Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2020
Great place to stay with friendly staff and beautiful scenery! It’s our 4th year and we already reserved a spot to come back next year! Can’t wait!
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Loved the cabin and want to stay there next year. Can’t tell by my reservation conformation if we reserved cabin k242. Hope so!��
Aug 01, 2020
There was a few things in our cabin that needed some maintenance but the overall stay was great!! We enjoyed ourselves.
Aug 01, 2020
This was our first stay. Scenery was beautiful. Staff was friendly. Very family oriented. Had activities for the kids to keep them busy during the day. Multiple stocked trout ponds allowed the kids to catch fish. The store on site has very basic necessities. Will definitely go back for longer next time!
Aug 01, 2020
Great place and location.. well run . Will make this a must stop place when we head north
Aug 01, 2020
I love it and will definitely be back again
Aug 01, 2020
Our first KOA experience and we loved it. We have a 4 yr old and we thought the camp grounds offered lots of Kid friendly amenities. The moment we arrived and when we left we had a terrific time. The grill by the pool offered delicious and cheap food! Upon arrival someone show us our site and made sure we got settled in just fine. Only complaint I have is that they do not answer their phones.
Aug 01, 2020
Enjoyed our stay. A suggestion would be to clean indoor and out door pool areas. They apeared to be in need of pressure cleaning. Did not see anyone disinfecting any surfaces including the bounce pad where children would play.
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Awesome as always! It was my 3rd time there and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cherokee.
Aug 01, 2020
No body answers the phone nor returns emails. When I did get thru was offered site 163, I refused and was told would be in 176. Got there, put in 163, 45ft bus completely filled site, no where for truck. Patio pad located at rear rear wheels, two open sewer drains on driver’s side, cable box and water box on passenger side. Paid $106.00 per day for this crap. grossly over priced
Aug 01, 2020
Absolutely love this park. The location and the amenities are wonderful. Not the friendliest staff, but that won’t keep us from staying again.
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Had a great experience with the staff. The gentleman was very helpful, and knowledgeable about the area and places to eat.
Jul 31, 2020
Jul 31, 2020
No cell coverage (good thing), but wifi actually allowed me to connect as I needed. Nice relaxing place yet with enough activities to keep children active.
Jul 31, 2020
I was very disappointed. Rude staff and very disorganized.
Jul 31, 2020
Loved every minute of it
Jul 31, 2020
Water was shut off almost everyday without notification and one day for several hours. Not able to wash hands, use the restroom, prepare meals without water. Every lot should be notified
Jul 30, 2020
Very accommodating. Friendly Staff. Clean Campground. I was so thrilled to see the pot holes taken care of. All I have to say and I say it every time I do these things is, pulling in your camper to check in is too tight. Also I wish my site was mowed before I get there. I will always return as long as the staff continues to be as friendly as they are
Jul 30, 2020
This KOA has some serious maintenance issues. First, the playground appears new, but even after a light rain, black, stinking oozing mud runs in rivers from underneath the bark chips. Afternoon rainstorms are common, and humongous thick black mud puddles appear on either side of the playground. Straw has been thrown around, but it does little to fix the drainage problems and fly breeding ground
Jul 30, 2020
Very kid friendly but Overcrowded with current conditions. Needs some attention to grounds keeping.
Jul 30, 2020
It was a beautiful campsite and every staff member was very respectful and helpful if needed! I can’t wait to come back to this camp site in the future.
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 30, 2020
We loved our stay! The campground was very clean. The sites were spacious. We stayed by one of the trout ponds and hope to stay by the river on our next visit.
Jul 30, 2020
It was our first time using our camper and staying at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA has set the comparison bar ridiculously high. Beautiful setting and wonderful accommodations.
Jul 29, 2020
It wasn’t long enough.
Jul 29, 2020
the grounds are in need of maintenance. The flower bed at the office entrance was overgrown with Christmas decorations laying on the ground. Also poising oak growing in flowerbeds.My daughter and husband had paid a deposit last year to reserve a particular cabin, KOA did not honor the deposit and issued a two room cabin and not the one room as expected - plus charged them for the two room cabin.
Jul 29, 2020
Had a great time. Our cabin on the river #237 was great! Our grandchildren had a great time with lots to do. Clean property and staff was very friendly and accommodating, even with being under staffed.
Jul 29, 2020
I have never been to a dirtier campground in my years of camping ...most of the staff were unfriendly and rude the bathrooms were atrocious..just disgusting... dirtiest bathrooms i have seen...we are in a pandemic you would think they would be diligent about cleanliness...NOPE!!! The manager(Rachel)acted like she could care less about anything or anyone's problems there...
Jul 28, 2020
Favorite campground! Joanne is the best! We just love her!! Bathrooms could definitely use some cleaning. They were dirty and stunk very badly. Otherwise I would have rated a 5 star. Love the river and fishing. Outdoor pool is relaxing. Grill food was excellent. Can’t wait to come back in the fall :)
Jul 28, 2020
The campground is in a very nice area, but the grounds up keep is lacking. There was a lot of leaves and sticks on campsite, water spigot has a steady leak and the sewer cap was just laying on the pipe I could not securely attach sewer line to dump line.
Jul 28, 2020
This was the first time we stayed at a KOA. We had a great time and will be back next year. The campground staff was AWESOME and did a very good job.
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Continuous improvements to facility, services, and customer interaction over last few years. Great place to stay. Fish cleaning station was great addition but disposal did not work.
Jul 28, 2020
Perfect, even with the rain
Jul 28, 2020
Really enjoyed our stay!! Everyone was nice and friendly!!!
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Beautiful location, employees very helpful. But overcrowded especially with covid19, teenagers making noise and congregating behind my trailer till 12am. But worse of all the bathrooms were always dirty even within an hour after cleaning, too many using them, last day and a half out of toilet paper. WiFi not capable of keeping up with all the people using it.
Jul 28, 2020
Wonderful experience, the campground is well maintained. Staff is super friendly and hands on to help! Special thanks to the man who brought my firewood, and went back and forth to get my change :). Just 2 suggestions: trim the bushes on the river shore so we can have a better view. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. Thank you everybody for a great time!
Jul 28, 2020
Wonderful camp ground, friendly staff and lots to do!
Jul 28, 2020
It was wonderful. Enjoyed time with the family
Jul 28, 2020
We LOVE the Cherokee KOA! This was our 3rd trip, and we'll be back again! Our kids love all the activities and amenities, we love the cool mountain air and being right on the river.
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Wonderful!!!!!
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
The campground and staff were great for the most part. Unfortunately, when I arrived and was taken to my spot, the employee backing me in had me pull out and back in again. At one point he told me to cut hard and keep backing up. The is backed my camper right into the fire pit. I filled out an incident report and have tried several times to contact Rachel the manager and she has never responded
Aug 01, 2020
Awesome!
- Dorothy Robson on Google
Aug 03, 2020
It was alright
- DarkPotato on Google