Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2018
Everything was absolutely amazing!! We were constantly in awe of the grounds & the service (especially Ryn & Mike!!)
Sep 27, 2018
Water smelled, dirty in restroom, trash to the limit, overcharged, cable terrible and no phone service
Sep 27, 2018
Not bad but not great, bathrooms need more attention.
Sep 27, 2018
Everything went well and pleasant stay!
Sep 27, 2018
Maxes reservation about 2 months prior for a riverfront site and upon arrival was given one that had about a 3 ft section that may have been considered waterfront and was directly next to playground and bounce pad. We are in our 60’s and have no kids. We went back to office and were told computer picks sites at random. We took a site in middle of campground and next morning went back to office
Sep 27, 2018
There wasn't any hot water in the bathroom from Monday until Thursday. When we asked about it, we were told the hot water doesn't get turned on until the end of the week when more campers come. Really, I would think that is very unsanitary. No toilet paper in the men's room. The power went out 11:00am on Saturday and still wasn't on at 5:00pm...we left early. Couldn't handle it without A/C.
Sep 26, 2018
Asked for help on Saturday about 7:00 pm with the cable, no one showed up every thing else was good.
Sep 26, 2018
We stayed right across from the campers that also work at the campground a couple had a lot set up outside the camper with puppies and older dogs the smell during the day was terrible when it was hot. One early evening we started a fire at our campsite to try to mask the smell. The campground was nice but will not stay at that site again.
Sep 26, 2018
Mostly, I chose to bring the coach that way from our home in Balsam Grove because I didn't want to spend $400-plus to stay at the casino after our trip to the Allison Krause concert. I was pleasantly surprised by how well-equipped this campground is. We're not gamblers, but anytime there is a concert at Harrah's, I know where we'll be staying. -- dave
Sep 26, 2018
Nice campground, well managed and maintained and good location. The campground was fairly quiet traffic wise, and felt smaller than it was site wise. The water pressure seemed a little low, but was sufficient.
Sep 26, 2018
Sep 26, 2018
Great campground, clean and quiet. I have been staying here for 15 yrs or so, this was my first time with my family and they loved it. The only sugesstion i have is to paint direction arrows on the roads in the campground to minimize confusion when driving through.
Sep 26, 2018
We have stayed in the Rustic Cabins at this KOA many times and have really enjoyed it. We were very disappointed this time. We stayed in a different area and used a different bath house. We were used to having water at the cabin but this cabin did not. The design of the bathroom was awful. There were no benches to put our clothes on and the men's restroom was muddy. I did not have hot water.
Sep 26, 2018
Great place, very nice people. There is a lot for the kids to do.
Sep 26, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
The Cherokee KOA has a wonderful layout with great amenities and the camp sites are nice as well! However this weekend there was an event that took some of the workers away leaving the grill closed, grass wasn’t cut, etc! Also power went out which was out of there control however they wouldn’t allow bike rentals due to no electricity but it was in the middle of the day!
Sep 24, 2018
Campground advertises limited cable channels. Cable was nonexistent. Resort fee charged but pool and hot tubs dirty. Disappointed in this campground. Disappointed in KOA allowing this to happen over a long period of time. This campground could be a wonderful place
Sep 24, 2018
We enjoyed the pool and the inflatable bounce thing. Also, the staff was very friendly. However, tent camping with the main road on just the other side of the pond was way too loud. Also, there were very noisy neighbors two sites down. Wished quiet hours started earlier. We’d rent a cabin here again, but we won’t be tent camping here anymore in the future.
Sep 24, 2018
Love this campground. Beautiful setting . And the employees are very nice and helpful.
Sep 23, 2018
Had bad water made us sick no tv over priced over rated lied to us several times will never go back it is a dump
Sep 23, 2018
Super pretty camp and well maintained.
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
The cabin was close to a noisy road. There was a $30+ “resort fee” that was not class clear when reserving. It should just be in the cost and shown not hidden from the customer. Very disappointed in this fact.
Sep 19, 2018
Upon arrival we were told a charge of 25.00 was necessary to check in early. Upon Checking in we had to wait almost two hours to have the Air condition unit repaired. The housekeeping person came to clean up after the serviceman. She apologized several times for the poor quality of the house keeping which included Dog hair everywhere. Bathroom nasty commode not cleaned. Not a good experience.
Sep 19, 2018
We had a great time! The staff was super nice, the campground was clean, the store had everything that we forgot to bring, and the mountains we're beautiful!
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Cabin was great, staff was nice but, when I asked about the area, knowledge was limited. The cafe messed up the breakfast order but, food was okay, prices were great. We would stay again.
Sep 18, 2018
It was very clean friendly. Cabin we had was close to bathroom. Disappointed did not have porch swing or chairs ac/heat but was pleased it had 2 outlets to plug few things and ceiling fan.
Sep 18, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Great campground but the website says there is cable but did not work the entire week we were there and no one seemed to try to do anything about it. When we made the reservation we told them the size of our camper and put us in a spot that was too small. Said it was sold out but there were lots of empty spots but did move us with no problem.
Sep 18, 2018
Evacuated from Wilmington NC during hurricane Florence! Beautiful place, will be back again soon for a real vacation!!
Sep 17, 2018
OUR CABIN FLOORS WERE DIRTY LIKE THEY HAVENT BEEN SWEEP,,, FIRE PLACE FRONT WAS DIRTY,,STILL IS 507,,,, AND THE WEEDS WERE GROWED UP TO POUCH,,, NEEDS ALOT OF WEEDS CUT DOWN,,,,, BUT MY BED WAS SOFE,,,, AND THERE WAS NO CONTROL FOR A/C IN THE CABIN,,,, BUT WE STILL LOVE KOA .... NEED TO GET BETTER HELP,TO CLEAN THANK YOU TAMARA WENDT 9?17/2018
Sep 17, 2018
Ants in kitchen, blow dryer did not work and grill would not light.
Sep 17, 2018
Wonderful time as always. Very helpful staff. Have stayed in the deluxe cabins every time and love it! My only suggestion would be that it may be time to look at replacing the mattresses. Ours were very soft and not very supportive. Don't remember that from prior stays. We try to stay in 238 and sometimes my family comes also and we get more than one cabin. Looking forward to our next trip!!!
Sep 17, 2018
Our family loves this KOA. The staff are always pleasant and friendly. The campground area is clean, the restrooms are clean, and the cabins are clean. The only thing I would suggest is an upgrade to the playground area, it is outdated and a bit worn.
Sep 17, 2018
The campground is a wonderful place for families. Roads are fairly well paved, level campsites for motorhomes, great WI-FI, CATV was fine till our last afternoon and evening then it went out, 50 amp service was not working correctly for our motorhome protection system and we had to switch to 30 amp. Rest rooms and laundry rooms were immaculate. Park personnel were very friendly. We will return
Sep 17, 2018
Always a great time, friendly staff, clean restrooms, campground is clean, lots of activities for kids and adults, pet friendly. Joanne that works at the front desk is very helpful and friendly,always so nice to see her and all the workers there. My favorite place to go!!
Sep 17, 2018
We had a wonderful stay in K381, loved the location on the creek! Some things in the cabin needs attention, the cookware needs to be upgraded, the lid for the frying pan did not have a knob, chain for the fan in the bedroom was broken so the fan could not be turned on, a light in the bathroom was out & the TV reception was really bad. However, none of these things detracted from a great stay
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
We stayed for the customer appreciation weekend always a pleasure to stay at this koa we love it here really wish there was a permanent spot of us here!!! Staff always nice and accommodating and ready to assist .
Sep 17, 2018
Great!
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
I feel they should take a little more time with the up keep of grounds. A little weed killer goes a long way. Brick patio had weeds growing between bricks. Walk way to restrooms couldn't be seen because it was overgrown with grass. Indoor pool wasn't clean and it didn't seem as filter was running. Restroom wasn't cleaned from Tuesday to Friday and last cleaning was 10 minutes for entire bathroom.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
It was beautiful camp area with a supportive team.
Sep 16, 2018
All of the staff was excellent! JoAnn was fantastic and very friendly! Loved her.
Sep 16, 2018
Our cabin smelled moldy and musty. We could see mold on the door prior to going in. The 2 damp rid in the cabin was not helping to keep the smell out. You cold also see the mold above the shower.
Sep 16, 2018
We traveled 6 hours to get there. Was told after an hour of waiting to get in our cabin that we would not be able to stay due to the cabin being infested with yellow jackets. I know things happen but we were left with no where to stay and the team did not have the right attitude, They could care less. I've ask to be accommodated with a free weekend in the future and they said NO could not do.
Sep 16, 2018
Encountered alot of rain, but with a riverside site, our stay was very enjoyable down to the deer enjoying the riverbank
Sep 15, 2018
Was woken up at 12am by my wife screaming.. turned on the lights and hundreds of bed bugs all over our sheets and pillows!! We had our two dogs and 1 year old child in there also! My son was bit a few times but thankfully he didn’t get the worst of it (I did) over 100 bites! We did get reimbursed for our stay but KOA staff would not pay for damages and loss of clothing.. neighbors had bugs too!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals