Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Fall Cabin Deal Save $25 a Night, valid Sunday-Thursday

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 20, 2020
The campsite for our RV was great! Pull thru with concrete pad it’s was so nice. We loved the activities for the kids and they even had my favorite pizza place on site Hunt Brothers�ϋ�
Oct 20, 2020
Great family oriented place! Lots of fun activities for the kids!
Oct 20, 2020
Very disappointed ! I thought when I booked a site by the pond we would be able to walk from our campsite and sit by the pond. With the fence around the pond and the vines growing on the fence you can barely see the pond from the campsite.
Oct 20, 2020
Great place for families and conveniently close to GSMNP.
Oct 20, 2020
It was a nice peaceful stay. The scenery was beautiful along with the river. Time to change some of those old mattresses in the cabins. Sore back from worn springs. Oh And maybe some new shower curtains because mine Was moldy on the inside. Great looking campground overall. Friendly staff and patrons.
Oct 20, 2020
Nice campground but a few of the sites were a bit rough. Enjoyed our stay and looking forward to seeing the future upgrades.
Oct 20, 2020
The office was hardly open. It seemed to close early and open late. When we checked in, they gave us a cabin in a different location that was farther from the bathrooms....when we asked to be put back, where they had originally confirmed with us, they said they were all full and couldn't make any changes.
Oct 20, 2020
The cabin I reserved was supposed to be on the river. When we arrived, we were on a dry creek bed. When asking staff about it, they were very rude and did not want to assist further. The bathrooms were disgusting. Pee and toilet paper all over the floor. Our cabin was full of spider webs and the place hadn't been dusted in a very long time. Dust was inches thick on the ceiling fan. Unsatisfactory
Oct 20, 2020
Great people and an amazing stay. They even work us in on a new site when we would fit the site they gave us and we LOVED IT!!!!!
Oct 20, 2020
well organized but the cloudy weather made the KOA seem gloomy.
Oct 20, 2020
Property was fun and in a great location. The Halloween events were a nice touch and clearly good for the families with kids. Our only gripe was the amount of mud at our campsite and the poor condition of the bathrooms. The shower heads and shower curtains need to be replaced bad. The shower heads are jammed with minerals, causing backups and low water pressure and the shower curtains have mold.
Oct 20, 2020
Stay at KOA cherokee was good but staff in the front office is un-professional and needs training. Had worst experience on the night 10/17(Reservation 5770753 - Camping Cabin Rustic Cabin)...When i chcked-in, I told her that this First time in my life camping and she just gave the map and room no 73 key. Room is good but too cold and she did not offer Heater and she did not explain about the room.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
The staff was not the friendliest, our cabin door was very hard to lock and unlock, our sink faucet didn't work right. We love the location of our cabin, but the wifi in the back of the campground is beyond terrible!!!
Oct 19, 2020
Excellent time as usual.
Oct 19, 2020
Our stay was nice, hindered only by the fact that it had rained several days before we came and our site # 141 had a huge puddle beside our concrete pad that we have dealt with for several years. They had put down a few stepping stones in a low spot a year or so ago but those were under water. The campground is in great need of some maintenance such as repairs to campsites and potholes in roads
Oct 19, 2020
Nice place. Clean. Staff is friendly.
Oct 19, 2020
Very nice - nice campsite, once we moved. The first campsite would not accommodate our large 41 foot camper with slides and awnings. We did put that on our registration form. The second campsite fit quite well.
Oct 19, 2020
We loved this campground and will definitely be back. The sites were spacious and there was a lot to do for all ages.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Great campground, only issue shower curtain had mold all over it.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
The location is wonderful but the cabin we stayed in was not very clean there were cobwebs everywhere and we went swimming in the indoor pool and the whole area was very dirty. There was litter everywhere with employees standing around and no one picking it up. However it was a busy weekend and they had a huge Halloween event planned and it was great. We will still come back.
Oct 19, 2020
Nice campground. Huge, but nice. Lots of things for kids to do, especially this time of year. Our pull through had a concrete pad, picnic table and patio chair and table with umbrella. Also, there were trees and shrubs on one side between sites.
Oct 19, 2020
We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin on the river and loved the location and nice deck area. The cabin was cute, cozy and clean but the bed was very firm and not very comfortable. The cabin was stocked with paper towels, toliet paper, dish detergent and a Keurig coffee maker. The unit did not have an oven but we made use of the gas grill.
Oct 19, 2020
Front staff and the staff at the grill were great! Our cabin did have mold on the shower curtain in the bathroom and many spiderwebs and dusting issues. I really don't think that the floors had a good cleaning in a while. Would stay here for sure again in our camper, but not a cabin. Our lower review just came down to the cleanliness of the cabin.
Oct 19, 2020
We pre-registered about a month ago and paid for half of our stay. On the road, my wife confirmed online our stay and paid for the other half. When we got to the park the second payment never made it to the system so we had to pay again. The "rustic" cabin is just another word for crappy. The locks didn't work and it was dirty. Why limit the number of characters if you want to know?
Oct 19, 2020
This is a great campsite for "Families" with a lot of things for the kids. I arrived late and was disappointed with the bathroom - stopped up sinks. But by the next morning they were clean and great each day after. I came mainly because of the fishing. A bit crowded - but it is the Smokies and Fall time. Overall I had a great time and will return.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
Had a great time! There was so much to do and they went all out for Halloween on decorations and events. We have went in the summer every year but will definitely be coming back for Halloween every year now too.
Oct 19, 2020
The reason for a 4 on rate is I saw a lot of muddy sites and a lot of leaking water faucets. The site I was on had a puddle where the power plug was. that is not to safe. Other than that The Lark , James clan had a grate time as we have the past years.
Oct 19, 2020
We had a great time as always. They did a fantastic job for Halloween!
Oct 19, 2020
Pull through full hook up sites were nice and campground was close to the things we wanted to do. Campground was very crowded and lots of kids running around unsupervised. Don’t bother doing express check in when you get the email, we still had to pay when we got there and verify our information, completing the express check in was a waste of my time.
Oct 19, 2020
Aside from the electricity and water being shut off and no attention to the men's restroom on one of the days we did enjoy our stay.
Oct 19, 2020
Wonderful as always. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Oct 19, 2020
Loved it!
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
love the area, all of the employees were very accommodating and friendly! I wasn't pleased when we got to our site, we had a big mud hole that we had to pull the camper through, and had NO gravel or NO concrete!!?? We also DID NOT HAVE WATER, the gentleman that took us to our site said he would be right back with a splitter, he never came, I walked to the office they called, WE NEVER WATER!!!!
Oct 19, 2020
The cabin was good overall. Ways to improve: - The shower curtain was moldy and there was mold on the bathroom ceiling. - No one picked up the phone when we called the number to get assistance. - The internet didn’t work well. We booked the room so I could stream my class for my studies. I couldn’t do that. Other than that, it was a good stay. The location was excellent.
Oct 19, 2020
Oct 19, 2020
The cabin was great but my reservation was messed up the day after I checked in... had the staff track me down and bring me to the office like I had done something wrong. It was a mistake by an employee but was not handled well by staff. Very unprofessional. About half of the staff was very friendly, the other half were very rude. We will return to this KOA but only for Halloween weekends.
Oct 19, 2020
I LOVE KOA’s and they are typically the only campgrounds I will use. I stayed in this campground once before and it was wonderful. This time, there was old food left in the cabin, dirty rags on the floor and no evidence that it had been cleaned since the last person stayed. With Covid I had thought the cleaning procedures would be even more strict. That was not the case here.
Oct 18, 2020
Not at all like the pictures online. Our ‘premium’ RV site was short and up against a vine covered chain link fence. We awoke to a dumpster being lifted and emptied on the other side of the fence. There was a restroom building right behind us for people fishing in the two ponds behind us. There were a number of apparent full timers with lots of ‘stuff’. Mud was prevalent. Bathrooms smelle
Oct 18, 2020
Oct 18, 2020
We were impressed with the safe roads for my kids to bike and the river view from our cabin was top notch. Playground was extremely nice!
Oct 18, 2020
Sites are clear and not too close together. Paved site made leveling rv easy. Friendly staff. Liked that we guided to our site by a staff member.
Oct 18, 2020
It was good other than higher prices for the last 2 nights. You say because of holiday. That was not right! Also you advertised Hershey ice cream but you were not even selling it. Also our cable never worked good at all!
Oct 18, 2020
Only complaint is there should be instructions for using gas logs and air conditioning
Oct 18, 2020
We stayed for 5 days and the KOA was very nice, friendly staff, RV sites are a good size and the location was good. Only thing for us is that it is a big place and noisy during the day, a lot of kids running around, riding bikes, running through our site continuously. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 18, 2020
Our stay was very relaxing. We used it as our basecamp for site-seeing the fall colors. The campground was well kept. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our site was level and clean.
Oct 21, 2020
Wonderful campground, well taken care of and the staff is always so nice. The play area for the kids are really nice. Best campground in Cherokee by far.
- Tammy McLeymore on Google
Oct 19, 2020
This campground was well worth the money and is one of the best places to stay on the south side of the smokies. Check-in and check-out were a breeze! We stayed a week and always found the staff to be nice, helpful and busy keeping the place looking nice. Trout fishing adjacent to the campground was very convenient for kids (Cherokee permit required)!
- Jonathan Mozingo on Google
Oct 19, 2020
I didn't read reviews prior to booking because I've always had high standards but of KOA so when I saw them I was so nervous. However our stay in cabin 303 was great! Easy check in and out and the bathrooms could've been cleaner but 8/10 times they were kept up. WiFi did come and go but you're also in the Smokies so it's hard to ask for perfect WiFi 😂
- Ally Isom on Google