Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

May 24, 2018
May 22, 2018
May 21, 2018
We came with a small bed camper, not a pop-camper, just one small enough for us to sleep in if need be. A manger came over & approved it, so we began to unload & set up. Another mgr came & made us move to another site, bc it was not ok, but ok by another mgr. After we moved to the other site we were told since it wasn't a pop-up camper we could move back. The website is very unclear as well.
May 21, 2018
May 16, 2018
Wife says ladies restrooms were dirty most of the time. Site was clean and campground was overall clean. Wish there was more shade in the little kids playground. Wish I had known that there was a fence between the campsite and the lake. Had a good time overall and price was fair.
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
Well, the first part of the stay was great. However, a family with a very vicious dog was allowed the site next to us. The dog continuously barked and tried to break the leash to get at my two year old. We told one of the staff and they said they would take care of it but no one ever did. I was very disappointed that safety is not a priority to all guests. We left a day early due to fear.
May 14, 2018
Friendly staff, good clean atmosphere with great sites. My dogs and I enjoyed our stay.
May 14, 2018
We were given a different amount once we arrived than we had confirmation of on email and online. We drove 4 hours only to receive a $20.00 higher rate than anticipated. Camp site was nothing but mud. Need better management, I do not think that "If Megan cant do it, it cant be done", is an acceptable excuse to not issue a refund.
May 11, 2018
Good experience fantastic waypoint.
May 01, 2018
My daughter & I only stayed here b/c of the indoor pool which the website, brochure & sign says closes at 9p. Sat the pool was closed early b/c of a movie in an area not affected by the pool. Nor, do they enforce the rule about children being in the pool w/o an adult. Once I counted 9 kids + mine & I was the only adult there. The tents sites are nice but my tent does not fit on the sand pad.....
Apr 27, 2018
Awesome location and staff friendly and hopeful, we made reservations for June 2018
Apr 26, 2018
The campsite we were placed in shouldn't be considered a campsite. It was barely off of the road and unlevel. Also, the hot tub was not open, which was why I chose this KOA. This is the 2nd time I've come with no access to their amenities.
Apr 23, 2018
Amazing staff. Great Site. We felt welcomed from the very start and had a wonderful weekend. Enough to do there that we barely left the campsite.
Apr 21, 2018
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Great place to stay. Very clean and the staff was super nice and very helpful...
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
I was only in the campground for a bit over 14 hours, but I was impressed with the facilities. My campsite was nice (really liked the shelters over picnic tables), space for tent adequate, and shower house clean.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
We enjoyed the campsite. Especially when it stormed - the sand helped drain the site well. The only downsides we saw to our stay were related to the age of some of the amenities that need to be updated and that we did not know our campsite number and arrived later than expected then had to move our camp after setup. Recommend sending site number with confirmation email.
Apr 07, 2018
The only issue was the chlorine level in the indoor pool. It was so strong that it burned my child’s skin and caused a rash that lasted two days. Everything else was wonderful!
Apr 03, 2018
A little bit of heaven!
Apr 02, 2018
Besides the surprise fishing tournament right behind us it was clean,the staff was friendly(Cindy was super nice),and there was plenty to do.Would go again.
Mar 22, 2018
It was clean, organized, and enjoyable.
Mar 21, 2018
Dec 22, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
Nov 14, 2017
Place seemed nice once I got there, but I talked to a pretty rude person on the phone before arriving that just kinda rubbed me the wrong way for my entire stay here. Terrible/no wifi, even if you are sitting right next to the router, and no cell service (at&t).
Nov 13, 2017
Not helpful.
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 08, 2017
We had a great stay! Your night watch lady was so helpful and welcoming!
Oct 29, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
One night there was a huge rainstorm, and since we don't have a rainfly for our tent, we used a tarp. Worked great, and left it up after because of the heavy dew in the mornings. Maintenance then came to inform us that we had to remove it, but couldn't give a good reason. We complied, and asked about it at checkout. Manager on duty still unable to give a reason, or show me a guideline. Bad busines
Oct 23, 2017
Our only complaint is about the water pressure in the men's restroom/bathhouse. The pressure is extremely low to the point of non-existent.
Oct 23, 2017
Overall we enjoy staying at the Cherokee location, but the WiFi/Internet & Cellular Service has never worked. Weâve stayed there multiple times over the last three years and itâs never worked for more than a coupl of minutes.
Oct 18, 2017
Some paneling in the fence along the primitive campsites would provide a bit of privacy from people fishing. The drainage could be better too, but we did choose the cheaper campsite option. So fair enough. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Oct 17, 2017
We really enjoyed the campground. Look forward to coming back soon.
Oct 16, 2017
We always love coming up for the Trout Tournament. Winning was a nice bonus! The renovations were also nice. My wife loves how the restrooms are ALWAYS clean! lol
Oct 15, 2017
We had a great time!! We love the indoor pool, the bouncy pillow, and the banana bikes. The stafff was also extremely nice. I did not like that the builders started hammering in the morning while I was still trying to sleep. I think that they should wait to make loud construction noises until at least 9:00. People go on campus my trips to relax and do not want to be awoken by hammering.
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed our trip, however several of the tent sites are too small for large tents. The site that I was assigned to had no grass at all. All it had was mud and roots. I had to put my tent on my sisterâs site which was next to us.
Oct 02, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
It was fabulous. The campground exceeded our expectations. Pool and hot tub was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and very well maintained. Our kids wanted to go tent camping for some odd reason, they are 2 girls age 6 and 9. They have never been tent camping in the past so we wanted to make their first trip,a special memorable trip. We chose KOA and have ZERO regrets.
Sep 25, 2017
Great location and great campground, but very poor wifi and dirty bathrooms. Both man's showers were growing mushrooms. I saw them in the first day and I was hopping that someone will clean them away. But after 5 days they were still growing Regarding the WIFI, I can understand they are in the mountains and there is a limited bandwith, but the problem was with the routers themselves - on and off
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was great, much better then last year. Disappointed that the outdoor pool was closed. Facilities are nice.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award