Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 13, 2018
Great stay. Great for kids. Only problem we saw were broken doors in bathrooms and showers and bathrooms were pretty dirty or clogged toliets.
Nov 13, 2018
As always had a great time even in 24 degree weather.
Nov 13, 2018
We appreciated the electric heater your office loaned us!
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
I stayed in a river front RV lot. I had friends who stayed in cabins. We asked to be close to one another for convenience - especially since one was handicapped and needed our assistance throughout the stay. However, we were spaced out as far as possible at opposite ends of the campground. The cable reception was poor in the cabins. One bath house was very clean, the other was dirty.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
Spent a lovely but rainy week at this campground. Quiet with friendly staff and guests. Bathroom was clean and showers were mostly hot with some fluctuation in temperature. Laundry room was clean as well. Lots of activities for children.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
We loved our KOA stay! It was our first time at a KOA but will not be our last. The staff was awesome and the cabin was great.
Nov 12, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at KOA only wish it could have been a longer stay.
Nov 12, 2018
Just needed a place to crash for a night on the way to somewhere else. They had a clean full service site available. Sent a young feller out to help get to, and into, the site, which was a nice touch. Place had amenities out the wazoo and not too many long-term residents, which I appreciate in an RV campground. Shower was cold; otherwise I'd certainly stay there again. I recommend highly.
Nov 11, 2018
Did not enjoy our stay. Had a lot of problems with the cabin and had to be moved to another. Am handicapped and and a veteran and was not pleased at all
Nov 11, 2018
Nov 11, 2018
We’ve stayed here the first weekend in November for the past 3 years and again it was a great getaway, my kids really enjoyed it, the place was kept clean and all of the staff was friendly
Nov 11, 2018
Pool and hot tub water was brown. Bathrooms were filthy. Cabin smelled like wet dog (we do not own a dog) Haunted Island opened an hour late while we stood in the cold and rain, was too dark to see on the path. Roads need work. Fire pit by plaza was never lit. Over priced.
Nov 11, 2018
We always have a wonderful time at the Cherokee KOA. The staff is amazing and so accommodating. My only complaint for our most recent stay would be the high speed traffic by our cabin. It was more than one or two vehicles but that is just the life of high speed, go go go, people from the city. Will be back in the spring!!
Nov 11, 2018
I didn’t get the cabin I wanted, although over the phone they told me I could have it. Then when I asked to get another cabin or at least in the back near the creek or upgrade the front desk rep told me, “no, and that they were all full up.” However, I was there for three nights and they were not.....
Nov 11, 2018
Upon arrival, we checked in late into our cabin. The smell in the cabin was alarming and took a couple hours to get use to, until we stepped back outside the next morning. We didn’t get much help from the office the next day or day after and they never called me to resolve the issue. It would have been a great stay if that cabin didn’t stink so bad!
Nov 11, 2018
Still love this area. The changes in management, housekeeping, maintenance have made me less likely to reccomend it to my friends.
Nov 10, 2018
Nov 10, 2018
Very friendly and helping staff. Especially Billy. Helped us find another cabin to stay in since the cabin we requested was a mud pit due to the rainy weather . He then checked on us throughout our stay. Thank you Billy. We thought it would have been nice for them to give us a free upgrade cabin since no cabins were being used. We love staying here
Nov 09, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved it. The cabin was cozy and right on the river so the views were unbelievable. The one thing I think this campground could work on is the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers. Not sure if they got cleaned at all the entire week we were there. But otherwise it was an awesome experience!
Nov 09, 2018
Not all the bathrooms were being maintained.
Nov 09, 2018
Had the best time ever in Cherokee. Will definitely be back soon in stay in at the KOA. Loved it
Nov 08, 2018
The deluxe cabin was very welcoming and clean. The view with the river off your porch was beautiful. The staff were extremely nice.
Nov 07, 2018
It was very nice. Clean bathhouses and grounds. Friendly staff.
Nov 07, 2018
Enjoyable as usual. Only negative was cable reception. Koa did the best they could to fix the problem . We always have a pleasant stay at koa
Nov 07, 2018
Nov 07, 2018
I was a very peaceful stay. Beautiful scenery and I enjoyed the relaxation in my fishing experience.
Nov 06, 2018
Great experience. Deluxe cabin on the river. It had everything we needed and more. Well maintained and clean. All staff personnel were courteous and professional. We'll definitely visit again.
Nov 06, 2018
it was very loud at night The water wasn’t hot enough in the showers children everywhere and not supervised on the bright side staff was very friendly
Nov 06, 2018
Campground was nice staff all very accommodating and friendly, There were a couple of things that could have been better. Heated pool was not very heated. Hot tub was cold and the bathroom shower house smelled awful. Not sure the issue but I think that the automatic flushing toilets may help. It was hard to spend enough time in the shower house to actually shower with the smell.
Nov 06, 2018
We love this campground! I am normally not a huge fan of internet/tv while camping but it is nice amenity at bed time to stream movies or just watch tv. But every time I have been to Cherokee KOA the TV never works, maybe 2 channels max. Always the same response, cable is down. Both campers in our buddy site pulled out early because we were wanting to college football. Other than that, great
Nov 06, 2018
I was unaware of not having a fire pit. We had stayed many times at the SAME cabin. I’m a Koa member and asked to be moved to a site with a fire pit. They said they didn’t have availability. I rode by several EMPTY cabins like ours and they were empty until the day we left. Very very disappointing that this happened. Even asked if we could use an empty tent site for a fire. No was the answer.
Nov 05, 2018
Cable tv reception was poor . WiFi excellent.
Nov 05, 2018
Much better than last time. I've stayed at this KOA several times and always enjoyed it until my stay about a month ago. Staff that weekend was rude and lacking knowledge. They had my husband back into a pull through site and we spent the weekend without sewer hookup because of it. Very disappointing. This trip was much better. Everyone was knowledgeable and friendly. Very pleasant stay.
Nov 05, 2018
Hi there, My family enjoyed our vacation and the location of the KOA immensely, but there were a couple of things that I need to point out. I was very disappointed with our site #96. It was not at all what was promised when I called to make reservations. A dumpster within 10ft, a fish cleaning station that drains into our site, and a barbwire fence is not a great site. We tried to change
Nov 05, 2018
Extremely helpful staff. This is a perfect campground for children and for adults as well. Will go back again.
Nov 05, 2018
Nov 05, 2018
Everyone was friendly. Restrooms were clean. Kids loved play areas! The pool was a bit dirty. I think it just needed more chlorine. Overall, great stay!
Nov 05, 2018
Nov 03, 2018
When we arrived we found our cabin didn't have any power. After speaking to the staff we were upgraded to a two room cabin next to the river at no extra charge. We were quite satisfied with our accommodations! The staff were very nice and helpful especially Brandon and the after hours staff. The community bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. We will probably be back again next Oct.
Nov 03, 2018
Second visit to Cherokee KOA. Very pleased that the cable and wifi problems from last year have been corrected.
Nov 03, 2018
This was our 2nd year in a row we stayed at the KOA and we even ended up with the same cabin on the river. Plenty of room for my family of 5 and only a few minutes drive from downtown Cherokee.
Nov 03, 2018
We enjoyed the campground quite a bit. It is quite large with good facilities. It could not be in a more beautiful location. We will be back.
Nov 03, 2018
Nov 02, 2018
Very fun time and beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Bath house was nice decor but hadn’t been cleaned in a while and was a mess. We are planning on returning next fall!
Nov 02, 2018
Large campground with nice store and extras. Shower, however, never got warm and with tons of open spots we were put next to a family with loud kids across from the pool. Next time I'll request someplace in the back
Nov 01, 2018
Great stay, enjoyed all the trick or treaters and other festivities of the Halloween weekend.
Nov 01, 2018
probably our last time. sense i retired this year we can no longer afford to stay here
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals