Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 22, 2020
Everything went without a hitch. Very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 22, 2020
The staff was very friendly and helpful getting checked in and parked. The park was very quiet and peaceful for as busy as it was. We will definitely be back.
Jun 22, 2020
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 22, 2020
This was our first time staying here and we loved it! The staff there were super friendly and helped in any way. So much to do especially for the kids! We will definitely be back!!
Jun 22, 2020
Getting the camper in the spot was a little rough as the guy who took me to the spot took me the wrong direction and it took about 45 minutes to get my 35-foot camper in the spot. After I was set up it was a delightful experience and we loved the KOA we will be back. But next time I'm going to scope out the spot before I drive to it to find out my angle.
Jun 22, 2020
I love the campground. Wonderful place and very friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2020
Cabin was nice and clean-Bathhouse was exceptionally clean...The fishing was lousy...I'm not sure if they are stocking, or it is the crowd over fishing, but there was very few fish caught by anyone that I saw or talked with.
Jun 21, 2020
Friendly, helpful staff. Installing new playground equipment while we were there. Campground filled up as the week progressed. As always, it is a great campground in the Smokies!
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
After 30 years this unfortunately will be my last!! Tent site with just roots and mud. No grass at all!! My confirmation said 20 × 25 grassy tent pad!! Couldn't even put a 10×12 tent up that wasn't on a root! Water over our ankles every time it rained. Bathroom went over 2 days with no cleaning! Rudest and most inconsiderate staff I have ever met. Do yourself a favor stay at River Valley!
Jun 21, 2020
My family and I have been camping at this KOA for about 35 years now. Seen a lot of changes, some good and some not so good but that's the way it goes. For the most part this park is clean and the staff members I encountered were friendly. The park was trying to do everything they could considering the COVID restrictions so it was different. I gave 5 stars for their effort in safety management
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 20, 2020
Had a wonderful time!
Jun 20, 2020
Jun 20, 2020
We had a great time. Cabin was perfect. Staff were awesome. Hoping to go back in a yr or so.
Jun 20, 2020
My family and me have been staying at the Cherokee KOA for over 30 years. We love the camp ground, trails, shops ,fishing,etc. It hurts me to say anything negative but the grounds, pools , and cabins need some major maintenance and upgrades. The staff is nice and polite but they seem to be untrained and overworked. I hope the KOA is updated before its to late. Worst fishing in 30 yrs. 6-16-2020
Jun 20, 2020
Pros- clean restrooms, friendly staff, as well as very helpful ( vehicle battery died while they and they came to our rescue 6/18/20) cons- firewood and campsites with water and electric a little pricey. We definitely enjoyed our stay though and will be back. Loved the Bear boxes. ( didn’t have one last time we stayed there)
Jun 20, 2020
Best campground in Cherokee! Clean and beautiful. Has everything! We'll be back!
Jun 20, 2020
The cabin needed a good cleaning and the bathrooms were not clean enough thur the day.
Jun 20, 2020
We enjoyed our “first time” visit at the Cherokee KOA! Actually, this was our first visit to any KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very clean and comfortable. The fact that we were able to have our 2 dogs with us was great and the dog walk and nearby dog park was very convenient. Our grandson enjoyed the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, there was definitely a lot to do there!
Jun 20, 2020
There were tons of things to do I just wish that there wasn't the coronavirus or we would have allowed our kids to take advantage of everything
Jun 20, 2020
We loved it! I have no complaints at all! The staff went above and beyond with any request we had!
Jun 20, 2020
I would definitely return in post coronavirus times. The cabin was clean the staff was very helpful there was a lot to do. However beyond 50% occupancy & a lot if signs no one read, there were no safety precautions for covid 19. No one, including staff, were wearing masks. No one at the amenities was social distancing. Occupancy restrictions at the pool or store were not enforced or maintained.
Jun 20, 2020
In cabin: Dish soap, a few more trash bags. RECYCLING facilities somewhere!! It’s 2020!! These would make the stay perfect!!
Jun 19, 2020
I booked a cabin and paid extra to be on the river. The River has been dammed up and had been for awhile. . We had a view of a bunch of rocks. The staff were very rude and said they could not control the dam. But they can control how they advertise those cabins and the price. We also had ants all in the cabin.
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
We came to fish with our grandsons for the last 2 years and enjoyed the campground but very disappointed in that for 2 years not catching a single fish. I know that the campground has no control of the ponds however I think that you should have communications with the Cherokee fishier as far as when they are stocking the ponds. I could not get any info from the staff as to when they stock.
Jun 18, 2020
We absolutely loved staying here! The cabins and campgrounds were clean and efficient. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Theres so much to do and explore on the campgrounds you dont even really have to leave to find adventure and fun. We are definitely making this place our favorite annual vacation spot.
Jun 18, 2020
Just a great KOA.
Jun 18, 2020
We had a great time. It’s a quite campground with lots of activities to do. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Jun 18, 2020
Jun 18, 2020
First timer: It started with Dottie doing a wonderful job with reservations. Check in was smooth, followed by terrific Rick who led us to our cabin. The cabin was beautiful and very clean. We are very happy with our stay. Every time we went to an activity or main entrance, we were welcomed. Great activities for the kids. Tubing, fishing, ,crafts and karts were super. Thanks for the memories!
Jun 18, 2020
Very friendly and relaxing place to stay!
Jun 18, 2020
Great 4 day experience! All aspects of the time spent there was pleasant. Cabin was clean and all features functional as was the nearby comfort facilities. Staff members Priscilla and Darren were helpful, accommodating and friendly. We are planning now for another visit later this year.
Jun 18, 2020
Clean cabin. Grill lighter was broken, but grill still worked once we used the lighter. One of the Adirondacks had a broken arm rest. Staff were mostly friendly. But everything else was great!
Jun 18, 2020
It was fantastic from start to finish. The cabin was beautiful, it had everything we needed. The grounds were impressive. The indoor and outdoor pool is great and activities for just about everybody. We will be back!
Jun 18, 2020
Had an excellent time. Going back in July again. Beautiful, clean, great place!
Jun 18, 2020
Facilities well maintained, a little muddy because of rain. Staff helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2020
One of the handicap toilets didn't work the whole time we were there. The odor was horrible. The phone number given didn't let us call the office. We were not given a key and the cabin was locked. I had go back to the office to get one. The office/store was VERY understaffed and caused lines from 6 to 8 people and a long wait. All was over the posted safe limit of 6. This camp has been better.
Jun 17, 2020
Cabin advertised as being on Raven Fork River absolutely WASNT, mattress on pull-out couch was awful, cabin was very close to neighboring cabin, Grille was supposed to open for breakfast at 9 am on Saturday morning but as of 9:30 still wasn't open everyone waiting left campground, blowup waterslide was told would be ready for children by 1 pm & as of 3 pm still wasn't ready. Very unorganized.
Jun 17, 2020
We had such a wonderful time! Friendly staff and great properties. The only 'issue' was inside the registration/camp store. There was hardly ever enough people working at the desk and often there was a long line of back-up. I don't know if another area could be open to help folks buying things in the store so they didn't have to wait behind registration people. I would leave often.
Jun 17, 2020
Front desk staff not friendly at all. No kuerig in our deluxe cabin, was a brought dusty regular pot. Website should have included that no amenities were open besides pool. 1 thing of toilet paper for a family of 5? Our cabin between a family and they continually were walking on our patio the whole time! The older gentleman who helps with the bicycles was EXCEPTIONALLY caring and helpful!
Jun 17, 2020
We loved our stay and can't wait to come back.
Jun 17, 2020
The general store needs to be more efficient. There should be a separate cashier window from the reservation windows to accept customers who make purchases from the general store. The lines was so long and customers who just needed to purchase an item(s) had to wait 30 mins for clients who are checking in or making reservations.
Jun 17, 2020
We had a great time
Jun 17, 2020
This KOA was great.. Even with all of the chaos going on, the staff was still super friendly and helpful!!
Jul 11, 2020
Very clean cabins. Very nice people.lots of things for the kids to do..just all around a great place to stay
- roger mcabee on Google
Jul 10, 2020
GREAT fishing
- ikonik652 epip games on Google
Jul 09, 2020
It's a nice place to relax and enjoy the outdoors. Also its great fishing in the ponds!
- Cherri Keller on Google