Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 02, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
It was fabulous. The campground exceeded our expectations. Pool and hot tub was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and very well maintained. Our kids wanted to go tent camping for some odd reason, they are 2 girls age 6 and 9. They have never been tent camping in the past so we wanted to make their first trip,a special memorable trip. We chose KOA and have ZERO regrets.
Sep 25, 2017
Great location and great campground, but very poor wifi and dirty bathrooms. Both man's showers were growing mushrooms. I saw them in the first day and I was hopping that someone will clean them away. But after 5 days they were still growing Regarding the WIFI, I can understand they are in the mountains and there is a limited bandwith, but the problem was with the routers themselves - on and off
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was great, much better then last year. Disappointed that the outdoor pool was closed. Facilities are nice.
Sep 12, 2017
Fun to be outdoors and be free from all the technology! Sometimes a little discomfort is fun!
Sep 11, 2017
Stayed in a tent, but close to the highway. It wasn't a great spot for tents as the noise of the highway was fairly constant. Other than that, it was a good campground. We will stay again, but next time it will be in our travel trailer.
Sep 04, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
The facilities were very nice compared to other KOA's but there were a few issues. We stayed Friday night and there was a movie playing until 10:30 PM. The problem is that it was BOOMING and we couldn't sleep. We wanted to get up early to leave. Secondly, our tent site was VERY close to another and privacy/quietness was virtually impossible. I did not like the layout of the campgrounds.
Aug 28, 2017
I didn't like that our site was near a busy road because it was loud with traffic but other than that the facility was great! The bathrooms were very nice and clean too.
Aug 28, 2017
Disappointed. Site was a mud hole. No good place to set up. Terrible odor of dead animal. Sad to see it so commercialized and crowded.
Aug 26, 2017
Only had one issue: camp site was nothing but red clay, little to no grass. Only one like it in the campground. Normally red clay would not bother us, but it rained for 2 straight days. We were covered from head to toe in red clay and the site was actually dangerous because it was so slippery. I fell twice and it permanently stained all of our camping gear. Other than that, best KOA and staff!
Aug 24, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay here. There was lots to do on site to keep us and our 3 kids busy. The staff was kind and accommodating. The grill could have used more staff considering the eclipse weekend traffic. It took about 45 min for breakfast! Also the dance party was loud enough we couldn't hear each other talk at our site 3 streets . I think 9pm is a more appropriate quiet time.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time, and it's the only campground we've been to so far that we feel like we absolutely have to go back again. My only complaint was that the water slide abuses my toes and knees with the jets. Oh, and that I couldn't make myself understood that the mushrooms in Bathhouse One weren't a housekeeping problem, they were a maintenance issue, as the mycelium will eat the structure.
Aug 24, 2017
It was wonderful. however we were charged more than estimated. our site was also upgraded which was nice. However the staff didn't know or do anything about the extra charges.
Aug 24, 2017
Came to witness the eclipse, had a great time!
Aug 22, 2017
This place was amazing! The campsite was clean, the pool was cool and refreshing, and the staff was incredibly friendly. I will definitely be back!!
Aug 22, 2017
We loved it. Most definitely will come back.
Aug 17, 2017
Enjoyed every minute we were there, Our first of hopefully many tentin adventures, with my nieces and sister in law.The grounds were clean the rest rooms and showers very clean.My nieces really enjoyed all the activities.Our tent site was all and more we could have ask for. The office staff is the bomb, We will be back Tammy,Karen,Aubrey,Ashley
Aug 15, 2017
I am disappointed in the last of security at night! There was a group of people there for one night that were loud and using violent language from 2am-4am. I was scared and I couldn't do anything about it or call anyone because there is no cell service on the campground. Security should be patrolling at night and they were not. Also the wifi barely worked. Other than that it was a nice place
Aug 09, 2017
Awful. False advertising no game room no kiddie pool. Rules were not enforced by staff. Especially with quiet time. People were so loud and drunk kept us up. Watched security just drive on by after we complained. Then I was accused of being drunk with my 3 yr old son because I complained to management and I don't even drink. Poorly run. Very upset about the money wasted pool was always closed
Aug 09, 2017
The sites were very nice but the pool water was brown and the splash pad area was roped off with caution tape. The night we arrived they had a dance party that was obnoxious and blaring even all the way back against the river. We got in line for food at 8 not realizing that the cafe closed at 8 and the associate leaned out gave a man his food then closed the window before we could walk up.
Aug 08, 2017
Very nice campground except for the noise at night. Neighbors on one side were hooping and hollering after midnight and on the other side were talking at their table til around 3am. Would have been nice if someone rounded to enforce a quiet time. Other than that the campground and camping sites were very nice.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
All staff were friendly and informative. My son had an amazing time for his first camping adventure and didn't want to ever leave. Bathrooms much cleaner than I expected.
Aug 04, 2017
I had a great time here! Everything was wonderful.
Jul 31, 2017
I am rating this highly because of the amenities. The pool, creek and various other items are perfect for our family. However our initial tent camp site was horrible. We were given site T37 originally which was extremely small. I asked to switch but was at first told no but could upgrade for $20. Luckily another worker had some empathy was we were moved. I do not recommend for tent camping.
Jul 27, 2017
The outdoor and indoor pool (although the outdoor pool was closed one day we were there), and the jump pillow were great. However, I would not recommend this site to tent campers. None of the tent sites had raised/gravel tent pads. There was a huge puddle in front of our site and with no pad, the ground/tent area was muddy the whole time we were there.
Jul 25, 2017
We were assigned tent spot 37 which was the smallest muddiest campsite I've ever seen. There was not an area to pitch a tent that fit more than 3, and the rest of it was under an inch of water, so I was forced to upgrade to an electrical site and pay the difference. The lady manager was rather snotty about it on the radio "make sure they know they need to pay the difference."
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Another great family vacation in the books! Thank you KOA for being our favorite family getaway in the Smokies! Already looking forward to a trip in the fall!
Jul 17, 2017
It rained off and on our entire stay so I know it was difficult to avoid puddles. But we had a a huge puddle, the size of a pond right in front of our camp site. We had to walk trough our neighbors site to get ours in order to avoid it and I had to drive the car through it to park it and then pull up and take park of our site in order to avoid parking in it. Dirt, gravel, or something to avoid the
Jul 16, 2017
Friendly staff. Great place to camp. New tent pads are too small for larger tents. Too much mud in tent sites, needs some dirt and gravel. I would still recommend to a friend.
Jul 15, 2017
Love this place! Clean campsites, friendly staff, beautiful property, and awesome river to tube down! Kids were begging to stay longer.
Jul 10, 2017
We LOVED camping at this KOA! Everyone was so wonderful and helpful!
Jul 08, 2017
I loved it, friendly staff, clean bathrooms
Jul 06, 2017
The campground has very poor drainage system. Campsites were flooded each time it rained. They allow fishing in the "pond", but don't maintain the area. It reeked of dead animals (maybe fish guts in the garbage can), & the sites near the pond smelled so foul we left a day early. It was disgusting. The indoor pool was so cloudy you couldn't see your own hand in front of you under water.
Jul 06, 2017
It was our first time taking our child camping. We really enjoyed the amenities and it was an experience we want forget. Thanks for a great time.
Jul 05, 2017
this is our 4th or 5th time staying at this KOA and each time, we have a blast! A wonderful place for relaxation and family time! Our kids ages 2-11 enjoy biking, swimming, hot tub, tubing, exploring, fishing, trampoline, extra activities, etc. We look forward to returning!
Jul 01, 2017
After 14 days cross country of the USA, staying at numerous KOAs...this was one of the best. Clean, large tent sites. Clean restrooms. Facility wasn't over run with lights to keep us up.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award