Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 19, 2018
This is a very nice campground, very big with a lot to do onsite. It also has pretty views of the mountains. We thought the set up of the indoor pools changing rooms were odd though. There were 3 of them to the side of the pool and yet they had a roof and doors on them with NO lights inside! So once you closed the door you were in complete darkness.
Feb 18, 2018
Cabin was clean & comfortable. The fish were biting. The staff was very friendly.
Feb 17, 2018
It was wonderful the wifi was spotty and it would be nice to have tv's in all the rooms, but overall was pleasant and peaceful highly recommend.
Feb 13, 2018
Enjoyed our stay. My dogs enjoyed getting off the leash in the dog park. Check in went well. Staff very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to coming back in the summer.
Feb 13, 2018
Feb 12, 2018
I have been camping at the Cherokee KOA for over 10 years now. I was very disappointed at my stay this time. My cabin door would not lock properly during my stay. The door was never fixed. My cabin smelled like cigarette smoke and the grill didn’t work as well.
Feb 05, 2018
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Bath house was incredible. Very clean and well kept. Looking forward to coming back again this summer.
Jan 30, 2018
Their was not very many people there, but i think my family had one of the best times they ever had!
Jan 29, 2018
All of staff were very nice but a little overbearing. I felt like a team members golf cart road by every 2 seconds! Not a relaxing camping trip at all! It almost felt like we were being watched at times. Bath houses were clean and nice but EXTREMELY hot. It felt like death. Hot Water took 12 mins to get warm. I wanted to enjoy our stay but it didn't happen. We left a day early!
Jan 27, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. When I made my reservation I let them know I would be proposing to my girlfriend and they had two wine glasses and champagne waiting for us when we got there. The staff made me feel welcomed and was very polite and enthusiastic about our special time. We plan on returning in the future.
Jan 27, 2018
Just overnight. Friendly and helpful staff. Good amenities.
Jan 23, 2018
gas heat only blew out cold air. there camping w 6 other families and 1 other cabin had the same prob. the counters in the kitchen had filth on them, the microwave had greasy fingerprints all over it - glad I brought lysol wipes, I cleaned the kitchen before I moved in - the shower had hair hanging from the hot and cold nobs. we had a great time bc we were w friends. staff was Very nice though.
Jan 22, 2018
After 13 yrs of visiting this location, I couldn't be more disappointed w/this latest management change. My group rents 4-6 cabins during the offseason (Jan-Feb) and this year at least half of the cabins were dysfunctional. For over $100 /night - non-stocked, dirty cabins w/out working heat, frozen pipes, drained water heaters and more. Reg staff was fine, Mgmt was unprofessional and childish.
Jan 22, 2018
Our past weekend was excellent. There was a problem at our cabin and they gladly moved us to another. Always great people to see when we are there. Everyone is alway very nice.
Jan 22, 2018
Had a great time And cabins were great
Jan 20, 2018
Jan 17, 2018
My family meets about 5 other familys for our annula trip. This year there lroblems with multiple cabins. No heat in one of those. Ours had no hot water! Charged my brothers family a 100 charge because he checked the connection the back of the tv and realized it was broke. This was my 10th or 11th year and my brothers 12th or 13th. By far the worst. Meagen was terribly rude. Managment is awful
Jan 17, 2018
Not much to do all ponds frozen.....staff not rent bikes to ride said too cold
Jan 16, 2018
I stayed with a large group and we had several cabins in a row. A few cabins did not have hot water or heat and the temperatures dipped in the teens. There was also a TV that was not working and they charged the cabin individual $100 because they reported the problem after they had checked in. The TV was not turned on until they realized the problem. The cabins themselves are not very clean.
Jan 16, 2018
Great stay. As always, courteous and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable facilities.
Jan 15, 2018
We had a very nice time. Cabin was super clean. Staff was very friendly.
Jan 14, 2018
We were very impressed by the staff and the campgrounds. We had a blow out on the way and I called to let them know I would be late. They called to check on us later in the day. There was someone there when we got their in the evening and he took us to our site and helped us back in. He took the time to explain all the hook ups and the whole staff was so considerate and nice during our stay.
Jan 12, 2018
We had a great time!
Jan 09, 2018
This is a great campground! Very clean, friendly staff. So happy with our stay. Would definitely stay here again!!!
Jan 08, 2018
Pipes froze, cable and internet were out...
Jan 08, 2018
I made reservations for 4 adults and one child. I was told what the stay would cost and paid when I made the reservation. Upon arrival I was charged an additional $10 for 2 of the adults. The fine print says I would be charged $20 for each pet, upon arrival we were charged $25 for each pet. Very poor way to do business and we will not be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I do apologize for the misunderstanding it was glitch in our system and i would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention. I have addressed the issue in an email to you. Thank you again.
Jan 06, 2018
Jan 06, 2018
The stay was ok. But the pricing not so good.
Jan 05, 2018
Jan 04, 2018
Expected the KOA’s water pipes to be insulated as we were prepared for the cold mountain temps with a heated water hose which did not freeze but their water pipe did . Everything else was great !
Jan 03, 2018
Loved it.....
Jan 03, 2018
Everyone at the campground was very friendly during our stay! Even with the cold they all had smiles on their faces! The campground was kept clean and we were able to relax without any issues from other campers or the campground itself! This was our 3rd stay at this KOA and we will definitely be back!
Jan 03, 2018
it. Never stayed at a Camp ground in the winter time. The atmosphere was great
Jan 03, 2018
Absolutely incredible!!! will definitely be back. Great Staff great people and beautiful surroundings!!!
Jan 03, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
We had a great time at this KOA. The site was clean, bath houses were clean and regularly maintained, and the staff were very friendly. Our only complaint was the heater in the cabin was not quite enough to keep it warm in the 20 degree nights. Not a deal a deal breaker we just might come a little more prepared next time. Stayed five nights and loved every minute of it.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Very clean & Nice campground. Employees were very nice.
Jan 02, 2018
the stay was great!!!
Jan 02, 2018
We had a very enjoyable stay. Staff were very friendly and professional. They also were very good at maintaining speed limit rules in the park. I was very impressed by this with small children riding their bikes riding around.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The campground was beautiful, clean and had tons of admentities. Can’t wait to come back!!!
Jan 02, 2018
It was really cold! But not the campgrounds fault. The only thing I can say is when you have the room spread the campers out. There was obviously alot of the basic cabins open, but we always had someone 15 feet away for one night and we were there three nights. Been more enjoyable if you would spread out some when you can.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
The staff including Cody were so helpful and friendly. It was dark when we arrived and we had no idea where our cabin was. Laura was awesome there at the security hut and took us straight to the cabin and made sure we knew the path to take and that we got there safely. The cabin was beautiful, spotless, nice and toasty. The whole campground was clean and orderly. The store had great coffee too!
Jan 02, 2018
We were very unhappy that we were charged for a second day. We missed the check out time by an hour and a half. Very displeased...
Jan 02, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award