Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
Apr 05, 2019
our stay is always pleasant. we love the area and the new management knows what customer service is all about. Rachel the GM was outstanding and handle our situation with great care. JoAnn in the store/office is one outstanding lady. So very polite to us and to our family. Why not 5 stars? well the indoor pool bathrooms were nasty, and other bath houses around the park. Laundry not cleaned too
Apr 04, 2019
Trout tournament was awesome
Apr 04, 2019
Apr 04, 2019
Love this place I come every year staff is always awesome
Apr 03, 2019
great as usual
Apr 01, 2019
Overall great experience at the Cherokee KOA. The water placement was inconvenient at site T43. Right in the middle of the campsite and creates a muddy mess in your spot. Moving the spigot should be considered.
Mar 31, 2019
This was my second stay. This time was definitely better than the last. The campgrounds are nice and clean, the staff is super friendly and very helpful. The inflatable jumping thing staying opened past sunset now (it closed at like 6 last time) was my kids’ favorite part of the trip. I can’t wait to go back again. This place is paradise for my little family.
Mar 31, 2019
It was still very cold when my wife and I came in March. The campground was basically empty. Be we love to camp here no matter the season. We stayed in a micro deluxe cabin and it was very clean and tidy. I have recommended this KOA to many of my friends and family. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. The trout fishing is awesome here, just saying!
Mar 31, 2019
10 times better than last year now that they are under new management
Mar 30, 2019
We had a great time. Plenty of things for the kids to do and it was a safe environment.
Mar 30, 2019
Mar 28, 2019
Service & cabin was amazing will be coming back soon!
Mar 28, 2019
RV Site was too small with slide outs which where too close to power box. After hours telephone support is non existent. Campground shut off water without notification. It would have been nice to know before trying to take a shower.
Mar 27, 2019
Great
Mar 27, 2019
Great stay. Our cabin was nice and clean. The kids had so much fun playing on the jumping rug. It was a indoor pool which is great for the cold rainy days. But the pool area need some love and the showers smelled like poop. We didn’t go near it. The other showered were great.
Mar 26, 2019
Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful!! Very welcoming! We had a small mechanical issue on our RV as we were leaving and a staff member went out of his way to help us troubleshoot and remedy. Great activities for kids!
Mar 26, 2019
I've never had a complaint before about this KOA and we've stayed several times throughout the past two years but this trip was definitely the most horrible trip that I've ever had the store has had some Renovations and look nice but not as many available items as they had before it was just an overall very bad experience this time hopefully next time will be better
Mar 25, 2019
The location is great and the new management is certainly trying to improve the grounds
Mar 25, 2019
Very nice
Mar 25, 2019
When we checked in, took us to the smaller plot available. Had to go back to desk to re check in and pay addition money to a pull thru lot. Also, booked this resort for the fishing ponds and nobody told us when we booked they were closed due to an upcoming tournament. Could have stayed at another campground for almost half the price so am disappointed to say the least with my first visit to cherok
Mar 25, 2019
I booked online for a cabin on Raven Fork River. My emailed statement even stated this. When we got to the campground they gave us a cabin that was not on the River. I paid extra for a river cabin. They gave me the run around and said if you book online it's not guaranteed what cabin you get. It was an absolutely horrible experience. They gave us a full refund so that was the only positive.
Mar 25, 2019
We had a great time!!! Everyone of the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. A big thank you to all of your team!!!
Mar 25, 2019
I'm not sure that the spots on concrete with nice picnic tables are really worth $45 more than the gravel ones. why not have nice tables on all of them.
Mar 25, 2019
Lovely campground that is a nice location due to its proximity to the Smokies, and Scenic Railroad, and other various activities. We were kind of disappointed that there was no real game room. We weren't very happy with the bath houses (they need some work). Staff was outstanding!
Mar 25, 2019
Would have given 4 stars but 1 of your front desk office employees was a little rude in some comments he made. When I questioned someone about the phones not being answered & voiced my concerns regarding if an emergency came up and someone needed to get ahold of a guest I overheard him tell her well they should just stay home. Other things were said that just shouldn’t have been said in the open
Mar 24, 2019
Great site very level. Friendly staff.
Mar 23, 2019
This is my second visit and I would highly recommend this KOA to a friend. Very clean and well kept bathrooms. Very friendly staff. Beautiful scenery. Coulded ask for more. We will be staying again.
Mar 23, 2019
We have stayed here before. Normally in the one bedroom older cabins with everything furnished. This time we stayed in the newer efficiency cabins. There was no silverware ect. As we sat down to eat we saw a couple of roaches, later in the night and in the morning as we were getting up for the day we started seeing even more roaches. However I will come back
Mar 22, 2019
Live this KOA. The location is perfect and every employee is the best. We have made 3 trips here (every March) andnlove it more every year!
Mar 22, 2019
Mar 21, 2019
Mar 20, 2019
We had a great weekend relaxing and spending quality, un-plugged time with family!!
Mar 19, 2019
Mar 19, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA before, and really enjoyed it. Not so this time. The hot tub was under repair (NO warning, still listed as an amenity) and the heated pool was freezing (not so the time before!). These were the only reasons we came to Cherokee KOA. ALSO, and this MUST be addressed, the six person cabin we stayed in has NO HEAT OR AC OR CURTAINS. Not listed as such. Unacceptable!!!
Mar 19, 2019
No hot water in 2 of the bath houses. No Ice machines. No TV, bedding , or coffee maker in small cabins.
Mar 18, 2019
Great Staff, very friendly and accommodating!
Mar 18, 2019
Another great time. Grandkids had a blast. Hot tub not working. My loss. Pool was perfect. Thanks.
Mar 18, 2019
Everyone went out of their way to be accommodating and always spoke when out and about. Area was clean and well kept. Already booked again for July!
Mar 18, 2019
Very well laid out. Clean bath houses.
Mar 18, 2019
Mar 18, 2019
Had a wonderful time. Staff was great ! Friendly, helpful, and quick to respond to our every need.
Mar 18, 2019
Awesome mini getaway
Mar 17, 2019
This was the third or fourth time that I have stayed at this KOA and one of my favorites. My kids and I enjoyed the deluxe cabin, our surroundings and the heated pool. When we come back to the Smokies, this is going to be our place to stay.
Mar 16, 2019
The indoor pool and jump bag were awesome. However, the playground needs to be replaced as it has broken slides and no longer seems safe. Also, be prepared for a noisy road right by the tent sites.
Mar 15, 2019
I've been staying at this facility for over fifteen years During this stay I paid for a full hook up site and my electric hook up wasn't working properly Maint pers came and looked at it but didn't fix it told Supv would come look at it but didn't Was offered another site but with weather raining ran off generator 1 night. Mngmt didn't seem concerned didn't hear from them Hot tub not working
Mar 14, 2019
We were given a hard time about changing our payment method. We were moved to a smaller cabin then what we reserved. The staff was rude. The coffee pot had black mold floating in the reservoir. Pet fees were not disclosed. After we paid we were told we had to pay an additional 30 dollars but not what for.
Mar 12, 2019
Always a 5 star stay everytime. We always stay at koa/Cherokee, when we visit and that is 3 to 4 times a year.
Mar 12, 2019
A little early season, new management. Very friendly and accommodating.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals