Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 22, 2018
Top notch facility, staff, activities. Immaculate facility. Will definitely return.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
We stayed from 10/19/18 through 10/21/18. The bathrooms were filthy and 2 of the 3 toilets in the men's room were not working for most of the time. I used the urinal and the pipe underneath the urinal was leaking onto my foot. Disgusting.
Oct 22, 2018
Wonderful staff! So many fun activities planned we have to return, And stay in the treehouse! Highly recommend this place.
Oct 22, 2018
We were there for the Boy Scout Camporee last weekend. Our boys love to come out and earn the badge or just go dig in the mine. We had two great sites (52 & 53) and the view was beautiful. We were mortified however that the bathrooms took such a beating. In the 10 years we have been coming we have never seen them treated so poorly by the scouts. Please let us apologize for the poor behavior
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Brought my Cub Scout den and they loved it. Thanks!
Oct 02, 2018
Very good 2 days spent with family..we will definitely be back! Thank you!!!
Sep 26, 2018
Cold out but awesome
Sep 25, 2018
girl scout weekend was the greatest, would do again
Sep 25, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
We attended the 2018 Girl Scout Jamboree- Campground facility is very clean , grounds well kept , store well stocked. The bathrooms near the pavilion need updating but still useable. The customer service from your crew was amazing. You can order pizza to be delivered to your camp site from the Miners' village restaurant across street. We would stay again. only complaint was the eggs used
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Beautiful and clean, well equipped. Only downfall was very crowded and wifi never worked, both minor things.
Sep 17, 2018
The sites were way too close together and we went to the campground store to get ice and firewood, but it was closed at 930 when the posted hours were until 10pm. Very disappointed.
Sep 17, 2018
Nice campground and we felt very safe. Wish it wasn't so $$ though even for tenting.
Sep 15, 2018
Beautiful campground. Very clean. Nice campsites.
Sep 12, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
I wish the fishing was better where I was, lol... But camping next to a river... What can I say? Wish I had that every night. The diamond d mine was fun! Can't wait to go back with more equipment. � The food at the restaurant was ok. Wished they opened at 7am though. See you soon.
Sep 09, 2018
The camp ground was a very clean and pleasant.I do recommend anyone who enjoys camping to stay. The Herkimer Diamond mines we were really disappointed with.I was there 5 years ago and enjoyed everything about. We were able to bring home some beautiful pieces.This time I’m lucky to have found anything. It has became way too commercial.It’s definitely not worth it.I recommend the ACE Minds inst
Sep 06, 2018
We were very disappointed with the way in which the campground was run. You rarely saw an employee except at their designated station. We saw many campers at several locations that made their own rules as to how many were at one campsite, parking rules were not followed as well as no one was following quiet hours as parties went on until after 1 am with hollering and loud music. We won't come back
Sep 06, 2018
Great - fun activities, well kept campground, great onsite restaurant, friendly staff. Thanks!
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
It’s nice with some nice activities for kids but also very pricey for a campground
Sep 03, 2018
The campground was well tended to, neat, and clean; we were thrilled at the number of kid friendly activities the campground had available during our stay.
Aug 30, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
We mined for diamonds - We rafted the river several times - Everyone was super friendly and helpful in the office. The nights were quiet - it was great. The kids really enjoyed it and asked if they could come back next year. Never got a hot shower though - everyone else did - boys.
Aug 28, 2018
We had a great time. Our deluxe tent site was fantastic and there were so many fun activities for the kids (ages 7 and 10). We would love to stay there again next summer!
Aug 28, 2018
As always, we had an amazing time. Clean facilities, courteous and welcoming staff, beautiful weather, and great fishing! Thanks so much for such a great weekend!
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
We loved it! Our tent site was a beautiful spot on the water. Unfortunately, there was a nasty smell - like someone had poured sewage on the ground right on the site where it was quite damp.
Aug 22, 2018
Very rainy weekend. But every one was great. Any ? All the staff had the answers. Second time stay here looking forward to a return. Only complaint is the pool needs some repairs. Kids playing around pool were picking up chunks of concrete from pool and throwing around. On the other hand the place looks great.
Aug 21, 2018
Our families had a great time. Our only criticism is that the men's bathroom near our site was sub standard. Specifically, the toilets in the stalls were gross.
Aug 21, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much. However the men in my group said the men's bathroom was not kept up with.
Aug 21, 2018
We are Volunteer firefighters traveling to Deerfield for a New York State Firematics Tournament that lasted all weekend . This campground is beautiful. The only thing we did not like was the parking arrangements in the tent area . We left the campground at 6:00 am to return around 10:30 pm and find our designated parking area had been filled with some other campers vehicle . There should be added
Aug 20, 2018
We come every year for the Tye Dye ..Tubing..Diamonds..peacefulness and relaxing we love it here.
Aug 20, 2018
Always a great time. Camped there in college and now myself and another who went to college there go back every year. 54 years old and floating down the creek - what a blast. Cant wait to call and reserve site #100 for next year!!
Aug 20, 2018
I am 67yrs old, have wanted to do this since my childhood. Being a rockhound I have finally crossed it off my list. Looking for diamonds. The facilities were very nice. Although we tented the cabin choices look inviting.
Aug 20, 2018
A ton to do and really lives up to being a resort. The mines are a blast and its terrific to be able to go in and out for the day. The best part was the staff and activities, our kids loved it especially the music at the pool, hay ride and dance. Between the river and the pool, plenty of ways to cool off and love the grills and fire pits, really great set up.
Aug 18, 2018
We had a great time, the facilities were clean. Staff was available, around, but not intrusive. Location was fabulous, store was stocked, employees friendly.
Aug 17, 2018
This was my 1st KOA experience and the Herkimer, NY campground was more enjoyable than I had expected. Extremely clean and groomed. Quiet, relaxing and FUN. The restaurant on site served up delicious meals that were extremely affordable. The staff went above and beyond to make my mini vacation the best tent camping experience in many years. I will be making another appearance there next summer.
Aug 15, 2018
This is our groups 7th year going and we still had a blast. This is also the first year we had a complaint about our tent site. We have sites on the river and we pick this site every year because we can walk right into the river from our site. But this year, the weeds were so tall we asked twice for them to cut them, but nothing. Next year we will bring our own weed wacker.
Aug 14, 2018
The good: Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good facilities. Nice area. The bad: Our neighboring campers at sites 90, 89, and maybe 88 played loud music and where rather loud in conversation until at least midnight each night. There should be some kind of enforcement of the 10pm quite time, even just a 15 minute patrol of the campground around 10pm would be helpful.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
There was an overly loud wedding reception 20 feet from our campsite. My air mattress was vibrating until 10pm. The cement in the pool is cracked and there was nothing going on Sunday night. We did enjoy bingo and tubing down the river.
Aug 13, 2018
-showed up in the dark and the staff couldn't find our campsite. -paid a KOA premium for a gross bathroom. -listened to a wedding reception literally all Saturday night. -tent sites were terrible - out in the open, not a good firepit in T112. I've never stayed in a tent site where I had to park far away from the actual campsite. Very obnoxious and unnecessary.
Aug 13, 2018
I brought a group of Cub Scouts to stay at the campground. They did not tell us there was a wedding in the pavilion directly behind where we were camping. There was a band and they were extremely loud. Cub Scouts go to bed at 9 o’clock. Again they never informed us that this was happening. There was also a major fight where state troopers had to respond to. The pool is falling apart dirty.
Aug 11, 2018
Was very pleased with everything. The staff was nice and very helpful. Definitely going to make this a yearly trip.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals