Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Nov 18, 2019
We are fisherman and we loved our stay and we were extremely happy that we were able to check in early for a small fee. Johann is AWESOMENESS! She is always a pleasure to work with. The fishing was awesome, the weather was perfect. I have been coming to this KOA for 20 plus years now. Thank you for everything.
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
The premium camp site by the river was very pretty however our fire ring was knee deep in leaves. I love the fall and do not mine the leaves but the site was covered completely. Also, the camper beside us had 2 dogs that left them in the camper while they left for 14 hours. The dogs barked all day. I reported to one of the many workers riding on the golf carts. Felt real bad for the dogs.
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
Wonderful place, nice people, great for kids.
Nov 18, 2019
We have been coming here for nearly 17 years. Rachel and her staff are doing such an incredible job upgrading the campground. The front office staff, particularly JoAnn P. makes it an awesome time checking in, and helping with any/all questions we have ever had!! Keep up the great work!! See you in 8 days!!
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
Great stay, great staff, good surroundings
Nov 18, 2019
The water pipe froze overnight and no one told us there was no heat tape on the pipe or any way to prevent the freezing.
Nov 18, 2019
Very accommodating to changing schedules.
Nov 18, 2019
Awesome facility, my family had a great time. I cant wait to go next year
Nov 18, 2019
Me and friends stayed here for my birthday! Had a great time!! Will definitely be back. Only complaint I have is that our room did not come with a heater in it, like other locations I’ve been to!
Nov 18, 2019
Staff was friendly and the campground was clean, but the cabins are not accurately advertised. I booked a cabin on the river and got a cabin at the pond runoff stream.
Nov 18, 2019
Great all around family campground very quiet at night a lot of amenities plus it was very cold outside but they had a indoor pool and hot tub
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
Very Nice KOA. There were a few Muddy Spots from Recent Rain, however as long as you ask for a Concrete pad this should not be an issue. The Campground is in a very nice setting with Mountains and Trees all around. Very Close to Cherokee.
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
Was very nice the only thing that bothered us is that the site smelled like dog poo. Only noticed it when outside our camper, with the leaves on the ground made it hard to see it. Other than that awesome facilities and friendly staff.
Nov 18, 2019
Super clean cabin and I indoor pool area. Intelligent and friendly staff!
Nov 14, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. The cabin was just perfect with our two dogs. Thank you so much for accommodating large dogs.
Nov 13, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Very friendly staff, helped us with all of our needs.
Nov 12, 2019
Very nice facility. My only issue was that the cabin we stayed in shared power with another cabin so it kept popping the breaker when we turned up the heater. Other than that it was satisfactory.
Nov 12, 2019
Everything was great. Two things I think need attention though. 1. We arrived just after dark and the man showing us our spot could not find it. I had to show him where it was. 2. The trash can by the back shower house was always almost full. I'm sure there was a place to put our trash but it was not apparent to me except for that can. We really did enjoy our stay
Nov 11, 2019
Had a great time clean and well staff park, we had a site right on the creek it was great listing to the flow of the water over the rocks.
Nov 11, 2019
my stay was fine. However I was in office in line and another couple was there c/o that they still had no heat and didn't plan on staying another night without heat. Person said they would do what they could but all heaters were being used. I would suggest operating like Disney: I would have said, I am sorry , let us help move you to another cabin that has heat already. would have made hap
Nov 11, 2019
very beautiful !
Nov 11, 2019
We had such a great stay in the cabin on the river and loved the gas fireplace. We saw an otter in the river from our deck, lots of elk in the smoky mountains, wild turkeys and 2 groundhogs at the smoky mountains farm location. Everyone at the KOA was super friendly & helpful. Dottie and the rest of the team in the store were informative and all the housekeepers were kind&helpful.100%Recommend!
Nov 11, 2019
Very nice park. Great scenery, level pull throughs, I thought it was a little pricey for what you get.
Nov 11, 2019
Tried to cancel to get my refund but every time I called it was busy and I called daily. Even up to the day before hand, but I always got the busy signal noise. Never got a refund. I would still stay here in the future but they need to fix their communication outlets.
Nov 11, 2019
Planned to stay at campground that was full, found this instead. It was great! Awesome amenities... I'm just sad we didn't bring our swim suits. The kids had a blast on the jumping pillow and it was pretty close to the National Park.
Nov 11, 2019
I’ve stayed at better KOAs (Thousand Islands area, Canada). Friends stayed here during their Honeymoon. Years past, I’ve stayed here. You are the highest priced campground that we have ever stayed at. (USA & Canada). I will not stay here again, due to cost alone. Very Sad and Ironic, a Company owned KOA tarnishing the Company own image. We travel 3 months a year. KOA is now “only a last reso
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
We came for a quick family getaway and it was perfect.
Nov 10, 2019
The pool/hot tub was nice, though it could have been cleaner,and wi-fi and cable tv was good. The staff was very friendly. I would rate this KOA a 5, but the bath house closest to us was not cleaned for over two days, even after I told the clerk it needed attention and the dryers did not work (I was not offered a refund). KOA is the most expensive campground and I expect a lot when I pay top $.
Nov 10, 2019
Very nice stay. Great dog park and the river views were awesome. BL
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Campground is wonderful. The staff is great. Would recommend anyone especially if they have kids to stay at the KOA in Cherokee
Nov 10, 2019
Very large site, great little steam to fish, and the people were very friendly.
Nov 10, 2019
Everything was GREAT except our site was littered with candy wrappers (probably left over from Halloween celebrating). Will definitely return.
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Great facilities, clean very nice area. Staff in store/check in was so helpful.
Nov 10, 2019
We loved it
Nov 10, 2019
Loved it! Beautiful location. Well maintained and super friendly!
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
We came for my sons 11th birthday and we couldn't have asked for a better stay! The cabin was perfect size. The spacious porch overlooking the water was perfect for the birthday party. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms were so clean! Thank you all so much!!
Nov 10, 2019
The location of this campground is very good. Nice to be able to fish in the ponds. The campground and bathrooms we clean . They could manage the leaves better. The site pad was clear but the area around the site and grill were thick with leaves. I had to use our broom to clear a buffer around the grill before I could start a fire. The site they gave us was not very good so we moved
Nov 10, 2019
Great time with the family and lots of things for the kids to do
Nov 10, 2019
Clean, warm, friendly! Can’t wait to come back!
Nov 10, 2019
The largest campground we’ve ever stayed at! The site we rented for 2 days was right on the river, but like many campgrounds it was a bit small for our 28’ trailer. Overall had a pleasant experience.
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at home. Her husband is also awesome with getting you set up and filling propane! We had a slight issue with a cab service to shuttle us to Harrah’s. (No Uber/Lyft Available) Rachel happened to be around while we found a second plan for transportation. After she found out what was going on, she offered to shuttle us to the Casino with no questions asked. We truly couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be returning very soon and I hope you visit KOA of Cherokee!
- JJ Smith on Google
Feb 18, 2020
Great campground. Friendly staff. Lots to do even in the off season. We will be back.
- Stacey Niedentohl on Google
Feb 16, 2020
Was great . Perfect Valentine's weekend.
- Clara willard on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.