Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 27, 2017
Nov 14, 2017
Place seemed nice once I got there, but I talked to a pretty rude person on the phone before arriving that just kinda rubbed me the wrong way for my entire stay here. Terrible/no wifi, even if you are sitting right next to the router, and no cell service (at&t).
Nov 13, 2017
Not helpful.
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 08, 2017
We had a great stay! Your night watch lady was so helpful and welcoming!
Oct 29, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
One night there was a huge rainstorm, and since we don't have a rainfly for our tent, we used a tarp. Worked great, and left it up after because of the heavy dew in the mornings. Maintenance then came to inform us that we had to remove it, but couldn't give a good reason. We complied, and asked about it at checkout. Manager on duty still unable to give a reason, or show me a guideline. Bad busines
Oct 23, 2017
Our only complaint is about the water pressure in the men's restroom/bathhouse. The pressure is extremely low to the point of non-existent.
Oct 23, 2017
Overall we enjoy staying at the Cherokee location, but the WiFi/Internet & Cellular Service has never worked. Weâve stayed there multiple times over the last three years and itâs never worked for more than a coupl of minutes.
Oct 18, 2017
Some paneling in the fence along the primitive campsites would provide a bit of privacy from people fishing. The drainage could be better too, but we did choose the cheaper campsite option. So fair enough. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Oct 17, 2017
We really enjoyed the campground. Look forward to coming back soon.
Oct 16, 2017
We always love coming up for the Trout Tournament. Winning was a nice bonus! The renovations were also nice. My wife loves how the restrooms are ALWAYS clean! lol
Oct 15, 2017
We had a great time!! We love the indoor pool, the bouncy pillow, and the banana bikes. The stafff was also extremely nice. I did not like that the builders started hammering in the morning while I was still trying to sleep. I think that they should wait to make loud construction noises until at least 9:00. People go on campus my trips to relax and do not want to be awoken by hammering.
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed our trip, however several of the tent sites are too small for large tents. The site that I was assigned to had no grass at all. All it had was mud and roots. I had to put my tent on my sisterâs site which was next to us.
Oct 02, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
It was fabulous. The campground exceeded our expectations. Pool and hot tub was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and very well maintained. Our kids wanted to go tent camping for some odd reason, they are 2 girls age 6 and 9. They have never been tent camping in the past so we wanted to make their first trip,a special memorable trip. We chose KOA and have ZERO regrets.
Sep 25, 2017
Great location and great campground, but very poor wifi and dirty bathrooms. Both man's showers were growing mushrooms. I saw them in the first day and I was hopping that someone will clean them away. But after 5 days they were still growing Regarding the WIFI, I can understand they are in the mountains and there is a limited bandwith, but the problem was with the routers themselves - on and off
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was great, much better then last year. Disappointed that the outdoor pool was closed. Facilities are nice.
Sep 12, 2017
Fun to be outdoors and be free from all the technology! Sometimes a little discomfort is fun!
Sep 11, 2017
Stayed in a tent, but close to the highway. It wasn't a great spot for tents as the noise of the highway was fairly constant. Other than that, it was a good campground. We will stay again, but next time it will be in our travel trailer.
Sep 04, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
The facilities were very nice compared to other KOA's but there were a few issues. We stayed Friday night and there was a movie playing until 10:30 PM. The problem is that it was BOOMING and we couldn't sleep. We wanted to get up early to leave. Secondly, our tent site was VERY close to another and privacy/quietness was virtually impossible. I did not like the layout of the campgrounds.
Aug 28, 2017
I didn't like that our site was near a busy road because it was loud with traffic but other than that the facility was great! The bathrooms were very nice and clean too.
Aug 28, 2017
Disappointed. Site was a mud hole. No good place to set up. Terrible odor of dead animal. Sad to see it so commercialized and crowded.
Aug 26, 2017
Only had one issue: camp site was nothing but red clay, little to no grass. Only one like it in the campground. Normally red clay would not bother us, but it rained for 2 straight days. We were covered from head to toe in red clay and the site was actually dangerous because it was so slippery. I fell twice and it permanently stained all of our camping gear. Other than that, best KOA and staff!
Aug 24, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay here. There was lots to do on site to keep us and our 3 kids busy. The staff was kind and accommodating. The grill could have used more staff considering the eclipse weekend traffic. It took about 45 min for breakfast! Also the dance party was loud enough we couldn't hear each other talk at our site 3 streets . I think 9pm is a more appropriate quiet time.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time, and it's the only campground we've been to so far that we feel like we absolutely have to go back again. My only complaint was that the water slide abuses my toes and knees with the jets. Oh, and that I couldn't make myself understood that the mushrooms in Bathhouse One weren't a housekeeping problem, they were a maintenance issue, as the mycelium will eat the structure.
Aug 24, 2017
It was wonderful. however we were charged more than estimated. our site was also upgraded which was nice. However the staff didn't know or do anything about the extra charges.
Aug 24, 2017
Came to witness the eclipse, had a great time!
Aug 22, 2017
This place was amazing! The campsite was clean, the pool was cool and refreshing, and the staff was incredibly friendly. I will definitely be back!!
Aug 22, 2017
We loved it. Most definitely will come back.
Aug 17, 2017
Enjoyed every minute we were there, Our first of hopefully many tentin adventures, with my nieces and sister in law.The grounds were clean the rest rooms and showers very clean.My nieces really enjoyed all the activities.Our tent site was all and more we could have ask for. The office staff is the bomb, We will be back Tammy,Karen,Aubrey,Ashley
Aug 15, 2017
I am disappointed in the last of security at night! There was a group of people there for one night that were loud and using violent language from 2am-4am. I was scared and I couldn't do anything about it or call anyone because there is no cell service on the campground. Security should be patrolling at night and they were not. Also the wifi barely worked. Other than that it was a nice place
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award