Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details
Nov 04, 2019
This was my first time staying in a cabin with my family, although I have camped here before in tents with my Boy Scout Troop. Everyone thought is was great. We really loved the place. Much more fun than staying at a motel. Only wish you were open past November 1 as we would stay there again while visiting property we own in the area during Thanksgiving break. Thanks for a great experience!
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
The staff were very nice there and very accommodating. The campground was beautiful.
Oct 28, 2019
I love go to the place, is amazing, I found some diamonds and I love them
Oct 28, 2019
We are always treated very well and the camp is always very well kept.
Oct 28, 2019
Great time, just a tricky entrance with a big rig coming from the south...will come back...
Oct 22, 2019
Cabin was clean and cozy. Grounds are extensive, lots to see and do. The pizza at Miner's Table was excellent!! Bathroom was very clean.
Oct 21, 2019
Loved our Cabin!! Clean and beautiful!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Excellent stay in cabin. Staff is very helpful and friendly, especially Harold. It was Boy Scout Jamboree weekend, and even the few Boy Scouts we met were very friendly and respectful. We'll be back!!
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 19, 2019
The Cabin we were in was perfect for myself and my two dogs. There was a dog yard outside and a dog crate inside if we needed it. Everything was very nice and we were well rested the next day to resume our trip. The campground itself is in a beautiful spot and well kept up.
Oct 17, 2019
We liked the campground as a whole but we’re disappointed in our accommodations in Solar 1. The website said it had a microwave which it didn’t have when we arrived. The entry door was warped and catches on the deck, so our kids didn’t have the strength to push it open and closed by themselves. We put on the heat and the fan made a HORRIBLE clanking noise the whole time it was on.
Oct 16, 2019
We enjoyed a three nights stay in one of the DK cabins. The mines were close and the shop was amazing. The younger gentleman at the hammer rental and permit didn't have very good customer service skills. No personality to really speak of, until challenged. Still I think over the three days even slammed with people he did better. High end cabin should have high speed wrapped into cost at most.
Oct 15, 2019
I‘be stayed at many KOA‘s, and I have to say, this was the most beautiful. We had deluxe cabin and RV site right next to each other so our family could remain together, and we were right up against the flowing river. It couldn’t have been more perfect. The only complaint we had was there should be another outside light facing The stairs. We had 2 people fall down them at night.
Oct 15, 2019
Nice people and clean campground. I had a problem since we did stay 2 nights and i overbooked to stay on monday by mistake. I tried to get a refund hoping since we , (2 cabins), did stay the 2 nights they would be considerate and return the extra night as a courtesy. It was my mistake i admit but we did pay a lot to stay there. I will probably look into another campground next time. I had cabin 6
Oct 09, 2019
Great weekend. Lodge was very clean this year-definite improvement from last year. We come same weekend every year and will see you next September-maybe sooner.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
The staff was very nice. We stayed in one of the solar cabins and for the amount of money we paid, I expected better. The heat was not working in the cabin, the first night we stayed the cabin was 30 degrees. We informed the front desk in the morning and a space heater was given to us later that afternoon for the second night due to maintenance not being able to fix the issue.
Oct 08, 2019
Amazing place, location is great, themed lodge really nice and all the staff very helpful and thoughtful. Just one detail: replace the shower head of the astronomy lodge.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
I always have a great time a Herkimer KOA staff is always so friendly. I look forward to every time we stay there!
Oct 07, 2019
Excellent
Oct 06, 2019
Very dirty cabin, just unclean throughout. Blood stains on one sheet. Overpriced at $180/night.
Oct 01, 2019
Beautiful campsite.
Sep 30, 2019
Was a great getaway with my husband and much fun was had at rock piles.
Sep 27, 2019
We have been coming for the past 5 years for the Girl Scout event and absolutely love it
Sep 26, 2019
Very comfortable and convenient for what we had planned! So much to do!
Sep 24, 2019
I had an issue at check in w VIK buy one get one night although I had email Confirmation stating otherwise. Forced to buy another membership. Bath Towels in cabin. Not enough for the 4 guests. Three towels. Small And thin. Bunk beds need new mattresses and same goes for the queen. Sconce lamps Above bed. One broken. Missing bulb and shade. I recd a large shock When I touched it.
Sep 23, 2019
We came for the Girl Scout Jamboree and had a great time! We stayed in the camping cabins and they were clean and warm. The events at the camp were also great. There was a little miscommunication about when and where things were happening, but the staff did a great job making sure the girls had fun and learned a lot. We'll definitely be recommending this trip to our sister scouts.
Sep 20, 2019
I’ve loved it there for the past eleven years But since I retired last sept and their prices jumped way up I’ll not be Able to kamp there much any more . It has been my sanctuary, my place of rest and much joy. The staff there are phenomenal. Nice updates to the upper restrooms. Great place
Sep 18, 2019
Clean/friendly KOA LOVE the customer appreciation stay one night, next night free.
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
This place is so relaxing. I love the cabins and the creek flowing by. It's very well maintained, and the fixtures all work. The staff is friendly and helpful (for the most part). One lady I asked for help was cranky, but she have just been sick or something. Overall, we love the campground, have stayed there twice, and we're looking forward to our next trip.
Sep 16, 2019
It was a fantastic stay! My sister and I had a blast. It was her first stay and it won't be her last. Staff were awesome and service was top notch. I will be back in couple of weeks with my husband.
Sep 16, 2019
Creekside is great. Need a better mattress and new BBQ.
Sep 13, 2019
Clean cabin, restrooms, and showers. Excellent staff that will bend over backwards!!! We had a wonderful stay and plan on going back.
Sep 11, 2019
Our stay was great. The cabin was well stocked with all necessary items to make our stay easy. I have only one complaint, the pull out sofa in KT3 was completely unbearable. We folded it up and slept on an air mattress for the remaining 3 nights we booked. Also 2 tiny blankets & 2 comforters is not sufficient for 4 people. I got one more at desk but I felt like I annoyed the desk person by asking.
Sep 11, 2019
We didnt get the delux cabin we originally booked, but thats ok because the one we got was better. It had a sand pit the kids could dig in. Everything was very clean. My only complaint was that there was sand in the pull out bed, like a ton. Very awesome location. Highly recommend!
Sep 10, 2019
It was a pleasure to run into Dr. Renee at the store and chat with her for a bit. such a friendly and sweet person! I am a life-long visitor of this particular Diamond mine and it is wonderful to go back now and then. And I have already recommended this KOA to friends and family many times!
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
This is such a pleasant campground. The setting is serene and the grounds are well kept. Our cabin was clean and well equipped. The opportunity across the road to visit Herkimer Diamond Mines is an added bonus!
Sep 03, 2019
To many children riding bikes without a helmet. speed limit in not enforced. Notified the store check-in and and told me if i wanted the job it was mine. funny until someone gets hurt.
Sep 02, 2019
Solar Lodge 2 is small, cant squeeze 6 in. It fits 4 max, mats are child size. Sofabed only for a toddler. Bed was old&terrible- we sunk to the middle. Worst was arrival, after a long car trip we lay down to rest - someone came to trim lawn loudly. The rest of the trip we had lawn shavings all over and therefore came inside. No mat to wipe feet.
Sep 01, 2019
I enjoyed the stay at the cabin.I chose a quiet time to be there for relaxation and to be able to spend some time mining for herkimer diamonds. I had a great experience. I found my cabin site to be well equipped for my stay there; the grill to cook my meals.... to have a small fridge. Showers and bathrooms were near buy. Easy access to water for clean up after meals.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Fun! Camping cabin was clean, mattress comfortable. Activities were great for kids. Resort was clean. Enjoyed the pool. Lazy river such great fun.
Aug 29, 2019
The staff was great & the prompt delivery of our food was great too, even after it was ordered late. Our cabin was clean & comfy. However, i thought it was too crowded to my liking, cars all over & at times...noisy & busy. With that being said, if u have younger kids, its a great place & it will keep kids & parents busy & having fun
Aug 28, 2019
We were with our 2 sons families and we all had a great time.
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google
Nov 27, 2019
Stayed in a cabin next to the mines and enjoyed the 2days 2nights there.
- The Regular Family Show starring The Maces on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.