Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Oct 31, 2019
Great place to camp. Been coming there for 5 years. If you want to complain stay home. Camping is about being in the outdoors and nothing is going to be perfect.
Oct 31, 2019
Staff was rude
Oct 31, 2019
It's our home base for camping and koa
Oct 31, 2019
Very, very disappointed in our stay and probably will not be staying again. Cherokee KOA has a problem with their housekeeping/maintenance team. On our first night, after hours we discovered the shower clip to hold shower head was broken, therefore we had to hold shower head to take a shower. Clearly the housekeeping knew it was broken, yet just left it handing upon our arrival. Aggravating!
Oct 31, 2019
We always love staying at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA and would never choose to stay anywhere else in the area. We do hope that you will someday improve the WiFi signals as we have a hard time connecting and staying on the internet (which is important as I often have to complete and deliver work while on vacation). Thanks for another great stay!
Oct 31, 2019
We were very lucky to get a last minute cabin. Just wish it wasn't right next to the glaring bathroom lights. Kind of killed the charm of having a cozy fire at night. Facilities were clean and the staff very accommodating. Had no idea we were walking into their gigantic annual Halloween extravaganza, kids EVERYWHERE, but it was fun. Next time hopefully get a more secluded cabin.
Oct 30, 2019
We loved the Cherokee KOA! Booked our next stay before we left!
Oct 29, 2019
Perfect. Staff was super and we enjoyed renting a cabin immensely. The rest of our crew had RVs, we have gone here the past 9 or 10 years!
Oct 29, 2019
Everything we needed assistance on was taken care of immediately. Very clean. Just need to give a different address to use for GPS. Very difficult to locate.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was clean, staff polite and plenty to do. Stayed in cabin (k68). Camp sites and cabins were way too close to each other and parking extremely tight. Lines were always long and slow at the camp checkin/store/grill.
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was full of children and campfire SMOKE! Campfires are part of the camping experience, but all day and night? With the planned Halloween activities, it should have been controlled. No child or adult, should have been exposed to that much smoke, it’s a health hazard! The SMOKE FOG caused severe medical issues, making our stay, MISERABLE! Management was dismissive of our concerns!
Oct 29, 2019
Our site was not first rate. It was rated as pull-through; however, it necessitated us to take our trailer over a curb. The waste connection was above the height of most waste outlets. However, even with 24 hours of torrential rain, the staff did an amazing job of keeping all of the children who were excited about Halloween entertained. The Cherokee museum is well worthwhile.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Beautiful, clean, full of smiles... thank you For the hospitality and great memories!
Oct 29, 2019
Was great!
Oct 29, 2019
There was everything I loved about my stay great price , get location right on the river , great view, great cabin , great bed , great fire place , great deck , OMG had such an amazing week with the colors changing right before my eyes. There was nothing that I can complain about. Can't wait to come back..
Oct 29, 2019
great spot
Oct 29, 2019
Great place for the family to camp! We have four year old twins (boy & girl) and there are plenty of things to keep them busy! The indoor pool is great for colder weather. All the roads in the campground are paved plus a lot of the campsites are completely concrete as well. Google Maps did not bring us in the correct way so you may need to verify the directions. We loved it and will be back!!!!!!!
Oct 29, 2019
It was ok considering when we arrived at 6pm, our cabin was NOT cleaned. Staff was hurrying to get it cleaned while we waited in the cold. Billy was very apologtic and comp us some firewood.
Oct 29, 2019
Very enjoyable we had an amazing time especially with the Halloween festivities going on my little boy had a blast !
Oct 29, 2019
Friendly staff, beautiful location! We loved the deluxe cabin.
Oct 28, 2019
Our visit was as expected. Cool fall weather. Bathhouse showers nice & hot. Only complaint was cable TV hookup had grainy picture. Stayed at site before and never experienced this issue. Minor complaint since we don't go camping to watch TV.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great time as always for halloween festivities after we got all reservations straightened out. The one thing we did not like was the trick or treating at 3. We were still carving pumpkins. Did not seem to have as many trick or treaters this year?
Oct 28, 2019
Loved the addition of the activity tent and DJ this year, the kids loved it!
Oct 28, 2019
The new management at the Cherokee KOA is obvious as soon as you walk in. Very welcoming and the changes to the camp ground ( trash pick up, organization, info delivery) is great
Oct 28, 2019
This weekend by far was the best Halloween event camping yet at KOA Cherokee. New management has done a fantastic job of getting the campground top notch this year. We had a great time! Campground was in great shape.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
We came and camped at the Cherokee KOA for Halloween and LOVED it. There’s a ton for the kids to do. Indoor pool with hot tub, outdoor pool with water slide (seasonal) , a very nice camp store, activities, VERY nice bath houses with private showers accessible from the outside, the big river runs through it, they have a grill, life size checkers, a big jumping pillow...will return ASAP!!
Oct 28, 2019
Can’t wait to come back! We love it!
Oct 28, 2019
Overall it was a good stay. Billy was particularly helpful with anything we needed. However, was a little disappointed at the lack of upkeep in a few spots (massive puddles on the back road, checkers pieces falling apart, had to try several dino bikes before one worked, etc.). I think it's a great location with lots of potential, would like to see a bit more attention to upkeep.
Oct 28, 2019
We had an unpleasant incident involving another camper occur. The management reacted promptly and sent Billy Peterson to handle the issue. Billy did a wonderful job settling the situation. He performed well above his pay grade! We subsequently enjoyed our stay.
Oct 28, 2019
First trip in our new travel trailer and we had an amazing time. Kids really enjoyed the amenities (pool, trampoline, etc.). The community of people staying there were very friendly as well. The amount of decorations for the trick or treating was over the top, we will definitely be coming back again. Thanks for a great weekend!
Oct 28, 2019
We moved from a tent site to a basic cabin due to expected rain. We were told it would be afternoon (3:00) before we could move in so the cabin could be cleaned for us. We stopped one of your employees to ask about parking. He was able to get us into the cabin in a very short time, as he was cleaning the cabins at that time. Great employee by the name of Mo Mo. Parking was an issue at #65.
Oct 28, 2019
The campground was great! The only issue we had was the haunted island. It was a 2 hour wait to get through it... it’s difficult to wait that long at night with littles; however, we had a great stay!
Oct 28, 2019
Love the stay there. Close to everything. The campground is clean and the people are very pleasant
Oct 28, 2019
It's always lovely. They've forgotten my reservation twice now when we arrived late, but it was rectified. Beautiful area with lots of activities.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great weekend in the North Carolina mountains. The Cherokee KOA was very nice. We had a one bedroom Cabin right on the Stream. Our Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to make our trip Great!!!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Me and my 3 children had a wonderful stay, the place was clean and the staff was very helpful and kind. We will be going back to KOA Cherokee , again and agian!!
Oct 28, 2019
Great place for kids but rather expensive
Oct 28, 2019
Couldn't ask for a better more friendly staff, store and grounds were both good. We have a self contained so we didnt need the use of the restrooms nor the clothes washing area. Thank you for a great stay.
Oct 27, 2019
Someone was in our site when we arrived. Shower backed up.
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Clean camping spot. Great location.
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Had a good time stayin there.
Oct 26, 2019
After checking in with a gentleman that must have been having a bad day we met Billy and Brandon two of the most kind considerate helpful KOA employees that we've ever met. Very nice neat and clean facility almost worth the price of admission.
Oct 26, 2019
Even though it rained we had a great time. Cabin was very clean!
Oct 26, 2019
Not my idea of camping. Crammed in shoulder to shoulder with other campers. 4 to 5 steps between cabins and campsites. Sitting in the front of a campfire on the very edge of the road with cars passing closely by, listening to 5 other campsite conversations around you. KOA packs them in for the money. I will think twice about reserving a KOA campsite next time.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.