Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2019
The weather was beautiful and the camping was great. The bathrooms were really clean and so was the campground
Aug 09, 2019
Great cabin stay. Clean, quiet and welcoming park. Very pleasant staff.
Aug 09, 2019
Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Shower stalls outside doors did not lock. The bathrooms were pretty nasty. The cabins were very close together. There is a tv in the main room with a small bench to sit on, but would have made more sense to have a tv in the bedroom too or instead of in the main room. Staff were a little rude. Pretty area but definitely needs some work.
Aug 08, 2019
Our stay was very nice and relaxing. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Very nice campground and very helpful staff
Aug 08, 2019
2nd year staying there for the Talking Trees children's trout tourney. My five year old loved the playground, indoor heated swimming pool, and the ability to safely bicycle around the campground. Stocked trout river in the back and three stocked ponds in front of the campground! We stayed in a basic cabin but noted the bear proof food storage boxes at the tent camping sites. Covered picnic tables
Aug 08, 2019
Awesome time with friends and family
Aug 08, 2019
Had a great time. Nice property, nice friendly people, lots of amenities. Our grandchildren had a great time and plenty to do. Will stay again.
Aug 08, 2019
Cabin was great - there were some ants but not really a problem. Only complaint I would have is check in I think it would be better if cabin renters could check in early if the cabins are ready. Everyone lining up exactly at 3 was ridiculous.
Aug 08, 2019
We had a great time. Loved our huge site. Only issue with it was that there is a need for some type of drainage around the electrical hook up. It rained and that area was standing in water. A suggestion for the store....please post prices for the coffee stand, bait and ice cream products at their locations. We had to go to check out to decide if we wanted to purchase these things or not.
Aug 07, 2019
The 1st camp site they put us in was terrible. You said it was river front. Sorry it was not. It was next to the bounds tent. your kidding me. You should give m e back my money for that in play crossing guard keeping children from hitting their heads crossing between my camper and the 5th wheel. 2nd Internet was also the worst I have ever dealt with. So bad I had to leave to get important emails.
Aug 07, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA many many times and by far it is our favorite. Throughout the years we had noticed it had began to seem rundown and the employees had gotten a bit shady to say the least. Nevertheless you guys are doing a great job improving this and making changes! I was happy to see changes being made! I was disappointed that putt putt was gone and there was no live music or a DJ.
Aug 07, 2019
Great location. We have stayed here several times years past. The sites have developed holes and low spots that collect water as well as a walking hazard when the grass covers the spots. Asphalt drives have potholes that need attention. The Campground overall was clean and the staff were nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Love this place, coming back next year. Unfortunately, the pool was filthy every day. That area definitely needs immediate attention.
Aug 07, 2019
No shade. Grill ran out of certain foods and basically all the ice cream but 2 flavors. Hot tubs did not work. Pools were cloudy and smelled like they had no chlorine. A lot of green mold around pool area. People driving way to fast on bikes after dark with no lights. Grass was not mowed. Very rundown and poorly managed. For $94 a night I expect more. I’ll stick to state parks at half the price.
Aug 07, 2019
We have been coming since 2011 with friends and family. This koa has always provided us the perfect place to make the best memories! The river access, pool, cafe, jump pillow, staff were all 5 stars. A huge thank you to The new manager Rachael and her staff. She is doing a great job making upgrades to an already amazing place. Thanks again for another great vacation. See you again soon!
Aug 07, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
This was my #rd stay.I'll be back.
Aug 07, 2019
Great place for RV Camping. Loved the amenities and the RV site. Everything was clean and well maintained. I have 3 boys ages 13, 9, and 6 and they had a blast riding there bikes, swimming, tubing, and fishing. The staff was quick to answer any questions we had and was always helpful. Great place to stay.
Aug 07, 2019
New management treated us way better than old one they were very friendly and helpful. Made our stay very pleasant
Aug 07, 2019
Was very nice
Aug 07, 2019
Came in at 1 am and left at 7 am. Just passing through and there were not any hotels slep in the car. It was very pricey
Aug 07, 2019
This was our first trip in an RV. The staff was helpful and polite. There are plenty of activities for the kids as well. Beautiful campground.
Aug 05, 2019
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were well kept. Our cabin was great. Hope to see you again next summer.
Aug 04, 2019
Absolutely beautiful, great staff, loved it, will return!!
Aug 04, 2019
Aug 04, 2019
Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly Staff
Aug 03, 2019
Our family stay was wonderful. Loved the river and tubing! Lots to do with the kids! Loved the gem mining and bounce pad.Cabins were clean and comfortable. I would suggest more utensils, esp.a can opener, cutting board,mixing. bowls and storage containers. Also be good to inform there's no oven. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We would return!! THANKYOU!!
Aug 03, 2019
Nice staff, very clean, nice RV platforms, shuttle services is a nice bonus feature, outside pool is very dated, roads need repaving, we plan on coming back
Aug 03, 2019
Very family friendly but traffic trucks thundering by woke us up at night.
Aug 03, 2019
This place is beautiful…..Great and helpful staff...…………..
Aug 02, 2019
4 stars buts it on its way to 5 stars! Lots of improvements being made :) so many activities to do within campground. My kids love this location. Third time we’ve been and will definitely return.
Aug 02, 2019
Awesome campground! Has it all. Friendly and helpful staff
Aug 02, 2019
Loved it the staff is great and plenty to do for the kids.
Aug 02, 2019
Bathrooms were dirty and they campground is certainly not maintained. We were very disappointed with the campground. The set up of the hook ups are also very inconvenient for most RVs.Also a lot of late night people wondering throughout the campground.
Aug 01, 2019
My rating would be higher, but our campsite was not clean when we arrived (we bought a broom and cleaned it ourselves), and we were not expecting a fence to separate us from the water behind us. That would have been helpful information on the website. We will likely return to the area but may try an RV site on the river, where we can access the water and have more quiet.
Aug 01, 2019
We had an awesome stay, great vacation.
Aug 01, 2019
Reservation person described the buddy site as big enough for 2 campers to pull so campers could face each other. Not true no way for this to happen. KOA worker named "Cowboy" saved the day and our entire vacation. Took me to the office, he explained to manager the situation, came back to check on us that all well, helped when husband got locked out of camper. Manager helpful too.
Aug 01, 2019
The deluxe cabin was not clean, moist and bad maintained. Of the three koa deluxe cabin campings we visited, this is the worst. The surroundings are good, nice people, but bad cabin. No good value for money. Wonder what the standard should be?!
Aug 01, 2019
The only complaint is, I would like to see the pool area (chairs and tables) cleaner and organized on a daily basis. Every day it looked like a bomb went off. They were Never cleaned or placed in an orderly manner. Thanks for your consideration in this matter. See ya in July 2020 for big family reunion.
Aug 01, 2019
LOVE the location and facilities. Only bad thing I'd have to say is that I paid for a kabin with "upgraded amenities" and thought it would include a window unit A/C, as has been the case in other KOA kabins we've rented at other locations, but that was not the case. Due to health/breathing issues, we needed the A/C, and were forced to pay another $200 for an upgrade to a "cottage" for 2 nights.
Jul 31, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
This was about my 5th stay in the last 7 years, a few changes have happen. The store seems to have down sized a bit for as big as the building is. A lot more room to roam around. Checking in was a little slow for the number of staff on hand 2 for this is one of the larger camp grounds but all in all it went well. No issues with our cabin clean and the 2 queen bedrooms are very comfortable.
Jul 31, 2019
It was awesome and very relaxing!
Jul 31, 2019
Was unhappy with site #1. We felt like we were camping in a parking lot . Several times we had people park in front of our vehicle . Our campsite was not cleaned prior to our visit, as we had quite a few piles of dog poop and we didn’t have a dog . Checking in was difficult took 25 mins. People were in line just to buy a soda from the store had to wait in same line as check-in.
Jul 31, 2019
We love this campground. It is one of our favorites. Most of the Adult Staff is Outstanding!!!But our on going complaints seem to be never addressed. Such as; the pot holes and WiFi. The Kids working the stands and Activities never smile or are very friendly. Joann at the front desk is the very BEST! We will return, still our favorite place to camp. We come 3 times a year
Jul 31, 2019
Great campground for the kids. Safe for them to bike around. Loved having river behind site for tubing and fishing close by. Kids enjoyed both pools (clean) and bouncy pillow. Only recommendation is to have ice cream booth open later to allow for dessert after dinner.
Jul 31, 2019
It was wonderful. So much to do we didn't have to leave the campground. We weren't informed of golf cart rental at check in and it wasn't worth it to rent the next day. Staff was friendly.
Jul 31, 2019
Great staff, clean facilities. Definitely coming back.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.