Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2019
Wonderful host,makes it possible to reach her at all hours of the day. Campsite is separated and spacious.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
The nicest lady at the front desk greeted us immediately when my girlfriend and I walked in, her name was Kim Ann. She was the sweetest and most informative person imaginable. We ended up loving the campsite and the attractions. We fed an Emu, jumped on the jumper till we couldn't and swam in the pool on the hottest days. We stayed an extra night in a cabin, it was amazing!
Sep 17, 2019
Everyone was so friendly. Great spot for base camp. Vineyards all around. Great Antiques in Santa Margarita and San Luis Obispo Can't wait to go back.
Sep 17, 2019
The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bounce pad was fun for my kids. We enjoyed the pool for four hours. The pool was really cold and refreshing on a hot day but if you go on a colder day then you may want to skip it.
Sep 16, 2019
fantastic as always, love the staff
Sep 16, 2019
We love Santa Margarita KOA! Our stay was so pleasant! Kim was so helpful and she's always smiling! This is our second time staying at santa margarita this year! We just wish that the slope at our cabin wasn't so steep! We almost couldn't make it at the top..hahaha! Other than that everything was perfect we'll just choose a lower cabin next time! Love! Love! Santa Margarita!
Sep 16, 2019
We were very disappointed that there were no activities for kids. On the website it’s displayed like there was a lot of stuff going on.
Sep 15, 2019
Great kampground but very busy
Sep 15, 2019
A very nice campground with good space between sites and clean grounds. I arrived late...about 8 PM and still a woman greeted me as she was leaving the office and offered assistance. I love the small cabins. So simple yet functional. This is my favorite place to stay near San Luis Obispo.
Sep 15, 2019
Dirty and inconvenient!
Sep 14, 2019
I was in RV site 27, it is a little dangerous due to the extreme slop on the utility side, I would suggest enforcing the hillside with either cement blocks or railroad ties and then leveling the sit as there is a dramatic slop downward to site 26. The grounds were extremely clean and very kid friendly. I would suggest for a family or group of families, not really a place for a single couple.
Sep 14, 2019
Nice quiet campground. There’s nice play area for kids and Emu on site for kids to see. Pen for Emu is really small kind of feel sorry for it.
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Very relaxing place to unwind! Had a great time.
Sep 09, 2019
I’ve been to KOA camps since the 80s and this one is beautiful, but our site was tight. If we had brought two cars, not sure if they would have fit. The main issues were the lack of privacy between sites (too close) and no site administrators making rounds to quiet down campers past 10 - I had to yell extremely loud at other campers after 11 PM to shut off music and stop singing - ridiculous!
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Wonderful. Helpful. Fun. Awesome people. Michelle is great.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Dirty and dusty. The restroom/showers were abominable.
Sep 04, 2019
Super happy to be back. Everybody in the office was so nice and helpful. We brought a big group of about 50 campers with us and many are planning to come back! The foam party was awesome, kids were grateful for the movie and next time we have to jump on the GLOW HAYRIDE :)
Sep 04, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and absolutely had THE best time. Kids had lots to do and staff was super friendly and attentive.
Sep 04, 2019
Very hard to get to the bathroom, water spigot was damaged and could not connect a hose, need more shade, otherwise an ok trip...
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
We live next to the generator the whole 4 days it was on every single minute. It doesn't feel like we are camping in nature but rather living on a construction site. The cabins some of the families stay in don't have electricity when they plugged in an appliance. Very inconvenient.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
It’s a beautiful area with stars very clearly visible at night and a gorgeous lake a half mile away. Only thing that I didn’t like was that it was super hot and that it was also super dusty. The nice pool is a great way to cool off though! Very close to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach and Hearst Castle (an hour away).
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
My grandkids had a amazing time, so much for them to see and do. They loved Kevin the Emu and the pool. Can’t wait to come back! Matt
Sep 03, 2019
Visiting the area for a couple of weeks beautiful hills to climb nice camping lots clean bathrooms refreshing pool clean laundry room nice general store felt very safe
Aug 27, 2019
We loved everything about it. It was beautiful and quiet, and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed the pool too.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
It was probably just the time of year but there were way too many bugs and dirt for us! Bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked. We stayed at campsite 22, i liked being so close to the bathroom, but would be better if the bench by the bathroom wasnt there, would have felt more private for us.
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Beautiful surrounding, lot of space, Nice pool
Aug 21, 2019
I simply enjoy the setting and atmosphere at this wonderful campground. Kim, Michelle, Daisey are always polite and informative, They make you feel part of their KOA family. With the lake nearby this my "go to" place to stay when camping. Thanks to All! And I noticed that your constantly improving things.. Looks Great!!
Aug 20, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. Very nice campground! Only problem was the accessibility to the bathroom where our yurt was located. The pathway has been eroded away, and is in need of repair. If not for this, I would rate five stars instead of four.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
The gal that checked me in was great, loved her. My site had trash left on the ground; the bathroom stalls were very small and the shower drain was plugged.
Aug 19, 2019
It is wonderful to camp here. Kim made checking in comfortable and easy. All staff is so polite too.
Aug 19, 2019
The emu, the bouncer, the movie night, the pool, the scenery, and the drive out there was all a great experience!!
Aug 18, 2019
Second time at the campground... LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Aug 18, 2019
KOA is a wonderful family friendly place to stay. My kids enjoyed the foam pit, jumping pillow, painting and other activities. I am looking forward to having many more family vacations with KOA
Aug 17, 2019
Great staff. Awesome amenities.
Aug 17, 2019
We arrived at 6:30pm with no way to get wood or ice. There is a radio you use to call for help at the desk but no one answered multiple calls. No one answered the phone number either. We stayed at Petaluma and it was only $86 and that place is great. How is santa margarita $95!? I would understand if it was cheaper but it was more for way less.
Aug 22, 2019
I really enjoyed staying there the staff is very nice the place is very very nice and my kids and grandchildren nieces and nephews sisters and my father really had a wonderful time definitely would recommend it and definitely plan on attending again
- Elena Flores on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.