Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2018
Needs some work with the organization of tubing down the river. We spent an hour in line just signing up
Sep 05, 2018
We, along with about 20 members of our extended family have camp at the Cherokee Koa every Labor Day weekend since 2005. Over the last few years the customer service has disappointed in SEVERAL areas. For 3 years running, my reservations were moved by my arrival. We will no longer camp at this or ANY OTHER KOA. Very sad bc this used to be one of my kids favorite campgrounds!
Sep 05, 2018
My reservations said “River” and we were put at the way back on barely a creek. We were very disappointed, have been coming for 18 years. Waited til 430 pm to checkin, cabins were not ready/clean. No compensation was made for these things. For the price you pay, very poor customer service.
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
The worst camping experience I’ve had in all my years. It was just one thing after another. Some of the staff was friendly. Couldn’t get to site. Got to site and it wasn’t what we expected. Couldn’t hookup to power and so. And nobody seemed to give a crap, got my money they could careless. Don’t know that I will be back.
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
This was our first experience with a KOA park and we are now looking into being members with KOA family. Thank you for all the assistance that was given and offered. We will definitely recommend you all to see our family and friends!
Sep 05, 2018
Responsive and Friendly Staff. Disappointed that the standard campsites near the ponds have not been converted to tent pads because of mud when it rains. The entire standard site(s) could be made into a pea gravel pad with surrounding timbers and not constitute a “deluxe” upgrade. Centrally located water access is needed for all standard sites.
Sep 05, 2018
Very nice pull thru site, great accommodations and atmosphere! We will definitely come back, and tell others.
Sep 05, 2018
Great stay, great fishing
Sep 05, 2018
Family weekend vacation, we enjoyed KOA so much. Our site was great, bathrooms were very nice, Everyone so nice. Loved the pool but there was no kiddy pool which made it stressful to relax, trying to keep up with our 2 year old.
Sep 05, 2018
The staff were OK... it was busy so harder to feel as welcome. I specifically requested a cabin with good internet access, and we had none. I had to walk to the pavilion to work; which was a big negative for our vacation- we couldn't be together which was the point. The cabin smelled strongly of "dog" and the toilette was not clean. The pools and hot-tubs desperate need to be cleaned & serviced.
Sep 05, 2018
We stay here when in Cherokee and enjoy it always. Things for the children to do and adults to participate in as well. Everyone is friendly and courteous.
Sep 05, 2018
we had a late check in on Friday on Labor Day weekend. We was taken to the wrong campsite and the wrong campsite was also wrote on our pass. So we drove around the campground for about 30 minutes with the escort. With three babies in the backseat that were crying. Then we kept getting electrical shocks off camper due to being under a light pole that was giving off currents.
Sep 05, 2018
The location was nice. However our camp site smelled like animal feces, bathrooms were filthy, staff wasn’t very friendly and we ate twice at the cafe and it took over and hour each time to get our meals. We love the KOA brand and this was the first time in four years we had a bad experience with a KOA campground.
Sep 05, 2018
Very friendly staff. Stayed in a deluxe cabin...very nice. One suggestion...it would be nice to have a drop box for cabin keys, for those people who would like to check out before the store/office opens.
Sep 05, 2018
We enjoyed our stay. However, our campsite was near the pool area and on Friday nights they have ridiculously loud dance music blasting from 8-11. After three hours of this my nerves were rattled, but I know some people enjoy that kind of thing. Also, the bathrooms smell terrible and the showers take ten minutes of running water to get warm! Other than these things it's a nice campground
Sep 05, 2018
My husband & I came to relax. We aren't complainers so we stayed in the cabin that was assigned to us but I regret not asking to be moved. The cabin is not private at all- has cabins & RVs right on top of it & the playground was next to us. Very noisy stay, kids screaming and dogs barking. Cabin had ants and crumbs in it. Should consider the guests (couples -vs- families) when matching to sites.
Sep 04, 2018
Could’ve had more organization at the outpost station for events but that is my only complaint.
Sep 04, 2018
This was our first stay in a cabin since we sold our camper. I was not that impressed. Our bathroom wasn’t clean and had garbage in it. Plus we had no trash bags. They are a lot of money to not be clean. I was disappointed but still love the campground and had a good timeZ
Sep 04, 2018
Campsites are TOO CLOSE to each other. The site behind us had campfire located within 2 feet of our popup camper in the back (in the firepit you put TOO CLOSE). Fire Ambers were landing on our canvas. If it had caught fire you would have been liable cause you are trying to get as many campers in your campground as possible. NOT HAPPY with this at all. Quiet time was not followed by them either.
Sep 04, 2018
The campground is very nice place to stay if they would not have put me in a mud pit with no grass and no gravel
Sep 04, 2018
Very nice facility, lots of activities to do, very clean and tons of staff buzzing around making sure the campground was in great shape. Kids loved it.
Sep 04, 2018
We enjoyed our time at the campground. We were a little disappointed in our camping spot #56. It was advertised as a premium pond site but we had to look at a chain link fence with bar wire and the pond bathroom and porta potty. Need to be more descriptive with your guest for online reservations. We asked for a river site but we’re told they were sold out yet one was empty all weekend.
Sep 04, 2018
This is our second year staying and we really enjoy it
Sep 04, 2018
It was great as usual! The extra activities during the holiday weekend were great!
Sep 04, 2018
We rented a deluxe cabin and it was dirty and ant infested they were actually in our luggage when we got home. I went to the office on three separate occasions to ask if they would come spray and our neighboring cabin they had the same problem. No one ever showed up and upon our check out I told them again and they said ya someone will check it out with a very rude manner and dismissed us.
Sep 04, 2018
Our stay was good! We had a buddy site which was good other than where the power, water and sewer hook up,s were. I had to get a extra water hose and a 25 ft. Power cord to hook my camper up with, I had extera sewer lines. That was the only negative thing about the stay.
Sep 04, 2018
Employees were very unfriendly. Three of the men working there cornered one of my boys pointing his radio in his face, accusing him of stuff he wasn't doing and cussed him then proceeded to follow him around the park. We have never been treated this way before and we have never saw these particular employees. I hope they re-evaluate who works there after all they are supposed to be kid friendly.
Sep 04, 2018
Beautiful campground but! We arrived then left to explore the area . When we returned within minuets of being in cabin we were eaten alive by flees, we told staff and they offered to spray it but we asked for refund because it was infested. Got a motel that night but because of it being labor day weekend every area hotel was full. Had no other choice but to take 6hr+trip home ruined vacation.
Sep 04, 2018
You need to fix the Wi-Fi it was awful and in that are there is very poor cell service. A good Wi-fi would have made the stay great. The restrooms were simply wonderful and clean. Thanks for that.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
This was our second visit and we will definitely be back! The staff was great, the campground was clean and our cabin was perfect for a weekend get-away!
Sep 04, 2018
The front deak people were very rude. The camp sites we're said to have a covered picnic table area and didn't when pointed out to the staff that this is what I paid for they refused to make it right. The bathroom was dirty and never had soap even after being closed for cleaning. The area was infested with fleas that ended up in our things.
Sep 04, 2018
Very pleased with all the facilities. Campground was full due to Labor Day weekend but did not feel crowded at all.
Sep 04, 2018
Our family arrived after the front gate had closed but there was someone there to help us find our site. We had some trouble with the electric box and reported it and there was someone there to help us within 10 minutes. Our stay was great!
Sep 04, 2018
Cabin wasn’t ready upon arrival. I had to wait 30 minutes after check in time for cabin to be ready. We only got opportunity to tube once due to delay. Nothing was offered and nothing was said about delay.
Sep 03, 2018
We have stayed here for 10+ years and over the years the cleanliness has deteriorated severely. We usually stay in the cabins and use the bath houses. However the toilets this time had mold growing in them and it remained there for several days into our stay. The women's bathroom smelled like a port-a-potty. It was terrible and the lighting was poor. The activities were poorly organized as well.
Sep 02, 2018
The campground itself was very nice. My problem was with the state of the cabin we used. It was filthy. The floor looked as if it hadn't been swept in months. There was graffiti in the cabin. The mattresses were dirty, and the shelves were filthy. It looked like this cabin was slated for demolition. I certainly left it cleaner than it was when we arrived. Very disappointed.
Sep 02, 2018
Very attentive KOA employees; professional, courteous. Clean remodeled rest rooms since we were last there. Appreciated the escort to our campsite. Always a KOA employee available to help or answer questions.
Sep 02, 2018
We enjoyed the premium space which backed up to the river and were impressed with the park. We did have issues with the dog park gates that were in need of repair and the person who checked us in. When we checked in we asked the lady “helping” us if there was info about the shuttle in the KOA map/brochure and she said “no” and proceeded to blankly stare back. We had to work hard to get any
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Love this place
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
Very clean and convenient
Aug 30, 2018
Love the river, clean friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff. Great amenities for kids/family. Nice dog park and play area for the kids. Love both indoor and outdoor pool/hot tubs. Very annoyed by the gate to the island being locked so much. Grill food was undercooked and had brown slimy lettuce on it. We were refunded but didn’t eat there the rest of the trip. Overall it was a very good trip.
Aug 30, 2018
Aug 29, 2018
This was not only my first experience with KOA, but was also my first camping experience and I had an amazing weekend!! I chose a deluxe cabin for my stay, a my sister and her family brought their camper, and my niece and nephew slept at a tent site~ All were 2 thumbs up!! Loved that security drove around the park on a regular basis. Everything was so clean and peaceful~ We will be back!
Aug 28, 2018
We were able to stay dry in the cabin, but that was the only positive. There needs to be a staff meeting getting everyone on the same page about the operations of the campground, and the importance of their attitude and interaction towards customers/campers! It also would be nice to have clean, flushing toilets to use! Overall, we were dissatisfied.
Aug 28, 2018
Great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals