Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Info: 805-438-5618

Email This Campground

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2018
Weekday Stay in a Deluxe Cabing...Enjoyed the Peace and Quiet!
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Kim was very sweet and friendly and this was one of the nicest KOA we have stayed so far. Our cabin was very nice and very private with own hill top and great view of the stars. The camp sites was not too close together so you have more space and bit more privacy. Kevin the Emu was the star of the camp site with the kids. We really enjoyed our stay here and we will be back again! Thank you!
Sep 18, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
We arrived at the office at 5:30 pm, there was no one around. We found our way but the campground is nothing but dirt and the tent site was ridiculous. It was carved in the hillside, the drive up to the site needed a four wheel drive vehicle to get to the tent site. everywhere was dirty. This KOA is not for people who are traveling to other places. We decided to forfeit the 55$ and take a motel.
Sep 18, 2018
very friendley staff
Sep 17, 2018
We had such a great time at this KOA. The cabin was very comfortable and had all the comforts of home. We had a fire and s’mores on Saturday night and enjoyed looking at the stars. The weekend was perfect!!
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Loved the rustic feel of the campground. The yurt was AMAZING! Office staff was sweet and gave my children lollipops as soon as we arrived and when we checked out. My children loved the jump pillow! We will definitely be back! The customer service was also excellent as I had to reschedule our original trip and it was really easy to do so.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
We had some noisy neighbors but the response from the office was top notch. There is a little something for everyone. Everything was clean and maintenance was excellent.
Sep 17, 2018
We loved the area and how close it’s to San Luis Obispo and the lake. The trailer spots were very close to each other. The entire camping site is very dusty. The staff was very nice and professional.
Sep 17, 2018
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bathrooms very clean. Decent sized campsites with Fire-Pit and BBQ.
Sep 17, 2018
Enjoyed the area and weather Hiking around the area was enjoyable
Sep 16, 2018
Wonderful and spacious wood cabins in a lovely setting
Sep 16, 2018
Our neighbors were very loud! The didn't respect other other campers. There just wasn't any supervision from KOA staff. Next to our tent was a jumping pillow and about 11 pm the group of drunk people came and made a lot of noise when they jumped and no one from KOA came to made them quiet. But the neighborhood was really cool!
Sep 15, 2018
Sep 15, 2018
Everyone was very friendly! On our way home we saw the KOA staff picking up trash on the main road to get to the KOA. THANK YOU!
Sep 15, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
Great cabin! So clean and quaint, but with all the modern conveniences. Staff very accommodating and helpful. Will definitely book again. Centrally located so met up with parents. Used the park'n'ride lot off the freeway 1st before check-in to go to the coast. The lake is a jew. Went kayaking the next day. Overall, a very memorable experience.
Sep 12, 2018
Great KOA !! Had a wonderful stay. The hosts were very welcoming, and friendly. We will definitely return.
Sep 12, 2018
All facilities were old, outdated, and poorly maintained.
Sep 11, 2018
nice and quite.great pool
Sep 10, 2018
great staff and fun location thanks
Sep 10, 2018
So hot & dusty! Very nice people, deliciously cool pool, fun jumping structure, and comfy beds but just too hot and (b/c windows has to be open) much too loud (unmonitored after hours) for summer camping.
Sep 10, 2018
Very impressed with facilities and variety of accommodations available. Kim was excellent in her explanation of what is available, the history of the camp and full of information of the area. She was very enthusiastic and a joy to talk with. Big Thanks!
Sep 10, 2018
had such a pleasant time. The main host woman (blonde) was AMAZING and super helpful
Sep 08, 2018
The one complaint is there was a group staying below our campsite 92 that was playing music over a speaker system from 8am. all day up to 10pm. they were doing yoga and speaking over a speaker system through the day that the whole campground could hear without regard to all the campers around them. When you are camping it should be peaceful. Management should have stepped in.
Sep 07, 2018
In all fairness we got there late at night, parked and left early, no idea what the grounds were like, however we would go back
Sep 06, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
Biggest issue: Very limited number of bathrooms. It was Labor Day Weekend, KOA was full, and there was only one toilet and shower combo for ~40 people on ~15 nearby campsites. More bathrooms and showers are needed. There were lines to that one bathroom as late as 10:00 PM. Otherwise: great stay; loved the primitive site we stayed at, the camp store, and the fire rings. More bathrooms = perfection
Sep 05, 2018
Nice and comfortable tent camping. Plan to book a cabin in the near future. I like the availability and the chance to stay only 1 night during the summers.
Sep 05, 2018
Roads were dusty and campsite was narrow on a steep side slope which made it hard to get in and out of. It was close to a nice lake for boating and fishing. It was also close to drive to the beach.
Sep 04, 2018
It was great as usual, we stay there every Memorial day and Labor day weekends, the KOA here always have something to do, from crafts to hay rides, to bingo, it's a blast, my family and I love this place.
Sep 04, 2018
Clean campsites were really nice and shaded. It would be a bit nicer if the store/check-in had been open later than only 5PM since I'd rather not have to figure anything out or find where my site is when I'm on vacation...but otherwise, beautiful night view and a good stay!
Sep 04, 2018
Thanks! had a great time away from home. Nice and peaceful.
Sep 04, 2018
The Deluxe Cabin was cute and on top of the hill, we had a great view of the mountains and sunset. The campground has a lot to offer, Emu, jumping pillow, pool etc. However, the floors were dirty as if no one mopped after the last guest. The utensils had water marks and needed rewashing, the dishes were still wet, as if someone put them away w/out drying them. The curtains were dusty and dingy.
Sep 04, 2018
Kids had a blast. Clean campground with good amenities. The activities were super exciting for my preteens. Definitely coming back!
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
We had an amazing trip!!! campgrounds were clean & well maintained, the kids had a great time at the playground :) our family & friends will definitely be back!!!
Sep 01, 2018
good help both on phone and in store
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
It was so fun for the whole family!! The kids did not want to leave!.. The people there are so awesome! We look forward to going back!!
Aug 28, 2018
We enjoyed our stay and had a great time, only bad part was a little bug problem. I am sorry to say my daughter-in-law helped us pack up and accidentally packed one of the pot holders so when we return next year I will bring some new ones to replace the one we took..See you next year!@
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Staff very friendly but the meat bees were horrible the smell of sewage wasnt very pleasant either.
Aug 27, 2018
Nice location, plenty of activities, amazing staff!
Aug 26, 2018
Very nice campground. The ground under our tent was slanted though, which made it difficult to sleep.
Aug 23, 2018
Nice camp site. Not easy to walk because it's very hilly. But being in the hills, it's very private. Would stay here again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals