Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 09, 2018
The kamping kabin floor was dirty when we arrived. The bathrooms were never really cleaned during the week of our stay, and there was grit and leaf litter all over the floor. You have to visit the office to check out a heater, and be sure to return it when you leave or you will be charged. Otherwise, it was a typical KOA with a building to stay in, facilities to use, and nice staff at the office.
Dec 09, 2018
We love it here!!!!! Everyone is very friendly and the fishing is awesome!
Dec 05, 2018
Dec 03, 2018
Used to stay 3-4 times a yr. to fish from Nov-Feb in 90's-2000's. I think it's gone downhill.Last time here the indoor pool was finished, which is useless at a campground. They act like they are trying to be a resort, higher rates&add-on fees reflect this.They removed all signs of Cherokee heritage from the bath. It rained 2 nites&part of 3 days, executive type said fire is too big, come on, man!
Dec 03, 2018
Dec 01, 2018
Everything was as advertised. People very friendly. One gentleman rode around giving out dog treats to Barney and other dogs. Lovely spot.
Nov 30, 2018
Electrical breakers flickering. Manager laughed at me when I told him about it n offered 10$ credit after we had no tv or bedroom light. Very bizarre experience
Nov 29, 2018
We always enjoy staying at this KOA. How ever the pot holes in the camp ground have not been fixed for several years and they have started to grow. New pot holes are also starting to show up.
Nov 29, 2018
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Nov 28, 2018
We were greeted every day by friendly staff who truly cared about us and our day! They could answer all our questions about area highlights, too. We really like the warm updated restrooms and especially the showers and spacious available laundry. One thing you could change is the timers on lights as we were in the dark some in the showers, but it was understandable. We really liked the pet area!
Nov 28, 2018
World class location for trout fishermen and Great Smokies Nat'l Park visitors! Deluxe cabin fits 6 just fine. A bit of confusion on the kitchen though. One description says "full kitchen", another says "partial kitchen". It doesn't have a conventional oven (a nice sized microwave though) so maybe that would be considered partial. Full size fridge! Pots/pans, cooking/eating ware all there!
Nov 28, 2018
Nov 28, 2018
Perfect place for a family. Grandkids loved the place as did parents and grandparents. Nice sites. Pool was great. Jump pad was fun. Only thing I’d like to see is cleaner restrooms but it was fall and there were a lot of leaves
Nov 27, 2018
Nov 27, 2018
One of the bathrooms was extremely cold (no heat v/s the other bath house).I needed a ride to a gas station 3/4 of a mile away because my wife had taken my truck and I wanted to get my son a fishing pole since the store was out of most of their stock, and was told that they were understaffed this time of year. As much as they charge, I would just expect to have their mess together a little better
Nov 27, 2018
Great KOA. Lots to do
Nov 27, 2018
We camped at the Cherokee, NC KOA for Thanksgiving 2018 and had a truly memorable time. The campground is extremely clean, peaceful, has beautiful surroundings, and has a ton for children to do. Our three boys loved the jump pillow, sand area, indoor heated pool, and the fun bikes for rent. The community Thanksgiving feast was so enjoyable and such a unique experience. Highly recommend!
Nov 27, 2018
Nov 27, 2018
First off the manager was very rude they stuck me all the way in the back in the muddy area they forced me to check in a day earlier than I wanted to and they would not move me she got smart with me when I first asked her why they did that and when I said something about where they put me I think something should be done about her and her attitude she acts like she owns the place not KOA Corporati
Nov 27, 2018
Overall we had a wonderful time at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The only issue was the men's restroom was not cleaned on a regular basis.
Nov 26, 2018
Worse stay ever. Although staff were nice thery wete rude. Their cable was being worked on so no football no Hallmark channel ( they had email addresses of campers they could have let us know. The internet was horrible ( not password protected so anyone nearby could use it making if impossible to get on. The rudeness was when yoh callex to adk about it.
Nov 26, 2018
took my granddaughters and they loved it ...can not wait to go back
Nov 26, 2018
I did not have WiFi or tv in the cabin where I stayed.i was given weak excuses and no apologies. The fan did not work. This was a deluxe cabin and there was only minimal water pressure.
Nov 26, 2018
Staff was super friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cabin that in our opinion could have been better maintained. #225 has floor vents that are busted and rusty. I feel as large & popular the koa is there could be better maintenance on repairs. That's the only reason I'm giving 4 stars. We do hope to come back and bring our camper next time. We used the cabin just to go to the Polar Express ride.
Nov 26, 2018
We stayed at the KOA cabin in Cherokee North Carolina the cabin was excellent but the pool was not hated and the jacuzzi did not work. I hope the next time we visit the pool will work and the jacuzzi will work also
Nov 26, 2018
BED BUGS and NO HEAT IN CABINS!!!! Showed up with weather in the 20s with my children to camp, only to find out there was no heat! we froze half to death! the hot tub did not work and was filthy. Tried contacting manager to inform them of the problems no call back!
Nov 26, 2018
Nice place; great location; clean bathrooms; would have rated a 5 if leaves were not 8 inches deep on back of our site where we parked the truck and water had not failed on the last afternoon of our stay (site:291; 58 deg out about 5pm, but supply pipe acted like frozen or pump problem; faucet would run ok for 1-2 minutes then poop out; sharing neighbor had no water either).
Nov 26, 2018
cold showers, reported problem. Was not addresses. Locked shower, restroom area (die to bad drain, Was to get plumer) Did not happen. Moore bull. Did not give a discount for N.C. fishing group, we come up every year the week before thanksgiving. Plus there was a 20% advertising that they did not give. Ground workers were great, office personnel smogto buiesy
Nov 25, 2018
Nov 25, 2018
Nov 23, 2018
Nov 23, 2018
It was great.
Nov 23, 2018
Nov 22, 2018
Location location location!!! what a beautiful campsite, we will definitely be back!!! Staff was extremely friendly campsite was just beautiful!! Mingo Falls half a mile away was amazing!
Nov 22, 2018
Staff is very helpful and friendly, but the campground is pretty run down. All bathrooms need major renovation. I hope its was because they had a busy summer and haven't had time to do any repairs yet.
Nov 21, 2018
Great time in the mountains. Beautiful campground and very friendly staff. We will be back.
Nov 20, 2018
No heat in bathroom.
Nov 19, 2018
Very nice sites, deluxe cabins, but overpriced. You advertise discounts, but employees don't offer them unless asked, sometimes badgered into giving them. Maybe because they don't know? I think KOA would be better served to forego re-doing a very nice store/office area and passing the savings on. KOA has a lot going for it, but lower prices and employees who offer discounts woud be good.l
Nov 19, 2018
Great Place to stay
Nov 19, 2018
Although the cabins were nice, the bath houses were terrible and did not appear to have been cleaned anytime during our stay. It appears that this campground has been going down hill the past three years in the area of upkeep and maintenance. Hopefully things will get better for next year as my group has been going there for 19 years the same time of the year.
Nov 19, 2018
We really liked the campground but it is a little pricey
Nov 18, 2018
There was no heat and they did not tell me before I came so we bought a heater bc we ask at the office they gave us a little heater and it did not heat cabin enough and there was no heat in bathhouse and no hot water
Nov 17, 2018
We love staying at the KOA Cherokee!! It has stuff for kids. Great fire pits by the cabins. Such a relaxing stay every time we come!!
Nov 17, 2018
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river and my husband liked the fishing pond. We will come again and we have already recommended it to our friends.
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 16, 2018
Very nice and clean. Could have advertised event better. We didn’t know they were having dancing until we were going to get ice and saw the lights.
Nov 16, 2018
Deluxe cabin was wonderful, right on the river! The staff particularly Billy was so kind and helpful! We are planning our next trip with the kids since there is so much to do there!
Nov 15, 2018
When we pulled in, the first thing one of the staffers said to us was 'welcome home'. This pretty much described the atmosphere. Nice campground, peaceful, set alongside a beautiful clear mountain stream; uncrowded sites, great staff, nice country-type campstore, good wifi and cable - we will definitely be coming back!
Nov 15, 2018
Staff was extremely helpful, place was nice
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals