Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

The Best Kept Secret in Central California!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jan 10, 2020
I have always enjoyed my stay in the cabins at KOA. However, as a senior adult, it would be helpful to have hand holds in the bathroom to assist with use of the toilet and shower. I am looking forward to my next stay. It is particularly helpful during the annual memorial run for my granddaughters.
Jan 09, 2020
We always love being and staying there. This time the heater seemed to goining out and they moved us to a better cabin with no extra charge. We absolutely love thst place. We have been going there for the last 5 years. Love it.
Jan 08, 2020
Very nice campground! Loved the animals and the location. Thanks.
Jan 08, 2020
Great place!!
Jan 07, 2020
family groups. all close together. great time.
Dec 30, 2019
While we were the only campers there, Kimmie Ann was so very warm and gracious. She made sure to make sure everything was meeting our standards. While this KIA would primarily be for lake use and families I would recommend it to people who fit that description. We also lived Kevin the emu. Thanks.
Dec 30, 2019
Dec 28, 2019
We rented two cabins for our family Christmas gathering. The cabins were very clean and had all the amenities we needed. Super friendly staff and always on hand for whatever we needed. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the grounds. We will definitely recommend this KOA to our friends and will return for another stay in the near future!
Dec 25, 2019
Fantastic experience! Most definitely will return for some Rest & Relaxation at Santa Margarita KOA in the future.
Dec 24, 2019
Kim was very helpful
Dec 23, 2019
Dec 05, 2019
We really enjoyed staying in the Yurt!
Dec 05, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
Great campground, great service! Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Coming back in summers.
Dec 02, 2019
Had a great time even with the rain. The jumpy was great fun for our 9 kids in group. Kevin was awesome. ....however, your electrical problem was awful. We were afraid for our turkey being cooked and our heaters keeping us warm. Hope you can fix the problem so we can come back next year.
Dec 02, 2019
Awesome Thanksgiving week (even with the rain and mud!) Camp hosts were very hospitable and accommodating. Beautiful setting fun primitive cabins-- perfect reset for our tech-addicted adult kids! Quality time was had and we will be back.
Dec 02, 2019
Kim Ann and Vince were the best hosts!! They helped us immediately! We had a little power outage and Vince came over within minutes. They were both so nice. I cannot believe how many things there are to do there. I want to go when it is nicer out. I love the jumping pillow, Kevin the Emu, Camp Store and dog play yard. Our little cabin was impeccable.
Nov 29, 2019
The campsites were very narrow and not flat. Not a pretty location just Trees and dirt. Large bathroom that needed cleaning.
Nov 27, 2019
Nice campground!
Nov 25, 2019
Very friendly service! Bathrooms a little dated
Nov 25, 2019
koa staff r the best and made or stay even better can't wait to go back
Nov 24, 2019
Returned to this koa after 20 years and it was extremely quiet and enjoyable, wonderful memories and will return again.
Nov 22, 2019
Very clean and well maintained. Had a great stay.
Nov 19, 2019
Nov 19, 2019
Had a good time. Campsites were spacious. Grandkids loved the bounce pillow and Kevin the emu. Friendly staff. Easy check in.
Nov 12, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff. I arrived late and it was dark. My fault, but I could have used some help getting into the site. They did help me when I jackknifed my toad.
Nov 11, 2019
Our scout troop reserved a spot. Staff was amazing and helpful from start to finish of or trip. Clean and big spaces.
Nov 11, 2019
friendly staff, great scenery, wild turkeys, an emu, and great nearby hiking at santa margarita lake
Nov 07, 2019
The staff are the best ever
Nov 05, 2019
Very nice and clean. Kept up well. Very friendly staff. We will for sure be back !
Nov 05, 2019
What an awesome experience at KOA Santa Margarita friendly staff great amenities bathrooms very clean full hook up I recommend anyone looking too camp or fish to visit thanks KOA
Nov 04, 2019
Quick overnight stay, staff very friendly and campground appeared well maintained. I realize the cabins are going to be dusty but for $130 night I at least expect a clean bathroom, free of clumps of hair on bathroom floor etc.
Nov 02, 2019
I had such an enjoyable stay , the employees were so sweet and accommodating, the entire campground was clean lots of different animals to see the weather was perfect the entire time I was there I had such fun
Oct 30, 2019
It was great! The little store in the front office was well stocked. The entire camp grounds were immaculate, the bathrooms and showers were also. The little cabins were decorated with white icicle lights which gave a cozy mountain feeling. The staff were extremely pleasant, and helpful! I will make reservations to stay there again!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
It was so dirty and dusty!!!! You had us right on the corner between 2 roads and the dust just billowed every time someone drove by. (watering the road might have helped) We had paid for 2 nights, but, left right after the first.
Oct 29, 2019
Nice place
Oct 29, 2019
Had a great time . the cabin was wonderful! The Lady at the front desk was awesome and very helpful.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Friendly and helpful staff. Our first stay at the cabins. Great experience. Our third time staying at Santa Margarita KOA. We love this place and will be back.
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
Everything was perfect for us. The reception was great and a gentleman helped us with our dumping of Rv. Very nice location would love to visit again
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Great place to stay & relax.
Oct 20, 2019
Great customer service...KimAnn was so helpful ...taking great care of us.
Oct 19, 2019
The bathroom needed paper towels for all 4 days we stayed and there were more spiders than usual in the stalls and shower. The new mattress pads are harder than the old ones, they made sleeping a bit difficult. Other than that, everything was wonderful. Thank you.
Oct 17, 2019
We got there late 9pm. There was a walkies talkie at the door saying if you need help, please call and directions on how to use it. Campsite is very dark. We have a class A. We found our reservation, yellow card for tow and map. We called for help because of darkness and size of coach. called at least 10 times. We know how to use these walkies we use them for business.Horrible customer servic
Oct 16, 2019
Easy check in, beautiful grounds, spotless bathrooms!
Oct 16, 2019
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!
Jan 20, 2020
Great location, amenities and overall cleanliness.
- Animesh Dutta on Google
Dec 12, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. One request - Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Dec 10, 2019
Cabins were small and cozy. My grandson loved the pool, playground and jumping pillow. The little store has everything you need. Very friendly staff. Several bathrooms all around the park. Reaaly fun, will be going back.
- Stony H on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.