Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 22, 2018
Oct 21, 2018
The tent site was alright, but the placement of them really sucked. All the sites are against the fence facing the ponds and road so we had to constantly listen to people shouting and cars pass. I thought it was a little off putting that RVs or Cabins weren’t put there instead since with those you could actually get away from the loud noises.
Oct 21, 2018
Good location and great amenities. WiFi didn’t reach to our cabin, and we had poor cell service. But we wanted to take a break from being connected. Slow check in and no one answered the phone when I called, but all that helped us were very nice and we loved the location.
Oct 20, 2018
KOA staff are courteous, helpful, not far away if we need something. We will be back again.
Oct 20, 2018
Everything was great with the exception of the staffing in the office. Either you were ignored when you entered or it seemed like they were training new associates. The only issue with the training became how long it took to complete any transaction. So you gotta have some patience if you are in the store.
Oct 20, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Stayed 10 days. Will be back next fall. Loved your park.
Oct 19, 2018
We stayed for 11 days. The campground is very clean, in a beautiful setting. We just wish we could have picked our spot!
Oct 19, 2018
We stayed 6 nights and everything was really great. We arrived very late, but the night crew was waiting for us and guided us to our site and after that was just setting up the popup. The campground is very close to the main gate to the park. We will definitely come back.
Oct 19, 2018
We loved the place. Only draw back were the bathroom shower wasn’t very clean and the hot water cane and went making you shower in cold water. On the plus side the location was nice and the staff was friendly. I liked this KOA better than the Gatlinburg one. The sites were nice and the view was awesome.
Oct 19, 2018
Didn’t get a timely return call from you. I left a message early evening on one day, didn’t get a return call till the next. Not positive it was you that returned my call the next day. A message was not left. So, never got resolution to a non-functioning gas grill so therefore couldn’t use it.
Oct 19, 2018
Always have a great time.
Oct 19, 2018
Wifi weak compared to other campgrounds. Cable TV unusable -old analog system. Very good level sites, good power and water.
Oct 19, 2018
We really enjoyed our week at the KOA Cherokee. We were disappointed in the lack of evening lights! Can't understand why there aren't more street lights. Also, the lack of change for the washers and dryers. Coin machines were empty and it was hard getting change from the office. We will be back!!
Oct 19, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Tons of stuff for everyone to do. Loved this campground. We Will be back, Bob and Mary. Melbourne, fl
Oct 19, 2018
There was multiple problems with the electric. Was told we had to stay till Tuesday while other campers got to check out early.
Oct 19, 2018
Nice and quite, after we got in our spot. Had to wait for several hours and multiple trips to the office to get in our spot. Staff not very accommodating.
Oct 19, 2018
friendly staff and much quieter than most KOAs
Oct 18, 2018
Staff was wonderful but cable hookup is terrible due to campers hitting them. Don't say you have cable when many sites do not. Staff tried to repair but most were beyond repair. Holloween decorations were wonderful.
Oct 18, 2018
Very beautiful campground. Quiet. Scenic. Spacious sites. Well Maintained! Just one thing... bring your own quarters. Will definitely go back!
Oct 18, 2018
Oct 18, 2018
We loved our stay in Cherokee NC. Very beautiful scenery and many things to enjoy for the whole family even the dog!!!
Oct 18, 2018
First of all we wanted to cancel the weekend of Florence Hurricane and Joanne told me they would charge $ 10.00 cancellation fee. I said even if we are under a State of emergency? She said the campground was not! tent sites say the sand pads size not as advertised, no hot water for showers and pool ice cold and hot tub cold and had a slimey film on the top! Was not given a schedule of events.
Oct 18, 2018
They had reservations wrong and did not make corrections upon arrival. This caused double booking of site on last day. They would not listen when explained and charged my credit card an extra day. They focused on what they had incorrectly entered into the computer rather than listening to customer and facts. Eventually refunded me for unauthorized transaction.
Oct 18, 2018
Had a hard time getting a call back from reservations. Delay of over a week
Oct 17, 2018
Really appreciate how well everything is put together there you had it all together we had a great stress free time thank you
Oct 16, 2018
Always a great time!!! Thank you
Oct 16, 2018
Love this campground because of its location. But activities seem very disorganized and confusing. The roads need attention, We came for the Halloween weekend as we have for the past 3 yrs, each year their haunted island has been on our list to see. We haven't as of yet because the line is huge and they only let 5 in at a time, after an hour wait we left each year. The Judging of sites is a mess!!
Oct 16, 2018
Haunted island was better this year.
Oct 16, 2018
Staff was very helpful and campground was very clean
Oct 16, 2018
The two room deluxe cabin was nice. Drawback is one of the rooms is two tiny and barely fits, my daughter is claustrophobic. We arrived around 10 pm, and I still had to make the beds for my kids when they were already sleeping and we were too exhausted from the trip The activities were good and also the haunted island. The campground is family friendly and fun.
Oct 16, 2018
The campground itself is nice but the cabins are not well equipped. We arrived at 10 pm and there was no bedding for the pullout sofa and the two bulbs were not working. They couldn't help us and we had to manage with what what was there! The cabin wasn't cleaned well and the refrigerator was too noisy!
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
We stayed during the Halloween activities and we loved the excitement of staff and fellow campers..the campground is week kept and bathrooms very clean...cable could use upgrades..
Oct 16, 2018
Awful . I reserved a deluxe site and they put me into a regular site with power and said my resevation said it was deluxe . And said we couldn’t move because they over booked the site .
Oct 16, 2018
great location, friendly staff. a lot of great activities for the kids, great internet - wi-fi, my only complaint is the cable TV. The picture quality is absolutely terrible and the channel selection needs upgraded.
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
The staff was stressed and not friendly. Went to the office and Asked about a shuttle. After she put her breakfast down and chewed it up, she informed us abruptly that there was not one because it was Halloween weekend. It was October 13th. Our view of the “trout pond” was a barbed wire fence, porta potty and a dumpster. We heard the potty door slam closed all weekend because it was a public p
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Everything was great except the cable tv service was out at our site and at several sites around us for the six days we were there.
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
The Halloween activities were really fun and the haunted island was surprisingly super scary and fun
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Great place well kept
Oct 16, 2018
enjoyed the activities for the kids they loved the trick or treating wish they would have at least did a movie on sunday night to though.
Oct 15, 2018
no internet or tv.
Oct 15, 2018
We have been coming to this campground every year for 16 years. This year instead of our usual deluxe cabin on the river we were put at the very far end of the campground on a runoff stream. The cable was not working, we brought it up & were told sorry, not offered an alternative cabin or discount. We just didn't feel like our business was appreciated.
Oct 15, 2018
Apparently there are new owners since last year & while I enjoyed the new decorations to the campground the prices has changed so much with added charges to each camping site or cabin. We have stayed for many years now at this KOA but after this past weekend we will no longer be staying at this KOA in October 2019. We had 4 total sites and each had so many extra charges. We were very disappointed!
Oct 15, 2018
Very nice facilities and great staff
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals