Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 19, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Beautiful setting with plenty of things for the children to do.
Apr 19, 2019
I always love staying here. The staff is always great and the facilities are always great!
Apr 18, 2019
Apr 18, 2019
I’m really happy we went back! I met the new manager she was Great! Everything was very nice! Also a shout out to Mike and Brandon who were very helpful! Making plans to go back! Glad the old manager is Gone! Love this place!
Apr 18, 2019
This KOA is gorgeous! Our cabin was perfect and in the most beautiful setting on the river. We didn’t have much luck in the trout pond, but were in a arms length away from a group that had tremendous luck! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bath houses were remodeled well, but floors could have been swept more regularly and kept up. Overall, Can’t wait to go back!
Apr 18, 2019
We had so much fun during our stay! The property is so clean and beautiful. We will be back!
Apr 18, 2019
Great place to stay ! To bad we stayed only one night, and it rained . My family of four stayed in a Deluxe cabin , sleeps up to four. The cabin was in good shape. Bathroom was clean ,with no signs of previous visitors, that's a great thing! Great living area, wonderful kitchen , awesome flowing creek to listen too! I will be back !!!
Apr 18, 2019
Apr 18, 2019
Excellent stay and it is well maintained with a lot to do.
Apr 17, 2019
Apr 17, 2019
we only stayed 3 nights and weather was not great but the campground very well keep and clean and the staff is great; we will definitely be back!
Apr 17, 2019
The campground is in a beautiful area with good, clean amenities. The staff is always extremely kind and helpful. Our family will continue coming here due to this.
Apr 17, 2019
We had a blast! Grandkids loved the amenities and we loved camping next to the river!
Apr 17, 2019
Great family get away! Loved having a cabin as an alternative to a tent but at about the same price. We will be back!!!
Apr 16, 2019
Great staff.
Apr 16, 2019
Staff was friendly and helpful. Pretty place in between 2 mountain ridges. Was very clean. Bathrooms recently redone. Will be back
Apr 16, 2019
WHEN I CHECK IN I FOLLOW THE DRIVER TO THE CABIN AND HE SAID HERE IT IS AND LEFT THEY DIDNT OPEN THE DOOR TO THE CABIN TO SEE IF EVERY THING IS GOOD IN SIDE. WE HAD BLACK ANTS IN THE CABIN I STOP ONE OF THE HELPER THERE AND TOLD THEM THAY SAID THEY TAKE CARE OF IT BUT NOBODY CAME . MY BUDDY PAID FOR A CAN OF BEANNE WE AND IT WAS BAD THEY WOULD NOT EVEN GIVE US A SPOON TO EAT IT WITH. THAT SORRY
Apr 16, 2019
Apr 15, 2019
Beautiful location! Very clean campground
Apr 15, 2019
Looks like they are in the middle of making alot of improvements. Enjoyed our stay in the cabin on the river.
Apr 15, 2019
Great location....maintained well...had a few issues that were totally resolved by Rachel...plan to stay there again hopefully this year.
Apr 15, 2019
Other campers were very loud both before and after the quiet hour. Our tent site was close to the trout ponds and we were woken up around 5:30am by loud fish men and the smell of cigarette smoke coming from them.
Apr 14, 2019
Very clean, beautiful and friendly Campground
Apr 14, 2019
Arrived on a Friday for a basketball tournament. Saturday morning I had a family emergency and had to leave. The staff was wonderful and accomidating. My husband and daughter were able to stay in a cabin for the remaining days. Would definitely recommend staying here. Very family oriented , lots to do and we'll kept!
Apr 13, 2019
It was very nice
Apr 13, 2019
Communication with the campground prior to our stay was not very well maintained. After we arrived we felt like the person who checked us in was rude. Our cabin had no screens on the windows so we couldn't leave the windows open at night to enjoy the sounds of the river. When we checked out we inquired about returning for the 4th of July and were told that most people booked that a year in advance
Apr 13, 2019
Everyone we met was very nice and helpful. It's a very large campground almost to big. Most of the equipment in the restrooms needed repair. But we still had a good time.
Apr 13, 2019
Apr 12, 2019
The reception area/store is beautiful, as well as the pool area. We have a 26 foot travel trailer and asked for a pull through site since we are new to camping. The site we were given was a bit rough with a tight turn space, a lot of tree roots and very old asphalt. I imagine it was cheaper than the big rig sites that looked very nice. The site just wasn't KOA standard, is all.
Apr 10, 2019
Everyone is friendly and helpful.
Apr 10, 2019
We will never return to this camp. We stayed here ten years ago and just loved it, not the same park now
Apr 09, 2019
We had a wonderful time! The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We spent 4 days here and can't wait till our next stay! It's a great place for the entire family!
Apr 09, 2019
Great place!
Apr 09, 2019
Loved it! It’s a beautiful little valley all to itself, surrounded by mountains and with the fabulous Raven Fork River running through it.
Apr 08, 2019
Love New management. Been camping here for over 20 years and thinking about making a change but not now!
Apr 07, 2019
We absolutely loved everything about our stay! This was our first visit to this KOA, but we left immediately planning a return trip. Our cabin was clean, and right on the river so the kids could play. Our kids LOVED the bouncy pillow and indoor pool! And this was the pet-friendliest place we've ever stayed! Our cabin had bowls for our fur babies, and treats! So nice! We'll definitely be back!
Apr 07, 2019
The staff were so helpful as we were “after hours”. They patrolled the camp and were easily available to help and answer questions. Very accommodating.
Apr 07, 2019
I have been coming to this location for years . This was the only time I have been totally disappointed . The woman who checked is in was confused about everything . The bathhouse was nasty and had no toilet paper for two days in a row . The worst part was when we checked into our cabin the first night there was some sort of pill just laying in the bed . I had my young granddaughters with me .
Apr 06, 2019
We enjoyed staying in Cherokee as always, but on this trip the camp store closed early two nights in a row. This forced us to make two unexpected trips into town.
Apr 06, 2019
Great place to bring your kids, 4 legged too! Very clean, friendly staff, lots to do. Cabins are very clean and right on the beautiful river. Would definitely recommend to my family and friends to stay here when visiting Cherokee!
Apr 05, 2019
SOOOO glad to see work being done to this campground. Been coming here for many many years. Seen park go down fast with no work being done. Still along way to go but work has began. Like to see more entertainment come back to campground. I remember when bands would play on Friday and Saturday nights. Arcade for kids and adults. Love the fishing but I also understand fishing isn't for everyone.
Apr 05, 2019
Good campground and staff. Had a great time fishing in the ponds with the grandkids.
Apr 05, 2019
Very good
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
our stay is always pleasant. we love the area and the new management knows what customer service is all about. Rachel the GM was outstanding and handle our situation with great care. JoAnn in the store/office is one outstanding lady. So very polite to us and to our family. Why not 5 stars? well the indoor pool bathrooms were nasty, and other bath houses around the park. Laundry not cleaned too
Apr 04, 2019
Trout tournament was awesome
Apr 04, 2019
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals