Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2018
Loved it, as always!
Oct 29, 2018
Oct 29, 2018
Great area , clean campsite very friendly staff great location
Oct 28, 2018
We stayed for the week and pretty much enjoyed it. The cable still wasn't working...seems it never does. Watched many neighbors having the same problem. Of course it got crowded come Friday being the last weekend before Halloween. We did have someone who kept knocking on the camper door and running away. Not sure we'll stay again around this weekend or we'll go to the back of the campground.
Oct 28, 2018
There was not enough hot water for campground and it wasn't full. Bathhouses were cold. The site we had, was backwards, as were many others, to the table, and site hook ups. When we were willing to pay extra three days ahead to switch last night to a cabin, you had no place for us to put our camper, pop up for one night, with out charging, and there were. Lots of vacant spots.understandable,if ful
Oct 28, 2018
Our first and last stay. Beware of resort fee that you are not told about, you just find it on your bill after check in. Lots of employees in yellow shirts but most don't seem to be doing anything at all. Outside trash cans always full, grounds not kept neat and bathhouses did not have soap the entire week we stayed and just dirty . This has NOT been a typical KOA experience for us. Disappointed!
Oct 28, 2018
No cable despite promises to get it working. Bath houses need benches. Not the best KOA weve stayed at
Oct 28, 2018
The staff and personnel were very friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and they offered a heater to use for the night free of charge. There are several trout ponds along with the river that you can fish in fairly cheap for the cost and actually come away with a mess of trout. The view is also one of a kind.
Oct 28, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
Only downer was terrible tv cable reception.
Oct 27, 2018
Had reservations for 8 days. It rained the day before we arrived and the grounds never dried out. I had cable tv the first 2 nights then never came on again. I reported it 3 times, tried hooking to neighbor site which it did not work either. Paved pull through site was not near level, and mud as soon as you stepped off the pavement. WiFi spotty, maintenance seems lacking. Not typical KOA.
Oct 27, 2018
This is our favorite Koa. We stay here every year. Our stay was not great. Night 2 we had no power and froze. There was no after hour numbers on the key chain, map, or answering machine. I complained first thing so we could see to pack. No response. Refund was denied. Manager never called as stated. Called and was hung up on twice after asking to speak to the manager. Still no call/refund
Oct 27, 2018
REST ROOMS WERE NOT AS CLEAN AS NORMALLY HAVE BEEN AND SEEMED COLDER, CHECK IN AND SERVICE WAS GREAT
Oct 27, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
We were here for a week.... camping in pile of leaves that no one ever bothered to pick up!! The ladies that cleaned were the only ones who worked.... never seen so many old men riding around in golf carts not doing anything! Was disappointed�����‍���
Oct 27, 2018
Great time! Cabin was perfect for our stay.
Oct 27, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
Management needs to look at 329 and delete it from assigned campsites. A large tree roots has made one side of the site almost 1 foot higher yhan the other side of the pavement.
Oct 27, 2018
This koa is not up to my expectations to what a koa camp ground should be
Oct 26, 2018
3rd year back. Overall festive & fun environment. Kids Halloween activities gotten progressively worse. Prizes 4 contest winners lousy vs. previous years. Paying 4 bags and other contests to charity not unworthy...but kind of petty. Should b included in weekend festivities like previous years. Wife says womens bathhouse bathrooms had unpleasant odor. Haunted island was great this year.
Oct 26, 2018
Poor response from front desk, first day complained about the BBQ grill gas and coffee maker, told its fixed but when tried it did not have enough gas (appear as pressure was low), I have to abandoned the cook out and eat out side. Looks they try to save few dollars for gas and spoiled the BBQ.
Oct 26, 2018
Nice bathrooms. Sites were not too close to each other. It looked like there would be a lot of activities for kids. Lots of trees. Nice location
Oct 26, 2018
Joanne is so knowledgeable and helpful!!!
Oct 26, 2018
great to have shutell
Oct 26, 2018
We only stayed one night but the entire staff was extremely nice. We would especially like to comment on Tim the maintenance supervisor and Mike. The cable connection at our site was not receiving the signal so they both worked to make certain we got a cable connection to our RV. The entire campground was beautiful and well kept. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Oct 25, 2018
Oct 25, 2018
Very relaxing stay, with lots of fun time with family a d friends.
Oct 25, 2018
The site for the tent was expensive but I decided to go ahead and get it based on other things offered at campground. Disappointed hot tub was cool , awful smell in the shower room at indoor pool, bathhouse was not clean and water wasn't hot. Wood sold to us was so soft we went through 3 bundles in one evening. On the upside staff at the store we're very helpful.
Oct 24, 2018
Bad cable at site and bathrooms dirty all weekend
Oct 24, 2018
The only complaint was the cable reception was terrible everything was great.
Oct 24, 2018
If you having anything to complain about don't stay at this campground. You will not find a better one out there. Remember people you are camping and you are in the outdoors enjoy joy the fresh air and let your problems at home!!! See you in the spring.
Oct 24, 2018
Cable did not work. Was told twice someone would be around to fix it. Our friends cabin was not ready until 3:45. Our friends other cabin was not cleaned well and their cable nor WiFi would work at their cabin. Our site was clean. Like the cement pads but weren’t really lined up with the sewer and water hook-up. Inspite of all this we still enjoyed our stay.
Oct 24, 2018
It was very difficult to speak with someone prior to our arrival. The office staff was not friendly. The rustic cabin was nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very dirty and stinky. The soap was out the entire time we stayed even though we told staff. This campsite has potential to be an amazing camping experience. They just need to out of their communication issues and clean a bit.
Oct 24, 2018
Oct 24, 2018
Beautiful location to just relax and never leave the campground during your stay!
Oct 24, 2018
Despite the rain and cool weather we had a blast. So many thins inside the campground to do. Staff was friendly.
Oct 24, 2018
Cabin 249 was exactly what we were looking for. Requested a river front site and KOA delivered.
Oct 23, 2018
We have been coming there for the Halloween weekend for years and it has been great. But this time was different. The rates have increased, our cable was fuzzy and then quit working, and the bath house was very dirty. I was also disappointed that you are now required to pay to enter the contest! Not sure we will be going back next year!
Oct 23, 2018
This is our second year. Great improvement in the wifi service, tv cable still almost nonexistent, tech came and tried to fix it but he can only do so much but the great wifi allowed me to stream Direct Tv from my tablet to the tv. Aside from that the facilities are great and we will be back next year.
Oct 23, 2018
We have been coming since 2011. Bathroom shower curtain needed some bleach. WIFI is nonexistent at the cabin (240). Cable TV clarity extremely bad. Other than that had a great time. Seems like the Price is creeping to high...………… Thanks,
Oct 23, 2018
Enjoyed our long stay, except for tv reception. It was bad during the entire two and a half weeks.
Oct 23, 2018
The parking pad was covered in mud . Large pothole in street right in front of us creating a large lake on front of our site. Cars driving by splashed water on my vehicle.
Oct 23, 2018
No internet & no TV reception.. complained 3 times & nothing.. cabin also had dirty socks on floor and refrigerator handle was duck taped and freezer could not be used because it was iced over due to not being defrosted.. cabin 389.. Hot water handle was loose & took forever to figure out hot water Asked for a refund to compensate for no internet & tv reception. will be posting to social media
Oct 23, 2018
We come every year for Halloween..and y'all do a great job!! we come with friends and rent the buddy sights and face into each other and have a ball!! The costume contests,pets ect are so much fun. A suggestion is have the costumes closer to trick or treating as getting kids dressed twice is not easy, especially those with make up. The biggest complaint is cost. 860 is crazy!! It may keep us away
Oct 23, 2018
It took several weeks to get anybody to answer phone for a reservation, even after leaving messages without any response. Also went to campground store to make some purchases, ended up leaving merchandise on counter and leaving after 15 minutes of waiting in line that wasn’t going anywhere as it appeared management was more involved in a costume contest. Also the rates are to high.
Oct 23, 2018
We loved our cabin. And enjoyed our stay and our view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again. The only thing that we would have a complaint with is the TV and Internet did not work. But other than that we would enjoy staying again.
Oct 23, 2018
Television cable sucks. Other than that, it was a nice getaway
Oct 23, 2018
Great
Oct 23, 2018
This KOA is worthy of the “resort” designation. Paved roads. Sites are roomy & most are paved with patios. WiFi & Cable TV were excellent. Our stay would have been perfect except for poor communications. We got no info at check-in. So, when the kids started trick or treating we were embarrassed because we knew nothing about it.
Oct 23, 2018
The only reason you got a 3 and 6 is because of the Haunted Island you had for the kids We arrive early and had to pay an extra $20 for nothing. The site was ready, there was nothing that had to be done to it, no reason to pay extra and I am a KOA member. Rediculous. Then on Friday we told someone how filthy the far end women's shower/restroom was and it was never cleaned. GROSS.
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google