Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2019
Good service at the registers, but slow. The usual koa amenities were great as always.
Sep 02, 2019
We rented the Deluxe Cabin and it was filthy. The floors, walls, and bed. The bed had dog and human hairs all over the sheets. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned. The only way we would come back to stay is if we were in our own camper. The location of campground is beautiful. We paid way too much money for the filth we stayed in.
Sep 02, 2019
It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The amenities were well-kept. The only complaint is the mattress on the sleeper sofa is super uncomfortable!
Sep 02, 2019
Excellent, staff was helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome. Strongly recommended.
Sep 01, 2019
Well maintained,clean restrooms and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 31, 2019
Wonderful campground. Spacious sites and well maintained.
Aug 29, 2019
Nice campground with a great fishing pond.
Aug 29, 2019
Park was great. But air pump for tires was not maintained properly. I ended up letting more air out of tires than put in. Thank goodness a corporate person was there. He helped me fix the situation.
Aug 27, 2019
Great location ,,, Chris and Rose were the best of helpers while we stayed in park.
Aug 27, 2019
Site was level with wide sites and plenty of room! Shower houses and bathrooms were well kept and maintained. Laundry room was clean and economical! Staff was friendly and helpful! Brandon is the man!
Aug 27, 2019
Pricing yourself out of the market. Things much cleaner now and trimmed. Now work on admin. when I pay 25 dollars for a late check out and then have to explain this twice to your staff there is a problem. Here is a clue run the checkout sheet each morning go through and earmark all the late checkouts then you do not have to harass late checkouts twice In one day cause your staff have the sheet.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
It was peaceful and very relaxing. Thank you. Looking forward to visiting again.
Aug 26, 2019
Lot so to do but service was poor. Asked for towels for our deluxe cabin on multiple times and they did not arrive. Had a calendar of events for kids but every time we went over to the schedule event no one was there. Asked a question to the woman at the registration counter and got a very rude response, my wife got very upset. Overall the service was the worst of any KOA we have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2019
It amazes me that you pay over $90 for a spot on the river and the spot is in dire need of weed eating. The grass on the level area above the rocks was at least a foot high and the power box and water connection area were in dire need of a weed eating also. The bath house showers were scalding hot one minute and freezing cold the next. We took several freezing cold showers.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Was there last October and decided I would not return.. campground was terrible, nasty, awful. Some friends were there this past summer and told us campground under new ownership and great improvements had been made. Decided to give it a try this past weekend and we were impressed. We will be back this October for a Halloween weekend.
Aug 26, 2019
Very pleased with the check in process and the politeness and assistance with the staff. The cabin was very clean upon our arrival. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during our entire stay!!! �
Aug 26, 2019
As always great place and time. Thanks
Aug 26, 2019
Beautiful area and campground. Staff assisted us with the best way to navigate to the area. Wish we could've stayed longer.
Aug 25, 2019
Another pleasant and relaxing stay. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 25, 2019
Great campground. Very clean facilities and grounds are well kept. Only drawback is if you are in a tent with the road noise. Would definitely stay there again, just not in a tent near the road.
Aug 24, 2019
To begin with when I got there they tried to give me a different cabin than what I booked it took a while to get it straightened out. Then our cabin looked like mildew on windows and deck was dirty. Not what I expected your pictures are deceiving on your site. in our cabin was supposed to have dishes and silverware but did not. And drove 12 hours to get there and end up like this.
Aug 24, 2019
Nice Deluxe cabin on the river but had a few small roaches in sink at night,and shower got cold a couple of times but altogether a nice campground with nice employees!
Aug 24, 2019
love it and have already came back Wednesday thru Friday and brought family with us 8/21-8/23
Aug 24, 2019
very relaxing and good fishing love the cabins we were in and would tell everyone we know about our relaxing time in the koa
Aug 23, 2019
Great campground!,nice cabins,lots to do there and everything is close, Joann seemed to be the most help and seemed like she really wanted to,not so much with everyone that we encountered, would recommend this campground.
Aug 23, 2019
Checked in on Thursday-no cable the entire time we stayed (5 days) office personnel seemed like it was an isolated issue, tech that came to check it out said our area was ripped out by another irate camper who also was having the same issues as us. We weren’t offered a solution to the problem. Guess we should have complained louder!!!!! At least could have offered to move to another site.....
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Trouble with internet, no phone service and trouble with tv connection.
Aug 22, 2019
A lot for the kids to do and works were all very friendly.
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
There were a few maintenance items in the cabin that should be addressed - bolts/screws in floor vents sticking up, nails sticking out of trim in doorway, missing bolts/loose arms on patio chairs. The cabin itself was fantastic and the floor plan worked great for my family. Overall, our stay was fantastic.
Aug 22, 2019
Clean campground. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wished cable TV would have been a little better.
Aug 22, 2019
Camping sites and parking pads should be cleaned off prior to checking in. Our site was full of leaves and sticks. Our friends that stayed along the river site had not been swept in a while. Our electric would not support our A/C, however, one of the employees let us borrow an adapter during our stay, in which we returned when we left. Internet and Cable are needing to be updated to be consistent.
Aug 22, 2019
Very polite staff. There were some maintenace issues that need to be addressed (weeding and fencing repairs).
Aug 22, 2019
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA. Campground was well kept and quiet during our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. We especially liked our concrete pad at our site. The only reason I didn’t give five stars was due to the cable tv not working at our site.
Aug 22, 2019
Great location, very clean. Your staffers need to abide by the 5 MPH rule; they were often observed speeding. Otherwise great experience
Aug 22, 2019
Great campgroud. Very clean, very well thought out campground layout, and beutiful scenery. The staff are all very curtious and bend over backwards to help you with every need, large or small. I can't say enough good things about this campground. Very highly recommended.
Aug 22, 2019
Nice campground, friendly staff.
Aug 22, 2019
It was wonderful campground! We will stay there again �
Aug 22, 2019
Cable reception was terrible. Camp ground is awesome!!
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Fun as always.
Aug 22, 2019
Stayed in basic cabin, everything was good with it, we have stayed at this location numerous times, and we were disappointed that you no longer do the tubing shuttle that we always enjoyed. But other than that we had a good time
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
One of the best KOAs we have been at. Will definitely be back
Aug 22, 2019
Wonderful place to stay
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
I stayed at the Cherokee KOA 26 years ago and the campground is not what is was then. Campground is run down, staff are not the quality of folks that were there previously, people not friendly, tours no longer there. Still a great campground - but not what is was.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.