Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2019
The staff up front was definitely not hospitable. The a/c in the master room of our cabin wouldn’t cool. The maintenance couldn’t fix it, said it’s broken and there is nothing they could do about it. Summer and lI paid extra for a cabin w a/c. My family has been coming to the Cherokee KOA since the early 80’s, 40 to 50 family members at a time. The campground has definitely not what it use
Jun 26, 2019
Jun 26, 2019
This was our first time at this campground. We had a site next to the trout ponds in site 58. There was several other sites available that we would have loved cause this one was covered in poison oak. But we were only there for 3 nights so we tried to make the best of it. The staff were all very friendly and the grounds were kept clean.
Jun 26, 2019
Loved every minute of it. Already scheduled next visit.
Jun 25, 2019
Horrible. We have stayed here for 5-6 years, and more than once on two occasions. We will NOT be back. Were placed on a muddy/unkempt (PREMIUM) site, it was covered with tree mess and mud, Camper was too long for the site so had to park our truck in the mud at the side of the road. No WIFI or internet from Sat on - we left early - on Sunday, unresponsive staff sealed the deal. Poor example of KOA.
Jun 25, 2019
This campground has declined. WiFi ceased to work, cable went out on several occasions and channels were not correct as in the guide. The cable channels would skip. The store was poorly stocked and poorly arranged with check in at the entrance which made it difficult for customers to go in and out. Grounds need a lot of maintenance. This being our third trip here, we were disappointed.
Jun 25, 2019
Stayed in a deluxe cabin, while other family members stayed in a camper. Had a wonderful time - even in the rain, we were able to tube, swim and watch movies under the stars. Our cabin fit our needs to the 4 nights we were there. It was clean & everything was in working order. As we were leaving, my great nephews asked if we could do this again. Definitely! (wish ice cream shop was open later)
Jun 25, 2019
Good, but the bathrooms by the pool were filthy when we arrived. Would have liked the option of AC in the cabins.
Jun 25, 2019
Asked to be moved fro. The cabin we had. It was musty smelling and it bothered my allergies. They took hours to tell us nothing was available
Jun 25, 2019
We had a premier RV pull thru site. We have a 40 ft motor home. The site was very small. The patio, fire pit and picnic table were located toward the back if the site- nowhere near the awning or door to out RV. When we put put chairs put under the awning we had to navigate around tree roots. The ground was in legal. We paid for a better site but as we walked around we had the worse site in the par
Jun 25, 2019
Everything was wonderful except the WiFi and Cable went out, which my husband needs for work. We still had a blast! It was our first time in our new RV and the staff were extremely helpful. We will definitely be back!
Jun 24, 2019
The location is great with access to Mingo Falls trail, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and the town of Cherokee. The patio spaces are fabulous - lots of room between campers. The only suggestions I would make are that the ice cream shop be open later than 5/6pm during the summer and the outdoor pool looked green, but it has rained so much not sure that that is possible to keep clean.
Jun 24, 2019
HAVE BEEN COMING FOR SEVERAL YEARS, HOPE TO COME SEVERAL MOORE!
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
My stay was great! Hate it rain most of one of the days. But campground was nice and clean! Friendly staff!! Only thing I would fix is the WiFi. Cell service is slim there and WiFi worked the first day. Then no longer worked after that. Not sure if it was due to storm or what. But would have been nice to have it the whole time!! Other wise it was great!! ���
Jun 24, 2019
1. My cabin was not ready at 3 pm 2. Friday and Saturday night neighbors were up till 1 am being very loud disturbing my sleep. 3. The bathrooms were disgusting. I have been camping here for 20 years and for the past 6 years this campground has seamed to have changed management several times. This time our stay was not at all pleasant.
Jun 24, 2019
I think the staff is great! I didn't have any issues other than the weather! But I'm pretty sure KOA doesn't control that! Whole facility is clean and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have what you need. They are highly visible, never intruding, and always ready to help!
Jun 24, 2019
Loud at campsites. Staff allow people to stand in lines in store while talking on phone. Campsites too close together. Too many golf carts driving around.
Jun 24, 2019
Nice campground but they constantly have terrible tv.This is important if you have kids and stuck inside during thunderstorms.
Jun 24, 2019
When we arrived our site was taken. According to the lady at the desk the next day some frequent campers wanted the site. The next site they put us on only had 30 amp so here we went Drew hot ya on a site but wasn't sure we would be able to stay for our entire visit. I don't know why anyone would want it.it was right on the path to the bath house!! It was noisey! People talking & dogs barking all
Jun 24, 2019
Although improvements have been made, it has a way to go to be a 5 star KOA. The restrooms stayed dirty for days with clogged toilets. In the shower house with individual showers, 2 had blown lights limiting the number, and people had to form a line and I waited for 45min to shower. Staff did have compliments regarding new GM. I asked what they thought of her and it was positive.
Jun 24, 2019
After a storm came through and took out the internet, they were in no rush to get it back up. Quiet hours were not enforced, showers were nasty.
Jun 23, 2019
We have been going to this KOA for over 30 years & the last two years has been a total decline of cleanliness of the facilities, incompetency of staff & we had party of 30 again & reservations were lost, ac not working & raining in 1 cabin, couldn’t get TP or towels. always pick the same RVsite but that’s the only reason we go back.it needs a lot of work to bring it back to the way it used to
Jun 23, 2019
There were more KOA employees riding on golf carts then doing work. I watched one of the employees clean the bathroom and she took a wash cloth and a spray bottle in the bathroom and wiped down the surfaces including toilets of the women's bathroom, men's bathroom and the showers without cleaning out the washcloth. It tool me 20 minutes to buy water shoes from the front desk. Never again!
Jun 23, 2019
Jun 23, 2019
We were there with 2 other families that were staying in the cabins. They were all bitten up, kids and adults. I was staying at campsite 220. The worst spot on the campground because of that stupid tree. It was blooming and with some rain and wind, it ruined everything for us. Very disappointed. Will not recommend.
Jun 22, 2019
The campground was not clean, the office and all concessions closed early.
Jun 22, 2019
Full of amenities and activities for the kids and close to the quieter side of the Smokies. And not to mention clean bathrooms and several trout ponds.
Jun 22, 2019
A little expensive but probably would stay here again if we ever visit Cherokee in the future. The fishing pond at entrance to camp is gloomy looking and gave us concern as to the quality of the facilities. We were glad to find out that the property is neat and maintained. No complaints.
Jun 20, 2019
Jun 20, 2019
Looked forward to pools, playground, and bounce areas. Looked very inviting. But, rain, rain, go away. Looking forward to staying in sunny weather.
Jun 19, 2019
We enjoyed are stay on the river. We noticed the positive changes happening at the campground and it also had a lot more campers. We will definitely be back next year.
Jun 19, 2019
It would be nice is there was a cashier for people buying supplies at the store. The wait time is too long due to the staff checking people in for their stay and doing phone reservations. The grill has great food at reasonable prices. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Campground is nice and it’s quiet at night. Bike and golf cart rental was a little pricey.
Jun 19, 2019
On our site there was a terrible water leak causing a huge puddle, marshy ground at our camp site and running down the road. Maintenance was advised but no repair the four days we were there very little water pressure in camper too. Still love this place.
Jun 19, 2019
Very accommodating truck hauling 5th wheel has nail in tire night before leaving (Saturday night) all tire shops closed on Sunday, very understanding and no problem extending us another 2 days. Everyone one there was very nice and helpful . Thank you.
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
It was great.
Jun 18, 2019
Our favorite campground.
Jun 18, 2019
Excellent! Room for improvement is movie sound was way too loud and felt even w with windows shut. Great to see so many families and kids and pups having a great time w the activities. Enjoyed our stay and will be back!
Jun 18, 2019
Great location. Very friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2019
Excellent. Only small problem was neighbors next to our bedroom on Friday and Saturday nights. Did not observe quiet time. Otherwise perfect stay for us and grandchildren.
Jun 17, 2019
Small problem when arrived but it was handled very professionally by management.Going back in October and will be staying with them again
Jun 17, 2019
Great fun as always!
Jun 17, 2019
Been coming there for years. Great time as always. Nice to see the improvements finally being done to the campground, they look great. Only negative we seen was needed more front desk staff and staff that can answer the phones. Would be nice to have more live entertainment bands etc.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 17, 2019
I am NOT a happy camper. Not happy with the “Enjoy being by the pond” site" which was actually an “Enjoy being by the port-a-potty and public restroom with bright lights that shine all night” site. Most not happy with the incorrectly installed electric service. I have written a detailed letter demanding my surge protector and cord be replaced but it will not fit here. I will try to ema
Jun 17, 2019
I’m really torn to give this place two stars. My friend and I rented a cabin that had bed bugs. I am covered in bites, requiring me to wear long sleeved suits in 90+ degree weather, which is less than ideal. The staff handled the situation the best that they could- washing all of our things and refunding what we paid for our stay. I think that I would be really hesitant to stay with a KOA again.
Jun 17, 2019
Perfect location.So much to do here but the bathrooms were nasty and some of the older staff was rude. I have stayed at many KOA and was very disappointed.I said something to the front desk about the bathrooms but ladies at the desk acted if they didn’t care and change the subject of my conversation.Also speed limit wasn’t followed.I would return.I’m not going believe this is really how a
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google