Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Dec 05, 2019
We really enjoyed staying in the Yurt!
Nov 11, 2019
Our scout troop reserved a spot. Staff was amazing and helpful from start to finish of or trip. Clean and big spaces.
Nov 07, 2019
The staff are the best ever
Nov 02, 2019
I had such an enjoyable stay , the employees were so sweet and accommodating, the entire campground was clean lots of different animals to see the weather was perfect the entire time I was there I had such fun
Oct 16, 2019
Easy check in, beautiful grounds, spotless bathrooms!
Oct 15, 2019
We had an amazing time at the KOA. The staff were friendly and accommodating . The grounds were clean. Will definitely stay here again.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Great secluded site amongst trees!
Sep 21, 2019
eh
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
I’ve been to KOA camps since the 80s and this one is beautiful, but our site was tight. If we had brought two cars, not sure if they would have fit. The main issues were the lack of privacy between sites (too close) and no site administrators making rounds to quiet down campers past 10 - I had to yell extremely loud at other campers after 11 PM to shut off music and stop singing - ridiculous!
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Very hard to get to the bathroom, water spigot was damaged and could not connect a hose, need more shade, otherwise an ok trip...
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
It’s a beautiful area with stars very clearly visible at night and a gorgeous lake a half mile away. Only thing that I didn’t like was that it was super hot and that it was also super dusty. The nice pool is a great way to cool off though! Very close to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach and Hearst Castle (an hour away).
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Visiting the area for a couple of weeks beautiful hills to climb nice camping lots clean bathrooms refreshing pool clean laundry room nice general store felt very safe
Aug 27, 2019
We loved everything about it. It was beautiful and quiet, and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed the pool too.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 21, 2019
I simply enjoy the setting and atmosphere at this wonderful campground. Kim, Michelle, Daisey are always polite and informative, They make you feel part of their KOA family. With the lake nearby this my "go to" place to stay when camping. Thanks to All! And I noticed that your constantly improving things.. Looks Great!!
Aug 20, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. Very nice campground! Only problem was the accessibility to the bathroom where our yurt was located. The pathway has been eroded away, and is in need of repair. If not for this, I would rate five stars instead of four.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
The gal that checked me in was great, loved her. My site had trash left on the ground; the bathroom stalls were very small and the shower drain was plugged.
Aug 19, 2019
It is wonderful to camp here. Kim made checking in comfortable and easy. All staff is so polite too.
Aug 14, 2019
Only word I can use? OUTSTANDING!!! Every employee was courteous and looked for ways to make our stay even better. Tent camp sites are well maintained and clean. As were bathroom and showers. We will be back again next year. Way to go KOA
Aug 13, 2019
Staff is amazing, as always! Kids activities rock!
Aug 13, 2019
Great staff, pretty location. Pool water was dirty and our campsite was very dirty too. Last time we visited, the pool was clean. We collected at least 50 bottle and beer caps at our campsite plus a ton of plastic zips and papers. There were also animal feces at the back of it and it smelled bad. I do think it's an isolated problem, since while walking around, the other campsites seemed clean.
Aug 12, 2019
My family really enjoyed the camp ground. We had site #13 and it was really big and to itself. We fed Kevin the Emu, painted birdhouses and a nome, purchased snow cones by the pool and joined in on the hay ride wagon water fun and sprayed people as they went by with the water hose provided to us. Only problem was the dust was a little much. Lake was beautiful. Thanks KOA for a great camping trip.
Aug 12, 2019
We had so much fun and look forward to coming back soon!
Aug 12, 2019
Had a wonderful time, it’s out second time back. Grounds were clean and well maintained by staff who were all very nice and helpful!
Aug 12, 2019
We love the experience camping at your place. Although the dirt road are really narrow we found the place so relaxing. Next time we would love to reserved camp site no. 22 if possible. We are definitely coming back. - marissa 8/10/19 to 8/11/19.�����‍���
Aug 11, 2019
Super friendly staff and high quality campsites. Couldn't ask for more
Aug 11, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Amazing customer service. Very clean campsite and restroom. Well maintained and would come back again.
Aug 06, 2019
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We were able to get all the ice we needed as well as an inflatable mattress pump when we realized we didn't have ours. The campsite was beautiful and we were even given another choice of campsite if we preferred even when the camp was nearly full. The staff always checked in with us and made us feel welcome.
Aug 06, 2019
We had a great time and everything was well kept!
Aug 05, 2019
We have been coming to this amazing KOA for almost 20 years! We love the terrain and that there are so many different types of sites and amenities for all kinds of campers. Since we are a couple with no kids, we like the remote tent camping sites. The campground is well-maintained, and it is nice to have restrooms with showers. We love the camp store and the down-to-earth, friendly staff!�
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
It was hot but epic
Aug 04, 2019
Aug 03, 2019
We loved our campsite! Very shady and had a beautiful view. The general store had what we needed and the pool was refreshing after a nice hike. The air pillow was a perfect little activity for the kids in the twilight hours. The bathrooms were clean and well lit.
Aug 03, 2019
Great tenting locations, some with tremendous views. (Cabins too, but we were camping.) Clean rest areas and a handy convenience store. Plus a pool for kids to cool off in. Hillside wildlife included a group — properly know as "a rafter" — of wild turkeys: a tom + a hen + four poults. Good vibes here.
Jul 30, 2019
Fantastic...as allways....the staff, our campsight...everything....fantastic!
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Wonderful friendly staff. Had a General store where we picked up hotdogs and buns and had a fun safe time.
Jul 28, 2019
We loved staying in the Yurt for our first time. We appreciated the table and four chairs. My husband really appreciated the fans! The white lights were a nice addition too. The kids loved the jumpy bouncer. The pool was a nice size. We appreciated the cabanas seating/shaded areas at the pool too.
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 25, 2019
Dec 10, 2019
Cabins were small and cozy. My grandson loved the pool, playground and jumping pillow. The little store has everything you need. Very friendly staff. Several bathrooms all around the park. Reaaly fun, will be going back.
- Stony H on Trip Advisor
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.