Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

May 15, 2019
It was very nice. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We are still very new to the camping world so the friendly staff was greatly appreciated. We will definitely be staying again. Hoping around Halloween. :-)
May 15, 2019
This is an awesome campground. This is my second stay at this campground. The only problem I have had here is the WiFi NEVER works and when I am tired, I like to read my iPhone before bed. KOA's doesn't work and theirs will not let MyFi work. This past weekend was my birthday and Mother's Day, and all it did was RAIN, and HARD!
May 14, 2019
May 14, 2019
Perfect eve though in the heavy rain! They gave me upgrade cabin in the rain kindly.
May 14, 2019
Had fun this past weekend even though it rained. We will see you soon.
May 13, 2019
Everyone in the check in process is very nice. However the cost, compared to all the area campgrounds is over priced. This is a great place to stay with family and the perfect spot. Just over priced.
May 13, 2019
We had a great time despite the weather
May 12, 2019
We love coming here. We always come in May when its quiet. Already looking forward to our next stay. I am sad I cant book from May to the next May like we used to be able to do. Now we have to call back to reserve and no one can tell me when i can call back. That is my only complaint. Otherwise, love this place.
May 12, 2019
Great experience. Clean bath house. Staff made sure we were comfortable. Thanks
May 11, 2019
Great Stay, Jo Ann at the front desk was awesome, very helpful.
May 10, 2019
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms & showers, very nice sized sites, clean pool, lots to do. Already recommended it to our daughter & her family. They will be staying there this summer.
May 10, 2019
Weather was beautiful. I had a very relaxing stay. My patient and his fiance enjoyed fishing and shopping in the campstore. No fish caught but fun trying. Clean and well maintained facilities. We will be back.
May 09, 2019
Run down and needs updated Don't think the bathrooms we're cleaned the 4 days I was there
May 09, 2019
Workers very nice and friendly. Saw manager twice and she wasn’t friendly at all. Before our stay we drove over to talk and see about leaving camper yr round. She spoke as though she did t want us and even made the statement she didn’t need us.
May 09, 2019
May 08, 2019
May 07, 2019
Very nice, expensive but, very nice
May 06, 2019
Awesome
May 06, 2019
Did not stock trout while we were there.Disapointing.
May 05, 2019
We had a wonderful stay. I was a little disappointed that the sink in the kitchen was also the bathroom sink in the Deluxe Loft Cabins, but nothing can be done about that now, The maps and promotions indicate that the fishing ponds are stocked "twice weekly". In past 2 years, stayed for a week and there was only 1 stocking each time. May not have control of this, but it shouldn't be advertised
May 05, 2019
Cherokee KOA is one of our favorite campgrounds, always clean with roomy sites. We enjoy the relaxing mountain forest setting and prefer the river sites. Lots of wildlife to see from elk to woodpeckers to chipmunks. I heard a fox call on our last morning there. Lots of fishing. It’s a great location for exploring Cherokee and the Great Smokey Mountains.
May 05, 2019
Very enjoyable stay. The KOA facilities and weather were great. We’ll definitely visit NC again.
May 05, 2019
May 05, 2019
May 04, 2019
Very nice park, great river front sites
May 03, 2019
Amazing
May 02, 2019
Always a great time! We had a cabin right in the river. It was very clean and peaceful. We saw elk on our way to the KOA and had 4 geese visit every evening right across the river. Being at the KOA in Cherokee, NC is one of our favorite places to be. We were also lucky enough to catch some trout. We will be back next year!
May 01, 2019
Had a studio cabin but it lacked coffee cups or glasses. A comfortable chair in the room would be great to have. People were very pleasant and the site was lovely on the river. Better designation of the different cabins and their locations would have been much more helpful. It all worked out well though
May 01, 2019
May 01, 2019
The bathrooms werd very dirty and the same urine stench was notes everyday and I doubt that they werd cleaned zuring muur Stay. Staff was friendly
Apr 30, 2019
1. was put on wrong lot, had to move camper next day 2. bathrooms at pool dirty/septic coming up through shower at pool 3. rude staff at check in desk 4. bathrooms were flooded causing fiancé to fall(likely due to kids stopping up the shower and turning on showers) 5. store was not well stocked 6.prices to high on necessities at store 7.jacuzzi jets were not working campground needs improv
Apr 30, 2019
The cabin we rented smelled like dog poop the entire time. Seemed like they did not clean the place. Toilet paper was low had to go ask for more. Paper towel had like five sheets left. Service was nice, but house keeping did not do a good job cleaning. Grill didn’t work. They should’ve checked it before renting the place to us. The heater in the living room didn’t even work.
Apr 29, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
The cabin was very nice and we found everything we needed. The gas grill on the deck was very welcomed and we used it every evening. Everyone associated with KOA we interacted with were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 29, 2019
Everyone who works here was super nice! The kind of people you want to be around on vacation.
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
I arrived to Cherokee KOA on 4-23-2019 for a get away with my grandchildren. We arrived about 1:00pm and were told that we couldn't check in until after 3:00pm because STAFF was cleaning cabins. OKAY that understandable!!! The cabin was NASTY toilet didn't flush dishes were dirty hair in tub I had to clean before I could give baths we have stayed here for years and wanted our Grandchildren to have
Apr 28, 2019
Was ready to check in at 3p but waited 2 hrs for our cabin to be ready. Cabin was in terrible location with views of the entrance into KOA and drain pipe. Not on the river like it says. Wouldn’t recommend deluxe cabin 513.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
Camp ground and cabin were very clean. Will stay here again.
Apr 27, 2019
cabin 243, Your site had a promo $114 per night but the woman said she didn’t know about it. I had to pay $149. Got in after 3 and I was not happy with the cleanliness. Food was under the drawers in refrigerator,grease on stove top,floor not sweep well, food on headboard, none of bathroom dispensers filled until Wed. Hot & cold reversed throughout cabin, hair in shower, a/c filters not cleaned .
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
We did not have a reservation but upon arrival we requested a cabin that we liked..(k251).it was occupied so we asked for the one next door (k252). We got k250. No TV or fridge or large deck. We had k251 reserved last summer but it was being upgraded. No one called to tell us ahead of arrival. We do not plan to return to koa Cherokee.
Apr 26, 2019
Loved the deluxe cabin on the river. Staff members were very helpful. Only problem we had was with the gas grill. It had a lot of build up and the whole inside caught on fire during preheat. Turned it off and shut the lid to put out the fire. Could use more lighting/shelves in bathroom. Mirrow placement/lighting is not good for shaving and makeup. We hope to return soon.
Apr 26, 2019
Not thrilled about new management. Pool had way to much chlorine and no bathrooms were open inside. What’s that tell ya.? Three boys playing football on the bouncy and kept playing after we complained.they were knocking over the little ones. Men’s bathroom had no hot water and soap was never filled in dispensers. Usually KOA can deliver wood ice after hours. It was a ghost town. Last time her
Apr 26, 2019
Camp Ground is great well maintained. Frustrated that we got there at 11:30 we knew check in was at 3:00pm. We purchased our fishing license then..came back at 3:00pm sharp house cleaning still had not gotten to our cabin. We were told 15 more minutes came back at 3:15 house keeping again said 15 or 20 more minutes. We came back at 3:30 cabin still not ready. We finally checked in around 3:45.
Apr 26, 2019
Under new management, again. Grass was high, bathrooms needed attention and a simple request was not granted due to being "sold out" which was not at all true. We normally love, love, love our stay here, but I guess something is being lost in the transition. Our cabin was nice, as always I had to plug holes in the screens with tissues, but the view of the river was breathtaking.
Apr 26, 2019
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and quick to help. Love the location and all of the activities to do on site.
Apr 25, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO STAY. RESERVATIONS MADE ON LINE BUT WHEN GOT TO THE KOA THE CABIN BOOKED ONLINE WAS DIFFERENT. MOST OF FRONT DESK STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMADATING. ONLY ONE YOUNG GIRL UP AT FRONT DESK WAS VERY RUDE WHEN ASKED TO CHANGE TO ORIGINAL CABIN BOOKED ON RIVER. KIDS LOVE IT.
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google