Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2017
Great!
Aug 29, 2017
The camp site they put us in was very small and right in the middle of the play area. The music was blasting in the play area all day which was very annoying. For the price we got charged we were very disappointed.
Aug 29, 2017
The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. The pizza guys were young and foreign, they did their best. They need better training. The grounds are beautiful. We will definitely come back and bring our grandchildren!
Aug 29, 2017
Luxurious resort...loved the idea of renting a car and leaving the motorhome parked at the campground. It was great to have a shuttle to view the Mount Rushmore monument at night. Great to have pancakes in the a.m. and the ability to have dinner on site w/o leaving the campground. Only drawback was that the one pool/spa had youngsters unattended after 9:30 p.m. so it was not monitored.
Aug 29, 2017
The reserved tent site (water+electricity) I was given was miniscule (hardly big enough for a tiny pup tent). I requested a larger site to fit my tent and was cheerfully given my choice from more suitable sites I had seen and that were available. Very nice restrooms/showers. Appreciated being able to buy block ice on site. I appreciated the helpfulness of the staff.
Aug 29, 2017
Our family only had one day in the campground but we wish we had a whole week. There's so much to do there and it would be made a vacation in itself. We highly recommend this campground.
Aug 29, 2017
Awesome. A great place to stay in the Black Hills, Lots to do here for families with kids. Very clean & attractive setting. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was our first experience staying in a RV. Stayed here years ago with our kids and camped in a tent. It has really expanded. We will definitely return and stay here again. Come to the Black Hills almost every year.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
This was our first camping experience with our camper. We brought our 3 grandchildren and were pleasantly surprised by how much there was for them to do during our 7 day stay. It was a great experience and hope to do it again soon.
Aug 29, 2017
Loved this park! So peaceful and relaxing. There are so many activities for kids! We will definitely be back! Thank you
Aug 29, 2017
It was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lots to do and we will come back.
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful! This was our first RV trip. We stayed here on our last night of our vacation. We only wish we had known about this place sooner! Now we know. ð but signs advertising what is available would have been nice. For example we had no idea (from the many times we drove by) that you had ATV rentals, fishing area, bikes, movie night, breakfast and all the other amenities. Great place
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Outstanding facilities and staff. A must stay when in the Black Hills
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very large KOA, great place to stay central to everything. Only downside is limited connectivity, we had a family emergency back home and I spent more time in Hill City for contact, missing opportunities of sight seeing.
Aug 28, 2017
LOVED this campground. We normally hate KOAs, but this one was awesome! There's so much to do that you don't even have to leave the campground. The only complaint I have is that there were no high chairs at the pancake breakfast. My husband and I had to rush to eat because it is nearly impossible to hold a toddler while eating breakfast. Please consider getting high chairs.
Aug 28, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. It was alot of fun. There was always something to do and things to see. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If I can make a suggestion though. The water slide can use some treads at the top because it is very slippery getting on the mat.
Aug 28, 2017
The campsite was nice and clean and the laundry facilities were great!
Aug 28, 2017
Didn't like that the swimming pool was separated by a picket fence and the horse stables were on the other side of it. Everything else was great love the location between Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The grounds the bathrooms and the people that worked there were all fantastic.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was clean and beautiful, with pretty flowers everywhere! The front pool was warm and clean. We enjoyed the evening singing performance and the smores. The food was good at both places. Lots of activities for kids. Friendly staff and a great location for many tourist activities. The best campground we have ever seen!
Aug 28, 2017
What a place! So much to do for the children. We have to say an employee named Martin, was phenomenal with the kids activities and was very kind. Love all the places to explore, horse riding was great, the store employees were friendly. The only things that needs improving is the cleanliness of the bathrooms. Overall a great stay! Thank you!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very awesome place to camp! Loved the amenities. Like mini golf and pool hot tub.. also came with free museum and mini golf in keystone! Loved it! Very happy
Aug 28, 2017
I wasn't real happy about the first day that we where right next to the garbage and had many visitors thru our site, but the KOA team made it right and we had a great time after that.
Aug 28, 2017
Great time!!! So much fun for the kids!
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay, very close to everything and lots to do for everyone. Would change the fire pit location as it was 4 feet from our door, couldnt open the awning and still have the smoke smell in the motorhome.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Our first KOA adventure. Clean, great facilities. What a kid friendly place! We'll be back. Oh, pancakes were delicious!!
Aug 28, 2017
Great staff, clean, great for kids. Internet was useless and no phone service. Cost was excessive.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Although the premium site was very nice, not to have cable service is unacceptable. Being out in nowhere, there is also no TV over the air. This needs to be advertised as satellite only sites.
Aug 27, 2017
With so many things to do and so close to Mt. Rushmore you can't go wrong. We wish we would've stayed more than 2 nights. Horseback riding, restaurant, bar, pool, bike rentals, and snack shack...nice!
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful place. Lots,of stuff for the kid's to do. You do need to take care of the pools better. The water in all of them was kinda scummy looking. Did get a little better during the week though.
Aug 27, 2017
We had two parties and stayed a week on top of the hill in the trees. Our two camp sites weren't very level at all, sewer hookup was a problem, both our campsites we were downhill from the sewer hookup. The amenities were great through, the kids did everything. I would come back again except next time I would stay on the flats at bottom of the hill.
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice campground for camping, too many lights for looking at the stars, overall very happy with our stay.
Aug 27, 2017
We brought our 6 grandkids for a week. So much to do. Rented a golf cart which we used every day. Loved loved the rodeo, our granddaughter even participated in the mutton busting and scored a 81 for her first time. The only negative was no cell service. I heard other families complain about that also. Wish you would make improvements in that area. We like to report in with their parents....
Aug 27, 2017
Very Pleasant stay liked having Security 24 7
Aug 27, 2017
Love the KOA and stay there often thru the years but I do NOT like when leaving a day early that you did NOT refund the " resort" fee ( $10 per day). The resort fee seems annoying to 'tack on' to the price ,why not price it $10 higher per day? It is one of those sort of 'added fees' that annoy me but if it was figured in the price, not so annoying! Love the KOA, great job, great employees!
Aug 27, 2017
Verry disappointed-no WiFi, no cell phone, small camping sites, speeding traffic.
Aug 27, 2017
This is definitely a 10. Lots of activities from horseback riding to bikes to swimming. All you can eat pancakes to 2 other restaurants to wine tasting and fudge. Definitely a great KOA, one of the best.
Aug 27, 2017
Great location with tons of family fun stuff. Staff is friendly and keeps everything clean.
Aug 27, 2017
We loved this campground! Probably our all time favorite!
Aug 27, 2017
It was like the Disneyland of camping... the kids had a blast! Definitely would stay again!
Aug 27, 2017
Great facilities! Just wish that all streets were paved so dirt would not be tracked into the rest rooms and showers.
Aug 26, 2017
Can't wait to go back!! Beautiful location, plentiful amenities, can't wait to share with friends.
Aug 26, 2017
Good
Aug 26, 2017
Nice and clean KOA in a great location.
Aug 26, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy