Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Dec 02, 2019
It was wonderful! The staff was SO friendly and the amenities were amazing! Tons for the kids to do and lots of fun walking/hiking paths. We had a great time!
Dec 02, 2019
Great place nice sites clean baths lots to do�
Dec 02, 2019
The staff did a really great job with all the activity’s for the kids. And sharing a Thanksgiving dinner was really special. Nice campgrounds. Sites were spacious.
Dec 02, 2019
Our site was great, first of all. Everything else was not so great. The roads throughout the part had huge pot holes that you could not see when it rained, and we really messed up our golf cart. There was no playground or game room. The only thing the kids could do was jump pad and basketball. The trout ponds that you had to pay to fish in were not stocked as they said they would be.
Dec 02, 2019
Great accommodations
Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Stayed Thanksgiving 2019. Campground was about full capacity. Campground was clean and orderly. All was well. Can't wait until next chance to go back!
Dec 02, 2019
Great place very clean just minutes away from downtown very friendly and helpful staff
Dec 01, 2019
It was very good. I only wish the playground wasn't being removed on a holiday week so the kids would have had more to do. Loved the activities during the holiday wknd but we left on friday so we couldn't take full advantage of that. Some activities for campers who were staying earlier that week would have been great.
Dec 01, 2019
This was our 2nd time here and it was incredible again. Extremely friendly staff at the desk in the office building that also is a gift shop and very handy items you can use if you forgot to bring it from home like fishing pole, flash light, ropes and other camping stuff. Cabin was awesome with fire place and grill. Planning on returning every year.
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
Would've been nice to know ahead of time that there was no heat in the cabin and that we could not rent linens. Also screwed up my parent's reservation. Otherwise the bathrooms were mostly clean, the cabins however were not (we found old food on the floor that were not from us). They also did not enforce their own rules on leashed dogs which is a recipe for a dog fight.
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
We had a great time. Your Christmas decorations were lovely and it was so nice that you had a thanksgiving dinner for all of the campers! We liked the trash pick up service that you have now and the remodeled general store is looking great. Our one suggestion - please maintain the fire pits in the deluxe sites. Ours was very deep and we had to find rocks to put in the bottom to build it up.
Dec 01, 2019
One of the best KOA I have ever visited
Dec 01, 2019
The front desk staff was super nice and welcoming! Facilities were well maintained and the bathrooms/showers were warm and clean:)
Dec 01, 2019
Dec 01, 2019
Friendly and very family oriented place to take the family for a vacation! The staff were very friendly and very helpful too!
Nov 26, 2019
It was great. We have been going to KOA in //Cherokee for many years. love it
Nov 26, 2019
Great, lots of fun, beautiful, comfortable.
Nov 26, 2019
Nov 25, 2019
We have stayed here several years in a row. The staff is very helpful and we really like the cabins.
Nov 25, 2019
No heat in the cabin. Also the breaker kept tripping through the night.
Nov 24, 2019
We had everything we needed; the employees were very helpful, the conditions were excellent. I can think of no serious faults.
Nov 23, 2019
All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. First time at this KOA,and will definitely come back. Area very clean. Transportation was very good into the surrounding area. You have an awesome team!!
Nov 23, 2019
Great staff. Wonderful sites. Great location. Open all year
Nov 22, 2019
The welcoming lacked what should be experienced coming to a family campground. Questions about Halloween festivities which brought us to try KOA for the 1st time were rushed & the staff seemed bothered when explaining events or activities. The recommended site was extremely tight and Found out from staff, the place was double booked. The kids loved the blob & we enJOYed costume dress up.
Nov 22, 2019
Very friendly and well kept
Nov 22, 2019
Enjoyed the trout fishing. Spoke with with other campers and all were having a good time.
Nov 22, 2019
I felt very welcome as soon as I walked in the office. The campground was very clean and well staffed. Everyone that I spoke with was very nice. After three days in the National Park campground it was really nice to have a clean restroom and nice hot shower. I was on a ten day road trip and having a laundry machine there was really nice. I already plan on coming back next year sometime.
Nov 21, 2019
Very secluded but beautiful........ Plenty of room at the newest pads lots of different things for the kids during the seasonal months. Clean bath houses if you use them and if you're looking to stay in a cabin there's plenty of them also. If you want back in the country but also want a place for conveniences like full hookup then this is it.
Nov 21, 2019
We had a fantastic stay, the cabin we stayed in was perfect and well taken care of/clean.
Nov 20, 2019
Nov 20, 2019
Nov 20, 2019
Disappointed in the service at check in. Stayed here for fishing and was told the fish ponds were closed and not stocked. All activities and restaurants advertised were closed for the season and none of it was mentioned in the email prior to arriving. Would’ve been nice to know on the email that was sent out days prior that these things were closed. Website still has material from mid summer.
Nov 19, 2019
Enjoyed the stay.
Nov 19, 2019
Lovely Camp ground, Clean, and personnel were very helpful, very nice camp sites.
Nov 19, 2019
Staff was friendly. We enjoyed the amenities, indoor pool, playground and trampoline. The cabin sites are to close I hated walking through neighbors space to get to our cabin. Price was to much for what we got.
Nov 19, 2019
Excellent time. Staff was friendly and took care of any issues we had. We didn't want to leave.
Nov 19, 2019
We love staying at the Cherokee KOA. The last few times, the cleanliness of the bathrooms could be improved. No other complaints. Thanks for a great vacation!!
Nov 19, 2019
As always a wonderful time. Very clean and quiet. Staff all very nice and helpful. Can't wait to come back.
Nov 19, 2019
The cabin we rented was dirty and had an odor to it when we arrived. The notified staff and they did clean it immediately along with five us a 10% discount; however, the odor in the cabin remained and the cabin still was not extremely clean.
Nov 19, 2019
The extra fees I had to pay when I got to the campsite needs to be noted on the website, so there are not any surprise fees upon arrival. Also, I had someone else trying to stay at our campsite after we checked in at the office. I did appreciate a hot shower and the bathrooms were clean. Nice amenities were at the camp, however we did not use them.
Nov 19, 2019
Joann is OUTSTANDING and a pleasure to deal with. Had a problem with the 30amp service and the maintenance guys went out of their way to help me and resolve the issue. Only downside to the weekend was the cable reception was poor.
Nov 19, 2019
No problems
Nov 18, 2019
We are fisherman and we loved our stay and we were extremely happy that we were able to check in early for a small fee. Johann is AWESOMENESS! She is always a pleasure to work with. The fishing was awesome, the weather was perfect. I have been coming to this KOA for 20 plus years now. Thank you for everything.
Nov 18, 2019
Nov 18, 2019
The premium camp site by the river was very pretty however our fire ring was knee deep in leaves. I love the fall and do not mine the leaves but the site was covered completely. Also, the camper beside us had 2 dogs that left them in the camper while they left for 14 hours. The dogs barked all day. I reported to one of the many workers riding on the golf carts. Felt real bad for the dogs.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.