Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2017
Awesome
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
My family hasn't been here on 10 years. Bathhouse wasn't as nice and they stop movies on Labor Day. We use to come in October and more was going on then. When I booked the site I wasn't offered KOA rewards. But after the stay I'm glad I didn't get it. There were gun shots right outside the campground at 3am the first night and 8 pm the second night. No one that worked there had any clue about it.
Sep 20, 2017
Cabins weren't very clean-fairly clean, but not very. Cabin had an odd smell. The screen on the door was broken. We thought we were getting a cabin on the water/river, but instead we were a row back, behind RV's. Bathrooms were very clean and nice/new. Staff were kind and helpful. It would be nice if the cabins, RV's, and tents were in totally separate areas...for ambiance. Cool bounce area for ki
Sep 20, 2017
I love coming to the KOA in Cherokee it is always clean and beautiful surroundings.The staff that takes us to our site or brings wood is always super helpful.The only complaint I have is the staff in the office they are just flat out rude. They always talk to me like I am stupid and that I am just a bother. I have called and left messages about a stay (I am still waiting on a response from May).
Sep 19, 2017
Great time, friendly staff, clean site
Sep 19, 2017
Nice Staff that seem to love what they do.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
It was a great place to visit the people who work there are really great to help you with anything I look forward to going back.
Sep 19, 2017
LAST TIME NEVER GOING BACK. YOU HAVE CHANGED PEOPLE AND NOT IN A GOOD WAY CHECK IN PEOPLE HAS LITTE OR NO KNOWLEDGE . ONE LADY ACTS LIKE YOU ARE THERE FOR HER PLEASURE. ALL ACTS JOB SCARED ? OVERPRICED MY DROP KOA MEMBERSHIP . MAINTENANCE PEOPLE FUMBLING AROUND IN DARK. HAVE BEEN IN OTHER KOA FROM CANADA TO ORLAND OTHER OVER THE YEARS . AND YEARS OF VISITING THIS KOA IS HIGHLY DISAPPOINTING
Sep 19, 2017
Staff was excellent and accommodating. WiFi and cable TV quality is not the best. Although I was informed that in the next few months they were updating they're internet connection to fiber.
Sep 19, 2017
Very clean quiet place. Staff was friendly with plenty to do in and around the campground
Sep 19, 2017
They put us a different sit than the one we booked. When I booked the stay the lady told me we would be on a deluxe site with extra chairs and table. We did however get a spot that was concrete. We plan on staying at the KOA in Pigeon Forge the first week in Oct. They have got it together. We have stayed there 2 times and we love it.
Sep 19, 2017
Staff was friendly and waved as the buzzed about servicing the many Kampers. Would stay in a upgraded site next time for better view. New Weekend Get Away location.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
booked two stay on jan10.2017 cabin for 505 HANDICAP paid that day,, got cabin on may 12,13 2017 614863,, WE CAME THIS WEEKEND WHICH I BOOKED IN JAN10.2017 PAID FOR 505 209.35 WITH YOUR EMPLOYEE JOSS,, WE ARE HANDICAP THATS WHY I BOOK IT EARLY,,, THEY MOVED US TO 509 SUCKED SMELLS LIKE SEPTIC POOP BAD, WE NEED HANDICAP TOLIT GAS GRILL NOB MISSING, CALL ME VERY UPSET RYAN 1 770-796 2692 TAMA
Sep 18, 2017
Everything was great except the cobwebs and dirt in the cottage needs to be tended to. Spring Cleaning is past due.
Sep 18, 2017
Very nice large campsite on the river. There were some issues however that definitely need to be addressed if I'm to ever come back. First is the bathhouses. They were filthy and need to be cleaned more than once per day when there are a lot of campers. The site was not clean when we arrived and effort was wasted on cleaning other sites no one stayed in. Wifi?? There isn't any!!
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was great, the weather was warmer than expected. We would have liked to have had the tubing shuttle during this VKR weekend. We also would have enjoyed a movie night or dance party, but none of the outside activities happen.
Sep 18, 2017
This is the second time I have stayed here. Good location. Lots of amenities. Friendly staff. The area is a cell phone dead zone. Be aware of that and plan accordingly.
Sep 18, 2017
Seemed in construction by the demolish of mini golf and lack of planned activities
Sep 18, 2017
This KOA use to be super but now it needs maintenance of indoor pool area & hot tub. Both are dirty with yellow water. The hot tub jets are still broken so it is like sitting in a hot dirty bath. This area could be so much better with little investment. Clean water, working jets, nice lighting & maybe so mood music would bring more cheer to this place. Too much construction on busy weekend.
Sep 18, 2017
Great enjoyed it so much
Sep 18, 2017
We love this campground, but unfortunately this trip was not as good as previous trips. They messed up our reservation, then the lady who checked us in was rude. Also my grandkids love the put put area, but it was being tore out :( Usually when we stay on special weekends they offer lots of activities for the kids, but there was none of that this year.
Sep 18, 2017
Everything was great, we will be back!
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was great, everyone was very friendly, camp site was good. The only complaint is the WIFI is really bad even before it got crowded.
Sep 18, 2017
Had a nice laid back weekend fishing for trout, eating well and relaxing from work.
Sep 18, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful
Sep 18, 2017
We did not have a good place to park. Had to park away from cabin too far. Need a little more lighting throughout the campground. Maybe a few portia potties through out the cabin areas, because the bath houses are pretty far away if you have to take kids during the night. Some of the fire pits are too close to other cabins and if you have windows open the smoke goes into someone else's cabin.
Sep 18, 2017
Great campground. Convient to all the sights that we wanted to see an do. The only issue that we had was when dumping our gray and black tanks at the end of our stay on a full hook up site. The drain would not allow us to fully open up the handles on our tanks. We had to really watch and push in on the handles to prevent leakage onto the ground.
Sep 18, 2017
We will diffently be back staff made us feel at home and was very helpful and friendly rhino even help me and my son with his school project can't wait to come back
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Third time to stay we like it
Sep 18, 2017
We absolutely love Cherokee KOA; however, the mens shower needs work. I had to try 2 showers before I finally found one that worked. The first one does not have a shower head and the 2nd one only had scolding hot water. It would also be nice if you would put a shelf or something for us to put our clean clothes and personal belongings on, without having to set them in the nasty floor.
Sep 18, 2017
We came running from the storm Irma. We checked in at 10:30 pm. The security guard checked us in and helped us locate our spot and were so kind. the next day we came to check in and the office staff were so pleasant. It was a hard few days before and seeing a friendly face we much appreciated. We shall return.
Sep 18, 2017
Was a little disappointed in the bad wifi that only worked late at night when everyone was asleep but a beautiful campground and friendly staff.
Sep 18, 2017
I stayed in one of your cabins 9/15 0 9/17, 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I am impressed the improvements to the bathrooms and shower facilities. You are really improving the camping experience at Cherokee KOA.
Sep 18, 2017
Absolutely loved my visit to the Cherokee KOA. I had a small cabin by the river which was so peaceful. The employees were extremely helpful and kind. I highly recommend this campground.
Sep 18, 2017
campground is ran down
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Very first time camping. Brought the girlfriend and kid, her family came up grilled out, quiet peaceful reasonable price on things. 100% recommend the koa!!!!
Sep 17, 2017
I love the KOA. But this time it was a bad experience. Payed extra for upgraded cabin. TV didn't work. Told very nice gentleman that worked there, said would pass it along. Nothing ever done. Took late shower at 2am. Showers floors were filthy. At check out voiced my concern. Young girl at the desk just said Ok. Had brought new campers with me, I had really bragged on KOA. They won't be back.
Sep 17, 2017
Very nice campground. Always love it there. Planning next trip.
Sep 16, 2017
The campground is very nice and the amenities were great. Most employees were very nice. A couple of ladies at the front desk seemed grumpy and made us feel silly for asking about fishing rules - like we should already have known. It was a very busy weekend, so I am sure they were tired of the same old questions, but they took the wind out of my son's sails to go fishing. Otherwise - good.
Sep 16, 2017
Very good camp large and clean easy to park... very good for fishing trous are really close.. staff is excellent, bathrooms are clean the casino is just some miles away and holds very good restaurants.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Great!! No complaints. Ended up extending our stay.
Sep 14, 2017
Monica really helped us out on a really busy week.
Sep 14, 2017
Mattress was awful. Staff was great. Grass around cabin was knee high between cabin and river. Would not rent this cabin again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award