Thompson / Grand River Valley KOA Reviews

Located in the heart of wine country!

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2019
Our favorite place in the dozen states we’ve stayed at KOAs. It’s huge, family oriented, so much to do. Beautiful park setting, kids entertainment everywhere.
Oct 13, 2019
This is an awesome friendly staff campground with so many amenities. Always super clean. We did bring our friends from Arizona to this campground and they loved it too!!!
Oct 13, 2019
Beautiful, peaceful campground. Enjoyed our stay and will be back!!!!
Oct 12, 2019
Best KOA I ever stayed at! Very clean and everyone is very friendly.
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
it was a great time with family and friends and met some new people, everyone is so friendly. the staff do such an amazing job with everything.
Oct 11, 2019
Staff is wonderful. Clean and quiet facility
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
We love grand river KOA SO much. Thank you for all your hard work in making this place so magical. My only suggestion moving forward, since the Halloween weekend is a higher rate we felt it was SO silly to charge for the pumpkin painting. I even called ahead to ask if I needed to bring supplies, and was excited when told everything would be available. Same with face painting.
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Had a great and wonderful stay love the owners in the staff they're wonderful Just wish they had more room can never get into the place takes a year to book a place to get in in advance
Oct 11, 2019
Oct 11, 2019
Awesome place!! Very clean and kid friendly. The restrooms/bathhouse are like no other (unbelievably clean and nicely designed/decorated). There is always events planned for families. The owners are very nice. Can’t wait to visit next year.
Oct 11, 2019
An amazing campground- it should be rated as a resort!
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
What a wonderful campground! It is obviously that the owners take great pride in providing a well maintained and entertaining park. All the details to building and grounds make it so fun to walk around the area. The store and food available is great.... the pizza is awesome! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend!
Oct 06, 2019
Rented a cabin with 3 beds in it and only one bed was made up. Called for bed linen and covers and never received any till next day when I stopped and ask for them at office and had to make my own bed up. No clean towels while staying there for 3 days. No shower liner in shower. So bathroom floor was soaked after shower. Only thing I did get was the lady who cleaned bathroom to come with plucher.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello Lisa, Would like so share some insite on cabin rentals at probably most koas. When the reservation states 2 people one bed will be made so please comment on additional needs and we do not change out or perform room service daily so if you would like more towels you will need to call the office and request. Thank you.
Oct 05, 2019
Stayed here twice while travelling to and from New England. Excellent facilities and great staff.
Oct 05, 2019
Very clean bathrooms and showers. The covered patio was great. Enjoyed the swimming pond and appreciated having the store on site. The dog is sweet too.
Oct 05, 2019
Beautiful grounds and lots of amenities I have already recommended you to friends who camp.
Oct 04, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay. My children loved playing with the water boats at the beach and swimming in the pool. The pizza that we ordered was delivered to our campsite, and thank you for letting us put our ice packs in the freezer. We have been on the road for weeks and appreciated that help!
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
If all you need is a place to sleep for the night then ok, very basic
Oct 03, 2019
Absolutely beautiful, well maintained campground! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Gliders were a special treat!����
Oct 02, 2019
I love this campground and have never had a bad stay there and we stay there often! The Halloween weekend was fantastic my kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves! Thank you for making their weekend a great memory for all of us!!
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Always love out time at Thompson KOA!!
Oct 02, 2019
We stayed in C3 primitive cabin for Halloween weekend and it was very nice and right next to the bathroom. The only thing I wish could of been cleaner was the inside of the mini fridge, other then that we would definitely rent again!!
Oct 02, 2019
Clean park, wide spaces between sites. Stayed 1 night.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Love the consistency of KOA stays.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
I like the campground its self. But the site I had was awful!! Smelled of sewage all weekend. I pulled in and set up camp at night. Wasn’t until morning I found out I was next to the grey water dump!! Worst camping I’ve ever had. Check your site before you park.
Oct 02, 2019
We absolutely love this campground. The owners are fantastic and go out of their way for the campers. Their staff does as well.
Oct 02, 2019
Very nice campground! Really inviting, well maintained and a wonderful staff. I would definitely stay there again. It was nicely decorated and the site weee good sized, level and clean. The restrooms, showers and laundry were very nice as well. We appreciated the escort to our site and helpfulness of everyone. I liked that there is a gate to the campground although I didn’t feel it was a bad ar
Oct 02, 2019
Halloween weekend At Thompson KOA was amazing! Tons of fun activities for kids, well organized and friendly staff.
Oct 02, 2019
I stayed one night , very pretty grounds, everything was neat and clean with friendly service.
Oct 02, 2019
The activites for the kids were wonderful.
Oct 01, 2019
Love it here!!! Campground is beautiful and clean all the time. The staff is phenomenal:)). So many activities for the entire family to enjoy.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
nice campground to stay at. Enjoyed the personal. Easy to work with.
Sep 28, 2019
Everything was clean and it’s easy to see that the entire staff takes pride in what they do. The owners were nice enough to sell us wood even after the shop was closed! There’s more stuff for families and kids than I’ve seen at some amusement parks! We’ll be back! -Jeff S.
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
Wow, this is a full on camp resort with so much to offer for adults, kids and pups (there’s even a self-service dogwash).The grounds are beautiful (multiple lakes for swimming or fishing) and kept that way by the large friendly staff. A large number of seasonal residents mixed in with the overnighters.Roads and sites are level and nicely graveled. Bathhouses spotless and modern themed decor. May
Sep 26, 2019
We stayed here while attending the Ohio Celtic Festival in Mentor. The KOA certainly was a very nice facility and we enjoyed walking the nature trails and exploring the parts of the park. The folks running the Koa were very nice and we had a good time talking to them. We would definitely stay here again.
Sep 26, 2019
Great KOA with lots to do on site and in the area. It is a hidden gem.
Sep 26, 2019
We only stopped overnight but we’re planning to return next year for a longer stay. Beautiful park.
Sep 25, 2019
The campground is really nice and there are many things to do in the area. We did wineries, a distillery, area covered bridges and some Amish establishments in nearby Middlefield. We went with two other couples. One couple rented a very nice cabin; the other camped in a tent and we had a FHU site for our fiver. There is a nice catch and release lake for fishing which my husband did.
Sep 25, 2019
This is one of our favorite destinations. Even though It's only 20 minutes from home we enjoy camping at the Thompson Grand River Valley KOA at least once a year..Great well kept campground and the owners are awesome. Always something going on at this KOA

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.