Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2019
Breaker broke on electrical outlet. The maintenance staff repaired very quick. The staff is always nice and helpful.
Aug 13, 2019
Cabin was not ready until 340. After traveling we were tired and just wanted to get unpacked. Everything else about our stay was great. The kids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
Beautiful location with many great amenities. Our grill was broken, reported it but no one came to fix it.
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
We enjoyed our stay in a rustic cabin at KOA Cherokee.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Everything was as advertised. There does need to be outdoor showers and shower facilities in indoor pool as there were a lot of people coming straight from creek and getting into hot tubs and pools. These leaves the water looking dirty and a lot of grass and sand in the water. Bath houses appeared clean, in good working order, and well stocked.
Aug 12, 2019
Always love staying here but the grass was not maintained very well this time and needed to be cut.
Aug 12, 2019
First of all...4 days of calling with no luck...have to make reservations on line. Not the friendliness desk people...campstore had lots of stuff but not the essentials . We have been staying here for over 20 years...will not go back. Prices jacked up...rude desk people and the park is in need of maintenance. The cabin our son rented had broken chairs/tables...told them with nothing done. done!
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Very nice campground. Loved the concrete sites.
Aug 11, 2019
Wonderful location and service. Very good location for enjoying the Great Smokey Mountains NP and the Cherokee area. Our family will definitely be back again soon.
Aug 10, 2019
We always enjoy camping there and bringing all of our grandkids.I just wish you would put abench in all the showers for you to lay your stuff on from getting wet.
Aug 09, 2019
Nice campground. Loved pool. Cabin needs repairs. Siding busted and ugly pipes running under steps. Dog hair behind food bowls. And my child found a razor in bunk bed. ��
Aug 09, 2019
We visit every year. We love it. The updated store is nice. Lots of activities for the children this year. Employees were very helpful. Can’t wait for next summer!
Aug 09, 2019
The weather was beautiful and the camping was great. The bathrooms were really clean and so was the campground
Aug 09, 2019
Great cabin stay. Clean, quiet and welcoming park. Very pleasant staff.
Aug 09, 2019
Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Shower stalls outside doors did not lock. The bathrooms were pretty nasty. The cabins were very close together. There is a tv in the main room with a small bench to sit on, but would have made more sense to have a tv in the bedroom too or instead of in the main room. Staff were a little rude. Pretty area but definitely needs some work.
Aug 08, 2019
Our stay was very nice and relaxing. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Very nice campground and very helpful staff
Aug 08, 2019
2nd year staying there for the Talking Trees children's trout tourney. My five year old loved the playground, indoor heated swimming pool, and the ability to safely bicycle around the campground. Stocked trout river in the back and three stocked ponds in front of the campground! We stayed in a basic cabin but noted the bear proof food storage boxes at the tent camping sites. Covered picnic tables
Aug 08, 2019
Awesome time with friends and family
Aug 08, 2019
Had a great time. Nice property, nice friendly people, lots of amenities. Our grandchildren had a great time and plenty to do. Will stay again.
Aug 08, 2019
Cabin was great - there were some ants but not really a problem. Only complaint I would have is check in I think it would be better if cabin renters could check in early if the cabins are ready. Everyone lining up exactly at 3 was ridiculous.
Aug 08, 2019
We had a great time. Loved our huge site. Only issue with it was that there is a need for some type of drainage around the electrical hook up. It rained and that area was standing in water. A suggestion for the store....please post prices for the coffee stand, bait and ice cream products at their locations. We had to go to check out to decide if we wanted to purchase these things or not.
Aug 07, 2019
The 1st camp site they put us in was terrible. You said it was river front. Sorry it was not. It was next to the bounds tent. your kidding me. You should give m e back my money for that in play crossing guard keeping children from hitting their heads crossing between my camper and the 5th wheel. 2nd Internet was also the worst I have ever dealt with. So bad I had to leave to get important emails.
Aug 07, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA many many times and by far it is our favorite. Throughout the years we had noticed it had began to seem rundown and the employees had gotten a bit shady to say the least. Nevertheless you guys are doing a great job improving this and making changes! I was happy to see changes being made! I was disappointed that putt putt was gone and there was no live music or a DJ.
Aug 07, 2019
Great location. We have stayed here several times years past. The sites have developed holes and low spots that collect water as well as a walking hazard when the grass covers the spots. Asphalt drives have potholes that need attention. The Campground overall was clean and the staff were nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Love this place, coming back next year. Unfortunately, the pool was filthy every day. That area definitely needs immediate attention.
Aug 07, 2019
No shade. Grill ran out of certain foods and basically all the ice cream but 2 flavors. Hot tubs did not work. Pools were cloudy and smelled like they had no chlorine. A lot of green mold around pool area. People driving way to fast on bikes after dark with no lights. Grass was not mowed. Very rundown and poorly managed. For $94 a night I expect more. I’ll stick to state parks at half the price.
Aug 07, 2019
We have been coming since 2011 with friends and family. This koa has always provided us the perfect place to make the best memories! The river access, pool, cafe, jump pillow, staff were all 5 stars. A huge thank you to The new manager Rachael and her staff. She is doing a great job making upgrades to an already amazing place. Thanks again for another great vacation. See you again soon!
Aug 07, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
This was my #rd stay.I'll be back.
Aug 07, 2019
Great place for RV Camping. Loved the amenities and the RV site. Everything was clean and well maintained. I have 3 boys ages 13, 9, and 6 and they had a blast riding there bikes, swimming, tubing, and fishing. The staff was quick to answer any questions we had and was always helpful. Great place to stay.
Aug 07, 2019
New management treated us way better than old one they were very friendly and helpful. Made our stay very pleasant
Aug 07, 2019
Was very nice
Aug 07, 2019
Came in at 1 am and left at 7 am. Just passing through and there were not any hotels slep in the car. It was very pricey
Aug 07, 2019
This was our first trip in an RV. The staff was helpful and polite. There are plenty of activities for the kids as well. Beautiful campground.
Aug 05, 2019
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were well kept. Our cabin was great. Hope to see you again next summer.
Aug 04, 2019
Absolutely beautiful, great staff, loved it, will return!!
Aug 04, 2019
Aug 04, 2019
Enjoyed our stay. Very friendly Staff
Aug 03, 2019
Our family stay was wonderful. Loved the river and tubing! Lots to do with the kids! Loved the gem mining and bounce pad.Cabins were clean and comfortable. I would suggest more utensils, esp.a can opener, cutting board,mixing. bowls and storage containers. Also be good to inform there's no oven. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We would return!! THANKYOU!!
Aug 03, 2019
Nice staff, very clean, nice RV platforms, shuttle services is a nice bonus feature, outside pool is very dated, roads need repaving, we plan on coming back
Aug 03, 2019
Very family friendly but traffic trucks thundering by woke us up at night.
Aug 03, 2019
This place is beautiful…..Great and helpful staff...…………..
Aug 02, 2019
4 stars buts it on its way to 5 stars! Lots of improvements being made :) so many activities to do within campground. My kids love this location. Third time we’ve been and will definitely return.
Aug 02, 2019
Awesome campground! Has it all. Friendly and helpful staff
Aug 02, 2019
Loved it the staff is great and plenty to do for the kids.
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.