Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Apr 15, 2019
Other campers were very loud both before and after the quiet hour. Our tent site was close to the trout ponds and we were woken up around 5:30am by loud fish men and the smell of cigarette smoke coming from them.
Apr 14, 2019
Very clean, beautiful and friendly Campground
Apr 14, 2019
Arrived on a Friday for a basketball tournament. Saturday morning I had a family emergency and had to leave. The staff was wonderful and accomidating. My husband and daughter were able to stay in a cabin for the remaining days. Would definitely recommend staying here. Very family oriented , lots to do and we'll kept!
Apr 13, 2019
It was very nice
Apr 13, 2019
Communication with the campground prior to our stay was not very well maintained. After we arrived we felt like the person who checked us in was rude. Our cabin had no screens on the windows so we couldn't leave the windows open at night to enjoy the sounds of the river. When we checked out we inquired about returning for the 4th of July and were told that most people booked that a year in advance
Apr 13, 2019
Everyone we met was very nice and helpful. It's a very large campground almost to big. Most of the equipment in the restrooms needed repair. But we still had a good time.
Apr 13, 2019
Apr 12, 2019
The reception area/store is beautiful, as well as the pool area. We have a 26 foot travel trailer and asked for a pull through site since we are new to camping. The site we were given was a bit rough with a tight turn space, a lot of tree roots and very old asphalt. I imagine it was cheaper than the big rig sites that looked very nice. The site just wasn't KOA standard, is all.
Apr 10, 2019
Everyone is friendly and helpful.
Apr 10, 2019
We will never return to this camp. We stayed here ten years ago and just loved it, not the same park now
Apr 09, 2019
We had a wonderful time! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We spent 4 days here and can't wait till our next stay! It's a great place for the entire family!
Apr 09, 2019
Great place!
Apr 09, 2019
Loved it! It’s a beautiful little valley all to itself, surrounded by mountains and with the fabulous Raven Fork River running through it.
Apr 08, 2019
Love New management. Been camping here for over 20 years and thinking about making a change but not now!
Apr 07, 2019
We absolutely loved everything about our stay! This was our first visit to this KOA, but we left immediately planning a return trip. Our cabin was clean, and right on the river so the kids could play. Our kids LOVED the bouncy pillow and indoor pool! And this was the pet-friendliest place we've ever stayed! Our cabin had bowls for our fur babies, and treats! So nice! We'll definitely be back!
Apr 07, 2019
The staff were so helpful as we were “after hours”. They patrolled the camp and were easily available to help and answer questions. Very accommodating.
Apr 07, 2019
I have been coming to this location for years . This was the only time I have been totally disappointed . The woman who checked is in was confused about everything . The bathhouse was nasty and had no toilet paper for two days in a row . The worst part was when we checked into our cabin the first night there was some sort of pill just laying in the bed . I had my young granddaughters with me .
Apr 06, 2019
We enjoyed staying in Cherokee as always, but on this trip the camp store closed early two nights in a row. This forced us to make two unexpected trips into town.
Apr 06, 2019
Great place to bring your kids, 4 legged too! Very clean, friendly staff, lots to do. Cabins are very clean and right on the beautiful river. Would definitely recommend to my family and friends to stay here when visiting Cherokee!
Apr 05, 2019
SOOOO glad to see work being done to this campground. Been coming here for many many years. Seen park go down fast with no work being done. Still along way to go but work has began. Like to see more entertainment come back to campground. I remember when bands would play on Friday and Saturday nights. Arcade for kids and adults. Love the fishing but I also understand fishing isn't for everyone.
Apr 05, 2019
Good campground and staff. Had a great time fishing in the ponds with the grandkids.
Apr 05, 2019
Very good
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
our stay is always pleasant. we love the area and the new management knows what customer service is all about. Rachel the GM was outstanding and handle our situation with great care. JoAnn in the store/office is one outstanding lady. So very polite to us and to our family. Why not 5 stars? well the indoor pool bathrooms were nasty, and other bath houses around the park. Laundry not cleaned too
Apr 04, 2019
Trout tournament was awesome
Apr 04, 2019
Apr 04, 2019
Love this place I come every year staff is always awesome
Apr 03, 2019
great as usual
Apr 01, 2019
Overall great experience at the Cherokee KOA. The water placement was inconvenient at site T43. Right in the middle of the campsite and creates a muddy mess in your spot. Moving the spigot should be considered.
Mar 31, 2019
This was my second stay. This time was definitely better than the last. The campgrounds are nice and clean, the staff is super friendly and very helpful. The inflatable jumping thing staying opened past sunset now (it closed at like 6 last time) was my kids’ favorite part of the trip. I can’t wait to go back again. This place is paradise for my little family.
Mar 31, 2019
It was still very cold when my wife and I came in March. The campground was basically empty. Be we love to camp here no matter the season. We stayed in a micro deluxe cabin and it was very clean and tidy. I have recommended this KOA to many of my friends and family. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. The trout fishing is awesome here, just saying!
Mar 31, 2019
10 times better than last year now that they are under new management
Mar 30, 2019
We had a great time. Plenty of things for the kids to do and it was a safe environment.
Mar 30, 2019
Mar 28, 2019
Service & cabin was amazing will be coming back soon!
Mar 28, 2019
RV Site was too small with slide outs which where too close to power box. After hours telephone support is non existent. Campground shut off water without notification. It would have been nice to know before trying to take a shower.
Mar 27, 2019
Great
Mar 27, 2019
Great stay. Our cabin was nice and clean. The kids had so much fun playing on the jumping rug. It was a indoor pool which is great for the cold rainy days. But the pool area need some love and the showers smelled like poop. We didn’t go near it. The other showered were great.
Mar 26, 2019
Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful!! Very welcoming! We had a small mechanical issue on our RV as we were leaving and a staff member went out of his way to help us troubleshoot and remedy. Great activities for kids!
Mar 26, 2019
I've never had a complaint before about this KOA and we've stayed several times throughout the past two years but this trip was definitely the most horrible trip that I've ever had the store has had some Renovations and look nice but not as many available items as they had before it was just an overall very bad experience this time hopefully next time will be better
Mar 25, 2019
The location is great and the new management is certainly trying to improve the grounds
Mar 25, 2019
Very nice
Mar 25, 2019
When we checked in, took us to the smaller plot available. Had to go back to desk to re check in and pay addition money to a pull thru lot. Also, booked this resort for the fishing ponds and nobody told us when we booked they were closed due to an upcoming tournament. Could have stayed at another campground for almost half the price so am disappointed to say the least with my first visit to cherok
Mar 25, 2019
I booked online for a cabin on Raven Fork River. My emailed statement even stated this. When we got to the campground they gave us a cabin that was not on the River. I paid extra for a river cabin. They gave me the run around and said if you book online it's not guaranteed what cabin you get. It was an absolutely horrible experience. They gave us a full refund so that was the only positive.
Mar 25, 2019
We had a great time!!! Everyone of the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. A big thank you to all of your team!!!
Mar 25, 2019
I'm not sure that the spots on concrete with nice picnic tables are really worth $45 more than the gravel ones. why not have nice tables on all of them.
Mar 25, 2019
Lovely campground that is a nice location due to its proximity to the Smokies, and Scenic Railroad, and other various activities. We were kind of disappointed that there was no real game room. We weren't very happy with the bath houses (they need some work). Staff was outstanding!
Mar 25, 2019
Would have given 4 stars but 1 of your front desk office employees was a little rude in some comments he made. When I questioned someone about the phones not being answered & voiced my concerns regarding if an emergency came up and someone needed to get ahold of a guest I overheard him tell her well they should just stay home. Other things were said that just shouldn’t have been said in the open
Aug 12, 2019
Had a great stay here, everyone was kind and friendly
- Garry Walsh on Google