Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

Tent Reviews

Oct 29, 2019
The people working in the office were excellent!
Oct 27, 2019
Our “deluxe campsite” was truly a delight! It was large, right on the water, had both a grilling ring and campfire ring, and a wonderful porch-type swing. There was balance between trees and open space and the electricity allowed us to hang our traditional Christmas tree lights. The only downside were the restrooms...unfortunately, they aren’t real convenient for most of the tent sites.
Oct 17, 2019
Awesome
Oct 12, 2019
One night and very nice. Love West Canada Creek!
Sep 18, 2019
Liked the campground but did not like the restaurant. The food was under cooked and very bland. The mines were a blast
Aug 27, 2019
We had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed ourselves. Two tho fa could have improved our stay. First - please rent life vests. We don’t own them bus we rarely need them. They are widely available to borrow where we come from. It is, in my view, irresponsible to sell tubes for the river and not sell/rents vests. Two - pls post signs to keep tubers out of T100. We had a constant flow of people.
Aug 26, 2019
Owners & staff very nice and friendly. Recommendation of "8" is for tent campers. a bathroom is needed in the tent area. A child will not make it to the nearest toilet. Put 6" pieces of hose on the water faucets in the no hook up area to direct the water. Broken hinge on the door to the handicap shower prevented the door from opening. Your clean up staff see these things. I would stay again!
Aug 25, 2019
We love this campground! The activities and the river make it extra special. The kids enjoy playing basketball, looking for "diamonds" and tubing and fishing on the river. The restaurant is also great Thank you for another great visit.
Aug 21, 2019
Excellent time camping and mining with my son. Would like to see the pool area and water quality given more attention in the future. Surprised at the cost of firewood to be honest. Overall, we had an excellent time and will be back.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
I had site 100 and it was amazing, All the way at he end but right on the creek.
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
There’s lots to do at this KOA (floating the river, pool time, etc.) Facilities and amenities were great but because of all the river and pathway sand, the bathrooms and pool could have been kept up a bit better. The maintenance staff were so amazing and helpful. They were the heart of this campground.
Jul 30, 2019
We had a fun time. Kids enjoyed the scheduled activities. We brought tubes for the river and went down once, but we had a frightening experience trying to get off towards the end. The current pulled us past the camp ground and a Mom and two kids in our party went pretty far down and got terribly scared. We didn’t know it was that strong and never been tubing before. We did enjoy our stay.
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
The location i reserved was swamped and even another spot i moved was also wet...so, it was tough to pitch tent and live with rain. The water quality in the pool was poor.
Jul 09, 2019
The front desk staff was awesome the campground was extremely clean and well attended to the facilities were fantastic my wife and I enjoyed it and we'll go back there many times as we travel through that area will make it a point to stop there. We watched other young families and their children have a blast in the pool in the gaming area and fishing in the river.
Jul 02, 2019
Jun 05, 2019
We had a great weekend in spite of a little rain. The staff at Herkimer were very helpful, especially when we had to change tent sites due to water and mud. We will definitely recommend this place again. Actually we had joined our kids and grandkids this weekend for their first trip there. Hope to be back soon. Thank you.
May 29, 2019
This was our 4th stay here 3 specialty cabins and this 4th time a tent site. I was rather disappointed that the grass was not mowed for this Holiday weekend. Some staff were not very friendly. I do not want to provide you with a 5 star rating but I can overlook these issues, once. A total of 3 ticks from my 14 month old and 1 from almost 4 year old. Short grass = no ticks.
Oct 22, 2018
Top notch facility, staff, activities. Immaculate facility. Will definitely return.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
We stayed from 10/19/18 through 10/21/18. The bathrooms were filthy and 2 of the 3 toilets in the men's room were not working for most of the time. I used the urinal and the pipe underneath the urinal was leaking onto my foot. Disgusting.
Oct 22, 2018
Wonderful staff! So many fun activities planned we have to return, And stay in the treehouse! Highly recommend this place.
Oct 22, 2018
We were there for the Boy Scout Camporee last weekend. Our boys love to come out and earn the badge or just go dig in the mine. We had two great sites (52 & 53) and the view was beautiful. We were mortified however that the bathrooms took such a beating. In the 10 years we have been coming we have never seen them treated so poorly by the scouts. Please let us apologize for the poor behavior
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Brought my Cub Scout den and they loved it. Thanks!
Oct 02, 2018
Very good 2 days spent with family..we will definitely be back! Thank you!!!
Sep 26, 2018
Cold out but awesome
Sep 25, 2018
girl scout weekend was the greatest, would do again
Sep 25, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
We attended the 2018 Girl Scout Jamboree- Campground facility is very clean , grounds well kept , store well stocked. The bathrooms near the pavilion need updating but still useable. The customer service from your crew was amazing. You can order pizza to be delivered to your camp site from the Miners' village restaurant across street. We would stay again. only complaint was the eggs used
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Beautiful and clean, well equipped. Only downfall was very crowded and wifi never worked, both minor things.
Sep 17, 2018
The sites were way too close together and we went to the campground store to get ice and firewood, but it was closed at 930 when the posted hours were until 10pm. Very disappointed.
Sep 17, 2018
Nice campground and we felt very safe. Wish it wasn't so $$ though even for tenting.
Sep 15, 2018
Beautiful campground. Very clean. Nice campsites.
Sep 12, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
I wish the fishing was better where I was, lol... But camping next to a river... What can I say? Wish I had that every night. The diamond d mine was fun! Can't wait to go back with more equipment. � The food at the restaurant was ok. Wished they opened at 7am though. See you soon.
Sep 09, 2018
The camp ground was a very clean and pleasant.I do recommend anyone who enjoys camping to stay. The Herkimer Diamond mines we were really disappointed with.I was there 5 years ago and enjoyed everything about. We were able to bring home some beautiful pieces.This time I’m lucky to have found anything. It has became way too commercial.It’s definitely not worth it.I recommend the ACE Minds inst
Sep 06, 2018
We were very disappointed with the way in which the campground was run. You rarely saw an employee except at their designated station. We saw many campers at several locations that made their own rules as to how many were at one campsite, parking rules were not followed as well as no one was following quiet hours as parties went on until after 1 am with hollering and loud music. We won't come back
Sep 06, 2018
Great - fun activities, well kept campground, great onsite restaurant, friendly staff. Thanks!
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
It’s nice with some nice activities for kids but also very pricey for a campground
Sep 03, 2018
The campground was well tended to, neat, and clean; we were thrilled at the number of kid friendly activities the campground had available during our stay.
Aug 30, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
We mined for diamonds - We rafted the river several times - Everyone was super friendly and helpful in the office. The nights were quiet - it was great. The kids really enjoyed it and asked if they could come back next year. Never got a hot shower though - everyone else did - boys.
Aug 28, 2018
We had a great time. Our deluxe tent site was fantastic and there were so many fun activities for the kids (ages 7 and 10). We would love to stay there again next summer!
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.