Tent Reviews

May 30, 2023
We love the Herkimer KOA. I will say though that the reason we always come here Memorial Day weekend is for the activities. This year there was only one staffer working the activities whorl no fault of her own was very stressed and there were very few activities compared to other years. However the sites are beautiful and we always have a great time!
May 30, 2023
May 30, 2023
May 30, 2023
Our home away from home. Our favorite place. Staff Is always cheerful and bathrooms are very clean!
May 22, 2023
Excellent stay as always. Facilities are clean, but if there were shower heads with hand held sprayers and a better drain system for the pre-shower area floor - that would be helpful. I’d like to be able to have a better area to walk on prior to and after a shower. Water shows are ok, but if there was a way to clean the area before each use it would make things feel cleaner
May 15, 2023
The most important part of tent camping is the bathroms. And they were below standard. They are so far away from the tent site to get to. Then, when you get there, there is only one shower stall and 2 toilets. For the 30ish tent sites! The last straw was when those few toilets, very far away, were then out of order for the second half of our stay. I have 4 little kids and that was torture.
Oct 30, 2022
Oct 26, 2022
Great facility, the scouts had a blast. It was unfortunate that some guests did not treat the restrooms with more respect but that isn't anyone at KOA's fault.
Oct 26, 2022
Boy Scout program was fabulous - love the use of different learning styles, the pace of the day, and the time of recognition
Oct 19, 2022
Grounds were great, staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue is the quiet hours are not enforced. I feel when we check in staff needs to remind campers of the quiet hours. Also remind those with diesel trucks to be respectful of others and not let them idles for extended periods of time.
Oct 12, 2022
This was our 2nd stay and it was perfect again! All staff is so friendly and goes above and beyond. The grounds are clean and the restrooms some of the cleanest!
Oct 07, 2022
Oct 05, 2022
Oct 01, 2022
Had so much fun. Super friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for helping making our stay amazingly fun
Sep 24, 2022
Very Very good
Sep 24, 2022
While the campground seems pretty amazing (and clean) it is NOT meant for tent campers. We stayed in T100 which turned out to be very far from bathrooms, showers, wash basins, and water... all very important for tent campers. In fact, it was absurd how many showers and wash areas were by trailer sites which have far less need for them. The people that need them most had no convenient access.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, as your input is very important to us. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention, we will be sure to look into options that will allow a more enjoyable tenting experience in the future!
Sep 21, 2022
We had a wonderful time camping and glamming. The facilities were clean and well kept, especially the friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome. This trip was my third time staying here, and still enjoying it.
Sep 15, 2022
Perfect! Going To Stay Another Day Next Year When We Come Back Again. Thank You; Very Well Set Up.
Sep 09, 2022
Sep 08, 2022
For our first time to upstate New York it was very beautiful there everyone was very nice and helpful.
Sep 07, 2022
It was a great stay but it ended up raining the last day and night and our camping area flooded. Definitely needs to be regraded or leveled better for tenters in case of rain asides from this a lot of activities available and very clean bathrooms and showers. Great place to stay we will go back
Sep 06, 2022
Great stay as always. The check in staff was very helpful. We have no complaints. Thank you.
Aug 31, 2022
For starters, the campground itself was great and as expected. The staff, however, could have improved. Upon check-in, I was given very little helpful information and wasn’t even told where my site was. Wasn’t asked what I need. There’s also a road on the map that is shown as drivable, but doesn’t actually connect. Additionally, the cafe should be open earlier than 9am. Regardless, I do lo
Aug 29, 2022
Aug 28, 2022
Aug 28, 2022
Aug 26, 2022
Aug 26, 2022
Nice and clean nice friendly people. The tent site was a bit small but we weren't really there much during our stay. Please just put a bathroom a bit closer to the tent area.
Aug 24, 2022
The campsites along the River were beautiful and the activities were fun. The fact that the bathroom only had 2 stalls for so many people was ridiculous and the bathroom was filthy most of the time we were there. It would be nice if the movies played at movie night were not racist (the old Dumbo). Having conversations with my children about Jim Crow and black face on vacation was unexpected.
Aug 24, 2022
My girlscouts had alot of fun we did leave the campground to do other activities but they really like that when we was at the campground there was activities for them to do also they enjoyed the dancing and music in the pavilion
Aug 24, 2022
Really? We just loved it. Tha staff is to be highly encouraged to be just the way they are. They were great, and the landscape n' layout is excellent. Thank you.
Aug 21, 2022
It was wonderful. One of the maintenance crew even checked my tire pressure and added air before we headed home. I will definitely be coming back!
Aug 19, 2022
Disappointed as there are no baby swings at the playground or splash pad for smaller children. Activities were scheduled but not done. When we asked about them we were told they are short staffed and will get someone on it. We have camped here on and off for many years. People were yelling or very loud at all hours of the night. This stay was by far the most disappointing.
Aug 15, 2022
Aug 15, 2022
My only strong suggestion is that you consider upgrading or adding adequate bathrooms by the tent sites. The ones by the pavilion are the ones most used by tent sites and they just aren’t adequate. There is no counter space in them to even set down your toothpaste when you go to brush your teeth. The toilets and showers got backed up with poop water. Not adequate for the number of people.
Aug 15, 2022
Aug 15, 2022
Just want to shout out to all the staff, the facility is great, the experience is great and the place is special. A really warm and inviting feel, everyone makes you feel welcomed, lots of activities for the kids, just an all around great trip. A special call out to Alex and Meghan at the rock store side, thank you for your excellent customer service, truly treated us so well. Thank you!!!
Aug 14, 2022
Everything was great, thank you so much for such an enjoyable camping experience!!
Aug 11, 2022
This is a beautiful spot! Staff were very helpful. Our kids had a blast. Highly recommend!
Aug 11, 2022
During our stay it rained the entire time but the staff was so friendly and went out of their way to help with anything. The camp grounds are kept very clean and is a beautiful location. I would recommend again and will be trying other KOA sites while traveling.
Aug 11, 2022
Aug 09, 2022
We really enjoyed our stay this is our 14th year there was a few things that were different this year that we weren’t pleased with the DJ for Saturday night was horrible all the kids were disappointed in him and the lights from I guess the restaurant across the street they shine all night long into the tent area along our tent sites on the river Otherwise it was another fantastic time
Aug 09, 2022
Great campsite, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful campgrounds
Aug 08, 2022
Part of a group, everything went well, fun for all ages. Highly recommended.
Aug 08, 2022
The grounds are perfect. We camped with our Boy Scout Troop by the river and the Scouts LOVED it. The rate was fantastic, the fireworks were such a great bonus. We are sorry we missed the movie on Friday night, wished they replayed it on Saturday. The ONLY negative were the bathrooms. The showers were just gross. The staff were excellent. Prices in the store were a great. Tubing was a blast!
Aug 08, 2022
Overall the campground was beautiful. It was very clean, green, and welcoming. Bathrooms and showers were bright and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and outgoing. We loved how close the river was! The only thing I noted as something to be improved upon was the end zone for Splash Alley, it was not clearly marked so we saw many people go very far and have to walk all the way back.
Aug 08, 2022
It was very clean and fun. Everyone who worked there was very friendly.
Aug 07, 2022
Aug 06, 2022
Nice, need another bathroom facility near the tent camping .
Aug 06, 2022
I love that it feels so safe since staff are in the grounds roaming about. This is my second stay for this summer since we enjoyed the first time so much. The only downside was the other campers were so loud early in the morning until 11 PM and we were trying to relax.
May 30, 2023
We stayed at the Herkimer KOA as a couple with no kids over the Memorial Day weekend. This was opening weekend and it was packed- every spot, every cabin was occupied. One would think this would have been a downfall for a single couple looking for quiet glamping fun, but it wasn't. Every minute of our stay was great. We fished, floated the river, mined for diamonds, and relaxed. The campground was spotless, the bathrooms were clean, the amenities were stocked, the staff was friendly and helpful and the campers were respectful. 10/10 would recommend.
- Kimberly Wimmer on Google
May 30, 2023
The staff is always super friendly and helpful hear after year. We love getting a tent spot right next to the West Canadian River. Every year they have been adding new things and updating the campground and mine accross the street. Great place to stay with the family.
- Mindy Schroeder on Google
May 24, 2023
Next to some wonderful mines that you can find some beautiful crystals. The solar cabins are amazing, lots to do and very family friendly. I would recommend going here at least once in your lifetime, fully worth the price and great overall experience!
- Charlotte Laney (Charlotte) on Google