Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Sep 26, 2019
Relaxing time
Sep 26, 2019
I had an awesome time at the Cherokee KOA. We have camped here a total of 3 times, and every time has been awesome! I have no complaints about the campground. It has met all of my expectations. I do however, have a recommendation.
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Our family of three and two Chows had a fantastic time at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We thoroughly enjoyed our deluxe cabin, wonderful time with friends, the beautiful campground and scenic view of the mountains. The KOA staff was very courteous and helpful during our four day stay. Kudos to Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We will be back next year!!!!
Sep 24, 2019
We were dissatisfied with our cabin. I walked on the floor with white socks and they turned black. Had to go out and get a mop to clean the floor. WiFi didn't work most of our visit. Bed is worn out and uncomfortable. TV stations didn't always come in. No stopper in tub so couldn't use the tub. There was no sidewalk to our cabin so had to park elsewhere so we didn't have to walk on the damp ground
Sep 24, 2019
Made reservations on KOA web site. Upon arrival was not given the premium site I reserved. Was told not to use the KOA website but to call the park for specific reservations. Why have on line reservations if they are not honored????
Sep 23, 2019
We have been camping at the Cherokee KOA for at least 30 years. There have been changes along the way, some good, some not so good, but that's life. We enjoy the site seeing, nice temperatures and enjoy the trout fishing. I, however, would like for you to show your appreciation to loyal patrons by not charging the $10 reservation fee to guarantee a site. 30 years should count for something.
Sep 23, 2019
very clean nice staff and easy in and out
Sep 23, 2019
Enjoyed our week stay..Will return..Only improvement would be the WiFi..It was sporadic..Had to get close to office to receive signal.. FYI...Cell phone service is poor..NOT KOA's fault..
Sep 23, 2019
We love it there. I hate to come home. My favorite place ever. Everyone is fantastic. Better then last year when we were there. Can't wait to come back.
Sep 23, 2019
The staff was top notch!
Sep 22, 2019
Good stay as always...However I had requested a riverside cabin near the end of the campground (Now, after the fact, I know it’s #K-251) and was given the same old cabin that we always get (K-247)...There was no one even staying up at K-251.
Sep 22, 2019
This was our second time at Cherokee KOA and it was great. Clean Restrooms, level parking area, friendly office, etc. I highly recommend.
Sep 20, 2019
We loved it here...don't want to leave!!
Sep 20, 2019
The wifi was out for the entire 5 day stay. This was our second visit.
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
Easy in Easy out. Level camp spots. Lovely Quiet campground with ponds and streams. Fishing great. Alot for families and kids to enjoy. Easy day trips to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Maggie Valley, Biltmore, Bryson City, Blue Ridge. Staff friendly and accommodating. We will return!
Sep 19, 2019
The stay was great overall. My only concern were all the hairs in the bedding. They were medium length dark brown/black. The hairs gave me the impression that the bedding had not been properly cleaned.
Sep 19, 2019
Everything was great except 2 things 1 we could not get a WiFi signal anywhere and the water pressure got really low then when in the shower Monday night got worse then no water at all but we had water Tuesday before we left other than that it was so nice relaxing
Sep 19, 2019
we enjoy our stay we feel very welcome great staff
Sep 18, 2019
We had a wonderful time. Cabin was awesome! Staff was friendly and helpful. Fishing in the ponds this year was terrible though. Was as if they had been fed. We were there for 4 days, and never even got a bite, neither did any of the other campers. You could see them swimming around, 100s of them..was disappointing. Otherwise, had a great time �
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Nice campground but wifi doesn’t work. WiFi only works at the office. An employee told me it’s been out for awhile and no fix date. Because of the location of the campground no phone service with most carriers. The campsite website advertises wifi. The campground should identify no wifi on the website.
Sep 18, 2019
I love my stay it was very good I will be back
Sep 18, 2019
Awesome everyone on staff was very helpful Beautiful campground. My family really enjoys staying at KOA. Really enjoy activities for children. Maybe you can start having bingo for everyone. That would be great for all ages
Sep 18, 2019
Great stay. Friendly staff. Great location. Loved the large camp store. This was by far the most camping cabins available at any KOA we have stayed at. Was shocked that you offer fishing on-site as most places don't. Would highly recommend this campground.
Sep 17, 2019
i sty in cabin 505 and the wall behind bathroom door was very dusty,, bad,,,, i told them at front check out when i left i have dust allergies, keep coughing then when i shut bathroom door and turned on light i seen dust,,,,, i been coming to this koa for 32 years,,,,,, they do need to clean walls at lease wipe them down with a duster,, and it hasnt been done in a while,,,,,,,,,,
Sep 17, 2019
Nice Campground. Very clean and staff was so very helpful. Suggestion - Add a baby changing area somewhere near the pool.
Sep 17, 2019
We had a very relaxing and peaceful weekend.
Sep 17, 2019
Well For A Family Weekend It Wasn't Very Organized For Families No Activities Planned Pool and Hot Tub Were Very Very Nasty Cabins Were Very Spider Webby And The Saturday Am Lady Was Very Rude Our Cabin Had Sluggs Up The Walls We Were Compensated And Moved No Problem (Ryn) Is The Best We Will Be Back But We're Going To Explore Other KOA Sites Thanks
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Great place, well maintained with friendly staff!!!
Sep 16, 2019
Such an improvement within the park!! Love the park, love the staff! We just booked 2 more trips before then end of this year.
Sep 16, 2019
Totally enjoyed our stay, grand kids had lots of fun swimming, riding bikes, playing. Grandpa had a great time fishing in the river. Grandma had fun relaxing and reading. Be back soon.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Super experience right from the start with a quick friendly check-in, clean cabin and grounds, a great location! One of my top go to places and favorite campgrounds - - right on a calm river, in the mountains, amongst forest, away from civilization, near a Nat'l Park, etc...! My sons enjoyed fishing and we all enjoyed the site & sound of the water... We'll be back - - hopefully sooner than late
Sep 16, 2019
Great little efficiency cabin by the creek, we enjoyed our stay. The only issue we encountered was, we splashed a little water on the floor & when we used a paper towel to clean it up, we were appalled at how dirty the floors were! Needs to be mopped!
Sep 16, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. The only complaint that I have would be the golf cart that we rented was not as we were expecting. It was very dirty and did not operate smooth at all. It would only go wide open or nothing at all, there was no in between. I was told by maintenance that is just how they are. I have rode many golf carts and never come across this issue. For $65 I just expected a little more.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Enjoyed a wonderful weekend with our two grandkids who are eight and four the cabin was amazing rustic and clean. The pools were refreshing and the bounce pad was a blast! Cherokee KOA has been one of our favorites to date
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Fun
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Great
Sep 16, 2019
no internet-- the resort fee should have been waived!
Sep 16, 2019
Our stay with you was AMAZING! We had an Full hook up RV space on the river with a beautiful view. My only complaint, was someone's dog running loose and harassing our dog at our campsite. After the unwanted visitor left, our blissful visit resumed.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
Everything was perfect! thank you for making our vacation well worth it. We cannot wait for our trip next year back.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.