Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Tent Reviews

Jul 09, 2020
We had a great time! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our check-in and check-out was smooth and very easy. The only issue we had was that the restrooms on one side of the campground weren't all open due to a "soap shortage" or so we were told. Other than that minor issue, we had a blast and look forward to our next visit!
Jul 09, 2020
Very well maintained campground! A little tight with the neighbors.
Jul 04, 2020
It was our first time and enjoyed it. Our kids had a blast. Everything was very convenient to get to. Thank you for the good family memories.
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
An overpriced campground. Our site was cramped with inadequate space. Sites share hookups, forcing neighbors to face each other, sharing the tiny space that is available between campers. Pavement in many areas breaking up with many water filled potholes. Good amenities for children, staff is pleasant, facilities are clean. Glad to see Covid mask requirements taken seriously by staff and guests.
Jun 30, 2020
Love the people they are so nice.great coffee.
Jun 29, 2020
Great KOA. We all had a great time lots to at the camps site. loved the river. Just wish we had been told before booking that the grill and the game room was close. you have to think when you have kids that was a big factor in making the decision of where to stay. Also the video on the KOA wed site clearly shows a pot pot golf that is not there any more. The kids were very let down by that.
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 26, 2020
We had a tent site reserved at least a month out. We stayed a total of 4 nights. We received the worst tent site there. There was poison sumac plants all along the fence we couldn’t see the river that was advertised. Our tent site held water. Also the bathrooms were clean when we first arrived but seemed to never be cleaned after. By the end of our stay they smelled like urine extremely bad.
Jun 26, 2020
We stayed at a premium tent site and it was very nice! Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Jun 22, 2020
We had an awesome time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.
Jun 21, 2020
After 30 years this unfortunately will be my last!! Tent site with just roots and mud. No grass at all!! My confirmation said 20 × 25 grassy tent pad!! Couldn't even put a 10×12 tent up that wasn't on a root! Water over our ankles every time it rained. Bathroom went over 2 days with no cleaning! Rudest and most inconsiderate staff I have ever met. Do yourself a favor stay at River Valley!
Jun 20, 2020
Pros- clean restrooms, friendly staff, as well as very helpful ( vehicle battery died while they and they came to our rescue 6/18/20) cons- firewood and campsites with water and electric a little pricey. We definitely enjoyed our stay though and will be back. Loved the Bear boxes. ( didn’t have one last time we stayed there)
Jun 18, 2020
Facilities well maintained, a little muddy because of rain. Staff helpful and friendly.
Jun 16, 2020
Great campsite! There were lots of families with kids, it was a great environment. The camp store was very handy and there were plenty of activities to do at the camp. The bathrooms and showers were very nice. We had WiFi the whole time we were at the campsite. It was a great trip!!
Jun 15, 2020
My stay was the best! Dottie in the main office is the absolute best! We had a little problem at first and she took care of it right away with her professional and sweet attitude. You guys have a Gem working for you and you best do what you have to to keep her! Dottie is the best person to have in the front greeting people and getting their reservations taken care of. Thank you, Jerry DeMarco
Jun 14, 2020
We had a wonderful time. The bathrooms were clean, the staff friendly, my grandkids had a great time swimming, watching the outside movies and fishing.
Jun 14, 2020
Bathroom wasn’t serviced. No soap or toilet paper. Shower drain clogged - up to my ankles in water. Tent sites muddy.
Jun 13, 2020
Loved the pool, people, host, and the trout fishing was awesome. Nicest bathrooms I’ve seen at a camp ground.
Jun 10, 2020
Jun 09, 2020
Jun 09, 2020
Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.
Jun 08, 2020
Beautiful place to stay, camping,fishing,pool etc everything in ons place. Highly recommended. This one was in Cherokee,NC.
Jun 08, 2020
My first visit. My husband use to go alot when a child. Was nice. Snack bar was out of everything though. T37 tent pad could be more private like the others are. Just 2 adults. I would recommend this camping ground for families as there was ton of kids.
Jun 08, 2020
I love it and so did my family. Very well kept and family oriented. Will be coming back real soon
Jun 06, 2020
Jy 12 yr old said it was amazing! My 6 year was upset that the pool sign said it would be open at 9. It wasn't open. They told us it would be sometime after 10. Made me look like the bad guy telling my kid I would take him to the pool and couldn't. We ended up leaving early cause he couldn't go to the pool.
Jun 05, 2020
The location is Super convenient into the Smokies. Be sure to get supplies before coming to Cherokee as the local Food Lion was locals only. Thanks to Craig for keeping the bath house so clean. Indifferent staff/service otherwise. Litter in our tent site and lack of care and attention to the grounds overall.
Jun 04, 2020
Staff was outstanding. Can't wait to return!
May 27, 2020
Nice stay and very friendly staff. The only noticeable difference from other KOA experiences we’ve had was that our tent site was not clean when we arrived. A large deteriorating watermelon was left by the fire pit and had bugs all over it and candy wrappers were throughout the site.
May 26, 2020
My family stayed at a tent site which was great and we were lucky to get the tent site we did due to our larger tent therefore, we did not use the tent pad. Some of other tent sites would have not worked. I would remove the tent pads as that limits the area where the tent need to be placed and the size of tent that can be placed on the tent pad. Need more rocks on the driveway of the tent sites.
May 20, 2020
We enjoyed it so much will be back
May 20, 2020
We loved it. Just hoping all the amenities will be open next time. Also, please do something about a 7 person family. We have 7 total in our family. We should be able to enjoy camping. I'd freely pay extra for the 7th person. Thanks ��
Mar 19, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
it was comphy . the road behind us was bissy all knight . thy wouldnt lett us fish 4 some reason . but the walk to the falls was good . its steep but plesnet
Nov 24, 2019
We had everything we needed; the employees were very helpful, the conditions were excellent. I can think of no serious faults.
Nov 22, 2019
I felt very welcome as soon as I walked in the office. The campground was very clean and well staffed. Everyone that I spoke with was very nice. After three days in the National Park campground it was really nice to have a clean restroom and nice hot shower. I was on a ten day road trip and having a laundry machine there was really nice. I already plan on coming back next year sometime.
Nov 19, 2019
The extra fees I had to pay when I got to the campsite needs to be noted on the website, so there are not any surprise fees upon arrival. Also, I had someone else trying to stay at our campsite after we checked in at the office. I did appreciate a hot shower and the bathrooms were clean. Nice amenities were at the camp, however we did not use them.
Nov 11, 2019
very beautiful !
Nov 11, 2019
Planned to stay at campground that was full, found this instead. It was great! Awesome amenities... I'm just sad we didn't bring our swim suits. The kids had a blast on the jumping pillow and it was pretty close to the National Park.
Nov 04, 2019
Other than mother nature trying to get us to go home. Rained for three out of five days. It was great. Beautiful streams, and fall foliage.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Beautiful, clean, full of smiles... thank you For the hospitality and great memories!
Oct 20, 2019
Overall the stay was great, but I was disappointed when we arrived that our site was covered in leaves, making it seem dirty...I would suggest blowing sites the day of arrival
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Enjoyed the stay . Really wish that the movies were still on during this time. Like the addition of rafting and gem mine.
Oct 03, 2019
Clean and nice people
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
The restroom and showers were discussing. Looked like they were not cleaned all weekend. Clumps of hair all in the shower. Trash cans full. My husband who had surgery on his ankle not long ago, was told to walk to the other bathroom in the middle of the night.( 2a.m.)they had ours section locked all night. The staff at the front office was rude to my husband every time he went to ask a question.
Sep 04, 2019
We had a GREAT time, plenty to do and wonderful customer service. The only drawback was the road noise in the early morning. Not KOA's fault and nothing they could do to change this, still a great stay.
Aug 25, 2019
Great campground. Very clean facilities and grounds are well kept. Only drawback is if you are in a tent with the road noise. Would definitely stay there again, just not in a tent near the road.
Jul 11, 2020
Very clean cabins. Very nice people.lots of things for the kids to do..just all around a great place to stay
- roger mcabee on Google
Jul 10, 2020
GREAT fishing
- ikonik652 epip games on Google
Jul 13, 2020
My family really enjoyed this campground for a weekend getaway not too far from home. Very kid friendly. And doing a very good job mitigating this covid 19 mess while remaining open. The only area for improvement i saw was some flood puddles and mud in certain sites and on some roads after heavy rains . But wasnt a huge deal. Thought they could gravel a few places better. Only reason I didn't give this campground 5 stars. 2 pools! For kids. With a neat jumping bubble and a playground helped to keep the kids occupied. Can't wait to return later this fall.
- barry neal on Google