Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 31, 2018
The only negative things we have to say are 1: the toilet paper in the bathrooms was somehow wet and one of the showers didn’t have hot water, 2: there were large puddles of water all over the campground, 1 of them was right in front of our cabin so we could not get in or out without getting our shoes wet. The staff was very friendly and the campground was otherwise very beautiful.
Oct 31, 2018
We love coming for Halloween, it's great for the kids. This past stay was not great though. We rented a cabin without a restroom and the TVs have since been removed. The bathrooms were ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING this time! I even contemplated not coming back, but instead, we decided to rent a cabin WITH a private restroom for next year. That is not only gross, but a health hazard. Please fix this!
Oct 31, 2018
Loved my stay, just wished I had to request river side, but other than that.LOVED IT
Oct 30, 2018
Oct 30, 2018
Campground was clean but TV service was bad, could not watch.
Oct 30, 2018
Beautiful fun place!! Atmosphere at campground is fun and full of life.
Oct 30, 2018
.No cable tv service. I talked to the customer service people at the campground several times and got the impression this was an on going problem! We pay a very high rate to stay at this campground. The weather was rainy and we couldn’t even get weather or news. I asked to talk with the manager. I left my name and number but no response. We’ve stayed here many times but was very disappoin
Oct 30, 2018
I have stayed at the KOA Cherokee before. Love the area and the people were friendly. Just one issue. I requested that my TV Cable (be looked at least 4 times during my stay. I had to eventually had to connect my cable to the next site over I could only leave it there one day because it was occupied the next day. You may not be able to fix it. At least give me an replay.
Oct 30, 2018
Hot tub was badly discolored..gross! And the pool bathrooms stank. I was across the pool and could hardly stand it.the pool temp was much better/warmer this year, the grand dtrs loved it. Need to gravel all camp sites. I got stuck(site 80)after all the Rain on sat and the office gave me absolutely no help. Thanks to other campers I got out.
Oct 30, 2018
Awesome time... Thanks for the upgrade. And I'm looking forward to next year with you guys....
Oct 29, 2018
We rented a deluxe cabin instead of camping this year. It was clean and fully stocked and the staff was accommodating. The only issue I had with the cabin is that there was no covered area at all, and the porch wasn't wide enough for a dining canopy. I will sacrifice space next time to at least be able to keep a chair out of the rain.
Oct 29, 2018
I don’t think the bathrooms were cleaned at all during my stay. Also some stalls were out of toilet paper.
Oct 29, 2018
Super nice campground, we had a wonderful time. Grandkids had a ball, fishing and trick or treating.
Oct 29, 2018
Once settled we had a good time. Getting settled was horrible. I correctly identified my camper when reserving. First site way to narrow. Could not open slide and awning. Drove around waited in long line at the office given another site. Site occupied. Drove around waited in long line got third site. Site was a grass site and as it was raining a muddy site. So much for membership.
Oct 29, 2018
Back of campground needs improvement, restrooms not clean
Oct 29, 2018
The restrooms were not clean, went to take a shower and the restrooms weren't heated and the water only heated to like warm. They did not do trash pick up. The staff was friendly but unable to help with the above concerns. They made excuses.
Oct 29, 2018
Bathroom and showers were terrible absolutely nasty !!! I checked the cleaning schedule on the door the last time it was cleaned was 10/17/18 and we were there 10/26-10/28 ! I want be back to this campground
Oct 29, 2018
We were up the for a fly- flyshing tournament, we would stay there again.
Oct 29, 2018
To get close to the Great Smokey Mountains and truly enjoy the outside relaxing by your campfire, we choose to stay at KOA Cherokee. Our camp site was next the the roaring rapid river and we sat with the Best view of Mother Nature at Great Smokies KOA. Friendly people and clean sites. I plan on spending next Fall reserving my camp site!! Nothing like the Fall Crisp Clean Air at Cherokee KOA.
Oct 29, 2018
Loved it, as always!
Oct 29, 2018
Oct 29, 2018
Great area , clean campsite very friendly staff great location
Oct 28, 2018
We stayed for the week and pretty much enjoyed it. The cable still wasn't working...seems it never does. Watched many neighbors having the same problem. Of course it got crowded come Friday being the last weekend before Halloween. We did have someone who kept knocking on the camper door and running away. Not sure we'll stay again around this weekend or we'll go to the back of the campground.
Oct 28, 2018
There was not enough hot water for campground and it wasn't full. Bathhouses were cold. The site we had, was backwards, as were many others, to the table, and site hook ups. When we were willing to pay extra three days ahead to switch last night to a cabin, you had no place for us to put our camper, pop up for one night, with out charging, and there were. Lots of vacant spots.understandable,if ful
Oct 28, 2018
Our first and last stay. Beware of resort fee that you are not told about, you just find it on your bill after check in. Lots of employees in yellow shirts but most don't seem to be doing anything at all. Outside trash cans always full, grounds not kept neat and bathhouses did not have soap the entire week we stayed and just dirty . This has NOT been a typical KOA experience for us. Disappointed!
Oct 28, 2018
No cable despite promises to get it working. Bath houses need benches. Not the best KOA weve stayed at
Oct 28, 2018
The staff and personnel were very friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and they offered a heater to use for the night free of charge. There are several trout ponds along with the river that you can fish in fairly cheap for the cost and actually come away with a mess of trout. The view is also one of a kind.
Oct 28, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
Only downer was terrible tv cable reception.
Oct 27, 2018
Had reservations for 8 days. It rained the day before we arrived and the grounds never dried out. I had cable tv the first 2 nights then never came on again. I reported it 3 times, tried hooking to neighbor site which it did not work either. Paved pull through site was not near level, and mud as soon as you stepped off the pavement. WiFi spotty, maintenance seems lacking. Not typical KOA.
Oct 27, 2018
This is our favorite Koa. We stay here every year. Our stay was not great. Night 2 we had no power and froze. There was no after hour numbers on the key chain, map, or answering machine. I complained first thing so we could see to pack. No response. Refund was denied. Manager never called as stated. Called and was hung up on twice after asking to speak to the manager. Still no call/refund
Oct 27, 2018
REST ROOMS WERE NOT AS CLEAN AS NORMALLY HAVE BEEN AND SEEMED COLDER, CHECK IN AND SERVICE WAS GREAT
Oct 27, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
We were here for a week.... camping in pile of leaves that no one ever bothered to pick up!! The ladies that cleaned were the only ones who worked.... never seen so many old men riding around in golf carts not doing anything! Was disappointed�����‍���
Oct 27, 2018
Great time! Cabin was perfect for our stay.
Oct 27, 2018
Oct 27, 2018
Management needs to look at 329 and delete it from assigned campsites. A large tree roots has made one side of the site almost 1 foot higher yhan the other side of the pavement.
Oct 27, 2018
This koa is not up to my expectations to what a koa camp ground should be
Oct 26, 2018
3rd year back. Overall festive & fun environment. Kids Halloween activities gotten progressively worse. Prizes 4 contest winners lousy vs. previous years. Paying 4 bags and other contests to charity not unworthy...but kind of petty. Should b included in weekend festivities like previous years. Wife says womens bathhouse bathrooms had unpleasant odor. Haunted island was great this year.
Oct 26, 2018
Poor response from front desk, first day complained about the BBQ grill gas and coffee maker, told its fixed but when tried it did not have enough gas (appear as pressure was low), I have to abandoned the cook out and eat out side. Looks they try to save few dollars for gas and spoiled the BBQ.
Oct 26, 2018
Nice bathrooms. Sites were not too close to each other. It looked like there would be a lot of activities for kids. Lots of trees. Nice location
Oct 26, 2018
Joanne is so knowledgeable and helpful!!!
Oct 26, 2018
great to have shutell
Oct 26, 2018
We only stayed one night but the entire staff was extremely nice. We would especially like to comment on Tim the maintenance supervisor and Mike. The cable connection at our site was not receiving the signal so they both worked to make certain we got a cable connection to our RV. The entire campground was beautiful and well kept. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Oct 25, 2018
Oct 25, 2018
Very relaxing stay, with lots of fun time with family a d friends.
Oct 25, 2018
The site for the tent was expensive but I decided to go ahead and get it based on other things offered at campground. Disappointed hot tub was cool , awful smell in the shower room at indoor pool, bathhouse was not clean and water wasn't hot. Wood sold to us was so soft we went through 3 bundles in one evening. On the upside staff at the store we're very helpful.
Oct 24, 2018
Bad cable at site and bathrooms dirty all weekend
Oct 24, 2018
The only complaint was the cable reception was terrible everything was great.
Oct 24, 2018
If you having anything to complain about don't stay at this campground. You will not find a better one out there. Remember people you are camping and you are in the outdoors enjoy joy the fresh air and let your problems at home!!! See you in the spring.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals