Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 03, 2017
Great location, clean, and fun things for the kids!
Nov 02, 2017
Awesome ill book again next year..i love those rocks..
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Enjoyed the facilities. Happy to have potable water to get to and enjoyed having the river nearby too.
Oct 26, 2017
Wonderful!!!
Oct 20, 2017
Everything was sparkling clean and easily accessible. We went for the weekend to try the diamond mine, and had a great time. We brought a teenager and 2 pretends, and everyone loved it.
Oct 20, 2017
We really enjoyed staying at this KOA. All the facilities were in very good shape, and the staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Oct 03, 2017
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this KOA . Never again. Camped at primitive site. Unbelievable noise far into the a.m. hours, never saw a KOA employee outside the office during the 4 days there, looked like a WalMart parking lot, wall-to-wall vehicles parked EVERYWHERE, on both sides of the roadway, blocking roads, expensive to stay there. Nah, been there 2x, 6 years apart, worse now.
Oct 03, 2017
We took 22 scouts and 8 adults on a two night tent campout at the Herkimer KOA. Sites were great for tent camping, the KOA had firewood and dryers (which we used when two tents got swamped by heavy rains one night. The location is across the street from the Diamond Mine, which the boys loved! I would go back to this site, it was a great experience. Appreciate the friendliness of the KOA staff!
Sep 28, 2017
Everyone was very nice and accommodating. Thank you for such a pleasant stay.
Sep 27, 2017
Nice campground, just wish there were more bathroom facilities!
Sep 25, 2017
Tent sites by the river were very spacious. Campground was clean and offered many fun things to do. Staff were helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay again!
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
Great place nice tent sight right next to the water
Sep 14, 2017
It was a short weekend but one of the best camping times I've ever had. Thank you to all the staff for keeping the place safe meet and clean and also kind n courteous Thank you all again and I hope to see you guys next year
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Our second trip there this year. We were the only ones in the mine for half a day. It was a lovely experience. In the rain I could not glean "herks" as we call them so I picked up two garbage bags of trash people discarded in the mine. I think a sign that encourages no littering is a suggestion. You provide plenty of receptacles. Your Father looks very good. We have come 12 years and love it there
Sep 05, 2017
Loved the activities for the kids. Besides the rain and being wet we had a great time and plan to return in the future.
Sep 03, 2017
Loved the location next to West Canada creek! Our tent site had everything that we would like -- fire pit, swing, cooking fire area and easy access to the water. My only complaint is that more bathrooms/shower facilities are needed.
Sep 02, 2017
Enjoyed our stay! Only issues were we were staying at two of the premium sites and many people would end their rafting trip at our site and not think twice about walking through our site. You need to mark the end of tubing after the sites , since one of our oars fir our raft was also taken from our campsite. Also in am bathroom near breakfast area very messy and without paper towels in the am
Sep 01, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
As always a great place to stay. Great place to get away and relax.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
The campground was very clean and the campsites were larger than I expected! There were also so many fun activities planned all weekend for the kids (and adults too!). We would definitely camp here again in the future!
Aug 31, 2017
Everyone was amazing and the campground is so clean! The river was right behind us which was mezmorizing, especially at night. And the free coffee was surprisingly really good! I am picky when it comes to my coffee. We are going to make this a yearly trip.
Aug 31, 2017
Easy check-in process. Lots of fun activities going on at this camp. Bathrooms super clean. Excellent experience!
Aug 28, 2017
Our stay was amazing. The staff was incredible. My only suggestion is because you are so wonderfully kid friendly that you add step stools to the bathrooms for the little ones.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Site was nice and help was great.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
With four grandchildren in tow, I was thrilled with all of the activities that kept them busy and active. They loved the pool playground and basketball court. We want to return next year and take time to enjoy rafting in the stream and mining for diamonds!
Aug 25, 2017
We were very satisfied with the area and very happy with the staff. Your campground was a pleasure to stay at! The only bad part was the weather. It was tueaday the day of the tornado and heavey rains. But your staff helped us very exceptionaly. We are planning to return soon. Jean&Dick Thank you very much!
Aug 22, 2017
Great time kids love it
Aug 22, 2017
Nice activities for my son and me. Ice cream social, movie night (Lilo and stitch were changed though), rocket, slime... Wish tent site had shade (112) but survived. Pool area clean. Garbage too early in am. Bathroom clean and well lit at night.
Aug 21, 2017
The lazy river is the best part of this campgrounds. I don't know why they don't highlight that more on their website. The bad parts are. The website and map highlight some of their amenities like a tree house. It is rented out as a cabin so the kids can't use it. There are a few other things there that look great for kids that are off limits too. the tent sites are small and have no electric :(
Aug 21, 2017
Great campground for a scout pack or troop.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
My first trip with my son just by ourselves. We had a great time and the memory of him excitedly running down the lane to the mine will be one of those that I treasure.
Aug 21, 2017
I had a fun and adventurous camping to this camp ground. I also, had a chance to dig for diamond and found one to be share with my love one. I am definitely recommend this KOA to my nearest relatives and friends.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
This was our third year at this koa. Every year we explore different cabins. We stayed at the solar lodge. The pool was clean and refreshing after a fun day of mining. Went creek tubing, which is always a blast. I will be back next year and probably bringing more family and friends. Staff was extra friendly this year and was appreciated.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
it was a nice, relaxing stay. staff was very friendly, restrooms were clean, site was quiet, couldn't ask for more.
Aug 16, 2017
Its so busy, the staff was not able to keep up with the bathroom. Toilet paper was out, the garbage was always overflowing. One toilet was completely out for a day. 7th year and they need to bring it back to the high standards we are used to.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
This is our 7th year going. We go with a group of 11 families. Everything was great. The only disappointments were, the bathrooms seemed to be dirtier this time and we were disappointed to reserve for next year and find that most of the sites that all the families get were booked. So next year we are all spread out.
Aug 14, 2017
We reserved a superior tent site on the river, which was fantastic...except for the folks who were confused about where to get out of the river tubing Run who cut through our site and helped themselves to our paddles and less than secured food. A big "EXIT HERE" or "private" sign would go a long way to direct those who may be confused.
Aug 14, 2017
The deluxe camp site was beautiful. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the river. I've never been to a KoA before so the many activities were wonderful! Even the welcome pack I received upon arrival was impressive. I'm already making plans to come back.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice stay. Close to The Mines! Clean, relatively quiet. Nice stay next to the river. Close enough to other things to do, but not too far away from things either. Clean. Well maintained. Looks like mega-garbage dumpsters were dumped daily (?). We even got to swim @ your pool and watch them haul a huge septic tank out of the ground. Who could ask for more?
Aug 13, 2017
negative:women's bathrooms-toilets were not working appropriately(not flushing). shower stall walls(between showers) should be closed in. we pack for the family and lose our supplies when passing to person in next shower. positive: we were there during thunderstorms and high winds..your staff was excellent in checking in and giving evacuation plans and making sure no one was hurt. appreciated!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award