Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
Great campground. Convient to all the sights that we wanted to see an do. The only issue that we had was when dumping our gray and black tanks at the end of our stay on a full hook up site. The drain would not allow us to fully open up the handles on our tanks. We had to really watch and push in on the handles to prevent leakage onto the ground.
Sep 18, 2017
We will diffently be back staff made us feel at home and was very helpful and friendly rhino even help me and my son with his school project can't wait to come back
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Third time to stay we like it
Sep 18, 2017
We absolutely love Cherokee KOA; however, the mens shower needs work. I had to try 2 showers before I finally found one that worked. The first one does not have a shower head and the 2nd one only had scolding hot water. It would also be nice if you would put a shelf or something for us to put our clean clothes and personal belongings on, without having to set them in the nasty floor.
Sep 18, 2017
We came running from the storm Irma. We checked in at 10:30 pm. The security guard checked us in and helped us locate our spot and were so kind. the next day we came to check in and the office staff were so pleasant. It was a hard few days before and seeing a friendly face we much appreciated. We shall return.
Sep 18, 2017
Was a little disappointed in the bad wifi that only worked late at night when everyone was asleep but a beautiful campground and friendly staff.
Sep 18, 2017
I stayed in one of your cabins 9/15 0 9/17, 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I am impressed the improvements to the bathrooms and shower facilities. You are really improving the camping experience at Cherokee KOA.
Sep 18, 2017
Absolutely loved my visit to the Cherokee KOA. I had a small cabin by the river which was so peaceful. The employees were extremely helpful and kind. I highly recommend this campground.
Sep 18, 2017
campground is ran down
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Very first time camping. Brought the girlfriend and kid, her family came up grilled out, quiet peaceful reasonable price on things. 100% recommend the koa!!!!
Sep 17, 2017
I love the KOA. But this time it was a bad experience. Payed extra for upgraded cabin. TV didn't work. Told very nice gentleman that worked there, said would pass it along. Nothing ever done. Took late shower at 2am. Showers floors were filthy. At check out voiced my concern. Young girl at the desk just said Ok. Had brought new campers with me, I had really bragged on KOA. They won't be back.
Sep 17, 2017
Very nice campground. Always love it there. Planning next trip.
Sep 16, 2017
The campground is very nice and the amenities were great. Most employees were very nice. A couple of ladies at the front desk seemed grumpy and made us feel silly for asking about fishing rules - like we should already have known. It was a very busy weekend, so I am sure they were tired of the same old questions, but they took the wind out of my son's sails to go fishing. Otherwise - good.
Sep 16, 2017
Very good camp large and clean easy to park... very good for fishing trous are really close.. staff is excellent, bathrooms are clean the casino is just some miles away and holds very good restaurants.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Great!! No complaints. Ended up extending our stay.
Sep 14, 2017
Monica really helped us out on a really busy week.
Sep 14, 2017
Mattress was awful. Staff was great. Grass around cabin was knee high between cabin and river. Would not rent this cabin again.
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
The cabin was beyond my imagination. So many things were well thought out. There was a female worker that just started the day before who was so sweet. And Brent was very nice also. It was an awesome weekend with beautiful weather. Can't wait to go back!
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Very nice, pull through site was nice, staff was friendly, campground was clean. Please up date my e-mail to bkbrown@btes.tv. I get e-mail from KOA on both my old and new addresses.
Sep 14, 2017
I want to the koa during the passing of Irma and when I got there they had changed me from a electricity free tent site to a 1 bedroom cabin with no extra charge; they even gave me a heater. Everyone there was generous and caring and I had a wonderful time while there.
Sep 14, 2017
I evacuated hurricane Irma with my 90 year old Mother and 95 year old Father to Cherokee KOA. I could not have chosen a better place to evacuate. The staff was always helpful, accommodating, and friendly. Our only concerns were our homes in Florida, aside from that it was enjoyable. Fortunately, we had no damage to our homes and will look back on this with fond memories.
Sep 14, 2017
Cabin was very clean and guest services and maintenance staff were very nice and helpful. Online booking was a breeze. Finding a pet friendly place at the last minute due to Hurricane Irma gave us piece of mind knowing we could keep our dog with us. KOA will be at the top of our favorite places to stay.
Sep 14, 2017
Fantastic KOA! Carol was extremely helpful at check in. Can't wait to return!!
Sep 14, 2017
beautiful place
Sep 14, 2017
Very welcoming and accommodating!! We were evacuating from a hurricane and got there early. They found us a spot that we could stay in without moving the next day when our reservation was actually for!
Sep 13, 2017
When I rented the cottage it said private when we got there we were right by the pool and another cabin was connected to our deck and we were not overlaying the river like it said when I rented . Also no one ever answered the phones, we called numerous times for assistance and never got a pick up or call back. And the cabin bathroom had cobwebs everywhere.
Sep 13, 2017
Nice host but bad wifi service and very dirty bathrooms. Cold hot tub!!!
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
We stayed one night in a cabin. We love the cabin and we love the campground. We have stayed there multiple times and have loved it each time.
Sep 13, 2017
Much improved since my last stay several years ago
Sep 13, 2017
We enjoyed it nice to be on the river and away from electronics. A few issues we had were the fireplace in our deluxe cabin didn't work, light in living room didn't work. There were spiders in the cabin, in the shower and on the bed pillows. Good thing I brought my own pillow. The front porch was full of spider webs we couldn't sit out there on the swing.
Sep 13, 2017
The people working front desks were absolutely horrible rude lazy just down right sucked. I asked to buy fishing license she sent me outside the place outside was closed come back in to same girl sent me to last girl on end she never acknowledeged me for over 5 minutes
Sep 13, 2017
Other than one day raining the entire day, it was a good stay. No complaints.
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
We had an excellent stay at this KOA! My kids are used to tent camping mostly and their response to staying here was " this is like luxury camping." We will definitely be back!
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Our stay was great ! however both my grandsons were bit in the cabin by something ! I hope not bed bugs!! I left a message on Tuesday and have not heard back
Sep 13, 2017
We originally had reservations for Thursday Friday and Saturday called in the Friday before we were supposed to arrive on Thursday and change them to Saturday and Sunday got there on Saturday and somebody had not changed our reservations and they have given or Deluxe cabin away the only thing they had to offer us was the one room cabin with no bathroom nothing we came totally unprepared for this .
Sep 12, 2017
Always enjoy coming to this campground. I am a bit surprised that since you pay a resort fee that you have to bring your own trash to the dumpster. Staff are very friendly, bathrooms always clean. We purchased several bundles of firewood every night, some of it was still green or not dried for it burned very smoky. Brought several other campers in their trailers and they were also pleased!
Sep 12, 2017
Great staff. Very helpful.
Sep 12, 2017
Fun to be outdoors and be free from all the technology! Sometimes a little discomfort is fun!
Sep 12, 2017
It was amazing, everyone was nice and humble, will be coming back soon my girls loved it to they didn't wanna go home!!!
Sep 12, 2017
So great, what a beautiful place!!
Sep 12, 2017
we were running from the storm and we found a spot to stay. The security guards checked us in at night and helped us park and were friendly and made us comfortable. The next day the staff was great and friendly as well. Thank you we shall return, when not running for our lives. Helen
Sep 11, 2017
Almost non-existent internet connectivity; No TV connectivity for 30 hours of our 48 hour reservation; very small "delux cabins"; some sites had no electricity for days (not ours though)...very disappointed in this site.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award