Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Lodging Reviews

Dec 02, 2019
Awesome Thanksgiving week (even with the rain and mud!) Camp hosts were very hospitable and accommodating. Beautiful setting fun primitive cabins-- perfect reset for our tech-addicted adult kids! Quality time was had and we will be back.
Dec 02, 2019
Kim Ann and Vince were the best hosts!! They helped us immediately! We had a little power outage and Vince came over within minutes. They were both so nice. I cannot believe how many things there are to do there. I want to go when it is nicer out. I love the jumping pillow, Kevin the Emu, Camp Store and dog play yard. Our little cabin was impeccable.
Nov 25, 2019
koa staff r the best and made or stay even better can't wait to go back
Nov 24, 2019
Returned to this koa after 20 years and it was extremely quiet and enjoyable, wonderful memories and will return again.
Nov 04, 2019
Quick overnight stay, staff very friendly and campground appeared well maintained. I realize the cabins are going to be dusty but for $130 night I at least expect a clean bathroom, free of clumps of hair on bathroom floor etc.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Had a great time . the cabin was wonderful! The Lady at the front desk was awesome and very helpful.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Friendly and helpful staff. Our first stay at the cabins. Great experience. Our third time staying at Santa Margarita KOA. We love this place and will be back.
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 19, 2019
The bathroom needed paper towels for all 4 days we stayed and there were more spiders than usual in the stalls and shower. The new mattress pads are harder than the old ones, they made sleeping a bit difficult. Other than that, everything was wonderful. Thank you.
Oct 16, 2019
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!
Oct 15, 2019
Easy check out process. Clean site. Awesome accommodations. Would come back again!
Oct 14, 2019
Fall in love with fall camping at this KOA. The staff are so warming and welcome, Kim Ann is such a wonderful camp host. The trees are beautiful, the smell of fall in the air, the tarantula visitors and crisp mornings in need of a camp fire. Always a great stay!
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
The cabin was wonderful but please do something about the driveway. I would like To use the cabin again, but will NOT drive up there again. Very dangerous!!!
Oct 13, 2019
Great stay as usual. We come back every year, however the cabin wasn’t the cleanest. Next time check under mattresses- found a ton of candy wrappers and the floors were super dirty.
Oct 12, 2019
Extremely attentive camp hosts who went out of their way to help us out. Would definitely stay here again. We showed up late and they didn’t care a bit and helped us carry the stuff we bought (girlfriend and showed up on motorcycles). They make customer service their mission! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
Oct 07, 2019
The place is nice and well kept. The difference for my family was the STAFF!!! Very rarely do you get to experience the genuine and courteous employees like we saw there. We'll be back!! Thank you for the great weekend! I live locally in Atascadero and I will start spreading this positive experience!
Oct 06, 2019
Very short stay, arrived after the reception had closed, but our keys were left for us, then we were leaving the next morning around 9am, the kabin was spacious, clean and tidy and the shared bathrooms were also clean and never a queue Wish we'd stayed longer so we could've taken advantage of the facilities, but we'll definitely stay at another KOA when we next visit the USA
Oct 01, 2019
Cabins were much smaller than advertised on the website. Being “near bath row” meant climbing down and back up a hill to the bathrooms. We had to upgrade to a cabin with a bathroom due to the inaccurate website description. Not likely to recommend. We have stayed at much nicer KOA’s.
Sep 30, 2019
Great new cabins. Only the pull out was unusable, but the rest.... top notch. Can’t wait to go back
Sep 29, 2019
Camp sites are spaced apart as much as possible, very friendly staff.
Sep 28, 2019
Very pleasant staff. The facility is great for access to Lake Santa Margarita. The campground itself is a bit hilly and somewhat open. Regardless, the facilities are nice.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bounce pad was fun for my kids. We enjoyed the pool for four hours. The pool was really cold and refreshing on a hot day but if you go on a colder day then you may want to skip it.
Sep 16, 2019
fantastic as always, love the staff
Sep 16, 2019
We love Santa Margarita KOA! Our stay was so pleasant! Kim was so helpful and she's always smiling! This is our second time staying at santa margarita this year! We just wish that the slope at our cabin wasn't so steep! We almost couldn't make it at the top..hahaha! Other than that everything was perfect we'll just choose a lower cabin next time! Love! Love! Santa Margarita!
Sep 15, 2019
A very nice campground with good space between sites and clean grounds. I arrived late...about 8 PM and still a woman greeted me as she was leaving the office and offered assistance. I love the small cabins. So simple yet functional. This is my favorite place to stay near San Luis Obispo.
Sep 15, 2019
Dirty and inconvenient!
Sep 09, 2019
Wonderful. Helpful. Fun. Awesome people. Michelle is great.
Sep 04, 2019
Super happy to be back. Everybody in the office was so nice and helpful. We brought a big group of about 50 campers with us and many are planning to come back! The foam party was awesome, kids were grateful for the movie and next time we have to jump on the GLOW HAYRIDE :)
Sep 04, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and absolutely had THE best time. Kids had lots to do and staff was super friendly and attentive.
Sep 03, 2019
We live next to the generator the whole 4 days it was on every single minute. It doesn't feel like we are camping in nature but rather living on a construction site. The cabins some of the families stay in don't have electricity when they plugged in an appliance. Very inconvenient.
Sep 03, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
KOA is a wonderful family friendly place to stay. My kids enjoyed the foam pit, jumping pillow, painting and other activities. I am looking forward to having many more family vacations with KOA
Aug 17, 2019
Great staff. Awesome amenities.
Aug 17, 2019
We arrived at 6:30pm with no way to get wood or ice. There is a radio you use to call for help at the desk but no one answered multiple calls. No one answered the phone number either. We stayed at Petaluma and it was only $86 and that place is great. How is santa margarita $95!? I would understand if it was cheaper but it was more for way less.
Aug 14, 2019
Your KOA is one of our favorite destinations for a get away from our daily routine. Your KOA is beautiful and your staff is wonderful. We're already planning our next visit.
Aug 12, 2019
We haven’t been for awhile to camp and I love the changes and the activities - amazing a new pool or fix that one completely to make It big enough to hold more people - I love camping there and cabin 3 the best except the fridge was on the blink and the stove on one side was not safe We o my had six adults and wanted to know if we can get refund for those issues not working - fridge stove
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
We did not know that it would be so clean and comfortable. A great place to vacation and a great lake area. Lots of beauty and chances for us to venture into camping.
Aug 05, 2019
We had so much fun! We booked another visit there!!! Love it!
Aug 04, 2019
We loved the quiet, star-filled evenings! The cabin was very clean and we loved our personal sundeck.
Aug 03, 2019
This was our second stay at the Santa Margarita KOA, and our first time in a cabin. We love the facilities, play areas, and proximity to where we live. We will definitely be returning again soon!
Aug 01, 2019
We stayed in a cabin which was very cute and cosy. Enjoyed the pool and star gazing at night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Thanks very much!!
Jul 31, 2019
We were having a family get together for 2 nights, 3 days. All stayed in cabins within walking distance of each other.
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! It was sort of in the middle of nowhere, but a very cool campground and very close to the lake (about a half mile down the road). We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Our favorite activities off site we’re visiting Tin City and the Templeton Farmer’s Market.
- DanielleNicole1985 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.