Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2019
There was everything I loved about my stay great price , get location right on the river , great view, great cabin , great bed , great fire place , great deck , OMG had such an amazing week with the colors changing right before my eyes. There was nothing that I can complain about. Can't wait to come back..
Oct 29, 2019
great spot
Oct 29, 2019
Great place for the family to camp! We have four year old twins (boy & girl) and there are plenty of things to keep them busy! The indoor pool is great for colder weather. All the roads in the campground are paved plus a lot of the campsites are completely concrete as well. Google Maps did not bring us in the correct way so you may need to verify the directions. We loved it and will be back!!!!!!!
Oct 29, 2019
It was ok considering when we arrived at 6pm, our cabin was NOT cleaned. Staff was hurrying to get it cleaned while we waited in the cold. Billy was very apologtic and comp us some firewood.
Oct 29, 2019
Very enjoyable we had an amazing time especially with the Halloween festivities going on my little boy had a blast !
Oct 29, 2019
Friendly staff, beautiful location! We loved the deluxe cabin.
Oct 28, 2019
Our visit was as expected. Cool fall weather. Bathhouse showers nice & hot. Only complaint was cable TV hookup had grainy picture. Stayed at site before and never experienced this issue. Minor complaint since we don't go camping to watch TV.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great time as always for halloween festivities after we got all reservations straightened out. The one thing we did not like was the trick or treating at 3. We were still carving pumpkins. Did not seem to have as many trick or treaters this year?
Oct 28, 2019
Loved the addition of the activity tent and DJ this year, the kids loved it!
Oct 28, 2019
The new management at the Cherokee KOA is obvious as soon as you walk in. Very welcoming and the changes to the camp ground ( trash pick up, organization, info delivery) is great
Oct 28, 2019
This weekend by far was the best Halloween event camping yet at KOA Cherokee. New management has done a fantastic job of getting the campground top notch this year. We had a great time! Campground was in great shape.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
We came and camped at the Cherokee KOA for Halloween and LOVED it. There’s a ton for the kids to do. Indoor pool with hot tub, outdoor pool with water slide (seasonal) , a very nice camp store, activities, VERY nice bath houses with private showers accessible from the outside, the big river runs through it, they have a grill, life size checkers, a big jumping pillow...will return ASAP!!
Oct 28, 2019
Can’t wait to come back! We love it!
Oct 28, 2019
Overall it was a good stay. Billy was particularly helpful with anything we needed. However, was a little disappointed at the lack of upkeep in a few spots (massive puddles on the back road, checkers pieces falling apart, had to try several dino bikes before one worked, etc.). I think it's a great location with lots of potential, would like to see a bit more attention to upkeep.
Oct 28, 2019
We had an unpleasant incident involving another camper occur. The management reacted promptly and sent Billy Peterson to handle the issue. Billy did a wonderful job settling the situation. He performed well above his pay grade! We subsequently enjoyed our stay.
Oct 28, 2019
First trip in our new travel trailer and we had an amazing time. Kids really enjoyed the amenities (pool, trampoline, etc.). The community of people staying there were very friendly as well. The amount of decorations for the trick or treating was over the top, we will definitely be coming back again. Thanks for a great weekend!
Oct 28, 2019
We moved from a tent site to a basic cabin due to expected rain. We were told it would be afternoon (3:00) before we could move in so the cabin could be cleaned for us. We stopped one of your employees to ask about parking. He was able to get us into the cabin in a very short time, as he was cleaning the cabins at that time. Great employee by the name of Mo Mo. Parking was an issue at #65.
Oct 28, 2019
The campground was great! The only issue we had was the haunted island. It was a 2 hour wait to get through it... it’s difficult to wait that long at night with littles; however, we had a great stay!
Oct 28, 2019
Love the stay there. Close to everything. The campground is clean and the people are very pleasant
Oct 28, 2019
It's always lovely. They've forgotten my reservation twice now when we arrived late, but it was rectified. Beautiful area with lots of activities.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great weekend in the North Carolina mountains. The Cherokee KOA was very nice. We had a one bedroom Cabin right on the Stream. Our Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to make our trip Great!!!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Me and my 3 children had a wonderful stay, the place was clean and the staff was very helpful and kind. We will be going back to KOA Cherokee , again and agian!!
Oct 28, 2019
Great place for kids but rather expensive
Oct 28, 2019
Couldn't ask for a better more friendly staff, store and grounds were both good. We have a self contained so we didnt need the use of the restrooms nor the clothes washing area. Thank you for a great stay.
Oct 27, 2019
Someone was in our site when we arrived. Shower backed up.
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Clean camping spot. Great location.
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Had a good time stayin there.
Oct 26, 2019
After checking in with a gentleman that must have been having a bad day we met Billy and Brandon two of the most kind considerate helpful KOA employees that we've ever met. Very nice neat and clean facility almost worth the price of admission.
Oct 26, 2019
Even though it rained we had a great time. Cabin was very clean!
Oct 26, 2019
Not my idea of camping. Crammed in shoulder to shoulder with other campers. 4 to 5 steps between cabins and campsites. Sitting in the front of a campfire on the very edge of the road with cars passing closely by, listening to 5 other campsite conversations around you. KOA packs them in for the money. I will think twice about reserving a KOA campsite next time.
Oct 26, 2019
Made reservation Arrived 25’ trailer would not fit on site Office said they were busy i would have to wait Offered alternate site without sewage for a 7 day Stay. I refused Offered a site that was terrible Had to park parallel to road with awning sticking iut over the edge if the road Moved to better site on sunday Office people have no idea of rv site sizes or issues Very disappointed
Oct 25, 2019
People beside us in 232 had a camper, 2 vehicles, golf cart, and 1 utility trailer on the lot. Made a lot of noise playing loud music and popping fireworks in fire pit. Stayed up past midnight and had 2 tents over picnic table with bright lights shining on our site.
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
Had a wonderful time. The cabin was outstanding. I enjoyed the trick treating but it was unfortunate we had all the rain to put a damper on it. I will be back next year.
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
We had a great stay until check out day.When we went to hitch up our fifth wheel we found one of the front jacks not working. The front desk was very helpful in referring two companies who might be able to help. We couldn't get anyone to help until the next morning. We had to stay. We were stranded and unable to move and we had to pay full price. Wish there could have been a discount or something.
Oct 25, 2019
I was a little disappointed in my stay this time. I know the weather you can't help but I wish they would have had the activities indoor if it was pouring rain. We got stuck in the cabin because of the weather. Lots of things were missing or broken in our cabin, the mattress on the pull out couch was nothing but coils. the light in our room above our bed, one was broken and one was completely miss
Oct 25, 2019
Over-all Great experience.... Loved the week-end planned activities, looking forward to your Thanksgiving activity weekend!!! Only issue I had during the stay had nothing to do with the campground itself; my site was against the trout pond and across from this was a resident, every time a car would pass their dog would go crazy with the barking... Nothing really that KOA can do about this...
Oct 25, 2019
Paid over $90 a night for a spot that was suppose to river front (was not) and right beside the bounce pad. The desk employees were rude when I went and asked about paying this much for a misrepresented site and offered no alternatives, will not be back.
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
Awesome
Oct 25, 2019
Great fun as always.
Oct 25, 2019
Should come for the Halloween fun
Oct 25, 2019
We always have an enjoyable stay! The staff is kind and accommodating. The only thing that I would improve is the parking for the cabins on the point. The parking was a tight fit for most of our stay but the view of the river and the little creek made up for it. I could’ve sat around the campfire for a few more days and watched my family fish. I look forward to staying here every year!
Oct 25, 2019
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.