Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Dec 02, 2019
The people there are extremely nice, they made us feel right at home. Beautiful campground
Nov 18, 2019
Need WiFi improvement. Was really bad
Nov 04, 2019
This was my first time staying in a cabin with my family, although I have camped here before in tents with my Boy Scout Troop. Everyone thought is was great. We really loved the place. Much more fun than staying at a motel. Only wish you were open past November 1 as we would stay there again while visiting property we own in the area during Thanksgiving break. Thanks for a great experience!
Oct 31, 2019
Campground needs a bit of love. Sites are well worn (maybe it was simply the end of the season and they will have everything refreshed before they reopen) and need grass etc raised a bit so when obtains, there are no puddles immediately outside the RV door as is what happened to most of our friends this weekend. Staff was great. Bathrooms near our site were under what KOA usually has. Loose toil
Oct 30, 2019
We stayed in the off season so no pool or rafting, but this is a very nice campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
Basically KOA is generally over priced. If it wasn't for a group gathering, I would not stay at one if at all possible. The water/electric site was ok although it was a mix of soggy turf (due to the rain) and a gravel pad, but for the price? The cable tv is nice but channel selection was similar to over the air I've got in locations, not much for major channels.
Oct 30, 2019
Our son, daughter in law and grandchildren stayed with us. We stayed overnight the weekend of 10/26 & 10/27/19. First we were so excited that you folks stay open until the end of October. Most of the local campgrounds close the second weekend of October. We had a great time at the Diamond Mines. The campgrounds are very well maintained. Staff super pleasant!! Great job!!!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
The people working in the office were excellent!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
The staff were very nice there and very accommodating. The campground was beautiful.
Oct 28, 2019
I love go to the place, is amazing, I found some diamonds and I love them
Oct 28, 2019
We are always treated very well and the camp is always very well kept.
Oct 28, 2019
Great time, just a tricky entrance with a big rig coming from the south...will come back...
Oct 27, 2019
Our “deluxe campsite” was truly a delight! It was large, right on the water, had both a grilling ring and campfire ring, and a wonderful porch-type swing. There was balance between trees and open space and the electricity allowed us to hang our traditional Christmas tree lights. The only downside were the restrooms...unfortunately, they aren’t real convenient for most of the tent sites.
Oct 26, 2019
Beautiful layout!
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
My husband and I came up to Herkimer for a long weekend to visit some friends. We were very happy at Herkimer and plan to come back again but I think we will come earlier in Fall ! lol
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
We came at end of the season and just after they had hosted 1000 Boy Scouts, so I was not expecting perfection. However this place didn’t live up to a resort status. One of the backstops on the basketball court had a huge hole in it. The men’s bathroom had falling plaster on the ceiling, there was dust and dirt a half inch thick on the walls. The stall had been spray painted but but messy. NOT
Oct 23, 2019
All ways a great staff! Very nice facility.
Oct 23, 2019
Our stay was pleasant-staff was friendly-campground was clean-and the 400 Boy Scouts staying well behaved gentlemen-
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
Cabin was clean and cozy. Grounds are extensive, lots to see and do. The pizza at Miner's Table was excellent!! Bathroom was very clean.
Oct 22, 2019
We had a great time and may possibly plan a week stay here next summer. We have been to more than a dozen KOA locations and this one tops the list.
Oct 22, 2019
Fun Time, Great Dinner at the Restaurant.
Oct 22, 2019
Campgrounds it’s OK fun activities for the kids a lot of potholes in the roads the roads could be fixed
Oct 21, 2019
Loved our Cabin!! Clean and beautiful!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Excellent stay in cabin. Staff is very helpful and friendly, especially Harold. It was Boy Scout Jamboree weekend, and even the few Boy Scouts we met were very friendly and respectful. We'll be back!!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Clean and good sized site. The staff could be more friendly. They seem bored and impatient, but if you don’t have to deal with them too much, it’s fine. I would go back.
Oct 19, 2019
The Cabin we were in was perfect for myself and my two dogs. There was a dog yard outside and a dog crate inside if we needed it. Everything was very nice and we were well rested the next day to resume our trip. The campground itself is in a beautiful spot and well kept up.
Oct 18, 2019
Well kept, Clean, friendly and convenient to a very good & reasonable restaurant and Herkimer Diamond Mine across the street! Great time had by all!
Oct 18, 2019
No one to guide us to our site, dark night and raining. Office open and staffed. Will not come back to this KOA again!!
Oct 17, 2019
Awesome
Oct 17, 2019
We had a nice stay. We had 4 sites in our group. One thing that we didn't like, was that across from us their were 5th wheels and they had dogs. their dogs were not kept on leases & were aloud to run to the open field behind them, & of course, they left all their poop places all over the field. The kids liked going over to the field to play football. Wasn't pleasant with poop all over.
Oct 17, 2019
We liked the campground as a whole but we’re disappointed in our accommodations in Solar 1. The website said it had a microwave which it didn’t have when we arrived. The entry door was warped and catches on the deck, so our kids didn’t have the strength to push it open and closed by themselves. We put on the heat and the fan made a HORRIBLE clanking noise the whole time it was on.
Oct 16, 2019
Not sure what happened to cable tv, was Spectrum, now Direct tv, no local tv stations or weather stations for local weather, some stations did not come in at all that were listed on campgrounds guide
Oct 16, 2019
Herkimer KOA was very accommodating. Our originally booked site was not suitable for what we wanted and they very quickly and with out complaint changed our site to one that worked for us , also we had a situation happen where a dog owner did not pick up their dogs scat and the staff came right over cleaned it up and gave us a free bundle of wood for the inconvenience. Was very enjoyable!
Oct 16, 2019
We have camped at Herkimer KOA for years on Columbus day. This year we had 7 families, 6 rv's and 1 cabin. We were right by the playground. Multiple cars and trucks were going by way too fast. The speed limit is 4mph.. comments to the stuff went unanswered. Overall the park hasn't changed in years other than adding more cabins. This price has gone from $54 to $80 a night. We will not be back!
Oct 16, 2019
Clean campground Great activities for family camping. I just wish there had been a little more room between our camper and the one to our back..
Oct 16, 2019
Our stay at your campground was a lot of fun. We brought our 9 year old grandson with us and he said "he had the best time ever" He loved the mines and loved being able to fish right on our site! We liked that the campground was very clean with lots of fun activities.
Oct 16, 2019
We enjoyed a three nights stay in one of the DK cabins. The mines were close and the shop was amazing. The younger gentleman at the hammer rental and permit didn't have very good customer service skills. No personality to really speak of, until challenged. Still I think over the three days even slammed with people he did better. High end cabin should have high speed wrapped into cost at most.
Oct 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our camping experience at your Herkimer, NY KOA. We camped on the creek and loved having our �� with the background sound of the stream. We joined up with 5 families and had a wonderful time. We are looking forward to staying in warmer weather next year.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Lovely grounds dirty moldy bathrooms.
Oct 15, 2019
Was pleasantly surprised. Was expecting more of a typical KOA experience with tight campsites but that was not the case. Plenty of room and amenities. Great restaurant associated with the campground across the street.
Nov 27, 2019
Stayed in a cabin next to the mines and enjoyed the 2days 2nights there.
- The Regular Family Show starring The Maces on Google
Nov 23, 2019
Great location along mountain stream. Big space venue with good facilities. Lots of people but didn't seem packed due to strategic layout of sites.
- Mark French on Google
Nov 07, 2019
Nice place
- Un Chapín en Nueva York Mynor Osorio on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.