Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 01, 2017
this place is amazing! we stayed in a tent site - beautiful green grass where you could place your vehicle however it suited you best. The staff were very friendly and helpful - cute little store and restaurant with good food! Definitely would come here again. Great rates.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Beautiful spot with super clean bathroom and showers. Staff was friendly efficient and accommodating. It would have been nice to have water nearby the rent sites for washing utensils and dishes but we managed. Bring a bucket and a basin.
Sep 18, 2017
What a fantastic place! Everything was outstanding. Customer service impeccable. Clean restrooms, excellent showers. The grounds are beautiful.
Sep 12, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, as were the facilities. This was the off season after Labor Day so many of the fun stores were closed. The only down side was there was an "Event" that had a very very loud band that played through the evening but they stopped at 9:50 pm. Kind of ruined the peaceful evening anticipated, but, they played well.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying again. Very close to the monuments!
Sep 08, 2017
From the moment we arrived, everyone was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, a big storm came on the second day, but the staff was extremely helpful in upgrading us from a tent to a room in the lodge! Would definitely stay here again.
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
The site was immaculate and everyone around was very respectful and friendly, the facilities were also very well taken care of, the showers were fair to use considering half the guests needed to use them. All of the staff from the the security detail to the cashier's in the gift shop were all very helpful, friendly, and gave great advice and tips on where to go and what roads to take. Be kind !
Sep 07, 2017
Not happy. 1. Placed us way n back, 2,, Pup closed down too early, 3, too crowded, 4, only 1 person at Registration desk.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Awesome. We're not usually ones to camp at an organized campground site, but we had a great time. This place has something for everyone of all ages. We were there with our kids ages ranging from 5-26, and the grandkids ages 1&3. Everyone had a wonderful weekend!
Sep 05, 2017
It was amazing, exactly what I needed. Our campsite 464 was a few feet from the playground where all the kids were but other than that I'm coming back again
Sep 05, 2017
This is a wonderful campground with so many great activities for children. We were disappointed in two of the spots assigned to us (463 and 425) as they were barely big enough for 1 car and a small tent. Your staff worked hard to accommodate our request for change and it worked out well.
Sep 05, 2017
It was great. Had a good time. Wish we would of been able to rent a golf cart for a day. They should get more to have available to rent. But it was awesome. We love that KOA.
Sep 05, 2017
This is the Disney World of campgrounds. If you have screaming children and you don't mind the noise, it's fine. There are a million things to do without leaving the site. That's great. If you like that. Unfortunately, my husband and I like to just hear crickets while we're camping. This is not the campgrounds for us. Great for families with small children who need to be occupied. Not relaxing tho
Sep 05, 2017
This place is huge and has it all. The staff members are very kind and want to make sure your stay is pleasant. It's in a perfect location too. The only reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it does get very loud at night and the tent sites are very close together. If you are looking for a peaceful camping site, this is not the place to go. Other than that, this KOA is awesome!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. My only complaint is regarding an employee at the bounce pillow. He started telling me that African-Americans wanted to take down Mount Rushmore and also that he didn't think the confederate monuments in the South should be removed. I don't know why he brought this up, except perhaps because I was there with my two Black children. I found it offensive.
Sep 04, 2017
Loved the campground!!! This was our first time camping in South Dakota and we didn't know the campgrounds that well so we requested a site that looked bigger. We had a 12 ft trailer with us and a large tent and would have liked a flatter site due to being on the hillside our tent was on a slope which made it tricky. All in all it was a WONDERFUL campground!!! Lots of fun activities to do!!!
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We love staying at this KOA it has many things for every age. Would love to visit every year.
Sep 04, 2017
Kids had fun. Wish had more time to do more of the events.
Sep 04, 2017
I always love my Labor Day stay at Rushmore KOA. This year was a slight bummer as the people in the side next to me didn't understand the 10PM quiet time and were still overly loud and intoxicated at 3AM. But, I will still be back next year.
Sep 01, 2017
We had some frustrations on our visit. We had to drive back and forth 3 times from camp sites to the front desk until we got a spot, other people were already in the spots they kept giving us. We wanted a tent site with electric and water, but these spots are for campers, not really for tents. We were given wrong info on the horseback riding which resulted in us not being able to do it.
Aug 31, 2017
It was a great stop off point to relax and add to our vacation. Thank you for being so accommodating.
Aug 29, 2017
This was the best campground ever!! I will be looking to stay at all KOA's in the future
Aug 28, 2017
My kids loved the fun zone....our campsite was amazing and the bathrooms were always super clean. We stayed at tent site 310 and loved the view....the morning we left a deer walked through our site while I was drinking coffee....amazing way to end the trip. We enjoyed watching the horses run back to their stables in the evening and the beauty of it all.
Aug 28, 2017
Wish I could have stayed longer to see more of the surrounding area.
Aug 28, 2017
We loved our stay. The staff was always polite and the bathrooms were spotless. We were very happy with our stay at KOA
Aug 28, 2017
Great facilities! Two important remarks: 1) a squarrel demolished our tent by throwing at least 50 pines from a tree. We reported this dangerous event at the reception. They where familiar with the squarrel and didn't take any actions 2) The pancake breakfast was Nice however resulting in a pile of plastic trash afterwards. An improvement will be tot ask visitors tot bring there own reusable pla
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice facilities, nice campsite. The kids loved the fun zone.
Aug 26, 2017
Large campground with great facilities, showers are great, good food in the restaurant but downside is extremely poor wifi, almost impossible to connect.
Aug 25, 2017
I had explicitly requested a tent campsite away from any activity sites - what we got was immediately adjacent to a dhildren's playground that was active well after dusk and before the posted 8am window. The site was not level ( making tent camping almost impossible), and was subjected to the non-IDA-compliant lighting on the nearby comfort station throughout the night. NOT PLEASANT!
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Didn't stay. Horrible experience at another koa. Will never stay at one again.
Aug 24, 2017
While the facility itself was great, our actual campsite left a little to be desired. There was no where in our plot that was actually level to pitch our tent on. So we had a rough night of sleep while 'sliding down a hill' inside our tent.
Aug 23, 2017
I really enjoyed the rodeo. I was extremely disappointed with the poor WIFI (useless actually). After asking a staff member I was told that they knew it was poor but there was nothing that could be done. With the extremely high price point of this KOA, the WIFI should work properly.
Aug 23, 2017
The shower I used was dirty! Definitely not cleaned recently.ps..you should advertise you have wifi.. when you don't !
Aug 22, 2017
What a great property! We have four kids (mostly under 10) and we always opt to stay in simple properties because we spend most of our time out sightseeing. This time, however, we decided to make this KOA a base to give the kids a break after our touring each day. The activities and events were fantastic and we all REALLY enjoyed the accommodations (tent for us). Thanks for the great time!!
Aug 22, 2017
It is hard to make plans or change activity plans or bring up maps without internet or cell service. It would be nice to have that as an option.
Aug 21, 2017
We had such a great family vacation at the Rushmore KOA. It was pretty crowded and the horseback riding was expensive but we loved the Rodeo and the activities for the kids. The campground was beautiful, surrounded by hills and trees.
Aug 21, 2017
The site was so small and rocky it was almost unusable, the site next to us was so close we heard every word and suffered smoke inhalation every night, it was the worst camping experience in 40 years.i will never camp there again.
Aug 21, 2017
Rodeo was fun! Stay was beautiful! Pancakes were awesome!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy