Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2017
Matt the activities guy did a great job of making things entertaining. It is more than just a job for him he went the extra mile and go out of his way to strike up a conversation. He had a wide variety of activities and tried to do things that would meet a variety of people's likes.
Oct 12, 2017
A few miles off the interstate but worth it. Stayed 2 nights in our 18' camper. Perfect spot with full hookups right on the river. Can't say enough about this place! Staff was great and the area is beautifully maintained. Bathrooms were clean. Had fun mining for diamonds across the road. Did laundry, clean machines. Some unique cabins! We would highly recommend this campground.
Oct 11, 2017
Unfortunately, there had been some repair work at our site and it was not raked out, so there were clumps of dirt and sand which we tracked in all our campers. They should have covered the bare dirt with wood chips or some other type of mulch. Other than that, the bathrooms are clean, showers are hot, lots of amenities and friendly staff.
Oct 11, 2017
we love stayinghere
Oct 11, 2017
We only stayed overnight but it is a beautifully located campground and nicely quiet. My only recommendation is that the pull through site we were assigned needs low hanging tree branches trimmed to accommodate a motorhome or large trailer. Either that or place a note in the computer so it will only be used by smaller trailers. I pulled into the grass area to get around the tree branches.
Oct 10, 2017
A beautiful and peaceful place to stay.
Oct 10, 2017
Amazing as always! We love the area for our last hoorah each year.
Oct 10, 2017
Always have a great time.......BINGO is not as exciting as it used to be.
Oct 10, 2017
A great place to stay. Enjoy the creek in particular. Wish I could find more of the railroad history as it passed through the campground. That was the Herkimer,Newport and Poland RR. You can still still a bridge at the North end of your KOA. We have been coming since 1991 (our pop up days)
Oct 10, 2017
Need New sheets and blankets. New mattress for the pull out sofa. Otherwise, fabulous.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved it as always! We will be back.
Oct 10, 2017
Awesome time! Beautiful place - rain or shine! Friendly staff and campers!!
Oct 10, 2017
Nice and relaxing. Staff not the friendliest.
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay at the campground was excellent. We stayed in Site 14 which was way too close to Site 13 (should be 1 site)! We were a pull in a directly faced the neighbors, thankfully they were great. The staff was awesome and helpful in all areas, office, restaurants, and the mine! We had so much fun in the mine with our 9 and 10 year old boys. The kids are already asking when we can go back!
Oct 10, 2017
Thought I was getting a back in site and got a pull in which I had to maneuver close to the next site to make sure my slide out didnât hit thereâs. Site was a 50 amp only. First time Iâve ever seen this in 11 years of camping and the office had no adapters to buy or borrow. Paid $80/ night for a deluxe site that was not very convenient. KOA did not make our last weekend very enjoyable.
Oct 10, 2017
Very enjoyable. Clean rest room! Awesome!
Oct 10, 2017
Stayed in site 10, a "premium site" and the included grill was a plus and had a full tank. Sites are close and some hookups are on the wrong side. A 25' power cord barely reached. Cable TV was good in the rain, we enjoyed the Discovery Channel. Traffic noise from Rte 28 is minimal. Showers were adequate but could have used a shelf for soap etc. Staff was friendly. Overall, clean and well run
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay was a family get together and except for me, it was the first time for everybody to experience the Herkimer adventure. We all had such a good time that everybody wants to book now for next year. Our stay was marvelous, everything we expected and more.
Oct 10, 2017
We had a great time and we look forward to coming back in the summer.
Oct 10, 2017
Excellent stay. Great activities.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the site we had right on the West Canada! So peaceful and relaxing! Sites are a bit close together but we met some really nice people. The activities that the campground organizes are amazing! The staff are friendly and helpful too! We are definitely going back! Thank you for an amazing weekend!!
Oct 10, 2017
The only negative I would say is the wifi is terrible. Outdoor activities provide by the KOA are awesome. Staff is friendly. All and all an awesome KOA.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the campground and our stay other than how small and close all the sites are together. We barely had enough room to sit outside after parking our camper and truck. Activities for the kids were great as well as the ice cream social and pancake breakfast!
Oct 10, 2017
Everything was very good except the cabins are very close to each other and on top of that they put us in a cabin next to other campers when there was plenty of other cabins that were not occupied. They should have spread it out to give some room. The events and everything else were great, so five stars for the rest of it!
Oct 09, 2017
Great location, great area. The staff was very helpful when we had a small problem with our trailer. We cant wait to come back to the region and stay there for a longer vacation!
Oct 09, 2017
Stayed in basic cabin 8. Would come back, but in a different, bigger cabin with a bathroom. The lock on our door was broken, and the top of the garbage bin inside was broken.
Oct 09, 2017
great campground
Oct 08, 2017
Such an Awesome well maintained campground with a kind and friendly staff. The Miners Table restaurant was more than i expected with great food and service.Would have been nice to get a little more information on how to actually do the mining, the very short video doesn't give enough information.Overall it was a great time for me and my friend and will be returning.
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Two nights just to relax.
Oct 07, 2017
The food is amazing at their restaurant definitely recommend ordering and having it delivered to your campsite we had an amazing time here.
Oct 06, 2017
Campground was nice overall but our site( pull through) was tight with the huge 5th wheel next to us. You could touch it from the edge of our concrete patio and the patio table was dirty when we arrived( dried food stuff). They had many nice sites along the water, bathroom and showers were clean and updated. The store was small and didn't have lots to choose from as other KOA stores i have seen.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
I think the price for a fall weekend was a little high and the cabin had absolutely NO heat but other than that - it's a great location and a great campground.
Oct 05, 2017
We had a great time. Quiet during the week and had a great site. We were glad we didn't have children with us as we would be concerned for their safety as other people do not adhere to the speed limit and were driving way too fast for the amount of children playing. Over all week was great and relaxing.
Oct 05, 2017
Good wifi, fantastic setting, beautiful campground. We had other places to be but I could have stayed there for weeks perfectly happy. Good helpful staff as well.
Oct 05, 2017
For a kamping Kabin, this was the best weâve experienced. TV, mini fridge & linens! Beautiful campground & helpful staff. Weâll be back.
Oct 04, 2017
My only regret was not being able to stay longer! We had a blast and are looking forward to our next visit!
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
Beautiful Campground on the river. Loved the natural setting with wild geese all around. Grounds are well maintained and staff were very friendly. Suggestion: showerhouse needs work - no hot water at 8:00pm - water flow minimal from shower heads.
Oct 03, 2017
Gorgeous campground, love the cabin/cottage decor! Peaceful and tranquil!
Oct 03, 2017
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this KOA . Never again. Camped at primitive site. Unbelievable noise far into the a.m. hours, never saw a KOA employee outside the office during the 4 days there, looked like a WalMart parking lot, wall-to-wall vehicles parked EVERYWHERE, on both sides of the roadway, blocking roads, expensive to stay there. Nah, been there 2x, 6 years apart, worse now.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Ever since the KOA in Middleville NY became a Resort it has gone down hill. The deluxe sites over in front of the office you can barely even get a camper in to and they are way overpriced. We were sitting at the campfire drinking coffee and the worker came over and said we were being too loud. His attitude was miserable the whole weekend. I used to love it here but not anymore.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
We took 22 scouts and 8 adults on a two night tent campout at the Herkimer KOA. Sites were great for tent camping, the KOA had firewood and dryers (which we used when two tents got swamped by heavy rains one night. The location is across the street from the Diamond Mine, which the boys loved! I would go back to this site, it was a great experience. Appreciate the friendliness of the KOA staff!
Oct 03, 2017
We really love your KOA.People are great.The themed cabins by the creek are great.The diamond mines are cool.There is however one problem.We had a couple move into the cabin next door and this unfortunately pretty much ruined our second day.They parked in our parking spot,started playing music loudly and informed us that they were there to celebrate their high school reunion across the street. YUK
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award