San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Tent Reviews

Mar 19, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
There are very few tent sites...poor positioning of the sites as well.
Feb 02, 2020
My daughter and her boyfriend wanted to camp for by themselves for her 26 birthday, because my wife was dropping them off she was told it’s weird and couldn’t stay this is after she was already charged for stay and set up complete site.
Jan 05, 2020
Dec 03, 2019
Great pool and spa, staff wonderful!
Nov 23, 2019
Internet didn’t work, bathroom didn’t work. Tent site was advertised as overlooking a vineyard. All we overlooked was a fence. Over priced. Smelt like manure and cannabis.
Nov 03, 2019
Place itself is great. BUT, we were evacuated due to the fire and camped IN A TENT. The woman at the front desk was cold, with no compassion or humor. Not who I would want greeting guests. We checked out at 3 on Wed when the evac order was listed and you still charged for that night. Other places discounted stays or even let folks stay for free, but not here. Bottom line was more important.
Nov 02, 2019
I have stayed at this place before and I am glad you are there always � plan to stay there in future Thx hope renovation went well
Oct 31, 2019
We came here because we evacuated from the fires. We were so thankful there was space available for us and several of our family members. We made great memories!
Oct 30, 2019
Really nice little kampground
Oct 30, 2019
Beautiful park with great facilities. However bathroom facilities are below par. So if you don’t need to use these facilities then you will have a great stay.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
We had a wonderful stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were disappointed that the closest bathroom to our tent was under construction, but we made do! It would have been nice to see more pictures of the tent sites before arriving.
Oct 19, 2019
Oct 17, 2019
Activities for kids A+, made it worth the $. Tent sites are small & not close to bathrooms (they are if you cut through someone’s site, which we did not do). Water spigots and trash were also far away from site. I guess to have all these things near, I need to pony up more money for a cabin or hook up tent site, as they seemed to have water/trash in each site. Free hot showers, clean restroo
Oct 14, 2019
Stayed at a tent site. Very disappointed, it was dirt and rocks next to a private residence who hosted a party that night. Staff was great, kids had fun, but avoid the tent sites.
Oct 13, 2019
I mistakenly booked my stay for the wrong “year” and was in a panic to get the correct date. They worked with me on such short notice and were able to get our party in on our desired date. Thank you!
Oct 12, 2019
There was a large amount of dog poo in the tent site area that was not cleaned up. Didn’t get to enjoy the services they offer. Pool hours limited. Should have later adult only hours. Also it is a good place to be able to get down to San Fran.
Oct 07, 2019
We had a GREAT time and appreciate all the friendly staff! Spoke with the group next to us and heard how you let them know we were with scouting and wanted to make sure they wouldn't be drinking, etc. around our kids. LOVED that you took the extra time to help keep our kids safe. And the people next to us were AWESOME. They thought it was cool and wanted us to know what you'd done for us. THX
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Nice campsite. :) relaxing hot tubs �
Sep 30, 2019
Beautiful campgrounds if you are in a rv. Tent camping area is horrible and way to close together. Our site 296 had a huge tree that was dripping sap al over our table and our site. The tree was dropping sap all day so we all had it all over us. Staff is very friendly.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
I was sent to a “premium” grassy campsite that had no grass, was rutted and non-level and turned into a mud bowl with a few drops of rain. They jam the sites together not even leaving space for a pathway to the bathrooms. Good for kids though with those amenities. Lots of road noise and construction guys start heading out to work at 5 am.
Sep 16, 2019
Tent camping is very congested small place. nearest showers will give you the slightly warm water after some wait. 2 stars is because we felt like we didn’t get what we paid for.
Sep 16, 2019
Previous 13 stays have been glorious over the last 4 years. This stay was the pits! It’s a great place but good lord do y’all need to get on the same page. Don’t harass ppl for money when you’ve told them on the phone they are all taken care of! I felt totally violated and harassed not to mention given the worst spot on the grounds. I distinctly remember hot showers and grass tent spots.
Sep 04, 2019
We have 25 years going to Petaluma koa every time we go we love to stay at the camp people is very friendly like family we never have any problems we any body thanks
Sep 04, 2019
Good for first timer. Great staff
Sep 03, 2019
Staff was friendly but working too hard at keeping the place shipshape to visit much! This is a very big campground but was orderly and quiet. A great place to base camp for a great vacation!
Sep 03, 2019
Its the third time we have stayed at this camp and the new bathrooms are super!
Aug 25, 2019
Thanks all good
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 16, 2019
When I sign a document stating the time of “quiet time” I expect that that applies to everyone on site. I expect that there will be a process in place to ensure that this happens. It does not at this KOA. Don’t stay here if you want sleep is the message I will be telling people.
Aug 14, 2019
It’s a great place to go ! Mellisa is very helpful very friendly and is just awesome : Eve is also very Friendly and very helpful ! I’ve been coming here for quite a few years now my grandkids just love it:I only wish they would bring back day use: also it would be great if you could rent cabins for one night again instead of at least 2 nights ! Thanks !
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Thank you so much for the SAFE camping experience. I really appreciate the cigarette butt free camp site. I have sent a lot of camping families to Petaluma and will continue to recommend this KOA.
Aug 03, 2019
nice campground
Jul 31, 2019
Overall a great place to camp, nice sites and great remodeled bathroom. Pool was pretty cold for the little one to use comfortably otherwise great!
Jul 26, 2019
Small back in sights, not a lot of space. We got in on the later side so decided to go to one of the restaurants. No signage, but it was closed to a private event...the other restaurant, cascades, made us wait 20 minutes because the serving staff was “overwhelmed”. The waitress was definitely overwhelmed. Never took our drink order, neverasked if we needed anything, which we did- napkins.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
A bit crowded, but very pleasant none the less.
Jul 14, 2019
It was quiet and the bathrooms were clean. The staff was nice and welcoming, very helpful. I just wished our tent site had a trashcan.
Jul 10, 2019
Showers were cold. Very little hot water.
Jul 09, 2019
Clean, friendly service, lots of fun for the kids and affordable items in the store.
Jul 05, 2019
The staff was great the management seemed to not be able to communicate with the staff when they change things around but the staff made sure to do what was needed to make our stay fun and enjoyable.
Jun 29, 2019
Great tent site, clean bathrooms (I saw the bathrooms being cleaned at least three times a day), nice staff, huge pool. They just need to get rid of the petting zoo. Not fair to the animals. We loved watching the train. The kids on it were having a blast. I think they should have activities every day, not just on weekends.
Jun 28, 2019
Returning tent camper. Really like this place. Tent area is level and shade available. Bathrooms were easily accessible as well as the camp cook area. Nice dog park. RV area looked super nice.
Jun 26, 2019
Stayed overnight in the tent area. The tent area was crammed together, as well as being next to a road in the campground that was frequently used. At night the headlights of the vehicle would illuminate the interior of my tent, which made going to sleep difficult. The shower/bathroom did not have a door, which allow people on the outside to see in. Plus the cost was excessive. More complaints.
Mar 16, 2020
Beautiful campground! Bathrooms / Showers were clean. The dog park has an agility course near the horseshoe pits. Cabins are cute and nice big playground and pool. Our rv site was in the newer area. It was quiet & featured nice patios and furniture. Loved this place. Highly recommended!
- Jackie Michelucci on Google
Mar 14, 2020
The nicest KOA we've stayed at! Woody and crew are great!
- Mark Topping on Google
Mar 13, 2020
We are staying here at the Petaluma KOA for five weeks and this is a really nice park. Quite large in size, with a petting zoo/farm with goats and miniature horses, pea hens and a great pool area. The sites vary from the standard to more RV resort style with pave stone patios. The cabins are of various sizes, too- tiny, traditional log cabins to larger tiny home style. The office is well-staffed, friendly and the store has what you need. I like that the gate offers security from those just wandering in that aren’t guests, too. I love the town and the KOA is just a short drive away from shops and restaurants. Great spot and for us with our 42ft. Fifth wheel which has traveled to 38 states, we’re not easily impressed. WiFi- although we don’t often use it, wasn’t bad .
- Kellyn Pot'Vin-Gorman on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.