Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Mar 16, 2018
Clean and beautiful sites, awesome faculty.
Mar 13, 2018
Mar 09, 2018
Unable to take shower because of steep to get there and back. Laundry not working. Very disapointing
Mar 08, 2018
Very nice people. I actually liked the park a lot, but towing a 40 ft 5th wheel it was very scary. The roads were narrow and the turns sharp. A couple of times I was afraid my wheels were going to fall off the road.
Mar 07, 2018
Mar 02, 2018
Mar 02, 2018
Kim Ann was so nice and very accommodating. The campground was very clean and quite. Had a very restful time.
Mar 01, 2018
Beautiful campground with really friendly campsite hosts. Loved that it was so close to the lake. Will definitely be back!
Feb 28, 2018
Short. JIM was very helpful with good information. She took very good care of us and made sure we were content.
Feb 21, 2018
Great for families with kids and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Feb 20, 2018
Everything was as promised. Office was helpful & pleasant.
Feb 20, 2018
Very last minute stay, so loved that we were able to register/check-in after hours using the list of available spaces. Did not stay long enough to enjoy the amenities, but have been here a few times before and really enjoy this campground. It was fun watching the kids on the large bounce pillow as we packed up to leave. Every time I stay I say to myself, "I really want to own/run a KOA!"
Feb 19, 2018
Feb 14, 2018
We enjoyed how quiet it was. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Feb 11, 2018
This KOA is in urgent need of major infrastructure maintenance. Rest Room 2 is totally gross - shower stalls are filled with mold, shower fixtures are corroded, one stall is missing a soap dish leaving a remaining rusty bracket The outside utility sink is filthy. Overall this rest station is dirty and gross. Roadways show signs of significant of water erosion. Will not say here again.
Feb 05, 2018
Trop retiré en campagne pour nos désirs
Feb 04, 2018
Had a great spot that was almost level with some nice trees. Trees and cabins had lights on them which gave such a sweet ambiance to the place. The staff was nice and Kim Ann was awesome - she has one great personality, perfect for the job. We enjoyed biking to the lake which is about 1/2 a mile away. Beautiful rock outcroppings, plenty of trails. Loved it. You can enjoy God’s beauty here.
Jan 30, 2018
Jan 30, 2018
WE had a great time. Came in late and had no problems with getting help to our site.
Jan 24, 2018
The laundry facility is appalling. One functional washing machine and one dryer and they’re barely hanging on! The owners need to make an investment to clean that up and make it functional as well.
Jan 05, 2018
Jan 04, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Plan and simple, the place is a dump.There is NOTHING redeeming about it. We made a mistake by coming there. It needs new management.
Dec 28, 2017
Fun & beautiful place for sure! My daughter loved jumping on the inflatable pillow. We even played tether-ball together. Scenery is amazing. Very close to Santa Margarita Lake. No issues that were caused by KOA. Since we stayed over the winter, it was cold and the water lines froze over night, but thawed each day by noon. We had a great time, staff was attentive and helpful.
Dec 28, 2017
Michelle was very friendly & helpful, giving us some ideas of things to do in the area. The sites are a good size, although all dirt (they'll tell you that up front). Very quiet campground, at least while we were there. There is a lot to do in the area - close to San Luis Obispo for wine tasting, Morro Beach for small shops and beach walking, and Atascadero for groceries, movie theater, etc.
Dec 27, 2017
We stayed for one night during a cold snap and stayed warm.
Dec 18, 2017
Fantabulous! OUTSTANDING MANAGEMENT AND STAFF! Would like to extend a humongous thank you to Mike. I will be back.
Dec 18, 2017
Excellent venue and staff. Plenty of activities for the whole family.
Dec 04, 2017
The kids loved Kevin the Emu!
Nov 29, 2017
We had a great stay at the Santa Margarita KOA, the grounds are clean and well maintained, it is a beautiful property. The staff are really friendly and keep the place looking great.
Nov 28, 2017
Had a fantastic time! Felt like we were in a rustic, deep in nature-type campground, yet had the lovely amenities that make camping easier. The bathrooms were very clean, the recreation areas were fun for all my kids--aged 17 to 2. I would definitely come back again!
Nov 28, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
Nov 26, 2017
Quiet, relaxing, the bounce pad was perfect for grandkids. We will be back!
Nov 21, 2017
We loved everything about this KOA site.. from the friendly staff to the amazing site we had!!!
Nov 15, 2017
The restrooms/showers were entirely too far from most of the campground sites. I wish something could be done to give the emu more room; she seemed too confined and paced her enclosure constantly.
Nov 14, 2017
The ladies at the front desk are great. They provide a warm welcome and are happy to answer questions. The campground is nicely organized and easy to navigate.
Nov 12, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. Clean, well maintained campsites and restrooms. Well stocked store and very friendly staff.
Nov 02, 2017
The camp site was awesome. Great location for biking, hiking and to the lake. The camp hosts/workers were awesome!!!! very helpful and friendly.
Oct 30, 2017
Quiet place, felt sorry for the poor bird in the small cage. What's up with that?
Oct 29, 2017
Super friendly hosts. Excellent wifi. 7 minute walk to lake. Nice!
Oct 26, 2017
Enjoyed our stay a lot! The park host was extremely nice and helpful to everyone we saw her deal with. Some sites were very hard for others with trailers to get into. We had no problem, as we had a small rig, but noticed a few others next to us had trouble.
Oct 24, 2017
Hidden Gem!
Oct 23, 2017
Stayed last weekend for a wedding in Santa Margarita. Nice and shady spot! Staff was very helpful and polite. Clean campground!
Oct 23, 2017
Very quiet and relaxing. Smaller campgrounds which was great for us. Kind of hilly for kids on bikes. People that work there very friendly.
Oct 23, 2017
So fun and beautiful we enjoyed our selves so much! The staff was awesome! Canât wait to go back
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Nice campground, rural, but very clean, and the sites are not on top of each other. The folks in the office, as well as the maintenance crew are always friendly and make you feel welcomed. We camp year round, and this is one spot we visit several times a year.
Oct 16, 2017
It was primarily an opportunity for our kids/grandkids to play on the bounce pillow. The camp hosts were helpful and accommodating. We rented five trailer sites. It was a great place to hold a birthday party for our 5 year old.

Reserve now or check dates


Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals