Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2017
Enjoyed the Halloween weekend for a 2nd year. Ryan (Ops. Mgr.) was very commendable in handling our reservation. A few observations about the kids events ... we thought last years pumpkins decorating was better with the stick on faces rather than the paint. Never did know who was the winner of the pumpkin decorating contest, wasn't posted. What happened to the coloring sheet contest?
Oct 29, 2017
Jonathan was exceptionally helpful and polite during our stay. On our first day, he stopped by to ask if things were ok. Additionally, we decided to stay one more night and although the reservation desk didn't have availability, he was able to work with the operation mgr to find us a site. He's very customer focused and his goal is high customer satisfaction. Only problem is bad wifi.
Oct 28, 2017
We love the camp ground, but 3 out of the 4 campsites in our group were messed up as far as the dates were concerned. Several other groups had the same problem. Not sure whatâs going on in Cherokee.
Oct 28, 2017
Very nice campground with nice People. Working there . The pool and hot tub were a nice touch too. The sites could use gravel so they would not be so muddy after the rain
Oct 28, 2017
We had a beautiful site #234. When we come back will most definitely ask for it!!! Our only complaint ... no phone coverage, but that is not your fault. WiFi coverage was very spotty. Could you improve this? The only reason this is an issue - I had a family emergency And had to drive out of the area to even get initial notification. Any suggestions for us to prepare for future visits?
Oct 28, 2017
Nice place to camp motorcycle friendly paved roads threw out.
Oct 27, 2017
the camp grounds and staff were the best hated to leave and cant wait to come back even though I didn't catch any fish the only place I will stay at cheerokee recommend this koa to everyone I know
Oct 27, 2017
Great but kids everywhere they was walking out in front of cars very unsafe
Oct 27, 2017
The staff was rude, untrained and seemed to make up rules as they went. I was charged for a double spot and told nothing else was available when I booked. After I got there, this clearly was not the case. I will not be back.
Oct 27, 2017
Wonderful stay to watch the fall colors in the smokies very quit this time of year it was wonderul. The deluxe cabin was great on the river but it could use a few more hooks to hang towels and clothes. Also a small coffee table in living room would be nice. But we had a wonderful time and will be back for sure. The staff was great!
Oct 27, 2017
We had a good time and the staff were friendly.
Oct 27, 2017
Oct 27, 2017
Love the location and river. Always escorted to our site by nice folks. The sites are a little bit squeezed together, but a great base camp for hiking in the Smokies. A really nice feature is the fact that they clean out the fire pits after each stay.The wifi has always been sketchy and annoying. No ATT coverage in the campground. Our third stay here and we will plan to return.
Oct 27, 2017
Enjoyed staying there great place great people
Oct 26, 2017
Site 229 has to be the WORST "Deluxe River-view" on property. It was NOT worth $65+ a night. It was crowded and our view was not of the river but into the cabin next door. Luckily, the cabin was empty. Also, the hook-up was difficult being at the very BACK of the site. Not sure we would stay in a river-view again if we had to take the chance of getting this site again.
Oct 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much
Oct 26, 2017
Enjoyed our stay, KOA was crowded but well run.
Oct 26, 2017
Large & Friendly, this is a great place for families. Multiple play spaces, large bouncy field, reclining cycles & indoor heated pool year round. Outdoor pool & water slide in season. Older folks should plan to arrive & stay Monday - Thursday as weekends are crowded & lively. Hopefully KOA has plans to redo or freshen up the indoor pool & spa. I spent many hours there.
Oct 26, 2017
We had 2 sites beside each other. My daughter's site had trash and stumps and broke glass at the site next to her. We complained to no avail. The sites were dumpy without the site they had to look at. Cable only worked for a couple of hours out of the whole week end. Staff was friendly and security was good. Just won't go back there again, because of the site they have us. Other sites were open.
Oct 26, 2017
Absolutely best camping I've had in years
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Absolutely beautiful campground. Truly blessed by nature. Recommend you see it in the Fall!!
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Great Halloween themed weekend. The haunted island was a joke because we waited in line for 1 hour and moved 30 feet. My son was so disappointed because we had to leave the line. Also the indoor pool was nasty and the hot tub is gross. Needs major cleaning.
Oct 25, 2017
This was the first time I had stayed at a KOA. The first thing that happened was they put us in the wrong Kabin I reserved one along the river. They had some on the river and on the creek side. I asked and paid for the view of the river. I talked to the manager she really didn't seem to care she told me that well the creek goes to the river and there was nothing she could do. The Kabin was nice.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
One problem I have is happening at all KOAs we've stayed at in the last three years. Free WIFI is offered up in your ad as if it can be used, but it doesn't work for us. There needs to be a dedicated connection with repeaters throughout the park so everyone can get on it & use it. The only time we were able to get online was during the night very late. no cell phone service either.
Oct 25, 2017
Liked everything about this campground, EXCEPT (1) no cell service (2) wi-fi is sketchy -- at best. Even with my booster, I was lucky to be able to recover email once, or twice, a day. I'd say 55 of every 60 minutes there is no internet connection. So be prepared to drive into town )4-5 miles) to get cell service or wi-fi.. This is a great park for families.
Oct 25, 2017
Loved every minute of it!
Oct 25, 2017
This was our second stay, very happy with both stays, great facility, plenty for the kids to do. We were pleasantly surprised about the Halloween decorations and trick or treat, we didn't know that was going on.
Oct 25, 2017
We have been making this our annual trip for over 10 years! We always look forward to camping at Cherokee KOA!! Looking forward to next year, if not sooner!! Love the improvements!!
Oct 25, 2017
My wife and I like staying in the Kamper Cabins when we are here. It is a good location close to the National Park. There are also a lot of activities when we bring some of our grandchildren. My wife would like to see a mirror in the cabin. We also miss the swings that many of the KOA cabins have.
Oct 25, 2017
We weâre supposedly upgraded to a premium pond site. It was more of a sediment catch basin. With a torn up chain link fence with barbed wire falling off of it. There were drainage pipes that smelled of sewage behind our trailer. We will definitely not be staying again. As for Cherokee I felt like a tourist in my own state. How many gift shops can you have. Really? Our first and last time at a KO
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Spent 6 nights at this location. Personnel was wonderful and service was wonderful. We were never at a loss of things to do....or we could just do nothing. Would recommend this location to anybody!
Oct 25, 2017
Awesome camp ground!!!
Oct 25, 2017
great stay but the internet service may be advertised as being available but does not exist!!.. no one in the camp and i spoke to many could get on or stay on the internet service. I tried every day on my phone or laptop and was unsuccessful. it literally ruined a big aspect of my travel and that is my work and posting on websites. i hope you can get that problem really fixed.
Oct 25, 2017
My wife and I spent 5 nights. Brought 4 of our grandchildren for 2 nights. They participated in the costume contest and 2 of them won second place. Then they joined in the costume parade. Then we took them trick or treating. Then later they did the haunted trail. They had a blast. They love this campground because there are so many things for them to do.
Oct 25, 2017
Absolutely love this place!
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
Staff was helpful and friendly as always looking forward to next trip
Oct 24, 2017
Upon arrival the deluxe cabin we stayed in was very dirty, dirt on the floor, bed, kitchen; looked like behind doors were never cleaned at all, bed had dead bugs on it. Just very messy. Staff was RUDE. The Halloween Haunted event was unorganized and had to wait over an hour for a few feet in line, we just left. We didn't even stay the 2 nights we paid for, we left after one night. Not returning.
Oct 24, 2017
We loved stayiing at the Cherokee KOA. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed everything about it! The cabin was stocked with everything needed, other than food and clothes. The staff was very courteous and so helpful.
Oct 24, 2017
We did have an issue checking in..kind of our fault and lesson learned, but it's nearly impossible to arrange 4 campers on two buddy sights...I myself have been there every year at Halloween in 10 years, and you have done a terrific job in the past. Used to be funner, more organized. The last couple years have been a little chaotic and messy. Will try again, but stop adding fees!! Getting expensiv
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
Lot's of amenities and nice people. Bathroom facilities have been upgraded since my last stay, but shower pressure continues to be a problem.
Oct 24, 2017
The site was clean and neat. Wi-Fi was bad. Could not communicate with family or send pictures because the wi-fi was very bad. The staff was wonderful and very helpful when we had a problem with the cable and they were very friendly and pleasant to be around.
Oct 24, 2017
We told the desk staff that our fireplace wasnât working....they said they were going to send someone to the cabin to fix it. No one showed up....I called about 10:30 and left a message.....a very nice gentleman showed up about midnight stating he could not fix it and that we would have to wait the next day to have someone else fix it. We decided not to call someone we only had 1 day left.
Oct 24, 2017
Great staff was very friendly. Great level spot. Bathroom be and shower was super clean. Loved the be beautiful surroundings. Loved the fishing spots.
Oct 24, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin for 2 nights. The first cabin (222) had roaches and they sent us to another cabin. In the second cabin (386) the door going to the bunk beds was off one of its tracks but we did not use the bunk beds. Overall, we would come back. Laura who escorted us to our cabin was exceptional. Her personality would make us come back and stay.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award