Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay here. There was lots to do on site to keep us and our 3 kids busy. The staff was kind and accommodating. The grill could have used more staff considering the eclipse weekend traffic. It took about 45 min for breakfast! Also the dance party was loud enough we couldn't hear each other talk at our site 3 streets . I think 9pm is a more appropriate quiet time.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time, and it's the only campground we've been to so far that we feel like we absolutely have to go back again. My only complaint was that the water slide abuses my toes and knees with the jets. Oh, and that I couldn't make myself understood that the mushrooms in Bathhouse One weren't a housekeeping problem, they were a maintenance issue, as the mycelium will eat the structure.
Aug 24, 2017
Had a great cabin on the river. Kids loved tubing. Friendly staff. Poor wi-fi,which was especially annoying since cellular is bad in the area. Need more signage about tube rentals, shuttle schedule, etc...Also grill instructions at cabin (had both timer and on/off value)Wish tubing had more drop off runs. Disappointed no tubing on Monday,could have gone before and after eclipse.Eclipse was great!!
Aug 24, 2017
It was wonderful. however we were charged more than estimated. our site was also upgraded which was nice. However the staff didn't know or do anything about the extra charges.
Aug 24, 2017
Our party of 12 had a great time! Cabins were very comfortable.
Aug 24, 2017
It was our first time and we really enjoyed ourselves. This is great for families and young kids. I would not recommend to campers who are looking for a solitary experience. Staff was friendly and the facilities were clean. The bathrooms especially were clean which was nice, however, toilet paper and hand soap were out more than once. Also, there was only one working shower in the ladies bathroom.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We came for the fishing tournament and was very disappointed that the tournament didn't carry over through Sunday. We always stay through Monday so we could fish Sunday and hopefully catch a tagged fish even through it just paid half price. We won't be staying through Sunday any more. Thanks to Joann P, she one the best front desk employee that we ever had the pleasure of dealing with.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
All good. Thank you
Aug 24, 2017
Everyone was very nice but the older fella that handles the late night check ins is amazing. He couldn't of been any friendlier or helpful.
Aug 24, 2017
The staff was very friendly! We brought our dog and everyone was very welcoming. We had a great time. Very family friendly environment.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
The cabin was clean and well maintained. The bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often but, were usable; a couple stalls were not in working order and could use maintenance. The pool was awesome both indoors and outdoor. My daughter loved the jumping pillow and playground. The atmosphere of the campground was awesome, very nice grounds, excellent staff, amazing views from our cabin of the creek.
Aug 24, 2017
Loved it! Great campground.
Aug 24, 2017
Had a great time! Everyone was very friendly.
Aug 24, 2017
The location is outstanding. The staff is really friendly. Lots of fun stuff for the kids! I gave a rating of 4 because of two things. 1.The box for the 30 amp hook up was so low to the ground that I had to place my surge protector sideways on a block on the ground. 2.The sewer hook up connection came right off of the pipe and needs to be glued. I would've given 4.5 if I could've.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Eclipse 2017 do I have to say anything more?
Aug 24, 2017
Could use some updating of sites. Ours had so many tree roots poking up the asphalt that it was hard to park and also very hard to walk. Nice cold (ac) new brooms but the counter was always wet cause no paper towels for ppl to dry after themselves. Large pool but 2 ropes caused problems & kids just sat on them anyway. Wifi was almost nonexistant & without cell signal in the valley, made it hard.
Aug 24, 2017
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The site was very easy to enter with a motor home and clean. I wish the internet was more available, as for the most part, it wasn't available for most of our stay. I do understand that we were at a remote area and the campsite was full due to the eclipse. KOAs are always a great and predictable place to stay.
Aug 24, 2017
Mostly awesome
Aug 24, 2017
Our new annual end-of-summer trip for our grandkids! Had a blast!
Aug 24, 2017
Nice campsite, good size sites although very tightly packed, not the best ground for tent camping (rocky/damp). Staff was super helpful though. They missed one email about my reservation so I'd recommend calling if you need to check on things. Also yes the wifi is almost a non-entity so don't rely on being in touch here (which can be nice in it's own way)
Aug 24, 2017
The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was very nice. We plan to return in the future.
Aug 24, 2017
Everything was fine. Cabin as advertise. Disappointed that cabins do not have water. First campground that I've stayed in that camping cabins did not have water on site.
Aug 24, 2017
Came to witness the eclipse, had a great time!
Aug 24, 2017
Firewood was over priced and was wet. Tube rentals were expensive and there was no discount for full shuttle so we had to walk to starting point. Quiet time was not enforced and neighbors were loud.
Aug 24, 2017
Was fun, but tube rentals should have been run every half hour, instead of hour. Nice workers, great stay!!
Aug 24, 2017
Great campground, kid friendly, nice staff, close to activities, needs better wifi. Would be 5 stars if that was better.
Aug 24, 2017
Extremely organized and well run. Our site had plenty of space and shade, the surrounding mountains are beautiful, as is the river running on the edge of the campground. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean for spaces used by so many people. Personally I would ban campfires - this KOA is in a valley and as the night cools, it traps all the smoke in, making it uncomfortable to breath.
Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff. Nest and clean park.
Aug 24, 2017
Beautiful as always. 1st night was a tent, then the next night was a cabin with a loft. My only complaint would be that there were a few pieces of trash in front of the cabin on the way down to the river.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time. In fact, we stayed an extra night just because we didn't want to leave! We brought some first timers to KOA with us, & they enjoyed it too.
Aug 24, 2017
The cabin was comfortable and the campground was clean. I had encounters with KOA workers and the were good. However, first impressions mean a lot. I drove 14 hours through the night and arrived around 10am. My kids had slept in the car and wanted to play before check in at 3. The woman at the front desk could not have been less receptive or less accommodating. I doubt I will stay with KOA again
Aug 24, 2017
Awesome! Everyone so friendly!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Nice stay, few small things. We had a bike stolen and everyone helped, but what no one offered was to call the police. We stayed in a cabin I think you should offer to clean the cabin at least once for a few day stay. I would have been willing to pay. Need a better list of items in cabin, I was told we had a full size fridge to find out is was a mini fridge.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The area is beautiful, the campground was great with clean bathrooms, tons to do right from the campground and a friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 23, 2017
We went up and down the east coast for our summer adventure and stayed at KOA's along the way. The Cherokee/Great Smokies was the most awesome experience of them all. The kids loved the outdoor and indoor pools. The water slide was great. The jumping pad was huge. We had a cabin that slept up to 6. All the linens were provided. I could have lived in this cabin on the river! Gas grill on the deck!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice staff and nice park
Aug 23, 2017
Nice and clean. Great 2 rm cabin
Aug 23, 2017
Great activities, wonderful campground. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a great time!
Aug 23, 2017
Great KOA. Very clean and great spaces with lots to do.
Aug 23, 2017
pool and hot tub were a little cleaner but can still use a little work.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
WiFi didn't work. Not enough staff had to wait in long lines to get fishing license and if you wanted anything from the store you had to wait in the check in and out line. They had a check out in store but nobody there to run it won't be back
Aug 23, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award