Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Info: 805-438-5618

Email This Campground

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 17, 2019
great guy in truck very helpful need better sign at top, we missed our turn in and had to circle back
May 17, 2019
Bathrooms very far away, lits of stairs to get to them. Personnel incredible, views beautiful.
May 17, 2019
The bathrooms are too far and too difficult to get to . Needs improvement or I will not return
May 17, 2019
Very nice little "get-away" Plenty of scenic beauty. I think the camp road were a little busy due to construction projects. It's good and it's bad. Glad the maintenance is a priority but it gets busy during the day. Any, it's makes for a good excuse to go on a nice scenic stroll or walk to the lake nearby.
May 17, 2019
Our stay was for one night as we were attending a wedding. We really enjoyed the KOA and the beauty of the grounds. We really look forward to a return visit soon!
May 17, 2019
We had booked weeks in advance but when we arrived the bathroom was closed. My wife can't walk far so this was going to be a huge problem. The did put us in another cabin but we're then had to move the next day. They were trying to be accommodating but we were extremely inconvenienced.
May 17, 2019
You just can't beat the friendly, service-oriented staff at this KOA - They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and appreciated. The grounds are well-maintained, improvements have been made to the roads (which tend to erode in heavy rains) and the staff are visible and active around the campground. We've been coming here for a couple years now and will continue to do so - we love it!
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Good campground, very nice camp hosts, the facility needs improvement. Seems less maintained compare to other KOA I've been to.
May 17, 2019
Great Kampground for families, Cabins were great too. A little too remote for services and restaurants.
May 17, 2019
We’ve made it a tradition to go every summer we really love it there.
May 17, 2019
Awesome experience. Always so accommodating. Amazing customer service!
May 17, 2019
Unusual hillside camp sites. Very nice. Showers and restrooms where a significant distance from the campsite. Very friendly and helpful staff. A gem in the middle of nowhere.
May 17, 2019
After staying at koa in Santa margarita I came down with a cough and a flu. I think the cabin needs to be sprayed with Lysol. With some many germs going around. The heater didn’t work and the cabin was really cold. The person that checked us in was very nice. My problem was more about the cabin. Just needs more germs free.
May 17, 2019
pretty expensive camping for cold showers. No bench in the shower stall, nothing to set stuff on or keep stuff off the wet dirty floor. It really sucked for the money we spent.
May 17, 2019
Beautiful campground, very close to the lake, wonderful staff. Definitely coming back!
May 17, 2019
Great please exactly what 4 ADV Moto Rider where looking for after long day in the saddle
May 16, 2019
Lost electrical power about 8PM, did not come back on until 8AM the next day.
May 16, 2019
Hands down then was the best KOA we have stayed at. The site was beautiful and we would have been happy with any pitch that was offered to us. The pool was lovely and all of the staff we encountered were polite and friendly
May 16, 2019
We went to see Hearst Castle so we stayed at Santa Margarita KOA. This is only our 2nd time using KOA and again we were not disappointed. Clean and friendly!
May 16, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 14, 2019
I had the perfect site and the perfect staff, friendly and helpful. Definitely will return.
May 14, 2019
We were greeted at check-in by Kim Ann. She has to be one of the friendliest people that I have ever encountered. Very upbeat and positive. She started the weekend off to a great start. The campground is well kept and maintained. The facilities are clean and the sites are spacious.
May 14, 2019
May 14, 2019
Great time
May 13, 2019
Very kid friendly staff are great
May 13, 2019
I wish the pool was heated and that the trees hanging over the pool were trimmed back to limit the amount of debris in the pool. However, the employees maintaining this KOA are absolutely FANTASTIC and so so awesome. Our kids stayed on the playground and bouncy pillow all day. The lake is just a few minutes away so we were able to take our kids fishing, and the crafts time was so fun!
May 09, 2019
It’s a Beautiful out of the way campground surrounded by farm land and national forest.
May 07, 2019
We had a Great Time...just wish the restrooms were within walking distance!
May 02, 2019
The staff is awesome had a nice time
May 02, 2019
Great place to stay! Family and pet friendly! Clean and kept up very nicely! The giant bouncing pillow was a hit with our kids!
Apr 29, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
The staff was great super friendly and helpful! Found sunscreen I have been looking for everywhere! Super clean cabin and will definitely be back again soon.
Apr 26, 2019
I would stay at the campground inside Margarita Lake only because it cost 10.00 a day to get in
Apr 25, 2019
Amazing staff!
Apr 25, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Friendly staff; allowed us to move our tent site to a grassy site when we discovered it had been recently graded after rainfall and would have dirtied everything. Staff did not provide any information on immediate area (ie. hiking) or the fact that rattlesnakes were about (we found that out from the Santa Margarita Park staff down the road!)
Apr 21, 2019
The staff at the koa are very friendly and helpful. I love staying here and will stay many times again. It has cool amenities for the kids and very relaxing for the adults.
Apr 20, 2019
First time there.... awesome KOA! Jumping pillow huge hit with kids! Loved the scenery and proximity to the lake (1/2 mile). Day trip to Avila Beach only 30 minutes away. Super friendly staff and very eager to help! Only complaint would be no cable tv! But that was minor compared to all the positives! Definitely will stay again.
Apr 20, 2019
Loved the cabin, amenities and the location! Definitely returning for another stay!
Apr 20, 2019
Beautiful campground and we had a wonderful campsite! Unfortunately, shortly after our arrival, we realized that our classic VW camper was leaking fuel. Kim-Ann set us up in a cabin overnight until we could get it fixed the next day. We are planning another trip to Santa Margarita as soon as the van is fixed! Big shout out to Kim-Ann for making sure we were safe!! All of our future trips KOA!
Apr 17, 2019
Excellent experience across the board. Staff went above and beyond and was super friendly and accommodating. Facilities were clean. Campgrounds were well maintained. Amazing experience.
Apr 17, 2019
It was so nice to spend time with my family out in nature. But not roughing it out. We got closer as family.
Apr 14, 2019
It was amazing! The cabin was super cute and clean! Very nice and relaxing! Definitely would recommend and will definitely be back!
Apr 13, 2019
Fantastic service. Lovely location. Staff is super-helpful and friendly. Beautifully maintained facilities.
Apr 13, 2019
Apr 07, 2019
I stayed for 3 nights in an RV site (I have a small RV). I enjoyed the location and the facilities. The only complaint I have is that the restrooms could have used more attention in the way of cleaning.
Mar 31, 2019
Great staff and a wonderful location
Mar 30, 2019
Pleasantly surprised with our cabin. Beautiful! Wish there was some type of cleaner for the counters. The staff was amazing. Everyone is so nice! Can't wait to go back and tent camp as well.
Mar 26, 2019
The cabin wasn't ready when we got there but the grounds are really nice! The cabins are spacious for cabins. Disappointed that they don't give you bathroom soap to wash your hands but there is sink soap.Overall though the place was very nice and we had a great weekend getaway!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals