Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2018
I have been staying at this KOA for over 10 years and have seen a decline in the past few. As indicated by others the campground is getting rundown and the staff are not pleasant. Once we got to our site I began to set up and when I plugged in I got shocked and called for help. When they arrived they told me this site should have been shutdown and I had to move.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
We have been staying here for several years.In the past staff was warm & friendly, not the case this time. Also I and several others were disappointed in the maintenance and cleanliness, not up to years past standard. In particular the pool and jacuzzies were green and cloudy.Wouldn't let kids in outside one Black mold / mildew all over pool deck and water slide, tell it had ben there sometime.
Aug 08, 2018
We've stayed here many times.No problems.This time was different.The campsite I requested was given to someone else. I asked for this campsite when I called the Cherokee KOA to make my reservation. I was not told that I had to pay $10 to guarantee my site.The site they had us on was too small for our camper. We walked around in the rain looking at sites. Several other people had the same problem.
Aug 08, 2018
Rude staff. Not truthful and hateful. Manager very demeaning. We have been going Koa Cherokee for 30 years and always loved it. No longer will be staying there. Susie and Brad
Aug 08, 2018
We paid for a cabin with a/c and our cabin did not have a/c. Our friend's cabin didn't have a/c or a refrigerator and they paid for it. Our other friends also did have a/c. Very disappointed.
Aug 08, 2018
The campground is very nice. We booked a covered picnic table. When we arrived, it wasn’t covered and was behind our camper. It was also a complete swamp due to all of the rain. Had the picnic table had an awning as promised, it wouldn’t have been this way. We went to the office right away and they were to send someone to our sight. They never showed up.
Aug 08, 2018
No wifi at cabins farthest from the front office. Playground was a mud hole. No parking to take kids swimming if your walking from the farthest end of the campground. All staff was excellent and very nice. I like the people but not the campground for the price paid.
Aug 08, 2018
The campground was nice and clean, despite the rain we had a great time. Hope to stay there again.
Aug 08, 2018
We love the area and we stayed at this campground the year before. We'll definitely go back. The only problem we had this year is the customer Servicw in the front office was EXTREMELY poor this year! They were not very friendly or knowledgeable whatsoever. Thank goodness for the maintanence department because they were a plethora of information and very friendly!
Aug 08, 2018
Have been going there for over 40 years and been happy. We had an awful awful campsite this time!!!
Aug 08, 2018
I trief
Aug 07, 2018
The overall stay was good. My four boys love going to this KOA every summer as I did with my parents when I was a kid. Our cabin was not ready at 4:00 so we had to wait around in our car for an hour. The game room was closed because it had been vandalized three weeks earlier, my boys were really bummed. Couldn’t tube the river because the river was to strong. Hope to have Better luck next ye
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
I booked cabin 222 and then adjusted the dates and in doing so I was moved to 386 because I did it on line. No one told me to lock it in. Very late check in at 4:30. Cabin not ready ??
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Two years ago this was an awesome place to stay. Now the staff will harass you and make up silly rules saying the ‘tribe’ won’t let them do certain things or that ‘locals’ may come in. It’s too bad that the current management is ruining this campground and it is even more unfortunate that they are trying to insult the Cherokee in the process. The KOA needs to change management and fix
Aug 07, 2018
Honestly had a wonderful time and would love to come back, but did have an attack of some kind of pest that left bumps all over :o( Suspect bed bugs.
Aug 07, 2018
Our first visit to this KOA did not disappoint! Lots of activities for kids and families. Facilities could use some renovation, as some of the showers/lights were broken, but overall a great little getaway!
Aug 07, 2018
They have our site away after we had to pay for a night that we didn't stay there because off the 3 day minimum. We had to fight for a spot when we got there. Other than that fun family trip.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Had a great time.
Aug 07, 2018
Worst experience ever!
Aug 07, 2018
My 2 stays this year were sadly disappointing. Called over 15 times to get an answer to reserve cabin after no return call. Except for Kayla the customer service is terrible & slow. Listened to manager screaming at employee for not clocking in over speaker at desk. UNPROFESSIONAL! They closed restaurant early and changed kids activities times which was inconvenient. THEY NEED BETTER MANAGEMENT!
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
The game room was closed, the change machine and vending machine for washing detergent didn't work in the laundry room, spider webs were all over the cabins interior, nobody worked the camp store so you had to wait in check in line, grass was high, cable didn't work, the list goes on.
Aug 07, 2018
I was disappointed in the lack of supervision in the jumping pillow area. My grandson broke his leg during our stay. There were too many kids at a time & too big age range. Once the staff was notified, he waited in line at the concessions for ice when he should have seen the urgency! The facilities were great; however, the supervision was lacking in that area. I’d like to see new policies in pla
Aug 07, 2018
We had a great stay as usual we rented a cabin was a little disappointed with the condition is was very dirty still had dog food from previous guests all over floors And not been washed. Otherwise we always enjoy the koa stay
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
The only drawback was the store seemed understaffed and disorganized. It took nearly 40 minutes to get checked in, with only 3 others ahead of us
Aug 07, 2018
The cabin and campground were great, how ever the check in process was a joke it should not take over 45 min to check into a campground
Aug 07, 2018
The grill used to have a good variety of meal options but now offer very few. The milkshake machine was a fun and unique treat but has been removed. Disappointed in the changes and the lack of good customer service, that used to be a given. We’ve been visiting regularly for 10 years.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
The campground was clean and well taken care of. The staff that we had interaction with were friendly and polite.
Aug 06, 2018
The staff was nice and friendly , pool area, slide, umbrellas and walkways around pool need to be CLEANED lots of mildew.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Nice facility. Some very nice sites. Some older. Lots of amenities.
Aug 06, 2018
It was fun
Aug 06, 2018
I enjoyed our stay as always. We had cabin 242 and it was very nice. The facilities were kept reasonably clean and staff were friendly. My only complaint was our cabin windows didn’t all work properly and there was no water access from our cabin so we had to was our pans in bathroom. There was one spigot behind cabin but was used by the camper site.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Staff was not friendly or helpful, cable was out, and cabin was dirty. Our first time staying in a cabin and it was horrible.
Aug 06, 2018
Great time! Will come again
Aug 06, 2018
This has been one of our favorite spots for the past few years but I am not as impressed as I used to be. Especially for what they charge per night! The bathrooms were nasty, the toilets were clogged, there was no cable working from Thurs - Sun. Staff had time to blow leaves off of sites that were not used the entire time we were there but it took till noon to get 3 of the 4 toilets unclogged.
Aug 06, 2018
Cabin k66 was very very dirty spider webbs all over. Light fixturer not working well and had to take time out from vac. To wait on maint to come spend bout 2hrs and not able to fix. So loose loose for me.
Aug 06, 2018
enjoyed the peace and quietness. Will be back next year by the river.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
Loved this site!!! I’ll definitely be back!!! Staff was awesome!!! Nice clean bathrooms and lots to do!!!! And the drive to this location is breathtakingly beautiful!!! Thank you KOA!!!
Aug 06, 2018
Had to wait about 30 minutes to check in! The pool area needs to be cleaned!
Aug 06, 2018
There were a all girl youth camp stayed all around us that took our picnic table the whole time using
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals