Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
I feel they should take a little more time with the up keep of grounds. A little weed killer goes a long way. Brick patio had weeds growing between bricks. Walk way to restrooms couldn't be seen because it was overgrown with grass. Indoor pool wasn't clean and it didn't seem as filter was running. Restroom wasn't cleaned from Tuesday to Friday and last cleaning was 10 minutes for entire bathroom.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
It was beautiful camp area with a supportive team.
Sep 16, 2018
All of the staff was excellent! JoAnn was fantastic and very friendly! Loved her.
Sep 16, 2018
Our cabin smelled moldy and musty. We could see mold on the door prior to going in. The 2 damp rid in the cabin was not helping to keep the smell out. You cold also see the mold above the shower.
Sep 16, 2018
We traveled 6 hours to get there. Was told after an hour of waiting to get in our cabin that we would not be able to stay due to the cabin being infested with yellow jackets. I know things happen but we were left with no where to stay and the team did not have the right attitude, They could care less. I've ask to be accommodated with a free weekend in the future and they said NO could not do.
Sep 16, 2018
Encountered alot of rain, but with a riverside site, our stay was very enjoyable down to the deer enjoying the riverbank
Sep 15, 2018
Was woken up at 12am by my wife screaming.. turned on the lights and hundreds of bed bugs all over our sheets and pillows!! We had our two dogs and 1 year old child in there also! My son was bit a few times but thankfully he didn’t get the worst of it (I did) over 100 bites! We did get reimbursed for our stay but KOA staff would not pay for damages and loss of clothing.. neighbors had bugs too!!
Sep 14, 2018
Great staff, very friendly. Excellent!
Sep 13, 2018
Great staff great place. Could not ask for more. I will definitely be back.
Sep 12, 2018
Great campground friendly staff, had few problems with cable but did not last long.
Sep 12, 2018
We had an amazing time!!
Sep 12, 2018
While the campground is in a lovely location, the night staff person &General Manager were extremely non-professional & rude. We had an issue with adjacent neighbors partying loudly through 2am each night. The staff was not willing to help resolve the issue nor to enforce their printed quiet hours(11pm-8am). The indoor pool was green. Hot tub full of sand. No toilet paper in bath house,
Sep 11, 2018
We stayed by a full timer who was very loud. The bathrooms were not cleaned, the workers who cleaned the bathroom would state that they cleaned it and their time to clean was not even ten minutes. When you have 4 stalls and then sinks and then showers it takes more than ten minutes to thoroughly clean a restroom. The staff was friendly though. They also do not pick up the garbage at your site.
Sep 11, 2018
Cabin was nice and new .... but positioned in the campground in a bad spot ... had to walk past 4 other cabins to get to mine . Entire KOA campground access roads need to be leveled and repaved .... I rode my motorcycle all weekend .. and got caught in the rain.. and when returning into the KOA .. the access roads were uneven .... gravelly And flooded out really bad ... very treacherous.....
Sep 11, 2018
Very aggravating to pay this much and cable still not work. Didn’t work when stayed here in May of this year either. All the workers we spoke to said they knew of this problem yet we were not told either time at check-in. The four days that we were there don’t think the indoor pool was ever scammed because some of the same bugs were floating every day and pool had way too much chlorine .
Sep 11, 2018
Had a nice visit, love KOA Cherokee! Next time tell me about early check in though...
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
For the first time I was very disappointed. For the 3rd year in a row we booked a 3 nite stay with agroup, bringing 4 other couples and everyone experienced issues. Over charged, no hot water, no electricity, bad road conditions, flooded, shower backed up, even had to wade through puddles to get to dumpster to throw trash away. Dog exercise area gate. No idea what Resort fee even was for?!
Sep 10, 2018
Deluxe Studio cabins are terrible. While they have coffee maker, microwave, sink and refrigerator, they have no cups, glasses or silverware at all. So what good are the appliances? And I get no response from management when I left a message to see if I was just overlooked. And I paid over $110 is per night for this! Better off staying at a low-cost hotel.
Sep 10, 2018
What a wonderful way to spend our vacation relaxing at our campsite and fishing in the ponds. The grounds were clean and it was quite. Our campsite was close to the ponds and easy to access. Every staff member we had contact with was very friendly and helpful. We will be back, and next time, we may try the stream side.
Sep 10, 2018
The deluxe cabin was excellent. Everything is there!
Sep 10, 2018
Holes need to be filled in. Water sits in it
Sep 10, 2018
Bath house not as clean staff unorganized
Sep 10, 2018
Loud neighbors in RV stayed up until 3 am partying. There should be a noise restriction or at least some security telling loud parties to quiet it down.
Sep 10, 2018
Thanks to Drew for helping get our fire started so we could roast marshmallows! We stayed Saturday night and by the time we arrived and checked in, it was too late to rent bikes. We were disappointed that bike rentals weren't open until 12:00 on Sunday. My daughter was really looking forward to riding the banana bike. We'd love it if you would add more flexible times for the bike rentals!
Sep 09, 2018
We were extremely happy with the accommodations and staff. We had a premium site and it was among, if not the largest site we've been on. Easy in/out, neat and clean. Wifi was very slow during the holiday weekend but that's expected when approx. 800 are using it. No need to use devices when we are surrounded by such beauty! Would highly recommend this campground.
Sep 09, 2018
Restrooms not the cleanest
Sep 09, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
We were extremely happy with the accommodations and staff. We had a premium site and it was among, if not the largest site we've been on. Easy in/out, neat and clean. WiFi was very slow during the holiday weekend, but that's expected when approx. 800 are trying to use it. We shouldn't be on our devices anyway with such beauty surrounding us. Would highly recommend this campground for all.
Sep 08, 2018
Sep 08, 2018
Very nice campground totally not happy $25 early check in fee and the cable TV was horrible We pretty much had none !! Hope when we come back the cable will be better
Sep 08, 2018
I was in a Kabin 8/31-9/4. Very disappointed because I had no room at all, the picnic table had to be on the side by the road, I did not use it at all because of this, no room to park except behind the kabin. Had to check out 1 day early, daughter in motorcycle wreck.. and they wouldn't refund that night...REALLY it was an emergency she was in the hospital.
Sep 08, 2018
Great KOA. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Very clean.
Sep 07, 2018
We love this campground. With some very minor adjustments this campground would get a 5 star rating. Adding grates to the fire pits at the cabins would be great and useful. The kitchen utensils and the gas grill could be improved for cooking. The gas grill knobs never work well. All else is really wonderful.
Sep 07, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Staff was great. Well kept. Quiet at night, amazing since it was full of kids. Well run property.
Sep 07, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Sep 07, 2018
Parking for cabin 260 was not good. Please look at it. The stay was very good and enjoyable.
Sep 06, 2018
Beautiful campground and surrounding area. We met family and friends and rented two spots for campers and three cabins for the end of summer get together. Cabin was very nice but we thought we would get clean towels from time to time. Other than that it was great.
Sep 06, 2018
Great place to stay. With a beautiful view of the river. We stayed in a cabin that was very clean and well furnished. We will be back!
Sep 06, 2018
We did enjoy our stay for the most part. We were disappointed with some of the staff during our stay. Some were very pleasant and friendly, and others were borderline rude. One big deal for us was the Dog Park. Both gates were broken and would not secure. I had to use a zip tie to make a loop just to keep the gate closed. This was reported and never addressed. Hope this will be fixed by next visit
Sep 06, 2018
Oh my gosh! It was so beautiful. We had a spot on the River and could hear the river sounds at night. The campground itself was very clean. There are so many things to do. They have tubes you can rent ($10.00 - good all day) to go down the river. Transportation is provided every 30 minutes to go tubing. Activities are scheduled for each day. We plan to go next year as well with grandkids!
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 06, 2018
They stay was nice, we enjoyed the activities etc... there was some mis-information from different staff members that resulted in confusion and frustration, over all was great, we'll be back
Sep 05, 2018
Many improvements have been made to the grounds, but cable still sucks.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals