Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 25, 2019
Great fun as always.
Oct 25, 2019
Should come for the Halloween fun
Oct 25, 2019
We always have an enjoyable stay! The staff is kind and accommodating. The only thing that I would improve is the parking for the cabins on the point. The parking was a tight fit for most of our stay but the view of the river and the little creek made up for it. I could’ve sat around the campfire for a few more days and watched my family fish. I look forward to staying here every year!
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
The cable tv did not work. You checked it out and the person said something about a power boost. We have never had this problem at other campgrounds.
Oct 25, 2019
Great cabins on the river and many activities for the kids
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
Staying at the KOA Cherokee was a fantastic experience! It is surrounded on all sides with mountains and the tree foliage was beautiful!
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Had a great time We plain to come back
Oct 24, 2019
very disappointed
Oct 23, 2019
We come 2 or 3 times a year. This Oct. Trip was the absolute best time we have ever had.
Oct 22, 2019
Everyone was very friendly. It was a great time for me and my grandson. They keep the place very clean. Great stay
Oct 22, 2019
The staff was friendly and accommodating. The cost, $300 for 2 nights was excessive. The cabin was small, the bedrooms were tiny and the living/kitchen area was tight for a family of 6. The location of the KOA was remote and the sign said "Holiday" instead of saying "Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, which caused confusion upon arrival. We will stay on the other side of the Smokies in the future.
Oct 22, 2019
The campground was very nice and well maintained. There were lots of things for the kids to do. We made use of the shuttle to go into Cherokee since we didn't take a vehicle with us on this trip. We stayed 3 nights in a motorhome. This is a place I would visit again.
Oct 21, 2019
This was our 3rd year attending and we typically rent the same cabin, L241. This year, our cabin contained a mildew/mold smell. We immediately identified the smell and was told but our KOA check-in rep that this was normal since the cabin is so close to the water. We told him that there wasn't a smell last year when we stayed in the same cabin, but we were not offered to move to another cabin.
Oct 21, 2019
We went for a 4 day weekend the second week of October. It was great!! Many activities for the kids and a spooky walk that we all got scared on!! Everyone very nice and accommodating.
Oct 21, 2019
We came back after two years to Cherokee KOA. There have been great improvements made under new management! Really nice schedule of events for our kiddos on the Halloween weekend. The only suggestion I have would be that the restrooms need more attention. The smell of urine was really bad in the bathhouse closest to the office as well as in the ladies restroom by the grill.
Oct 21, 2019
One of our favorite campgrounds. We’ve stayed here many times and hope to again in the future. Love the stream and all the Halloween decorations. Would love if there was a shuttle to the casino. The bathrooms were so much cleaner this year.
Oct 21, 2019
Excellent experience
Oct 21, 2019
We enjoyed our time at Great Smokies KOA, even though it was short. We plan on returning for a longer stay in the future.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Campground was clean. Events seem to be unorganized, lighting throughout the campground is not well at night making it difficult to walk or go to bath house. Staff friendly offers to assist visitors.
Oct 20, 2019
Love the deluxe cabins although a little pricey
Oct 20, 2019
It was a very nice campground. Kid friendly. Very clean. We loved it and will definitely be going back.
Oct 20, 2019
The campsite that we stayed at was very nice it was well organized and we are definitely going to come back maybe next year
Oct 20, 2019
Wonderful location great KOA!
Oct 20, 2019
Overall the stay was great, but I was disappointed when we arrived that our site was covered in leaves, making it seem dirty...I would suggest blowing sites the day of arrival
Oct 20, 2019
Too expensive!!
Oct 20, 2019
Loved every minute of our stay. Would be better if more patrols were set up for the womens restroom though, consistantly has a bad odor and saw poop on toilet and floors due to the heavy traffic for the holidays.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
I just wish the store would stay open later Everything else is great
Oct 20, 2019
Good
Oct 20, 2019
Beautiful place .
Oct 20, 2019
Friendly staff, clean bath house, nice camp store. Plenty of space at each site.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Best camping trip ever, they went over and beyond for the fall festival. It was so much fun, the whole family had a blast. We can’t wait to come back.
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Good experience, will stay there again.
Oct 19, 2019
Clean, quiet, great location. Helpful staff. Sites a bit close together.
Oct 19, 2019
I love this campground! I love the activities that the new manager has and the meals for purchase that goes to the KOA care camps. This was our 3rd trip since May.
Oct 19, 2019
Woke up to bedbugs got refunded atleast but manager said she would call us but it’s been a week and haven’t heard from them .
Oct 17, 2019
We always enjoy coming here, however I wish quiet time started at 10pm instead of 11pm, its nice to hear my neighbor picking the guitar and singing but it was a bit much to hear all the way to 11:00.
Oct 17, 2019
Oct 17, 2019
Can’t wait to come back!!!
Oct 17, 2019
What stay they asked me to leave after I was assaulted by one of your other campers. Then treated like a criminal rather the a victim. Been a KOA member a lot of years but this one tops it.
Oct 16, 2019
We stayed in site 142 ( buddy site ) didn't like being lined up end to end , we wanted our awnings to be facing each other, when the people came in on site 141 they were WAY to close to us and they blocked us completely ! we didn't enjoy having their camper in our face 10 ft or less away the minute we came out our door! Other than that the stay was enjoyable, we will not stay in your buddy sites
Dec 31, 2019
My family stayed in a deluxe cabin along the river. Aside from the dogs barking across the river (home owners/ nothing to do with the KOA) We all had a great stay. We actually ended up extending our visit and staying an extra day. The area is beautiful. It is a short drive to the Great Smoky Mountains where we saw a herd of Elk. It is also close to many beautiful waterfalls. This Koa had fun activities for the kids and has a giant blow up/bounce area for the kids. There is also an indoor pool and hot tub- we also noticed that they have an outside pool with a water slide- so we will definitely be back when the weather warms back up. I would definitely recommend this KOA to anyone traveling to the area!
- Rob Boxleitner on Google
Dec 30, 2019
This is a huge campground. You are located such that you have a 360 degree view of the mountains. many cabins are located on a lovely trout river where many people were fishing even in December. one of the unique things about this campground is they have individual shower rooms and individual toilet rooms with a sink. They also have standard restrooms with restrooms also. be careful when booking deluxe cabins here because they have more than one style. they also have many different styles of cabins ( some have decks ...some do not ...some have adjoining decks with neighboring cabins) so make sure you ask for exactly what you're looking for. the store on-site here was very expensive and they have a lovely collection of gifts, stickers, sweatshirt and all the goodies. They were also giving away free apples. I highly recommend you go visit Mingo Falls which is located approximately two miles from the campground. There are many signs that say that you can see elk in the area also.
- Debbie Butske on Google
Dec 27, 2019
Great campground with excellent cabins! Plenty to do on site for the whole family or a getaway to gather your thoughts. Staff was awesome, check in was easy even during after hours.
- daylon martin on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.