Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2017
We had 2 sites beside each other. My daughter's site had trash and stumps and broke glass at the site next to her. We complained to no avail. The sites were dumpy without the site they had to look at. Cable only worked for a couple of hours out of the whole week end. Staff was friendly and security was good. Just won't go back there again, because of the site they have us. Other sites were open.
Oct 26, 2017
Absolutely best camping I've had in years
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Absolutely beautiful campground. Truly blessed by nature. Recommend you see it in the Fall!!
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Great Halloween themed weekend. The haunted island was a joke because we waited in line for 1 hour and moved 30 feet. My son was so disappointed because we had to leave the line. Also the indoor pool was nasty and the hot tub is gross. Needs major cleaning.
Oct 25, 2017
This was the first time I had stayed at a KOA. The first thing that happened was they put us in the wrong Kabin I reserved one along the river. They had some on the river and on the creek side. I asked and paid for the view of the river. I talked to the manager she really didn't seem to care she told me that well the creek goes to the river and there was nothing she could do. The Kabin was nice.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
One problem I have is happening at all KOAs we've stayed at in the last three years. Free WIFI is offered up in your ad as if it can be used, but it doesn't work for us. There needs to be a dedicated connection with repeaters throughout the park so everyone can get on it & use it. The only time we were able to get online was during the night very late. no cell phone service either.
Oct 25, 2017
Liked everything about this campground, EXCEPT (1) no cell service (2) wi-fi is sketchy -- at best. Even with my booster, I was lucky to be able to recover email once, or twice, a day. I'd say 55 of every 60 minutes there is no internet connection. So be prepared to drive into town )4-5 miles) to get cell service or wi-fi.. This is a great park for families.
Oct 25, 2017
Loved every minute of it!
Oct 25, 2017
This was our second stay, very happy with both stays, great facility, plenty for the kids to do. We were pleasantly surprised about the Halloween decorations and trick or treat, we didn't know that was going on.
Oct 25, 2017
We have been making this our annual trip for over 10 years! We always look forward to camping at Cherokee KOA!! Looking forward to next year, if not sooner!! Love the improvements!!
Oct 25, 2017
My wife and I like staying in the Kamper Cabins when we are here. It is a good location close to the National Park. There are also a lot of activities when we bring some of our grandchildren. My wife would like to see a mirror in the cabin. We also miss the swings that many of the KOA cabins have.
Oct 25, 2017
We weâre supposedly upgraded to a premium pond site. It was more of a sediment catch basin. With a torn up chain link fence with barbed wire falling off of it. There were drainage pipes that smelled of sewage behind our trailer. We will definitely not be staying again. As for Cherokee I felt like a tourist in my own state. How many gift shops can you have. Really? Our first and last time at a KO
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Spent 6 nights at this location. Personnel was wonderful and service was wonderful. We were never at a loss of things to do....or we could just do nothing. Would recommend this location to anybody!
Oct 25, 2017
Awesome camp ground!!!
Oct 25, 2017
great stay but the internet service may be advertised as being available but does not exist!!.. no one in the camp and i spoke to many could get on or stay on the internet service. I tried every day on my phone or laptop and was unsuccessful. it literally ruined a big aspect of my travel and that is my work and posting on websites. i hope you can get that problem really fixed.
Oct 25, 2017
My wife and I spent 5 nights. Brought 4 of our grandchildren for 2 nights. They participated in the costume contest and 2 of them won second place. Then they joined in the costume parade. Then we took them trick or treating. Then later they did the haunted trail. They had a blast. They love this campground because there are so many things for them to do.
Oct 25, 2017
Absolutely love this place!
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
Staff was helpful and friendly as always looking forward to next trip
Oct 24, 2017
Upon arrival the deluxe cabin we stayed in was very dirty, dirt on the floor, bed, kitchen; looked like behind doors were never cleaned at all, bed had dead bugs on it. Just very messy. Staff was RUDE. The Halloween Haunted event was unorganized and had to wait over an hour for a few feet in line, we just left. We didn't even stay the 2 nights we paid for, we left after one night. Not returning.
Oct 24, 2017
We loved stayiing at the Cherokee KOA. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed everything about it! The cabin was stocked with everything needed, other than food and clothes. The staff was very courteous and so helpful.
Oct 24, 2017
We did have an issue checking in..kind of our fault and lesson learned, but it's nearly impossible to arrange 4 campers on two buddy sights...I myself have been there every year at Halloween in 10 years, and you have done a terrific job in the past. Used to be funner, more organized. The last couple years have been a little chaotic and messy. Will try again, but stop adding fees!! Getting expensiv
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
Lot's of amenities and nice people. Bathroom facilities have been upgraded since my last stay, but shower pressure continues to be a problem.
Oct 24, 2017
The site was clean and neat. Wi-Fi was bad. Could not communicate with family or send pictures because the wi-fi was very bad. The staff was wonderful and very helpful when we had a problem with the cable and they were very friendly and pleasant to be around.
Oct 24, 2017
We told the desk staff that our fireplace wasnât working....they said they were going to send someone to the cabin to fix it. No one showed up....I called about 10:30 and left a message.....a very nice gentleman showed up about midnight stating he could not fix it and that we would have to wait the next day to have someone else fix it. We decided not to call someone we only had 1 day left.
Oct 24, 2017
Great staff was very friendly. Great level spot. Bathroom be and shower was super clean. Loved the be beautiful surroundings. Loved the fishing spots.
Oct 24, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for 2 nights. The first cabin (222) had roaches and they sent us to another cabin. In the second cabin (386) the door going to the bunk beds was off one of its tracks but we did not use the bunk beds. Overall, we would come back. Laura who escorted us to our cabin was exceptional. Her personality would make us come back and stay.
Oct 24, 2017
Wonderful
Oct 24, 2017
Absolutely wonderful staff, grounds, and surroundings!
Oct 24, 2017
We absolutely love it here. All of the renovations look wonderful! Great job! Great staff. Keep up the great work! :)
Oct 24, 2017
We love it there. Wished the pool and sona would had been maintained better.
Oct 23, 2017
We have been going to the Cherokee KOA for years and this will be our last time. We were informed we could not reserve a campsite for next year and that we could not be guaranteed a site. My kids waited in line for over an hour to do the haunted forest and they never got to go through it. I waited in line while workers were standing on the porch instead of helping and other guests were allowed to
Oct 23, 2017
We were there on a very busy weekend i used the bathroom well before alot of the campers were up and they could use some extra attention. The clean sheet on the door had oct 15 as last date cleaned
Oct 23, 2017
We have stayed at the Cherokee KOA for several years and absolutely love it. Our family loves the new bigger cabins they work great for us.
Oct 23, 2017
Everything was good but a little costly
Oct 23, 2017
Great stay lots to do for kids and family. My only complaint was they had pumpkin painting for little kids to do and when judging time came grown ups where in it and kids pumpkin didn't have a chance to win. Lots of really small children and parents where upset. They should have age group judging. For god sake they would be happy with an ice cream cone for winning. Sorry it stunk for kids.
Oct 23, 2017
Our check in this year was horrible. For the last 3 years it was fine. This year it was very confusing for the lady who checked us in, & yet the 2 double sites where the same as the years before. We just could not get her to understand. If the rumor is true about a $10 reservation fee plus the deposit, my guess we won't be back.
Oct 23, 2017
Love Halloween weekend lots of things to do with family we will be back next year hope they have e pumpkin carving contest next year kids Had fun with that last year
Oct 23, 2017
One night there was a huge rainstorm, and since we don't have a rainfly for our tent, we used a tarp. Worked great, and left it up after because of the heavy dew in the mornings. Maintenance then came to inform us that we had to remove it, but couldn't give a good reason. We complied, and asked about it at checkout. Manager on duty still unable to give a reason, or show me a guideline. Bad busines
Oct 23, 2017
Great staff, friendly and helpful.
Oct 23, 2017
The stay was very nice and relaxing. Two things I do not like about the campground is there is little to no cell phone reception which may not be the fault of the campground. The second is the fact that we are unable to choose where we stay within the campground. We had a group of 4 sites and we were all very far apart.
Oct 23, 2017
We love this place. Friendly staff, great location, great facilities, and lots of fun. Great for families with small children.
Oct 23, 2017
Told me I couldn't ride UTV after I ask before I brought it. No different from golf cart plus I have full coverage insurance. Employee's came around as we were packing up and cleaning up firepit and got ash all over and in my camper. Wi fi is junk.
Oct 23, 2017
I love staying at this KOA. There are plenty of lodging options in a great setting.
Oct 23, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award