Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

RV Reviews

Dec 05, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
Great campground, great service! Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Coming back in summers.
Dec 02, 2019
Had a great time even with the rain. The jumpy was great fun for our 9 kids in group. Kevin was awesome. ....however, your electrical problem was awful. We were afraid for our turkey being cooked and our heaters keeping us warm. Hope you can fix the problem so we can come back next year.
Nov 29, 2019
The campsites were very narrow and not flat. Not a pretty location just Trees and dirt. Large bathroom that needed cleaning.
Nov 27, 2019
Nice campground!
Nov 25, 2019
Very friendly service! Bathrooms a little dated
Nov 22, 2019
Very clean and well maintained. Had a great stay.
Nov 19, 2019
Nov 19, 2019
Had a good time. Campsites were spacious. Grandkids loved the bounce pillow and Kevin the emu. Friendly staff. Easy check in.
Nov 12, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff. I arrived late and it was dark. My fault, but I could have used some help getting into the site. They did help me when I jackknifed my toad.
Nov 11, 2019
friendly staff, great scenery, wild turkeys, an emu, and great nearby hiking at santa margarita lake
Nov 05, 2019
Very nice and clean. Kept up well. Very friendly staff. We will for sure be back !
Nov 05, 2019
What an awesome experience at KOA Santa Margarita friendly staff great amenities bathrooms very clean full hook up I recommend anyone looking too camp or fish to visit thanks KOA
Oct 30, 2019
It was great! The little store in the front office was well stocked. The entire camp grounds were immaculate, the bathrooms and showers were also. The little cabins were decorated with white icicle lights which gave a cozy mountain feeling. The staff were extremely pleasant, and helpful! I will make reservations to stay there again!
Oct 29, 2019
It was so dirty and dusty!!!! You had us right on the corner between 2 roads and the dust just billowed every time someone drove by. (watering the road might have helped) We had paid for 2 nights, but, left right after the first.
Oct 29, 2019
Nice place
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
Everything was perfect for us. The reception was great and a gentleman helped us with our dumping of Rv. Very nice location would love to visit again
Oct 21, 2019
Great place to stay & relax.
Oct 20, 2019
Great customer service...KimAnn was so helpful ...taking great care of us.
Oct 17, 2019
We got there late 9pm. There was a walkies talkie at the door saying if you need help, please call and directions on how to use it. Campsite is very dark. We have a class A. We found our reservation, yellow card for tow and map. We called for help because of darkness and size of coach. called at least 10 times. We know how to use these walkies we use them for business.Horrible customer servic
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Nice clean campground with fun activities for the kids campsites are a little small but overall I would recommend and we will return again
Oct 15, 2019
Very friendly staff and cute campground! We will definitely be back! :)
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
We have been to the Santa Margarita KOA a few time and have enjoyed it each time. They keep the area clean, water the dirt roads regularly, have a nice pool, have a great kids area w/ a big jumping pillow, the staff has always been very welcoming and accommodating. The spaces above the play ground are a little close, but that is a minor tradeoff for being able to watch the kids from the trailer.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 26, 2019
One of our favorite KOAs. The campground is nice and well kept. They are always making improvements that have made the campground even better. Kim is a wonderful camp host that goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasurable. All of the staff is great friendly and helpful.
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Wonderful host,makes it possible to reach her at all hours of the day. Campsite is separated and spacious.
Sep 18, 2019
The nicest lady at the front desk greeted us immediately when my girlfriend and I walked in, her name was Kim Ann. She was the sweetest and most informative person imaginable. We ended up loving the campsite and the attractions. We fed an Emu, jumped on the jumper till we couldn't and swam in the pool on the hottest days. We stayed an extra night in a cabin, it was amazing!
Sep 17, 2019
Everyone was so friendly. Great spot for base camp. Vineyards all around. Great Antiques in Santa Margarita and San Luis Obispo Can't wait to go back.
Sep 16, 2019
We were very disappointed that there were no activities for kids. On the website it’s displayed like there was a lot of stuff going on.
Sep 15, 2019
Great kampground but very busy
Sep 14, 2019
I was in RV site 27, it is a little dangerous due to the extreme slop on the utility side, I would suggest enforcing the hillside with either cement blocks or railroad ties and then leveling the sit as there is a dramatic slop downward to site 26. The grounds were extremely clean and very kid friendly. I would suggest for a family or group of families, not really a place for a single couple.
Sep 14, 2019
Nice quiet campground. There’s nice play area for kids and Emu on site for kids to see. Pen for Emu is really small kind of feel sorry for it.
Sep 09, 2019
Very relaxing place to unwind! Had a great time.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Dirty and dusty. The restroom/showers were abominable.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
My grandkids had a amazing time, so much for them to see and do. They loved Kevin the Emu and the pool. Can’t wait to come back! Matt
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
It was probably just the time of year but there were way too many bugs and dirt for us! Bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked. We stayed at campsite 22, i liked being so close to the bathroom, but would be better if the bench by the bathroom wasnt there, would have felt more private for us.
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Beautiful surrounding, lot of space, Nice pool
Aug 19, 2019
The emu, the bouncer, the movie night, the pool, the scenery, and the drive out there was all a great experience!!
Aug 18, 2019
Second time at the campground... LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Aug 16, 2019
We were only spending one night on our way to our destination at Santa Cruz North/Costanoa KOA. The place is quiet and uniquely nestled in the oak covered hills of the area. We would have stayed longer if time had permitted. It was nice to wake up to deer on the hillside above our camp. And the emu was a nice touch as well.
Aug 16, 2019
We arrived after hours and were having a little trouble finding a spot. We called and she came right down(Kim Ann I think) Made us feel right at home and took great care in finding us just the right spot for our motorhome and trailer. Site was awesome and the area is great. Felt very much taken care of for sure.
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! It was sort of in the middle of nowhere, but a very cool campground and very close to the lake (about a half mile down the road). We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Our favorite activities off site we’re visiting Tin City and the Templeton Farmer’s Market.
- DanielleNicole1985 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.