Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 03, 2017
We had a nice time the cabin was clean and plenty of hot water .This was my first time in a cabin I will do it again.no complaints at all..
Nov 02, 2017
cable needs upgrading, only snow for a picture- and it wasn't our equipment as it worked perfectly at other campgrounds; roads have uneven pavement and many potholes which aren't good for kids riding bikes or walking at night; wi-fi is sporadic at best, needs upgrading; 2 of the 4 showers in ladies washhouse were inoperable the entire week we were there. Probably not returning.
Nov 02, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
We have been coming here for years with a large group of our friends. I was very disappointed that we could not book the site for next year when we left. So, unfortunately we will be going somewhere else. I just didn't understand the changes. Believe me you will loose alot of people that have been coming here for years!
Nov 01, 2017
The snow and campfire was the most amazing thing.
Nov 01, 2017
We enjoy renting cabins at KOA but the prices have increased so much this will be our last trip. The 3 night stay averaged out to 200 a night. That price is too much for the cabin quality.
Nov 01, 2017
Everyone on the staff was always very helpful and friendly. Bath houses were very nice and well kept. Our site was clean and pleasant.
Nov 01, 2017
Really great camping experience Staff was friendly and helpful. Big change from last year. So glad to see the problem from last year corrected as we love to camp at KOA Cherokee.
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Everyone was absolutely wonderful and helpful. The bathhouses were clean, the campground was neat and quiet.. the kids had a great time riding their bikes. The indoor pool was a tad cold, but, the kids didn't mind at all!! We will be back!!
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
We arrived at 12:30 am and someone was knocking on our door at 10:00 am to come to the front office to checkin. Weâve been coming there for 28 years and it was demoralizing. Then, the front staff was extremely rude and unhelpful upon checkin. Something has changed between this year and last year. Very disappointed in the current staff/management style. Contemplating not returning next year.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
My stay was to short, wished i had planned better and stayed longer.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Staff on golf carts were arguing in lot when we arrived. We were given site w/uncovered table despite tons of spots open w/covered 1s. Heated indoor pool just barely heated, hottub jets broken. Pool only bathroom out of TP told front desk took 40mins for 2staff 2bring 1roll. Rented 5bikes & had 2spend 15mins of hr rental unchaining ours while staffer sat on golf cart watching. movie sound was bad.
Oct 31, 2017
Iâve loved KOA since I was a kid, and this location is hands down the best Iâve been to!
Oct 30, 2017
For more than 20 years my large family (50+) has camped at your Cherokee campground during the last weekend of Oct. We are so disappointed with the way you are ignoring our loyalty by changing your reservation policy. Loyal customers should have the opportunity to reserve the same sites from year to year. Instead you have decided to punish everyone over the actions of a few. That is wrong.
Oct 30, 2017
We had a great time as usual! The cabin was great and had everything we needed. Can't wait to do it again next year.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
stayed last year at same time, and booked this year @ checkout, b/c we were told we could get our same spot. When we arrived, it was not the same spot we had last year, which was closer to the river. Very disappointing! More amenities at this campground, but their supervision is lacking. indoor pool/hotub area overly crowded & children throwing football from one end to other. For price u expect
Oct 30, 2017
The pricing is a little high and the extra charges for early check in seems unfair. The rules are a little strict.
Oct 30, 2017
it seems that there are always issues with the hot tub, albeit the staff did try and fix, but the filter wasn't running at all which makes for yucky, murky water. Also, the pool was a bit greenish. We loved the Halloween activities and the staff were exceptionally nice.
Oct 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. We will be back. That's for sure.
Oct 30, 2017
I don't know if yall change management and staff but for the Halloween weekend it was not kid friendly like in the past. The contest were not put in age groups as the past. There was some contest deleted, like coloring contest. The contest only had one place winner unlike the past. Kids faces were not so happy at these changes, neither was my wife and I. Looking for new Halloween get away now!!
Oct 30, 2017
We had a great time even in the rain. Always love staying with KOA. One note bathrooms always seem to be dirty even the men in the group said same thing.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
Second visit and found the front desk staff just as rude as before. This needs to change. Finding a FULL working shower in men's bath house was hit or miss. Same experience as last time in spite of my scalding review. No change. Do they really read these?? Grounds staff, however, were on the ball. Always helpful and friendly. Thumbs up for them.
Oct 30, 2017
We stayed for a week in our RV sites. Staff very friendly. Grounds clean. Showers were clean, indoor hot tub was awesome. They were having a Halloween trick or treat and a spook house walk through.. my only complaint was the google directions were wrong and we had to detour our 5th wheel on an off beaten path in the dark. So please call and get directions.
Oct 30, 2017
We were very impressed with KOA of Cherokee. We scoped out a few other campgrounds near by and nothing compares!
Oct 30, 2017
Second time staying here in 3 months! Booking our next trips soon - can't wait to go back!!
Oct 30, 2017
We've been going to this campsite for over 15 years with a large group and this was the worst ever. The campground facilities were fine as usual but the new management is horrendous. I can't imagine we are the only group who experienced terrible communication, rigid rules that made no sense and never encountered before, as well as just plain rudeness. Never going back.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
We love the Cherokee KOA and it was great again, despite the rain. The only reason I did not give a 5 Star was that I thought the site we were put on was a little short for my camper and, with plenty of open sites available, we probably could have been put on one more suitable to our camper. Otherwise, still a great place to camp.
Oct 30, 2017
Was great other than the rain mother nature not very nice lol and no broom in cabin to clean up with other than that was great
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
We had a great time. The cabin met all expectations, the only negative comments I have is the WI-FI is absolutely garbage. Cell signal....forget it as well as internet only occasionally working. Also the firewood was so wet(after the wood guy said a piece of paper is all I would need to light)I literally went thru 3/4 of a bottle of fluid to start n maintain a fire. Other than these no complaints.
Oct 30, 2017
I love this campground. I was a little upset that the bath houses weren't as clean as in the past. Also often there was no hand soap for hand washing. Other than that it was a good stay with lots of activities.
Oct 30, 2017
Booked for Oct 27-29 2 Sites $290.00 1 Tent 1 Pop up. Our site was flooded! Stood in water from obviously a busted pipe underground, mud and water stood at our front door! Horrible experience! Maintenance said someone left the water running. This was not the case when we hooked up the water it got worse! Was already set up, couldn't move for a waiting list. Ruined my floors, shoes, and rugs! :(((
Oct 30, 2017
we always enjoy staying at KOA in Cherokee. Great lots and beautiful place.
Oct 30, 2017
The amenities were clean and well maintained. However, our site was so badly overrun with tree roots that it was mostly useless and left us very little room to park and level our pop up camper. This would not have bothered me if all of the sites were full, but there seemed to be plenty of available sites in our area. I'd ask that the park staff save site S116 as a last resort rental in the future.
Oct 30, 2017
very nice
Oct 30, 2017
The campground was clean and our site was a nice size. Not cramped together like other campgrounds we have stayed in. What I couldnât understand was why the office/store closed so early each day. There were a few of the staff that could have put forth a little more effort to be friendly to the campers.
Oct 30, 2017
Very friendly staff also the camp was very clean we enjoyed our self there.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award