Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

Jun 01, 2020
Great place. It was clean and the staff was great.
May 29, 2020
May 29, 2020
Beautiful site! Very helpful park rangers! Even with the pandemic shutting down the playgrounds and pool, the kids had plenty to do between riding bikes around the grounds, fishing, and tubing, and of course the diamond mine. Will definitely make this a yearly trip!
May 29, 2020
Nice clean and well maintained campground
May 28, 2020
We absolutely loved having a site along the creek! The campground was beautiful and well-cared for. Loved the versatility in different types of accommodations. We ordered food from the Miner's Table on our first night - portions were HUGE! And delicious! Staff was friendly and helpful (especially with filling our propane tank). We will definitely be back! Thank you for a great experience!
May 28, 2020
May 27, 2020
During our stay, the staff followed all guidelines put into place for health and safety. They were very friendly and helpful. Even though it was opening day, everything felt organized. I’m not sure I like the stone parking for the campers, it was very difficult to keep camper stairs safe for my family.
May 27, 2020
May 27, 2020
I was very disappointed in our stay over memorial day wkd. It's very expensive to stay here and I was in a full hookup site with cable and our cable did not work because of a past flood and the pool wasn't open because of Covid 19 which isn't the campgrounds fault, but I think things should be discounted if you don't have all the amenities your paying for.
May 27, 2020
May 27, 2020
Water pressure was bad running to camp sites off one line. No tv. Only wires hanging at outlet. No visitors but the people around us had people come and visit. Social distancing was not monitored. Had to call for picnic table twice. Even though the man that took us to site was going to bring one. But didn’t. Also my camper was so close to other camper you couldn’t even barely walk between
May 27, 2020
Very Clean, the staff was helpful and professional.
May 26, 2020
The campground was very good. The staff was very friendly and went above & beyond what would be expected. The only recommendation I would make it to put a sluice in the mine so it’s easier for children to find diamonds. In its current state it’s not very child friendly.
May 26, 2020
had a great time the staff always greeted you with a smile. Quiet place right along the creek we liked it so much that the day of checkout we booked again for next year
May 26, 2020
This was our first time at a KOA. We’ve been camping with a travel trailer for about 10 years. The campground was well maintained. Every employee from the front desk to the guy working the honey wagon was extremely nice and always waved and said hello. If I had to describe them I would call them the Disney staff of a campground.
May 26, 2020
We travelled during COVID but had a great time so quite peaceful very relaxing Dee in the office was so helpful the campground was newly renovated allot wasn't open but that was fine we still had a great time. We will definitely travel there again.
May 25, 2020
Our stay is always Wonderful, but we were there October 31st for the Flood, we lost all our outside Furniture and had to leave in the middle of the night. We were asleep, when we lost power the water was passed our motor home door. We left driving thru 5ft. of water. Never even got a phone call to see if we were okay, especially after loosing over $1,000.00 worth of property. But we'll be back
Dec 02, 2019
The people there are extremely nice, they made us feel right at home. Beautiful campground
Nov 18, 2019
Need WiFi improvement. Was really bad
Oct 31, 2019
Campground needs a bit of love. Sites are well worn (maybe it was simply the end of the season and they will have everything refreshed before they reopen) and need grass etc raised a bit so when obtains, there are no puddles immediately outside the RV door as is what happened to most of our friends this weekend. Staff was great. Bathrooms near our site were under what KOA usually has. Loose toil
Oct 30, 2019
We stayed in the off season so no pool or rafting, but this is a very nice campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
Basically KOA is generally over priced. If it wasn't for a group gathering, I would not stay at one if at all possible. The water/electric site was ok although it was a mix of soggy turf (due to the rain) and a gravel pad, but for the price? The cable tv is nice but channel selection was similar to over the air I've got in locations, not much for major channels.
Oct 30, 2019
Our son, daughter in law and grandchildren stayed with us. We stayed overnight the weekend of 10/26 & 10/27/19. First we were so excited that you folks stay open until the end of October. Most of the local campgrounds close the second weekend of October. We had a great time at the Diamond Mines. The campgrounds are very well maintained. Staff super pleasant!! Great job!!!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Beautiful layout!
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
My husband and I came up to Herkimer for a long weekend to visit some friends. We were very happy at Herkimer and plan to come back again but I think we will come earlier in Fall ! lol
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
We came at end of the season and just after they had hosted 1000 Boy Scouts, so I was not expecting perfection. However this place didn’t live up to a resort status. One of the backstops on the basketball court had a huge hole in it. The men’s bathroom had falling plaster on the ceiling, there was dust and dirt a half inch thick on the walls. The stall had been spray painted but but messy. NOT
Oct 23, 2019
All ways a great staff! Very nice facility.
Oct 23, 2019
Our stay was pleasant-staff was friendly-campground was clean-and the 400 Boy Scouts staying well behaved gentlemen-
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
We had a great time and may possibly plan a week stay here next summer. We have been to more than a dozen KOA locations and this one tops the list.
Oct 22, 2019
Fun Time, Great Dinner at the Restaurant.
Oct 22, 2019
Campgrounds it’s OK fun activities for the kids a lot of potholes in the roads the roads could be fixed
Oct 21, 2019
Clean and good sized site. The staff could be more friendly. They seem bored and impatient, but if you don’t have to deal with them too much, it’s fine. I would go back.
Oct 18, 2019
Well kept, Clean, friendly and convenient to a very good & reasonable restaurant and Herkimer Diamond Mine across the street! Great time had by all!
Oct 18, 2019
No one to guide us to our site, dark night and raining. Office open and staffed. Will not come back to this KOA again!!
Oct 17, 2019
We had a nice stay. We had 4 sites in our group. One thing that we didn't like, was that across from us their were 5th wheels and they had dogs. their dogs were not kept on leases & were aloud to run to the open field behind them, & of course, they left all their poop places all over the field. The kids liked going over to the field to play football. Wasn't pleasant with poop all over.
Oct 16, 2019
Not sure what happened to cable tv, was Spectrum, now Direct tv, no local tv stations or weather stations for local weather, some stations did not come in at all that were listed on campgrounds guide
Oct 16, 2019
Herkimer KOA was very accommodating. Our originally booked site was not suitable for what we wanted and they very quickly and with out complaint changed our site to one that worked for us , also we had a situation happen where a dog owner did not pick up their dogs scat and the staff came right over cleaned it up and gave us a free bundle of wood for the inconvenience. Was very enjoyable!
Oct 16, 2019
We have camped at Herkimer KOA for years on Columbus day. This year we had 7 families, 6 rv's and 1 cabin. We were right by the playground. Multiple cars and trucks were going by way too fast. The speed limit is 4mph.. comments to the stuff went unanswered. Overall the park hasn't changed in years other than adding more cabins. This price has gone from $54 to $80 a night. We will not be back!
Oct 16, 2019
Clean campground Great activities for family camping. I just wish there had been a little more room between our camper and the one to our back..
Oct 16, 2019
Our stay at your campground was a lot of fun. We brought our 9 year old grandson with us and he said "he had the best time ever" He loved the mines and loved being able to fish right on our site! We liked that the campground was very clean with lots of fun activities.
Oct 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our camping experience at your Herkimer, NY KOA. We camped on the creek and loved having our �� with the background sound of the stream. We joined up with 5 families and had a wonderful time. We are looking forward to staying in warmer weather next year.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Lovely grounds dirty moldy bathrooms.
Oct 15, 2019
Was pleasantly surprised. Was expecting more of a typical KOA experience with tight campsites but that was not the case. Plenty of room and amenities. Great restaurant associated with the campground across the street.
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great time! Fall on the creek is beautiful.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.