Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 18, 2017
We happened to be at the KOA during the fire on Oct 14th. As somber as the experience was, the staff at the KOA continued all activities and the mines were opened later that day. The activities staff kept kids and parents alike busy all day. Thankfully no lives were harmed by the fire and we look forward to the rebuild. We had such a memorable experience and can't wait to return in 2018!
Oct 18, 2017
We stayed five nights, and the campground and staff was wonderful, We intend of making this campground a favorite spot when in the area.
Oct 18, 2017
Stayed over night. Camped 50 feet from the river. Fantastic location.
Oct 18, 2017
Beautiful KOA. Very nice spots by the river. Only drawback was the smallness of the dog park.
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
This is a beautiful site. I wish we had more time to explore it. The location is perfectly set in the Hills above Herkimer.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time at Herkimer Diamond KOA, will stay again
Oct 16, 2017
Easy Check-in; nice store, lots of activities. The grounds were pretty decent. Wish there were more showers and bath houses at far ends of park. The sites were deep enough to accommodate my 40 foot trailer. Wish the sites were a little wider, but these are better than most. This is our fourth visit. It was nice to see the main bathhouse/bathroom was recently tiled!
Oct 16, 2017
We and they other 3 couples that we travel with felt that this was the NICEST KOA that we have ever stayed at! Th grounds were beautifully maintained, the different themed kabins looked to be very warm, comfortable and inviting. We even had the opportunity to borrow the key to the tree house kabin to see what that looked like. It is one I would truly recommend!
Oct 16, 2017
Was so sad about the gift store and museum burning to the ground. Just glad that nobody was in the building at that hour of the morning.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Great stay although short. We were just on our way back from Maine to Ontario. Decided that 11 hour drive would be too much. We arrived at 9pm and left at 11am. We actually slept thru the Museum fire.... Rode our bikes quickly around park and read about stream and its activities and waterflow variances and thought it would be great to stay for a few days... Maybe next time.
Oct 16, 2017
Wonderful! Had a beautiful back in site right on the river by the Bluffs
Oct 16, 2017
This campground was the most beautiful clean campgrounds we have ever stayed in. It was restful and serene. The staff was sincerely friendly and we felt right at home.
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
People cutting through site constantly wether we were outside or not. Site not level, had to use blocks under levelers on one side rear. Tree hanging over camper and branches on camper. We had rain one night and had mud around our steps. Not a good experience this time. Nice landscaped campground we just didnât get a great site.
Oct 14, 2017
Lots of things to do. Unusual cabins, looked intriguing. Our view was great. Shower facilities were fine. Probably one of the most impressive campgrounds we've ever stayed in.
Oct 14, 2017
Great Staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Nice grounds. Amazing cabins. We used a full service pull through for our 42' toy hauler. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Oct 12, 2017
Matt the activities guy did a great job of making things entertaining. It is more than just a job for him he went the extra mile and go out of his way to strike up a conversation. He had a wide variety of activities and tried to do things that would meet a variety of people's likes.
Oct 12, 2017
A few miles off the interstate but worth it. Stayed 2 nights in our 18' camper. Perfect spot with full hookups right on the river. Can't say enough about this place! Staff was great and the area is beautifully maintained. Bathrooms were clean. Had fun mining for diamonds across the road. Did laundry, clean machines. Some unique cabins! We would highly recommend this campground.
Oct 11, 2017
Unfortunately, there had been some repair work at our site and it was not raked out, so there were clumps of dirt and sand which we tracked in all our campers. They should have covered the bare dirt with wood chips or some other type of mulch. Other than that, the bathrooms are clean, showers are hot, lots of amenities and friendly staff.
Oct 11, 2017
we love stayinghere
Oct 11, 2017
We only stayed overnight but it is a beautifully located campground and nicely quiet. My only recommendation is that the pull through site we were assigned needs low hanging tree branches trimmed to accommodate a motorhome or large trailer. Either that or place a note in the computer so it will only be used by smaller trailers. I pulled into the grass area to get around the tree branches.
Oct 10, 2017
Amazing as always! We love the area for our last hoorah each year.
Oct 10, 2017
Always have a great time.......BINGO is not as exciting as it used to be.
Oct 10, 2017
A great place to stay. Enjoy the creek in particular. Wish I could find more of the railroad history as it passed through the campground. That was the Herkimer,Newport and Poland RR. You can still still a bridge at the North end of your KOA. We have been coming since 1991 (our pop up days)
Oct 10, 2017
Loved it as always! We will be back.
Oct 10, 2017
Awesome time! Beautiful place - rain or shine! Friendly staff and campers!!
Oct 10, 2017
Nice and relaxing. Staff not the friendliest.
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay at the campground was excellent. We stayed in Site 14 which was way too close to Site 13 (should be 1 site)! We were a pull in a directly faced the neighbors, thankfully they were great. The staff was awesome and helpful in all areas, office, restaurants, and the mine! We had so much fun in the mine with our 9 and 10 year old boys. The kids are already asking when we can go back!
Oct 10, 2017
Thought I was getting a back in site and got a pull in which I had to maneuver close to the next site to make sure my slide out didnât hit thereâs. Site was a 50 amp only. First time Iâve ever seen this in 11 years of camping and the office had no adapters to buy or borrow. Paid $80/ night for a deluxe site that was not very convenient. KOA did not make our last weekend very enjoyable.
Oct 10, 2017
Very enjoyable. Clean rest room! Awesome!
Oct 10, 2017
Stayed in site 10, a "premium site" and the included grill was a plus and had a full tank. Sites are close and some hookups are on the wrong side. A 25' power cord barely reached. Cable TV was good in the rain, we enjoyed the Discovery Channel. Traffic noise from Rte 28 is minimal. Showers were adequate but could have used a shelf for soap etc. Staff was friendly. Overall, clean and well run
Oct 10, 2017
We had a great time and we look forward to coming back in the summer.
Oct 10, 2017
Excellent stay. Great activities.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the site we had right on the West Canada! So peaceful and relaxing! Sites are a bit close together but we met some really nice people. The activities that the campground organizes are amazing! The staff are friendly and helpful too! We are definitely going back! Thank you for an amazing weekend!!
Oct 10, 2017
The only negative I would say is the wifi is terrible. Outdoor activities provide by the KOA are awesome. Staff is friendly. All and all an awesome KOA.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the campground and our stay other than how small and close all the sites are together. We barely had enough room to sit outside after parking our camper and truck. Activities for the kids were great as well as the ice cream social and pancake breakfast!
Oct 09, 2017
Great location, great area. The staff was very helpful when we had a small problem with our trailer. We cant wait to come back to the region and stay there for a longer vacation!
Oct 09, 2017
great campground
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Two nights just to relax.
Oct 07, 2017
The food is amazing at their restaurant definitely recommend ordering and having it delivered to your campsite we had an amazing time here.
Oct 06, 2017
Campground was nice overall but our site( pull through) was tight with the huge 5th wheel next to us. You could touch it from the edge of our concrete patio and the patio table was dirty when we arrived( dried food stuff). They had many nice sites along the water, bathroom and showers were clean and updated. The store was small and didn't have lots to choose from as other KOA stores i have seen.
Oct 05, 2017
We had a great time. Quiet during the week and had a great site. We were glad we didn't have children with us as we would be concerned for their safety as other people do not adhere to the speed limit and were driving way too fast for the amount of children playing. Over all week was great and relaxing.
Oct 05, 2017
Good wifi, fantastic setting, beautiful campground. We had other places to be but I could have stayed there for weeks perfectly happy. Good helpful staff as well.
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
Beautiful Campground on the river. Loved the natural setting with wild geese all around. Grounds are well maintained and staff were very friendly. Suggestion: showerhouse needs work - no hot water at 8:00pm - water flow minimal from shower heads.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award