Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2024
Pro: Staff were polite and accommodating. Facilities and campsites were well maintained. Fun weekend events for families. Con: Frisbee golf course not maintained in a long time, chest hight weeds and broken pads. Guy w/beard from site 52 in black toyota truck came to our campfire and started burning check book registers saying “he was going through a bad divorce”. HARD brown water at RV sites
Jun 21, 2024
Jun 19, 2024
Jun 19, 2024
good
Jun 19, 2024
Wonderful!! Such fun for me, my adult children and 4 grandsons. Cabins were amazing. We cooked all our meals outside on the wood fire and ate at the picnic table. Tent site was quiet with a beautiful view. Kids enjoyed the pool and bouncy pad. We rented a pontoon on the lake, docked and had a picnic lunch. A perfect get-away, just 2 hours from home.
Jun 18, 2024
Kids had a lot of fun and enjoyed the activities. Pool was a little dirty (could be all the kids jumping in during the day). Was really looking forward to disc golf but was highly disappointed. I lost my driving disc because the course was poorly maintained. Had to quit after 5 holes because the risk of losing discs became too great. Weeds were over waist high and lots of stickers!
Jun 18, 2024
BEWARE OF KAREN-Owner! I have been at this campsite for 3-4 years. PAST The campsite was clean, family & friends felt welcomed by previous manager, Wolf & Lisa. We loved it so much that we brought over 16 families. 2024 We booked 13 sites for 21 families. Karen CANCELED them. Rude, initially unapologetic & did not want to take ownership. Frustratingly sad. Looking elsewhere.
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
The amenities in the cabin made this camping-fearful gal feel right at home. Air conditioning, TP, paper towels, extra dishes, firepit, grill. Lots of activities to keep kids busy. Thank you!
Jun 17, 2024
Love it and will surely be back.
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 16, 2024
Jun 16, 2024
Tent site #5 would be best for motorcycle campers. The staff were phenomenal, helping me with possible alternative sites when they saw I was standing in the shade to keep cool and struggling in the afternoon sun when setting up my tent. One particular female staffer stood out, not only recognized why I was standing in the shade, she also recommended the best path to the showers.
Jun 15, 2024
Always awesome!!
Jun 14, 2024
We celebrated my 60th birthday with 11 grandkids (and their parents of course) The kids had so much fun in the pool and the foam pit and the bounce pillow. The staff are always so friendly and accommodating. We all had a wonderful weekend !!
Jun 11, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
Jun 10, 2024
Large campground. More spread out than most. Great for tents or those who want to rent a cabin. Fewer RV spots than most KOA's, but that appears to be the trend in campgrounds. Employees were great. Owner was very nice and want to make sure all guests were happy.
Jun 10, 2024
We loved it stay and staff Super Awesome.
Jun 05, 2024
Jun 04, 2024
Nice campground. Interesting layout. Could use a closer shower house near the rv section. Otherwise no complaints.
Jun 04, 2024
The staff were awesome and the stay was super fun. Bathrooms were super clean. We love coming to this location!
Jun 03, 2024
Staff was very helpful, bathrooms were well maintained and clean. Lots of fun things for the kids to do! It's not to far from the beach if you want to venture to Pismo or Morro Bay.
Jun 03, 2024
Great campground!! Super clean and very “woodsy”!!
Jun 03, 2024
We love it there!
Jun 02, 2024
Jun 02, 2024
Staff friendly and efficient. Bathrooms clean. We appreciated Karen giving us a larger site for our tent trailer. It made it easier to set up and closer to the bathrooms.
May 29, 2024
Everything was clean, staff was amazing, and our 3 year old loved it. Great first camping trip for her.
May 28, 2024
Jumping pillow was the highlight followed by bubble foam pit!
May 28, 2024
Loved the dog park and the excellent WiFi. Would definately stay again!
May 28, 2024
May 28, 2024
May 28, 2024
May 26, 2024
Very nice campground. It was well maintained and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.
May 23, 2024
May 21, 2024
May 20, 2024
May 19, 2024
The campground was very quiet as we were there off season and in the middle of the week of May. We paid extra for a site with a table/patio, but was placed in a Premium site that didn't have either. A quick call to the office and we were moved. This campsite is very hilly with gravel and dirt, but hills were not to steep, and campground is right outside of the lake which was very peaceful and nice
May 19, 2024
Very polite, clean, silent, wunderful nature. Only the sanitary ist a little bit too old.
May 18, 2024
Great place to stay and a wonderful staff.
May 17, 2024
We really enjoyed our time at this KOA. I found Michelle to be a very cordial and congenial host. We've stayed at several KOA facilities over the past few years and found this KOA as being the most customer friendly and accommodating of any of them. I would recommend a stay at Santa Margarita KOA if you're in the area.
May 16, 2024
We really liked the yurt (34). Very comfortable and spacious. Will hope to see you again next spring.
May 16, 2024
May 15, 2024
I tent camped, only (truck with camper shell). But all accommodations and staff were top drawer.
May 14, 2024
It was beautiful, our kids had so much fun and we would go back monthly if we could. The store was well stocked with great prices. They even opened up the shaved ice place for all the kids. Highly recommend!!!
May 14, 2024
Was nice and relaxing. Great place for families, so much for the kids to do, huge playground and a lake just around the corner. Big sites with clean eating area with patio furniture and umbrella plus nice seating around the fire pit. ��
May 13, 2024
Loved our weekend stay. Cannot wait to go back. Stayed in a deluxe cabin. Staff was amazing. Cabin was upscale and had all we needed to feel very comfortable. Pet friendly. Easy check in and check out. Owner was amazing at making sure we had all we needed. Highly Recommend to everyone who wants to experience a first class vacation �
May 13, 2024
Amazing weekend at the Santa margarita KOA. It was the first time our kids went tent camping and it did not disappoint. Our site was right next to the jumping pillow and playground thankfully, because that’s where our kids spent most of the day playing. The pool was a refreshing break from the heat. We will definitely be returning!
May 13, 2024
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was so cute and so clean and perfectly supplied with what you need.
Jun 11, 2024
We're locals (SLO ) and visit the KOA at least once or twice a year for quick and fun family and friends getaways. Our family has camped here (full hook ups) several times and it's always a great experience. The staff is always WONDERFUL and their camp store is well stocked. This time, rather than our normal camping, we decided to rent a deluxe cabin (cabin 3) and it was an incredible experience!! The cabin was well stocked, clean, and conveniently located. (Be aware if you're looking for a super quiet spot, this isn't it— it's right next to the pool and many summertime activities like movie night). We didn't mind the sounds of children laughing and playing in the pool at all! It was great to hear! The KOA staff is strict on when quiet time begins, so be rest assured that it'll be peaceful at night. We can't wait to stay in another cabin— we'd take 3 again anytime, but we're curious to try each one, eventually. Don't hesitate to treat your family to a trip here, whether it's tent camping, RV'ing, or glamping in a cabin- it's all worth it! NOTE FOR PAST CAMPERS— Kevin the emu passed way a couple of years ago, so don't get your hopes up to see him. This was the only negative part of our staycation. Kevin is super missed!!
- Rhonda Graham on Google
May 11, 2024
So far, so good. Just got here.
- Michael Scott on Google
Apr 30, 2024
Was für ein Traum. Das ist für uns der schönste ruhepol den es gibt. Wir waren schon öfter hier und würden immer wieder kommen. Der Weh lohnt sich!
- Sämmer Cornelia on Google