San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 17, 2019
A bit crowded, but very pleasant none the less.
Jul 14, 2019
It was quiet and the bathrooms were clean. The staff was nice and welcoming, very helpful. I just wished our tent site had a trashcan.
Jul 10, 2019
Showers were cold. Very little hot water.
Jul 09, 2019
Clean, friendly service, lots of fun for the kids and affordable items in the store.
Jul 05, 2019
The staff was great the management seemed to not be able to communicate with the staff when they change things around but the staff made sure to do what was needed to make our stay fun and enjoyable.
Jun 29, 2019
Great tent site, clean bathrooms (I saw the bathrooms being cleaned at least three times a day), nice staff, huge pool. They just need to get rid of the petting zoo. Not fair to the animals. We loved watching the train. The kids on it were having a blast. I think they should have activities every day, not just on weekends.
Jun 28, 2019
Returning tent camper. Really like this place. Tent area is level and shade available. Bathrooms were easily accessible as well as the camp cook area. Nice dog park. RV area looked super nice.
Jun 26, 2019
Stayed overnight in the tent area. The tent area was crammed together, as well as being next to a road in the campground that was frequently used. At night the headlights of the vehicle would illuminate the interior of my tent, which made going to sleep difficult. The shower/bathroom did not have a door, which allow people on the outside to see in. Plus the cost was excessive. More complaints.
Jun 24, 2019
I love this KOA. It's close to SF. My only issue is that it is close to the freeway and a bit loud.
Jun 22, 2019
Good facilities and child entertainment.
Jun 21, 2019
Overall was ok. One laundry closed for updating I believe. Campsite had a fire pit AND a spot where someone had made a fire. Made it difficult to find an ideal spot for our tent. Picnic table was on neighboring campsite. Pool was nice as was arcade and other laundry.
Jun 17, 2019
The KOA itself was great! Clean space, lots of things to do, great options for kids, etc. Only bummer was noisy neighbors who were 3 feet away in their tent and inflating mattresses one night and a loud snorer the other night. If you are going to stay here, choose a cabin or bring an RV if you want quiet.
Jun 16, 2019
Great place if you have children. However, the traffic congestion is atrocious!!!! Nearly had Two accidents!!!!!!
Jun 10, 2019
They put us in a tent site between two other tent sites with the same family that were shouting back and forth. Could not get any sleep all night long. at 3 in the morning to young boys came out of the tent and just made a ton of noise very annoying.
May 25, 2019
An effortless stay! Helpful, friendly staff all around and super clean facilities. Love that this location is so close to many different attractions for families or single people looking with a range of interests -- hiking, wine country, the Bay area.
May 24, 2019
It was a wonderful experience. Everyone was very friendly. We even extended our stay by one day.
May 17, 2019
So much fun clean grounds
May 13, 2019
For our first time camping. We had an amazing time. The restroom and all community activities were very clean. Staff members were very polite and helpful. We especially liked the arts and crafts lady. My 5 years old twin boys especially liked the bouncy pillow and swimming pool. Thanks koa for the great experience. We will see you again soon.
May 05, 2019
Short one night stay on a bicycle tour of Sonoma and Marin. Your KOA is a great place to stop. Thank you.
May 03, 2019
May 03, 2019
Awesome location and facilities, especially for the price!
Apr 14, 2019
This was my first time taking my kids camping as a single parent, and all of the amenities and easy access of this site made it a really positive experience for all us.
Apr 10, 2019
Very clean Restrooms and showers. The cleanest on our whole roadtrip. Friendly Employees. Everything fine.
Feb 25, 2019
Stayed the night in a tent. Not sure about the site that was given to us because it looked a bit dirty from the previous people that had stayed and it was muddy compared to other tent sites that had a grassier area. Other than that, it was a quiet and peaceful stay, restrooms kept very clean, and loved that it was very dog friendly.
Feb 24, 2019
Dec 31, 2018
Just staying overnight but we’re too far away from wi fit to get reception. Not a big deal, but inconvenient.
Nov 19, 2018
Nov 16, 2018
Nov 15, 2018
Enjoyed the campground, close to town. My site was near my friends sites. Nice bathroom and showers. The cabins are nice as well. Would stay again and recommend to others.
Nov 14, 2018
Nov 05, 2018
Oct 30, 2018
I’m coming to this campground 35 years. Every time I come there...... there’s something new. For the kids it is the best place. The showers , bathroom s , clean like a hotel. The people who work there are sooo professional and friendly. Really the best place for campers and kids. Go and see for your self.
Oct 27, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Great Staff, events for kids, people were friendly, and facilities clean.
Oct 22, 2018
$107 for a basically a space in a dirt parking lot. Not even a picnic table in our site(302). Instead? A play structure that neighboring kids loved to scream and screech starring at 6:45am. Luke warm showers. I understand supply and demand for camping in this area, but felt completely ripped off. $4.99 for a one gallon jug of water was just insult to injury. Never ever again.
Oct 22, 2018
This campground is right next door to a dairy so the smell was horrible and the flies were out of control. Also it was way overpriced ($100 a night) just for a tent camping spot and the spots were so small that we could barely fit our two tents in it and the sites were so close together with little to no trees that the smoke from our neighbors camp fire blew straight into our tents.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for our neighboring dairies smell. We are working with our surrounding dairies to hopefully prevent this in the future. Thank you for your feedback on tent size we will keep it in mind as we continue to make changes to the tenting area.
Oct 19, 2018
Oct 18, 2018
It was a great father daughter Halloween campout weekend. It reinforced our belief that the KOA Campgrounds are a safe place to take your. This was after a drug addict tried to break in to our camping cabin at the Willits KOA in the middle of the night over fathers day weekend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear about your previous experience at willits and very happy to have you staying with us!
Oct 17, 2018
It was horrible. Who wants to tent camp in the middle of an RV park with streets all around. I assumed tent camping would have an area to the side, not smack in the middle. It was like putting up a tent on main street.
Oct 16, 2018
We loved all the activities for the kids and how safe it felt. Clean facilities and friendly staff are a plus too!
Oct 16, 2018
15 families rented a number of campsites. This was a very successful trip. Small suggestion: the soap dispensers in the bathroom are too high for a child to reach. Generally, the kids under 8 could not reach the soap dispenser. I left out a dish of soap for the little kids to use, and the cleaning staff removed it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your input. I will look for a better option for kids to use. Thank you for staying with us.
Oct 15, 2018
Nice place. Lots of things to do for families. Big pool and spa. Would have been nice to know that the weekend I was there was special Halloween family themed weekend but great nonetheless.
Oct 11, 2018
Jul 12, 2019
Petaluma is great the KOA there it's great for the kids have a swimming pool they have a petting zoo they have trampoline there a great big one they have ice creams I play movies at night was really great for the kids quiet they have trees for shade to have a big playground or they have slides and things like that for smaller kids it's great
- Lynne Deaton on Google
Jul 12, 2019
Great RV Park for Kids, lots of activities especially on a Holiday weekend. We take our Grandson and he Loves it.
- KoppyandDave Cowan on Google