Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2023
Starting to be overpriced. Paid a premium for a spot by the upper pavilion. KOA reserves the pavilion out for events with no regulating what goes on there. Constantly had people from the pavilion walking through our camp, leaving trash, being loud and destroying the bathroom facilities connected to the pavilion. People parking in front of my spot which I paid for. Staff said nothing they could do!
Jul 17, 2023
It’s is very dusty on the dirt road . They need more gravel and enforce the speed limit.
Jul 17, 2023
Great place. Only suggestion I would have is better dust control on roads throughout park. We also rented a small house cabin very nice
Jul 17, 2023
The setting is great, right on the river. And the staff are wonderful. Unfortunately, that's about it. The sites are packed together tightly. Guests are allowed to park in the road all over the place making it difficult to navigate. The fire pits are a trip/fall hazard. Finally, the main complaint - noise. Right by a busy highway and train tracks with noise day and night. We won't stay here again.
Jul 16, 2023
Always very clean, and relaxing. Friendly, helpful staff.
Jul 16, 2023
The stay was fine. The WiFi was bad. So bad that we couldn't even sign up for the "premium" version. And that's in the nice deluxe cabins. It really should be looked into. Everyone uses WiFi these days.
Jul 16, 2023
It was just lovely. Very clean and very manicured campsite in general. Walking distance (5mins)to town, hot springs and water park. Staff friendly and helpful. I was sorry to leave!!
Jul 15, 2023
We were excited for a week with family at your resort, but bummed about the lack of activities for kids. Being a KOA Holiday you would think that you would do the crafts, movie nights, better playground, bike rentals etc. with no pool it would be nice to have a splash pad or something for those super hot days. Staff was friendly and grounds were beautiful
Jul 15, 2023
Jul 15, 2023
Extremely overpriced for what you get. Very dusty from the wind in the area. Extremely loud from the road and train that goes right by the campground. Probably wouldn’t stay here again.
Jul 15, 2023
When I book the stay I called on the phone to make sure I would be put in the section of the park and when I got there I was told it was not available. I was ask about the breed of my dog and was told that pits and dogs like that are not allowed and when we got there pit bulls were everywhere and I was charged 6.00 for my 5 pound Yorkshire. The cost compared to other koa much too high.
Jul 14, 2023
Everything was very clean and everything was in working order
Jul 14, 2023
Too expensive for a campground right next to a railroad and highway honking & rattling all night. Tent sites are so close together. We were charged $4 per kid on top of fee. If you have more than one tent you are charged $31 extra. It doesn’t make any sense since you are taking up the same tiny tent site. Path to river has stinging nettle & poison hemlock. We got blisters. Nice bathrooms though
Jul 14, 2023
Jul 13, 2023
Excellent stay! We enjoy it very much!
Jul 13, 2023
Way too expensive. Felt like I was nickled and dimed for everything. Strict rules. Took a long time to get me checked in as front desk people were new.
Jul 12, 2023
Wi fi was terrible
Jul 12, 2023
Jul 11, 2023
Jul 10, 2023
It was okay. The restrooms/showers in the main area need to be updated, one of the stall doors needs to fixed to close, the sewer connects were very difficult (too far) for my rig, may be for others if their rig has the sew connections middle to front of it and the connect is in the far rear. For our side S2, you could put a fence around the edge/corner to give some privacy from main entrance et
Jul 10, 2023
Great staff. The river side spots are awesome. Caught several fish. It was a great stay.
Jul 10, 2023
The koa was good.. the city is TERRIBLE about REST ROOMS> The porta potties had no toilet paper and were FULL. we and our friends had to to back tot he koa to use the bathroom
Jul 10, 2023
Way overpriced. You need to send a packing list so we can have soap in the shower and every other detail that you don't provide. Basically glamping, not "cabins" but it's confusing since there are so many options. It really didn't sleep six when our adults are large. You could specify 2 large adults in queen bed and 3-4 children or small adults in mini-twin bunkbeds and full size futon. More info!
Jul 10, 2023
We have enjoyed staying at Lava Hot SPrings East KOA for many years. We love being by the river, everyone is freindly and helpful and the grounds are kept very clean. We look forward to coming back!
Jul 10, 2023
A More accommodating people you will never meet. I had a health issue while there and had to leave early, they quickly refunded the additional day. A sweet lady when learning that I had trouble with gravel gave me her RV grass pad so I didn't have to worry about stepping on gravel as I came in and out of the camper. It was a great help and she was so sweet to leave and go home and pick it up
Jul 09, 2023
This is our favorite campground! It is very well-kept and the setting is beautiful. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We already have a trip booked here for next year. �ϋ�
Jul 09, 2023
noise noise noise. Kids are turning rounds and rounds with loud motocross and squads till late in the evening and nobody stops them.
Jul 09, 2023
Fun location and nice cabin. Disappointed that we were told and had on our reservation that we had a cabin with two queen beds but ended up with 1 queen and 1 full so my husband had to sleep in our car. For the cost we expected to have space for our whole family or we wouldn't have booked this cabin.
Jul 09, 2023
We had a great stay, our 41st year visiting Lava Hot Springs! Other than the miscommunication at the front desk when checking in (we clearly stated how many people in RV, tent, etc., but had to go back in later to pay extra fees as the person at desk didn’t seem to listen for vital info). Looking forward to next year’s visit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing the Lava Hot Springs KOA East Holiday. We do apologize for the experience at check in. We have had several new additions to our team and we strive to improve our training systems. Thank your for being patient with us.
Jul 08, 2023
We had a back-in riverside site. The site was spacious and clean. Grass was nice and good fire-pit. Walking distance to tubing down the river. Loved it!
Jul 06, 2023
Everything is clean and great here. We enjoyed our time there.
Jul 06, 2023
It was great. Although, given the increased occupancy for the 4th of July holiday it was quite dusty, as most campers do not obey the 5 mph speed limit. It would have been nice if the main roads had been treated to decrease the dust, as has been done in the past.
Jul 05, 2023
Cabins were extremely small for the price.
Jul 05, 2023
Very good place to stay
Jul 03, 2023
This facility and location are a hidden gem. A lot of the sites back up to the river so you have that sound as you sleep. definitely on or list for a destination rather than just an overnight stop on this trip.
Jul 03, 2023
Love this KOA!
Jul 03, 2023
Jul 02, 2023
Charged $6 per dog per night, never had dog charge at a KOA. Made me sign a waiver "in case I damaged or stole something". Never again at this one.
Jul 01, 2023
Site was clean. Staff was amazing! Everything was perfect we will be back!!
Jul 01, 2023
Jun 30, 2023
Train kept us awake during the night. Map showed River behind our spot and it was a patch of weeds. Very disappointed.
Jun 30, 2023
Jun 30, 2023
Gal at the front desk was great. I loved the view and the site we stayed at�ϋ�. Yes I will stay again when I’m going through Idaho MTurnquist 2023
Jun 29, 2023
Jun 29, 2023
Great for families and one nighters
Jun 28, 2023
We loved the proximity to the water park and hot pools, and our site over the river was beautiful. As rarer tent campers, we had some trouble figuring out facilities to serve our needs (e.g. sink and lower-amp electricity), and the staff weren't sure either, but they worked with us to make sure we got what we needed. We had a great time! Thank you!
Jun 28, 2023
I am surprised that this campground earned the designation KOA. It has no amenities and the price per night $120 plus is outrageous. We picked this campground as a one night stop over on our way to Utah due to convenience off the highway and the reported "Olympic sized swimming pool. " The pool is not associated with this campground or located on the property. It is a public pool that costs $15.
Jun 28, 2023
I own a 45foot Motorhome. This is the worst design KOA I’ve been to. If you have big gig stay away from this place.
Jun 28, 2023
Jun 28, 2023
very crowded tiny spot to camp. Very expensive for the experience
Jun 02, 2024
Great KOA! Wonderful location on the river, very friendly staff, and extremely clean. Great RV park and would definitely stay again.
- Taner Drake on Google
May 28, 2024
RV友に、紹介され、温泉♨️目的でここに滞在しました。 来てよかった!
- Momoko “MoClark” Clark on Google
May 04, 2024
New spots are very tight... churning makes it tough to get in and out
- Rico Davis on Google