Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Nov 17, 2018
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river and my husband liked the fishing pond. We will come again and we have already recommended it to our friends.
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 16, 2018
Very nice and clean. Could have advertised event better. We didn’t know they were having dancing until we were going to get ice and saw the lights.
Nov 16, 2018
Deluxe cabin was wonderful, right on the river! The staff particularly Billy was so kind and helpful! We are planning our next trip with the kids since there is so much to do there!
Nov 15, 2018
When we pulled in, the first thing one of the staffers said to us was 'welcome home'. This pretty much described the atmosphere. Nice campground, peaceful, set alongside a beautiful clear mountain stream; uncrowded sites, great staff, nice country-type campstore, good wifi and cable - we will definitely be coming back!
Nov 15, 2018
Staff was extremely helpful, place was nice
Nov 14, 2018
Nice facilities/ well maintained / helpful staff/ beautiful property
Nov 14, 2018
did not get campsite in area requested. first site was gravel and bumpy. relocated to concreate site but had raised concreate that I tripped over and fell. reported this to the staff, they did not seem concerned. also took over 6 weeks for someone to call me about accident, I had called campground about once a week. have stayed at your campground in the past and this time was disapointed
Nov 14, 2018
The staff is so friendly! We love staying here. It is a very clean campsite and very well ran.
Nov 14, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
We had a wonderful stay in Cherokee! The surroundings were beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, and our cabin was perfect!
Nov 13, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
Our stay was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is cleanliness. The cabin fans need to be cleaned (dusty); fridge had hair in it and needed to be defrosted; dog bowls were dirty; dust on surfaces; the blind (top bunk bed) had mold on it. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will recommend Cherokee KOA to friends and family. Thank you!
Nov 13, 2018
We truly enjoyed our trip to Cherokee NC.... Cabin was ideal ...cozy and clean and of course a beautiful setting! Staff was very friendly and helpful Thanks for the hospitality !
Nov 13, 2018
Joanne in the store was great as usual as was Bo in housekeeping. Bo goes out of his way to make sure he comes by to say hello and see how we are doing?
Nov 13, 2018
Great stay. Great for kids. Only problem we saw were broken doors in bathrooms and showers and bathrooms were pretty dirty or clogged toliets.
Nov 13, 2018
As always had a great time even in 24 degree weather.
Nov 13, 2018
We appreciated the electric heater your office loaned us!
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
I stayed in a river front RV lot. I had friends who stayed in cabins. We asked to be close to one another for convenience - especially since one was handicapped and needed our assistance throughout the stay. However, we were spaced out as far as possible at opposite ends of the campground. The cable reception was poor in the cabins. One bath house was very clean, the other was dirty.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
Spent a lovely but rainy week at this campground. Quiet with friendly staff and guests. Bathroom was clean and showers were mostly hot with some fluctuation in temperature. Laundry room was clean as well. Lots of activities for children.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
We loved our KOA stay! It was our first time at a KOA but will not be our last. The staff was awesome and the cabin was great.
Nov 12, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at KOA only wish it could have been a longer stay.
Nov 12, 2018
Just needed a place to crash for a night on the way to somewhere else. They had a clean full service site available. Sent a young feller out to help get to, and into, the site, which was a nice touch. Place had amenities out the wazoo and not too many long-term residents, which I appreciate in an RV campground. Shower was cold; otherwise I'd certainly stay there again. I recommend highly.
Nov 11, 2018
Did not enjoy our stay. Had a lot of problems with the cabin and had to be moved to another. Am handicapped and and a veteran and was not pleased at all
Nov 11, 2018
Nov 11, 2018
We’ve stayed here the first weekend in November for the past 3 years and again it was a great getaway, my kids really enjoyed it, the place was kept clean and all of the staff was friendly
Nov 11, 2018
Pool and hot tub water was brown. Bathrooms were filthy. Cabin smelled like wet dog (we do not own a dog) Haunted Island opened an hour late while we stood in the cold and rain, was too dark to see on the path. Roads need work. Fire pit by plaza was never lit. Over priced.
Nov 11, 2018
We always have a wonderful time at the Cherokee KOA. The staff is amazing and so accommodating. My only complaint for our most recent stay would be the high speed traffic by our cabin. It was more than one or two vehicles but that is just the life of high speed, go go go, people from the city. Will be back in the spring!!
Nov 11, 2018
I didn’t get the cabin I wanted, although over the phone they told me I could have it. Then when I asked to get another cabin or at least in the back near the creek or upgrade the front desk rep told me, “no, and that they were all full up.” However, I was there for three nights and they were not.....
Nov 11, 2018
Upon arrival, we checked in late into our cabin. The smell in the cabin was alarming and took a couple hours to get use to, until we stepped back outside the next morning. We didn’t get much help from the office the next day or day after and they never called me to resolve the issue. It would have been a great stay if that cabin didn’t stink so bad!
Nov 11, 2018
Still love this area. The changes in management, housekeeping, maintenance have made me less likely to reccomend it to my friends.
Nov 10, 2018
Nov 10, 2018
Very friendly and helping staff. Especially Billy. Helped us find another cabin to stay in since the cabin we requested was a mud pit due to the rainy weather . He then checked on us throughout our stay. Thank you Billy. We thought it would have been nice for them to give us a free upgrade cabin since no cabins were being used. We love staying here
Nov 09, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved it. The cabin was cozy and right on the river so the views were unbelievable. The one thing I think this campground could work on is the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers. Not sure if they got cleaned at all the entire week we were there. But otherwise it was an awesome experience!
Nov 09, 2018
Not all the bathrooms were being maintained.
Nov 09, 2018
Had the best time ever in Cherokee. Will definitely be back soon in stay in at the KOA. Loved it
Nov 08, 2018
The deluxe cabin was very welcoming and clean. The view with the river off your porch was beautiful. The staff were extremely nice.
Nov 07, 2018
It was very nice. Clean bathhouses and grounds. Friendly staff.
Nov 07, 2018
Enjoyable as usual. Only negative was cable reception. Koa did the best they could to fix the problem . We always have a pleasant stay at koa
Nov 07, 2018
Nov 07, 2018
I was a very peaceful stay. Beautiful scenery and I enjoyed the relaxation in my fishing experience.
Nov 06, 2018
Great experience. Deluxe cabin on the river. It had everything we needed and more. Well maintained and clean. All staff personnel were courteous and professional. We'll definitely visit again.
Nov 06, 2018
it was very loud at night The water wasn’t hot enough in the showers children everywhere and not supervised on the bright side staff was very friendly
Nov 06, 2018
Campground was nice staff all very accommodating and friendly, There were a couple of things that could have been better. Heated pool was not very heated. Hot tub was cold and the bathroom shower house smelled awful. Not sure the issue but I think that the automatic flushing toilets may help. It was hard to spend enough time in the shower house to actually shower with the smell.
Nov 06, 2018
We love this campground! I am normally not a huge fan of internet/tv while camping but it is nice amenity at bed time to stream movies or just watch tv. But every time I have been to Cherokee KOA the TV never works, maybe 2 channels max. Always the same response, cable is down. Both campers in our buddy site pulled out early because we were wanting to college football. Other than that, great
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google