Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Trouble with internet, no phone service and trouble with tv connection.
Aug 22, 2019
A lot for the kids to do and works were all very friendly.
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
There were a few maintenance items in the cabin that should be addressed - bolts/screws in floor vents sticking up, nails sticking out of trim in doorway, missing bolts/loose arms on patio chairs. The cabin itself was fantastic and the floor plan worked great for my family. Overall, our stay was fantastic.
Aug 22, 2019
Clean campground. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wished cable TV would have been a little better.
Aug 22, 2019
Camping sites and parking pads should be cleaned off prior to checking in. Our site was full of leaves and sticks. Our friends that stayed along the river site had not been swept in a while. Our electric would not support our A/C, however, one of the employees let us borrow an adapter during our stay, in which we returned when we left. Internet and Cable are needing to be updated to be consistent.
Aug 22, 2019
Very polite staff. There were some maintenace issues that need to be addressed (weeding and fencing repairs).
Aug 22, 2019
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA. Campground was well kept and quiet during our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. We especially liked our concrete pad at our site. The only reason I didn’t give five stars was due to the cable tv not working at our site.
Aug 22, 2019
Great location, very clean. Your staffers need to abide by the 5 MPH rule; they were often observed speeding. Otherwise great experience
Aug 22, 2019
Great campgroud. Very clean, very well thought out campground layout, and beutiful scenery. The staff are all very curtious and bend over backwards to help you with every need, large or small. I can't say enough good things about this campground. Very highly recommended.
Aug 22, 2019
Nice campground, friendly staff.
Aug 22, 2019
It was wonderful campground! We will stay there again �
Aug 22, 2019
Cable reception was terrible. Camp ground is awesome!!
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Fun as always.
Aug 22, 2019
Stayed in basic cabin, everything was good with it, we have stayed at this location numerous times, and we were disappointed that you no longer do the tubing shuttle that we always enjoyed. But other than that we had a good time
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
One of the best KOAs we have been at. Will definitely be back
Aug 22, 2019
Wonderful place to stay
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
I stayed at the Cherokee KOA 26 years ago and the campground is not what is was then. Campground is run down, staff are not the quality of folks that were there previously, people not friendly, tours no longer there. Still a great campground - but not what is was.
Aug 16, 2019
It was okay. Wasn’t impressed. They mowed half out site and left grass clippings everywhere just after we cleaned our site. I have photos.
Aug 15, 2019
With no fault of KOA, the.fishing wasn't all that great. The ponds are usually stock on Friday but the week of our stay the stocking took place on Tuesday therefore when we arrived on Thursday most of the fish had been caught. As usually the Staff where Awesome especially a lady at the front desk by the name of Joann.
Aug 15, 2019
Awesome pool and great wifi
Aug 15, 2019
Friendly staff and very helpful. Superb facility and super clean. Camp store and grill excellent. RV sites and W-Fi also very good. I would have given it 5 stars, BUT they were CONSTANTLY mowing the grass and using weed eaters. Very noisy, everyday including Sunday. Pick a day, round up the staff and cut all the grass in one day between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM.
Aug 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean, friendly staff. Lots of things to do. Loved the indoor pool. Ate the spaghetti dinner and s’mores. The only negative is the price was a little high.
Aug 14, 2019
Please call me concerning my stay, I need to explain what happened concerning my experience,400 characters is not enough. My name is Bruce Wilson phone # 404-932-1322. Please call so I can explain my complaint. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thank You Bruce Wilson
Aug 14, 2019
The restaurant staff closed up early, after s ecifically telling us they would be open until 6:00 p.m. upon arrival at 5:15 p.m. the restaurant was closed, we hadto scramble through our cabinets to find something to eat. wood delivery was shorted . some staff members we ran across were surly, not happy campers. the campsite was great. flat/level /clean.
Aug 14, 2019
This was our first time in a KOA campground. Our cabin was fabulous, exactly what we expected from the website, clean, well-supplied/stocked, and an incredible location right on the river. The staff were friendly, prompt to respond, and knowledgeable. Signage was clear leading to the campground and within the campground.
Aug 14, 2019
Have stayed here several times. Beautiful and convenient to the town of Cherokee. Will definitely return again.
Aug 14, 2019
Rented a cabin for the first time and it was not very clean. Ants,spiders. Toilet dirty, microwave dirty, grill dirty upon arrival but was cleaned right away by friendly staff. Hair on sheets. Dust caked on exhaust fan and ceiling fan. Checked out a night early. Brought ants home with us in our laundry. Indoor pool water was cloudy. Rated a 2 because of very friendly staff member Daren!
Aug 14, 2019
It is a very nice place to stay. But the rates are way too high. I may stay at another place next time that is a little more affordable.
Aug 14, 2019
Great location..friendly staff and nice cabins
Aug 14, 2019
So much to do. Very clean. My husband enjoyed tubing on-site and biking. We had spaghetti and beans for dinner one night that was delicious.
Aug 13, 2019
Tres bien prise electrique exterieur ne fonctionne pas referer a un preposer toujours pas reparer a notre départ lumière intérieure brule bbq tres sale désuet
Aug 13, 2019
Very clean...all staff were great. Grandkids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
The only reason I don’t give a five is because our ceiling fan did not work, and the parking for our cabin wasn’t designated so having an inside cabin, when we came back to the cabin every time we had to search for parking.
Aug 13, 2019
Breaker broke on electrical outlet. The maintenance staff repaired very quick. The staff is always nice and helpful.
Aug 13, 2019
Cabin was not ready until 340. After traveling we were tired and just wanted to get unpacked. Everything else about our stay was great. The kids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
Beautiful location with many great amenities. Our grill was broken, reported it but no one came to fix it.
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
We enjoyed our stay in a rustic cabin at KOA Cherokee.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Everything was as advertised. There does need to be outdoor showers and shower facilities in indoor pool as there were a lot of people coming straight from creek and getting into hot tubs and pools. These leaves the water looking dirty and a lot of grass and sand in the water. Bath houses appeared clean, in good working order, and well stocked.
Aug 12, 2019
Always love staying here but the grass was not maintained very well this time and needed to be cut.
Aug 12, 2019
First of all...4 days of calling with no luck...have to make reservations on line. Not the friendliness desk people...campstore had lots of stuff but not the essentials . We have been staying here for over 20 years...will not go back. Prices jacked up...rude desk people and the park is in need of maintenance. The cabin our son rented had broken chairs/tables...told them with nothing done. done!
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Very nice campground. Loved the concrete sites.
Aug 11, 2019
Wonderful location and service. Very good location for enjoying the Great Smokey Mountains NP and the Cherokee area. Our family will definitely be back again soon.
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at home. Her husband is also awesome with getting you set up and filling propane! We had a slight issue with a cab service to shuttle us to Harrah’s. (No Uber/Lyft Available) Rachel happened to be around while we found a second plan for transportation. After she found out what was going on, she offered to shuttle us to the Casino with no questions asked. We truly couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be returning very soon and I hope you visit KOA of Cherokee!
- JJ Smith on Google
Feb 18, 2020
Great campground. Friendly staff. Lots to do even in the off season. We will be back.
- Stacey Niedentohl on Google
Feb 16, 2020
Was great . Perfect Valentine's weekend.
- Clara willard on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.