Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2018
Very nice campground, the staff is friendly and they keep the campground clean which is a big plus when camping and the store is just amazing. Great job
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 12, 2018
KOA camp ground is a nice place to stay. Lots of activities for the kids.
Jul 12, 2018
We enjoyed our stay the site was very neat and staff was very accommodating.looking forward to going back again.
Jul 12, 2018
Minor issue with the dryer not sure which one Beautiful place Enjoyed the stay
Jul 11, 2018
Awesome campground. Friendly staff, clean and a picturesque setting.
Jul 11, 2018
Staff were responsive to our request for another site. Sign should have been posted for the showers not having hot water brrr.
Jul 10, 2018
I was happy with the park, clean bathrooms and nice sites. It was very hot out and the pool was cloudy. I know they test four times a day but I think it needed shocked or something else. The few time we visited the store, the personnel were a little short on customer service. Everyone we dealt with outside of that were great. I do wish it were a little more less expensive :-(
Jul 10, 2018
VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THEIR WAS NO HOT WATER FOR SHOWERING DURING OUR STAY.
Jul 10, 2018
We have camped the last 2 yrs Herkimer KOA. Sites are not adequately prepared between check out of the previous camper and our arrival. We know our site was empty prior to our arrival and an employee was parked in his golf cart on the site. There was still a notable amount of garbage on the ground, it would have taken him 10 min to pick up. The lawn/weeds had not been mowed. A bit disappointing!
Jul 10, 2018
This is our 11th year staying at Herkimer. Always stay 6 to 7 days. Love it.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
We always love staying here, our only complaint was that there was no hot water in the shower house closest to the tent sites
Jul 10, 2018
Staff was helpful in relocating our site when we saw difficulties with the size of the space. This was our first time here, so we were not sure what to expect. The weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy the visit. Seemed like many rules were not followed or enforced (many kids at the pool without adult supervision, for example)
Jul 10, 2018
We had a wonderful stay! Having access to the river from our campsite is so convenient. The pool and surrounding deck area was dirty & needed some attention. But the rest of the park was in tip top shape! The kids love having daily activities to choose from. We will definitely be back. Booking already for next year.
Jul 10, 2018
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because of the bathrooms. The bathrooms by Sapphire Lane were very dirty for the first day and a half. When I did say something at the office, they were cleaned. Plus, those bathrooms had no hot water in the showers. All the employees at the camp were top notch - friendly, accomodating and hard workers. They were a definite plus to our stay.
Jul 10, 2018
Very friendly staff!! Love this campground.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Loved the campgrounds. Would love to go back again. It is also a quiet campgrounds
Jul 10, 2018
Loved the campground and enjoyed the mining too
Jul 10, 2018
My daughter had such a great time that she didn't want to leave. She loved the pool and the river and the diamond mine. I enjoyed the stay as well and we hope to come back again soon.
Jul 10, 2018
location was great - at check in we were given a site went to that site - started to set up and another camper came in they too had been given the same site. Up to the office - we had been given the wrong site # at check in. the rest rooms could have been cleaner - they had mud/dirt on the floor when we arrived at 12pm on 7/1 and when we left at 8am on 7/2 they were still muddy.
Jul 10, 2018
While staying in cabin K19, someone was in my parking spot, told office but to no avail, therefore I had to park on lawn at night and damaged my car on a rock as could not see hardly at all. Large scratches on lower passenger side, filled out report at office hoping for some sort of compensation in good faith as I paid for cabin and parking spot. Also cabin floor was filthy, not cleaned at all
Jul 09, 2018
All the staff was very accommodating make sure that I was completely satisfied and was very attentive. Was more than fair value wise was a great deal awesome place would love to go again
Jul 09, 2018
Campground was very clean! Customer service was excellent, mining across the street was fun pretty cool diamonds. The place as a whole was a bit smaller than we are used to but was worth it. The river was clean and tubing the kids had a blast! I would recommend..
Jul 09, 2018
We were pleased with our site and the staff was very friendly with the exception of the woman working the diamond mine registration on Friday July 6.She was somewhat rude and not very helpful. The other downside was the Wifi (not very strong and hard to connect to), and the water pressure was low. The person mowing lawn blew clippings all over our awning mat and lawn chairs. Probably won't be back
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Was disappointed with our deluxe site being in the blazing sun. No trees at all near our site. The pool was less than appealing with debris and little chlorine. I fished the debris out numerous times while at the pool. We have camped here a few times and enjoy the creek tube rides and the activities, but will look at other camp grounds now.
Jul 09, 2018
Loved the treehouse!
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
We enjoyed everything about the campground the only problem was it was to short of a stay!!
Jul 09, 2018
great campground. Pool was very dirty on Saturday. saw no staff, so I skimmed the pool myself with yoru skimmer. Much debris in water. Also, the parking for DK5 is extremely inconvienient. Asking guests to carry all of their belongings from the parking area is not ideal. need parking at unit. Becca in Miners table is GREAT!
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
It was great. Second time. My 8 year old son loves to stay at the Diamond Resort. He took advantage of the golf, pool, playground, dance party, bingo, ice cream social and yes the diamond mining. All from 1pm to 10:15 pm.
Jul 08, 2018
I had the priveledge to tent/cabin when it rained.. I found the bed matresses horrible, for the money of a solar cabin, sofa sleeper matress need to be replaced, same complaint I had last 2 stays.. pool is in need of repair and better maintanence, as it had bugs, debri, hair floating most days, or at least a vacuum/ hand skim periodically throughout day, as my cousin skimmed personally. Traditi
Jul 08, 2018
Herkimer KOA is clean, with great surroundings (trees, bushes, the creek, mountains, etc.) Tubing & soaking in the creek was very pleasant. On the negative side, not having air conditioning in the smaller Kabins was VERY unpleasant. The pool was not well-maintained; water was cloudy and full of leaves & bugs. Wi-Fi was almost non-existent. The negatives cause us to question if we'll return.
Jul 08, 2018
Great campground! They have done several improvements to the property since our last visit. The new Miner's Village (even though it's not yet complete) is amazing. I really enjoy this KOA. The only slight thing that needs to be addressed is the bathroom floors are so slippery at the end of the day. My kids and I both almost fell multiple times.
Jul 08, 2018
Absolutely loved our stay! The campground is beautiful, and offers many lodging choices. The saff is welcomeing, friendly and helpful. Outside of mining, there are lots of activities on the campground; river tubing, pool, movies on the projector, telescope for astronomy, various arts & crafts, bonfires, family games, etc! We are definitely making this a yearly tradition! You won't be disappointed!
Jul 07, 2018
Creek rapids were fabulous. Bathrooms were questionable due to broken urinal. Also, in anticipation of a busy and hot 4th of July week, they should have stocked more ice cream or st least anticipated that lots of ice cream would be sold.
Jul 07, 2018
Just shy of a five star campground with friendly staff and clean facilities. Wifi is advertised but not available. Water connections at site need new fittings and valves. Recommend sites along river have gravel added, dirt site (42) became mud due to rain. River tubing was awesome. Grandchildren had a great time at playground and pool. Pizza delivery was a plus.
Jul 07, 2018
First time at this KOA. Staff was pleasant and enjoyed our stay. Will be happy to come back. Only negative was the size of the site. Plus the ground was tore up with hay laid all around. For the price we paid for a deluxe site, it should not be "under construction" and not rite on top of the next site. That aside we will be back. Again.
Jul 07, 2018
We enjoyed our stay despite the intense heat that weekend. Our only complaint is the closeness of sites. We would prefer more room due to our family size. The family activities where great!
Jul 07, 2018
The campground is very nice with lots of things for families to do . I think the prices are a little high but I will have to look into the discount card. Thank you.
Jul 07, 2018
Jul 06, 2018
We had so much fun. My son made me make a reservation for next year.
Jul 06, 2018
My biggest issue with the campground is they never told us that our sites were not back in, they were pull in. Normally that's no issue, but if I pulled in my truck would be sitting in West Canada Creek. So I had to scramble to find extra sewer hose, extra power cords, extra water hoses to make it to my connections. So I was stuck with having my front door 8' from the camper next to me.
Jul 06, 2018
If we were told at making the reservation that every other site was a pull in/back in. It would have made set up a lot easier, I can't say I have ever seen this type of campsite and I hope never to see it again.
Jul 06, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award