Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2018
Our family arrived after the front gate had closed but there was someone there to help us find our site. We had some trouble with the electric box and reported it and there was someone there to help us within 10 minutes. Our stay was great!
Sep 04, 2018
Cabin wasn’t ready upon arrival. I had to wait 30 minutes after check in time for cabin to be ready. We only got opportunity to tube once due to delay. Nothing was offered and nothing was said about delay.
Sep 03, 2018
We have stayed here for 10+ years and over the years the cleanliness has deteriorated severely. We usually stay in the cabins and use the bath houses. However the toilets this time had mold growing in them and it remained there for several days into our stay. The women's bathroom smelled like a port-a-potty. It was terrible and the lighting was poor. The activities were poorly organized as well.
Sep 02, 2018
The campground itself was very nice. My problem was with the state of the cabin we used. It was filthy. The floor looked as if it hadn't been swept in months. There was graffiti in the cabin. The mattresses were dirty, and the shelves were filthy. It looked like this cabin was slated for demolition. I certainly left it cleaner than it was when we arrived. Very disappointed.
Sep 02, 2018
Very attentive KOA employees; professional, courteous. Clean remodeled rest rooms since we were last there. Appreciated the escort to our campsite. Always a KOA employee available to help or answer questions.
Sep 02, 2018
We enjoyed the premium space which backed up to the river and were impressed with the park. We did have issues with the dog park gates that were in need of repair and the person who checked us in. When we checked in we asked the lady “helping” us if there was info about the shuttle in the KOA map/brochure and she said “no” and proceeded to blankly stare back. We had to work hard to get any
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Love this place
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
Very clean and convenient
Aug 30, 2018
Love the river, clean friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff. Great amenities for kids/family. Nice dog park and play area for the kids. Love both indoor and outdoor pool/hot tubs. Very annoyed by the gate to the island being locked so much. Grill food was undercooked and had brown slimy lettuce on it. We were refunded but didn’t eat there the rest of the trip. Overall it was a very good trip.
Aug 30, 2018
Aug 29, 2018
This was not only my first experience with KOA, but was also my first camping experience and I had an amazing weekend!! I chose a deluxe cabin for my stay, a my sister and her family brought their camper, and my niece and nephew slept at a tent site~ All were 2 thumbs up!! Loved that security drove around the park on a regular basis. Everything was so clean and peaceful~ We will be back!
Aug 28, 2018
We were able to stay dry in the cabin, but that was the only positive. There needs to be a staff meeting getting everyone on the same page about the operations of the campground, and the importance of their attitude and interaction towards customers/campers! It also would be nice to have clean, flushing toilets to use! Overall, we were dissatisfied.
Aug 28, 2018
Great
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
We had a great time. My daughters loved the dance party on Saturday night.
Aug 27, 2018
Liked the Campground. Very nice area. Reservation process was an absolute nightmare. I booked my trip in January of this year. Paid extra to book a certain campsite. Was moved to another site a few months later. Then we were moved again in June. Confirmed 4 days prior. When I arrived in August my site had been given away again and I was moved for a 3rd time!!! Very poor customer service!!
Aug 27, 2018
The cabin was dirty. The floors had not been cleaned. We had to sweep them. The cabinets had ants in them. The shower curtain has mildew on the bottom. Campground itself was nice.
Aug 27, 2018
Upon arrival the attendant was very helpful and fast. The escort to campsite was great and the sites were very nice. I enjoyed staying the only advice would be to post an accurate park activaties so that we could enjoy more of the amentaties.
Aug 27, 2018
Great
Aug 27, 2018
Best time we've had in a long time. Ready to come & stay. Most of the people weren't very friendly, but the few that were were fantastic. We stay at KOAS a lot, & they were a lot friendlier.
Aug 27, 2018
We were lucky enough to get a river view lot IT was awesome! Concrete pad, picnic table, firepit the best view ever! Staff is very friendly and helpful. 1 suggestion, would be nice if there was just a smidge more lighting. Perhaps like solar LED lights every other Lot no more that 3 feet high just to shine down on the road. Allow for better lighting walking and bike riding. We will be back!!
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Hot tub was dirty but aside from that had a great stay.
Aug 27, 2018
Loved our week there, staff was just stellar,other guests were friendly, couldn't ask for a better campground.
Aug 27, 2018
Great, as usual,
Aug 27, 2018
I've stayed here many times. Unfortunately, this was not a good experience. Bags of garbage left on hooks from previous campers and no covering on the windows for privacy. Talked to Sean about it at the front desk on Saturday morning. He stated he would take care of it. Left for Gatlinburg, returned late Saturday night, still garbage and no window covering. Not happy about this.
Aug 27, 2018
I enjoyed my stay very much the campsites were very mass and clean and neat lots of things to do for kids and adults beautiful scenery the staff was awesome Definitely will be coming back
Aug 27, 2018
We have always stayed here and been very happy. This time I was misinformed as to location of site...we wanted to be on the river or in front of ponds. There were plenty of open camping cabins availably. Ours had a non-functional tv and a electrical issue with broken screens on door. Tv never was fixed. We were charged additional amenity fees not listed in the confirmation. The restroom stunk bad.
Aug 26, 2018
Great location. Campground had lots of activities and was well maintained.
Aug 26, 2018
The campground great, the area great. But unfortunately due to the staff, more directly the general manager, my reservations were messed up upon arrival and they were unable to accommodate my reservations correctly, and never made it right. I will never stay at another KOA again . Worst vacation ever, stayed with 4 children, and everything went wrong. They did nothing to make it better. Nightmare
Aug 26, 2018
We had a great time, my grandsons and I. All the camp workers were extremely nice. I would like to shoutout to Jacob Kemp and Jessi Culp who went out of there way to help us carrying wood back to our site. Those kind of things matter.
Aug 26, 2018
Short staff both pools was dirty and tryed several times to contact the front desk no answer had to walk to the front no activities for the kids doing the week also the workers were disrespectful didn't want to speak and also they were cutting grass around my RV and weed whacking and a rock are debris hit my RV and left a lil hole in it also our trip was horrible and we came from Maryland
Aug 25, 2018
Very pleasant. No crowds this week. Been coming here for 21 years and can't wait for next trip.
Aug 24, 2018
Campground was clean which is all I can say. Cable TV didn't work, lots of snow for the entire stay, unable to watch. Went to use showers three times, almost no pressure and no hot water, Laundry change machines didn't work. Every Saturday night movie didn't happen. Dog Park Gates were broken, hanging off hinges.
Aug 23, 2018
This is the third time I have brought my family there, I went there every summer with my grandparents as a child and enjoyed spending the time with my own little family. The dog park was great, the pool was good...Wish I had more channels in the cabin and I didn't care for the location of the cabin as it was right near the cleaning station for the trout pond which made for a very aromatic stay,,,
Aug 23, 2018
Bathrooms need some work with water pressure and maintenance The rustic cabin was great !! Very nice amenities with pools and hot tubs Kids looked like they were having a ball with all the kids stuff !
Aug 23, 2018
When we arrived, we were told cabin not available until 3pm, not 2pm as per website. The windows were open, but inside the cabin there was a noticeable smell, which never really went away. I had a severe allergic reaction to the pool treatment, and staff didn't seem to care about ensuring I had proper treatment.
Aug 23, 2018
Every employee we encountered was friendly and very helpful. Bathhouses were clean, showers very clean and not crowded. Indoor and outdoor pools were in the process of improving. We had a bad experience tubing and ended up walking back. The river is very shallow and rocky, but has fast moving water with many rapids. Wish we had been told what to expect and that it's not good for small kids.
Aug 22, 2018
Clean well maintained campground
Aug 22, 2018
There was so many gnats we couldn't enjoy sitting outside. We paid $17.00 for a case of water and one tea drink. That was ridiculous. Other than that it was ok.
Aug 22, 2018
My 5 year old daughter and I had a great time. Staff were friendly. Room was clean. My daughter had a crash on her bicycle and the front office assisted us with a 1st aid kit. Outside pool/hot tub needed cleaning. The shower we used had the drain stopped up and we had to stand in ankle deep shower water to take a shower.
Aug 21, 2018
My main complaint was poor wifi service
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Great fishing, biking, plenty of pools. Bathrooms were very clean. Good base camp to explore Smokey Mountains and Cherokee area
Aug 21, 2018
Our stay was great! Only challenges faced were communicating prior to our arrival. We tried email/phone contact, but was unsuccessful. Everything worked out in the end, so I feel that's what really counts. Upon arrival we did get a site requested, however we didn't realize the sites we were looking at were only 30 amp sites. Preferring 50 amp, we LUCKED out one was available for our stay.
Aug 21, 2018
Expensive. Got premium site but not worth 89+ dollars per night. TV cable reception very poor if you got it at all. Completely out first day. Did have internet but very slow. Had some sort of event going on and they played very loud music till 10 at night. I know this is within guidelines for quiet time but had so much volume that we could barely listen to tv (when it was working).
Aug 21, 2018
great experience with the staff. during our stay our dog became ill and needed to phone our vet. since there is little to no cell service at the campground i was unable to do so - then the staff at the store offered to let me use the store phone. i was able to reach our vet and get our dog the treatment he needed. that offer was GREATLY appreciated.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals