2018
I appreciate the improvements made to check in and check out process. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. It would be nice if you repaired fish cleaning table.
Oct 15, 2018
We always enjoy our stay at Cherokee KOA. Staff was nice. Cabin was nice. Just wish we had time to stay longer!
Oct 15, 2018
Great weekend getaway. I'd like to see more of a customer service attitude from the staff. No one did anything necessarily wrong or bad just minimum effort was noted. Facilities were nice and clean.
Oct 15, 2018
Long wait it took 30 minutes to check in bad light switch in cabin maintenance came kept flipping back and forth till it came on had to leave it on till I went to bed because he said he no switch or light bulbs waited 15 minutes to pay for firewood which never delivered. Two toilets stopped up forever to open restroom open again. 30 minutes to check out. really need more space to tell all.
Oct 15, 2018
It was my first time coming to a KOA campground. The grounds were beautiful, friendly & helpful staff. Our cabin was cozy. Love that they accommodate pets. Bathrooms were very clean and felt almost like a resort vs a campground. We had a great time and we will be returning for a week next time.
Oct 14, 2018
We were pleased with our campsite- nice level site. However, each time we went to the bathhouse the floors were dirty with wet dirt/mud. It may help if mat/rug was at main bathhouse entrance .One toliet was clogged with toliet paper,etc & left clogged.The showers in main bathhouse had no bench to place items & no mat as you step out of shower(wet & unsanitary).The men's urinals were too high.
Oct 14, 2018
Oct 14, 2018
Stayed on lot 56 the first night. Felt as if we were staying in a prison camp with the chain link fence with bobwire . Office would not help find another lot.Grounds not keep very well. Blowing leaves off cabin porachies on to my lot as we were breaking camp for relocation to another lot on Sunday after complaining. Used bathhouse after breaking camp for the journey home and no toilet paper.
Oct 14, 2018
While this was always a favorite KOA, it has really missed the mark this trip. There are too few people cleaning the bathrooms. Bathhouse C was filthy with mud, no soap the 4 days we were there and only 2 of the 4 commodes in the ladies room were functional. I notified the office the 2nd day, no improvement. All those children, no hand washing and $78/day. You should be ashamed.
Oct 14, 2018
Bathroom w Nice stay
Oct 14, 2018
Very clean cabin. Friendly staff. My only concern is that the campground should monitor the playground more closely. My 3 year old wasn't able to safely play on it because of the older kids that really shouldn't have been on it in the first place. They were using it as a jungle gym. And almost knocked her off and ran her down several times. They were very rambunctious. Making her time unenjoyab
Oct 14, 2018
Wonderful staff, beautiful and very clean accommodations, quiet and restful stay, great prices and great proximity to the national park! Thank you very much to everyone there!
Oct 13, 2018
I think they gave us the worst site in a campground very uneven ground big tree growing beside it Roots all over the place cable didn't work just didn't have a good time this time last time I was there with much better but this time was terrible
Oct 13, 2018
Great place to stay. Everyone was very nice. If I had any negatives, it would be the price of the cabins. They seem higher than the rest of the locations.
Oct 13, 2018
Large friendly staff. The KOA store was depleted of commonly used items. We enjoyed our stay.
Oct 12, 2018
Back in July I called by phone to reserve 2 side by side sites. Some how the KOA person on the phone managed to charge my Visa five charges each of $83 +/-. Fortunately I brought a printout of credit card charges which looked strange. At sign in no credit was shown and staff said KOA had not received these payments. After a half a day of jerking me around, the second supervisor fixed it. OK.
Oct 12, 2018
Filthy overall, housekeeping should be fired. Shower houses were decent, but the cabins were dirty, smelled like urine, infested with ants, bad plumbing (had to double flush and drain backed up while showering)... Too bad, great location for the area, worst experience we have ever had at a KOA! Normally stay with our RV, this our 2nd time staying in a cabin, the 1st time at another KOA was better!
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 12, 2018
Been staying there for 20 yrs. Love it there. However the service in the store was terrible. They did not have enough help. Waited in line forever. Had 1 lady waiting on customers. I walked out and went down the road to another store and got my fishing supplies.
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
It was nice needed a little cleaning and fleshing up .pool and hot tub was not up to par when we got there.outside staff were friendly inside needed more info on area.and should know if pizza is delivered to the park.it is they said not.
Oct 10, 2018
initial reservation had us in a pull through that would not support the toy hauler and tow vehicle, staff was very accommodating in moving in moving to a larger pull through for the weekend
Oct 10, 2018
I was somewhat disappointed in this KOA. After three days the restrooms had not been cleaned or refurbished. The laundry areas were unkept and no change machines worked in entire park.The area is beautiful but many amenities listed on their website were not available nor was there any attempt to appease. One employee Sean went above and beyond to do his share in tending to the customers.
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals