Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2018
Great visit, people very friendly, curtious. However, do not have enough staff for both the check-in and the store Stod in line with a couple of items and had to wait for check ins to complete before making my purchases. People behind me were putting there items down and walking out Know body was at the store register.
Oct 08, 2018
Tge cabin was well located but maintenance was very poor. The room had a musty smell and the floors were very dirty. We can may be insist the footwear should not be taken inside. The restroom we're stinking all the time and we did not see anyone clean it during our entire stay this weekend The place has great potential if it was maintained properly.
Oct 08, 2018
Best KOA stay we have had. We will definitely be back!
Oct 08, 2018
Nice park in the Smokies. Lots of stuff for children and grandchildren to do.
Oct 08, 2018
Beautiful campground, only suggestion would be to heat indoor pool.
Oct 08, 2018
We stayed in a cabin. It was basic and really cute. Checked in super late and everything was waiting for us. Had a great time fishing. One lady Working in the store had a bit of an attitude but really no complaints. This was our third stay this year but first in a cabin. The mattresses are super thin so bring a topper or something.
Oct 07, 2018
Good stay, nice campground. Eighty dollars per night is too much, but you would think for that price you could settle in after dark and watch some TV. Not so, the picture in our area (I talked with several other campers) was unwatchable.
Oct 06, 2018
This was the worst day ever we have been coming there for the past 4 years they said they went Under New Management they need to bring back the old management because he's people do not know what they're doing they didn't give us the right cabin that we reserved the Kevin that they put us in was falling apart and they didn't care we will not be back again
Oct 06, 2018
Cable was advertised, but nothing on the screen but snow. Never fixed it the whole time we were there. Bathrooms were dirty. Water for showers was lukewarm and never heated up. Indoor hot tub was not hot, just jetted. Laundry room was dirty but good washers and dryers at a good price. Location was great just outside the national park. It was quiet on the river and clean in the campsite. I
Oct 06, 2018
My first time there and was great . I will be back . Only complaint is the cable was not working on lot 7 and the first night someone told us the cable was out in whole place but it wasn’t. It wasn’t connected on the lot so we had no tv on first night. Beautiful place
Oct 06, 2018
Have stayed here several times and it is always great
Oct 06, 2018
The campground is beautiful in a natural setting. The staff was rude from the moment I arrived. I had a two hour wait after the 3 o’clock check in time. Never an apology. I will never stay again at this place. Have stayed at many other KOAs with great results!
Oct 06, 2018
Check in was slow , had a KOA gift card which they didn't know how to apply. The bathrooms were not very clean, no toilet paper lose toilets , dirty showers. We were surprised because we have stayed here before and everything was clean. Pluses. Nice size sites , lots of things to do. Very pleasent personnel.
Oct 05, 2018
Oct 04, 2018
You need more office help they seemed to busy to help us. We have been to your KOA many times with no problems. This time we had a premium site on a weekend (4 nites @ 70.00 per). For that fee we expect everything to work. We had no cable for 3 days and were told every day that it would be fixed that day. Finally on day 4 the cable guy shows up & fixed the problem.
Oct 03, 2018
No cable tv. When I spoke with management they said the signal has never been good. Not true. I’ve been going there every year for the last 10 years. This may have been my last. For as much as those cabins cost to rent I don’t think having a working tv is to much to ask.
Oct 03, 2018
it wasn't terrible, but we were in a premium deluxe site and across the street there were 4 what look to be permanent sites that looked very trashy. Took a lot away from our experience. If you stay here don't waste money on the premium sites, the normal pull thrus are better.
Oct 03, 2018
We love this place.Very friendly staff .
Oct 03, 2018
The park was clean, the pool was nice, the location is wonderful among the mountains an fishing opportunities plentiful. Sauna water was cloudy. Assigned to site 96 next to dumpster. Requested another site and were told that the only other one available was 95. Seemed odd because park was only half full and other sites along the ponds were empty all weekend. Was charged more for a premium site.
Oct 03, 2018
A little too far from town. The snake bar was closed during our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful had many cabins to rent out. Directions were a little difficult to follow.
Oct 03, 2018
The cabin was very clean and we loved everything about it. Can't wait to come back.
Oct 03, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
Very nice. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The campground is well maintained and the sites have plenty of room between them. We would camp there again.
Oct 02, 2018
The grounds were not taken care of. Looked like they hadn’t been mowed in 2or3 weeks. I think they must had a management changed!!
Oct 02, 2018
Arrived at 5:00, however our cabin was not available due to house keeping until 7:30. Even with the longwait our deluxe cabin floors, shower, refrigerator and toilet were very dirty! I am not sure what was cleaned! Sheets? On the 2nd day a staff member let them selves in and changed our toilet paper roll? We did not need towels as none had been used! This was while we were out for the day!
Oct 02, 2018
The staff was helpful and friendly. I do wonder why we can't get our GoodSam discount here. Our only issue was, well, two issues: the lights were left on in empty cabins and on Saturday afternoon, our closest restroom near Site 83 was nearly out of paper supplies. Otherwise, it is a lovely location, easy to get to waterfalls, the National Park, museums and shopping. We hope to go back soo
Oct 02, 2018
Stayed week disappointed that the hot tub wasn’t working but everything else well friendly staff in nice place
Oct 02, 2018
KOA is always a wonderful way to go! The facilities are clean and affordable and the campground provides so many fun activities for the family!
Oct 02, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
The prices for the deluxe cabins are high. The cabins were pretty clean. It would be a better option to eliminate the sofa bed and put in another queen bed. They are extremely uncomfortable. Checkout is 11, check in is 3. Thats 4 hours to get cabins cleaned. Not enough staff leads to us waiting an additional 2 hours to check in. The staff is ok but disorganized.
Oct 02, 2018
HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE, WE WILL NOT BE BACK, WE WERE LEFT IN DOWNTOWN CHEROKEE FOR AN OUR AND WE WERE TOLD KOA EOULD COME BACK AND GET US, BUT NEEDLESS TO SAY WE HAD TO GET A CAB AND PAY $ 25.00 TO GET BACK TO OUR CAMP SITE AND TOLD KOA ABOUT IT THEY DID NOT EVEN OFFER TO GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK OR EVEN A FREE NIGHT.. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THE CABINS WERE MOT EVEN KEPT UP LIKE ALL OTHER
Oct 02, 2018
This KOA has it all! We fished, used the pool and hot tub, hiked, and rode bikes on the many paved roads. Our site on the river was huge! Staff members were thoughtful, kind, and accommodating! I 100% recommend this KOA!
Oct 01, 2018
Not as bad as some of the reviews, but nowhere near where it could be. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It did have air, but the room was horrible damp all the time. Floor was dirty when we checked in.The friends we met had to wait 3+hours plus check in for their cabin and ours had to be "checked on" at 7:30 at night. Seriously? Kids enjoyed activities. Where was putt putt? and game room was closed
Oct 01, 2018
Beautiful campgrounds and cabins! They gave us the wrong cabin the first night when we arrived at 11:30 PM, gave us deluxe instead of premium. It was too late to correct it that night. Switched us the next day and didn’t charge us the difference. :) Bathroom by cabin was dirty and according to the cleaning chart hadn’t been cleaned in 3 days. Overall though it was great! Loved pool and jump pi
Oct 01, 2018
First time staying at a KOA. It was a wonderful experience. The front desk staff were very accommodating and helpful. Joanne and Cody are great. Our deluxe cabin was right on the creek with a beautiful view. It was very peaceful. The Cherokee KOA is a perfect location for exploring the Smokey Mountains, Maggie Valley and of course Cherokee. We will certainly be back.
Oct 01, 2018
Everything was great except I was very disappointed with the bathroms. They were nasty. In the woman's room one of the napkin disposal bag had been on the floor for 3 of the 5 days I was there. The bathrooms also stunk. My husband wouldn't take a shower until he got home. He took a sponge bath instead. I stayed at the KOA in Buffalo Tn. Now those bathroom were clean. Theirs were better then a mote
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Our cabin was the only one that had no screen door and no screens in the window, so we couldn't even enjoy the sound of the creek or the fresh air. Also, I was told that we would receive a 10% military discount on the total for our stay, yet it was only applied to the remaining portion.
Sep 30, 2018
love staying here, the tv was the biggest disappointment very fuzzy and no nbc
Sep 29, 2018
I love my weekend getaways to KOACherokee. A cabin on the river helps me rejuvenate. I think the luxury cabins are awesome! The staff is friendly also. Did not not eat at the food court this time...but it is a nice bonus to have. My son likes being able to fish in river or ponds. Love love love!
Sep 29, 2018
Beautiful campground in lovely setting. Well-kept grounds. Have stayed here before. Cabin did not seem as clean as in past years. Cobwebs in corners of rooms, dusty shades, lights burned out, no grilling utensils, floor swept but needed a good mopping. Cabin upkeep seems to have slacked from past years. Still, we had a great time and hope the housekeeping issues will be resolved soon.
Sep 29, 2018
Beautiful location. Cable only had 7 channels and no news type channel- not even local. No weather type channel either. Wi-fi was intermittent throughout our 4 nite stay. This is reason for four stars. We plan to return ( with our own dish) in future.
Sep 28, 2018
Everything was absolutely amazing!! We were constantly in awe of the grounds & the service (especially Ryn & Mike!!)
Sep 27, 2018
Water smelled, dirty in restroom, trash to the limit, overcharged, cable terrible and no phone service
Sep 27, 2018
Not bad but not great, bathrooms need more attention.
Sep 27, 2018
Everything went well and pleasant stay!
Sep 27, 2018
Maxes reservation about 2 months prior for a riverfront site and upon arrival was given one that had about a 3 ft section that may have been considered waterfront and was directly next to playground and bounce pad. We are in our 60’s and have no kids. We went back to office and were told computer picks sites at random. We took a site in middle of campground and next morning went back to office
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals