San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2019
The best KOA in the USA!!!
Jul 28, 2019
This is a great place for families with young kids; we all had a great time.
Jul 28, 2019
Delux Cabins are great value for$ Friendly & helpful staff.
Jul 28, 2019
Nice campground, lots of activities for kids. Front office staff was rude at check-in.
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
Thank you for informed counter personnel who were friendly and helpful with tourists. We appreciated a clean campground with over 300 FULL sites that kept the restrooms cleaned even in the middle of the night. There were more activities than one heart could hold for children and adults. The beauty of San Francisco was most evident at this KOA! We will be back!
Jul 27, 2019
Great park. Away from highway , so quiet. Sites were good size so you aren't parked on top of your neighbor. Friendly and helpful staff
Jul 27, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
We just stayed the night but loved the campground. Very clean and nice. Spots were big and everyone was super friendly.
Jul 26, 2019
Great location, lots of activities for children, and friendly staff. As we rented a deluxe cabin that sleeps 8, I expected the bunk beds would be made up and was a little disappointed that they aren't a full width twin (they are a bit narrower.) I also thought the fully stocked kitchen could have used a few more items like a mixing bowl, plastic cups for kids, and teaspoons (not only soup spoons.
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
Small back in sights, not a lot of space. We got in on the later side so decided to go to one of the restaurants. No signage, but it was closed to a private event...the other restaurant, cascades, made us wait 20 minutes because the serving staff was “overwhelmed”. The waitress was definitely overwhelmed. Never took our drink order, neverasked if we needed anything, which we did- napkins.
Jul 25, 2019
Great place! Friendly staff!
Jul 25, 2019
Great staff! Very accommodating for receiving a parcel for us and letting us use their phone to call Enterprise for pick up with rental car. Pool is great, so is hot tub. Would love to see an added hour to hot tub (adults only 9-10 pm?). Flower beds, trees, everything looks gorgeous. Showers are plenty and clean. Lots of activities for yhe kids as well. Will be back!
Jul 25, 2019
This was our first KOA. It's a pretty big park. Much to do to keep the kids entertained. The pool is pretty big which is nice for when it gets crowded on the weekends. Place was clean and the staff was friendly. We were in the Redwoods part of the park. It's great to have the shade on the hot days but make sure you double check where you setup in case one of those trees are in the way.
Jul 25, 2019
We stayed two nights and really liked the buddy sites which helped us enjoy the evenings with our family.
Jul 25, 2019
Jul 25, 2019
Great place to stay!!!
Jul 25, 2019
The place where we parked was very unlevel. It took quite a while to get it somewhat level, very frustrating. Nice amenities (the store), friendly staff.
Jul 25, 2019
Plenty for the kids to do. Grass in front of some campsites was dead.
Jul 25, 2019
There was no escort to our site, and, with 200 sites, it was a pain finding it. Also, despite the two page disclaimer we had to sign, most kids were unsupervised. They did have a helpful self guided tour of the area though.
Jul 25, 2019
An excellent place to stop if you’re going to visit San Francisco or the wine country. The KOA is very clean and the staff was efficient and professional.
Jul 25, 2019
There was no escort to our site, and, with 200 sites, it was a pain finding it. Also, despite the two page disclaimer we had to sign, most kids were unsupervised. They did have a helpful self guided tour of the area though.
Jul 25, 2019
Place is great for younger folks.to expensive for us seniors one night 92.00 dollars
Jul 24, 2019
Our grandkids loved it. They made new friends and enjoyed the activities. We stayed two nights and I would have liked a few more activity options, dancing, art etc.
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Great camp. Clean. Beautiful surroundings
Jul 24, 2019
Most amazing thing, my siblings and I grew up in Petaluma and never can here. This weekend was a family get together with two of us coming from out of state. With the outrageous cost of motels in the area KOA was my first choice have just purchased a trailer. What a jewel we found in this camp ground. We will continue to only stay here weather camping or not. Thank you for a friendly stay.
Jul 24, 2019
Always a great time when we stay there everyone is so friendly and helpful Thanks Woody!
Jul 24, 2019
Lots of improvements since the last time we were there. Campsites upgraded, clean bathrooms always, many more loungers by the pool. Staff very helpful with whatever you need.
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
Was very enjoyable clean. Great service good location
Jul 23, 2019
The stay was OK, but the spots are too close and the camp appears crowded and the space squished with little privacy. Was also wondering why it is not compulsory to take a shower before entering the pool ?
Jul 23, 2019
Great location, enjoyed Petaluma. Great for kids but we were all adults. We all resented paying an extra $20 each to hold a site in addition to $85/night (4 rigs wanted to be near each other) No cable 1st night, employees worked on it- got a very snowy picture after that.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
Very noisy well past the “quiet” time. Management should have enforced the rule. Also site was nothing but gopher mounds and dirt. For the price, not acceptable.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
Busiest KOA I have ever been to. Great staff. Wish it was closer to SF.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Too many people for the amount of toilets and showers. First shower in upper area never got warm and horrible pressure of water. Line outside toilets due to lack of alternate toilet area. Unsupervised children everywhere... cursing, throwing paper on floor and running bikes into cars. Just have grown too big. We were here ten years ago and LOVED it, now we won’t return.
Jul 22, 2019
I thought the amenities we're nice and provided good value. I was very disappointed that despite posted cleaning schedule the bathrooms we're being cleaned much earlier causing an inconvenience for the campers in bare cabins and tents. Also staff seemed to drive excessively fast and ignoring stop signs (which could use a new coat if paint near the playground, so cars stop for kids)
Jul 22, 2019
Love the upgrades to sites and restrooms, keep going with the upgrades,
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
The only disappointment I had was that my locked in site was supposed to be 118 which was right next to our friends site, but when I went to check in I was locked for 113. None of this made sense to me as I had originally called with the site number our friends had booked and they placed me in 118 to be right next to them. I even had a text to our friends after telling them what site we were in.
Jul 22, 2019
Loved the new showers!
Jul 22, 2019
Best KOA we stayed at on this vacation. Very organized, clean and extremely kid friendly.
Mar 16, 2020
Beautiful campground! Bathrooms / Showers were clean. The dog park has an agility course near the horseshoe pits. Cabins are cute and nice big playground and pool. Our rv site was in the newer area. It was quiet & featured nice patios and furniture. Loved this place. Highly recommended!
- Jackie Michelucci on Google
Mar 14, 2020
The nicest KOA we've stayed at! Woody and crew are great!
- Mark Topping on Google
Mar 13, 2020
We are staying here at the Petaluma KOA for five weeks and this is a really nice park. Quite large in size, with a petting zoo/farm with goats and miniature horses, pea hens and a great pool area. The sites vary from the standard to more RV resort style with pave stone patios. The cabins are of various sizes, too- tiny, traditional log cabins to larger tiny home style. The office is well-staffed, friendly and the store has what you need. I like that the gate offers security from those just wandering in that aren’t guests, too. I love the town and the KOA is just a short drive away from shops and restaurants. Great spot and for us with our 42ft. Fifth wheel which has traveled to 38 states, we’re not easily impressed. WiFi- although we don’t often use it, wasn’t bad .
- Kellyn Pot'Vin-Gorman on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.