Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

RV Reviews

Dec 02, 2019
The people there are extremely nice, they made us feel right at home. Beautiful campground
Nov 18, 2019
Need WiFi improvement. Was really bad
Oct 31, 2019
Campground needs a bit of love. Sites are well worn (maybe it was simply the end of the season and they will have everything refreshed before they reopen) and need grass etc raised a bit so when obtains, there are no puddles immediately outside the RV door as is what happened to most of our friends this weekend. Staff was great. Bathrooms near our site were under what KOA usually has. Loose toil
Oct 30, 2019
We stayed in the off season so no pool or rafting, but this is a very nice campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Oct 30, 2019
Basically KOA is generally over priced. If it wasn't for a group gathering, I would not stay at one if at all possible. The water/electric site was ok although it was a mix of soggy turf (due to the rain) and a gravel pad, but for the price? The cable tv is nice but channel selection was similar to over the air I've got in locations, not much for major channels.
Oct 30, 2019
Our son, daughter in law and grandchildren stayed with us. We stayed overnight the weekend of 10/26 & 10/27/19. First we were so excited that you folks stay open until the end of October. Most of the local campgrounds close the second weekend of October. We had a great time at the Diamond Mines. The campgrounds are very well maintained. Staff super pleasant!! Great job!!!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Beautiful layout!
Oct 26, 2019
Oct 25, 2019
My husband and I came up to Herkimer for a long weekend to visit some friends. We were very happy at Herkimer and plan to come back again but I think we will come earlier in Fall ! lol
Oct 25, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
We came at end of the season and just after they had hosted 1000 Boy Scouts, so I was not expecting perfection. However this place didn’t live up to a resort status. One of the backstops on the basketball court had a huge hole in it. The men’s bathroom had falling plaster on the ceiling, there was dust and dirt a half inch thick on the walls. The stall had been spray painted but but messy. NOT
Oct 23, 2019
All ways a great staff! Very nice facility.
Oct 23, 2019
Our stay was pleasant-staff was friendly-campground was clean-and the 400 Boy Scouts staying well behaved gentlemen-
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
We had a great time and may possibly plan a week stay here next summer. We have been to more than a dozen KOA locations and this one tops the list.
Oct 22, 2019
Fun Time, Great Dinner at the Restaurant.
Oct 22, 2019
Campgrounds it’s OK fun activities for the kids a lot of potholes in the roads the roads could be fixed
Oct 21, 2019
Clean and good sized site. The staff could be more friendly. They seem bored and impatient, but if you don’t have to deal with them too much, it’s fine. I would go back.
Oct 18, 2019
Well kept, Clean, friendly and convenient to a very good & reasonable restaurant and Herkimer Diamond Mine across the street! Great time had by all!
Oct 18, 2019
No one to guide us to our site, dark night and raining. Office open and staffed. Will not come back to this KOA again!!
Oct 17, 2019
We had a nice stay. We had 4 sites in our group. One thing that we didn't like, was that across from us their were 5th wheels and they had dogs. their dogs were not kept on leases & were aloud to run to the open field behind them, & of course, they left all their poop places all over the field. The kids liked going over to the field to play football. Wasn't pleasant with poop all over.
Oct 16, 2019
Not sure what happened to cable tv, was Spectrum, now Direct tv, no local tv stations or weather stations for local weather, some stations did not come in at all that were listed on campgrounds guide
Oct 16, 2019
Herkimer KOA was very accommodating. Our originally booked site was not suitable for what we wanted and they very quickly and with out complaint changed our site to one that worked for us , also we had a situation happen where a dog owner did not pick up their dogs scat and the staff came right over cleaned it up and gave us a free bundle of wood for the inconvenience. Was very enjoyable!
Oct 16, 2019
We have camped at Herkimer KOA for years on Columbus day. This year we had 7 families, 6 rv's and 1 cabin. We were right by the playground. Multiple cars and trucks were going by way too fast. The speed limit is 4mph.. comments to the stuff went unanswered. Overall the park hasn't changed in years other than adding more cabins. This price has gone from $54 to $80 a night. We will not be back!
Oct 16, 2019
Clean campground Great activities for family camping. I just wish there had been a little more room between our camper and the one to our back..
Oct 16, 2019
Our stay at your campground was a lot of fun. We brought our 9 year old grandson with us and he said "he had the best time ever" He loved the mines and loved being able to fish right on our site! We liked that the campground was very clean with lots of fun activities.
Oct 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our camping experience at your Herkimer, NY KOA. We camped on the creek and loved having our �� with the background sound of the stream. We joined up with 5 families and had a wonderful time. We are looking forward to staying in warmer weather next year.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Lovely grounds dirty moldy bathrooms.
Oct 15, 2019
Was pleasantly surprised. Was expecting more of a typical KOA experience with tight campsites but that was not the case. Plenty of room and amenities. Great restaurant associated with the campground across the street.
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great time! Fall on the creek is beautiful.
Oct 13, 2019
Oddly, the DirecTV guide provided by the camp for the cable connection had no relationship to the MYTV channels actually provided. But the campground was very nice.I saved some money by getting a campsite without a waste hookup and had to use the dump station, but no problem. We will be back. x
Oct 13, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Enjoyed our stay very much. Our site was very nice and the staff was very helpful.
Oct 11, 2019
Ok campground, nothing special.
Oct 10, 2019
stunning place!
Oct 10, 2019
We have a great time every time we go! Never had a bad experience there.
Oct 08, 2019
Site was clean and right next to river Walking distance to the diamond mines and free WiFi No sewer hook up and we lost water one day Cable connection was also broke Other than that had a good weekend
Oct 06, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Would like to see the camp store offer more in line of ice cream. Staff at campground ALWAYS extremely helpful in resolving unforeseen issues, usually campers forgetfulness. Staff pleasant, friendly and visible, able to assist and visit. Will most likely stay again next year.
Oct 06, 2019
Nice place but just not good for coaches if you want full hookups with 50amp. “Full Sites” are crammed together and between cabins so very little room. Water pressure was bad on weekends. River-edge sites were very nice. Bathrooms were clean and staff was great just too cramped on the premium sites
Oct 05, 2019
OUR THIRD TIME TO STAY HERE,VERY NICE
Oct 05, 2019
The time of year we were there it was quiet and peaceful. Really enjoyed our stay. The campsite was very nice.
Oct 04, 2019
Campground a little out of the way but well maintained.
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Lovely site but very expensive.
Oct 02, 2019
Kids had fun. We did as adults too �. Clean site.
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.