Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch Reviews

Where you can do as much, or as little as you please!

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2020
I would like to rate 5 stars, but the showers were absolutely filthy. Mold grew on the shower walls.
Jul 06, 2020
Things were weird this year w/ COVID for sure. Was disappointed to only have 1 pool this year vs. the 2 we've used in years past, hopefully the 2nd pool will be built for the 2021 season.
Jul 06, 2020
Super friendly staff, very clean campgrounds, so much fun stuff for our kids to do!!
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Overcrowded, dirty cabins, dirty restroom, and moldy showers. Staff is wonderful at the main office but I doubt the management has done a walk through in the facilities in years.
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Very crowded narrow campsites. When I submitted my online reservation I put down we had a 41 ft 5th wheel but when we got to camp somehow we were put into a site that was too small. I went back to the reservation desk and found out someone had edited the trailer length to 31. This was eventually cleared up. Wifi for cellphones is poor, some laptops work well.
Jul 06, 2020
It was nice, but we had kids & Site#432 wasn’t close to the kids zone(like I had requested), it was hilly - little kids couldn’t ride bikes near our camper, jump pillow closed early 2 nights in a row, only 1 hr pool passes per day, & shower house was not clean. All of that and we still had to pay the $12 resort fee every day. A bit unhappy! Kids were very disappointed!
Jul 06, 2020
the check in staff, especially Robin, were courteous, friendly and helpful. grounds well maintained. the bathrooms in both the men's and women's areas could be better maintained. I realize the restrictions probably placed restraints on getting fully staffed. will be back!!!!!
Jul 06, 2020
The concierge lady who checked us in and helped Is other times Was not friendly and seemed bothered to help us. Our cabin was filthy checking in. Robin and Rob were nice to us however this campground was lacking good staff filthy bathrooms and workers at slide not watching and kids getting hurt.
Jul 06, 2020
Wonderful campground! Will definitely return if back in the area.
Jul 06, 2020
Everything and everyone was amazing! Couldn’t find a thing wrong even if I tried. Thank you so much!!!
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Very accommodating, and friendly
Jul 06, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 06, 2020
Suggestions: level all tent sites, gravel roads and trash receptacles in showers (used personal hygiene products were found in showers). Also, suggest bathrooms cleaned in early morning hours. For the prices charged, the campsites in the 600 spaces were very disappointing to the ones where people drive by closer to the front.
Jul 06, 2020
We love it here and have been here a few times! We did not like the fact that we had to get pool tickets at 8am. Due to our horse ride being the same time we were unable to get pool tickets. I think something should be in place for people enjoying activities on your site so they are able to still swim for that day during the pandemic. We had 2 more big issues with this stay
Jul 06, 2020
Everything was cleaned regularly, the employees were really nice and helpful, and plenty if KIA patrols going around made it feel very safe. Plenty of activities for everyone to participate
Jul 06, 2020
I have to say, we were so impressed with the facilities and the campground. We rented the deluxe unit with patio furniture and gas grill provided. It was so nice to sit out on the swing each evening. The area was gorgeous! Our family had a wonderful time. Our teenagers loved the pancake breakfast. Thank you for helping make our trip to Mount Rushmore so memorable!
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
We love this campground because there is so much for the kids to do and it is so beautiful. How ever the site we were on this time was quite uneven for tent camping. And Sunday morning the ladies restroom was completely out of soap for hand washing and 2 stalls were out of paper.
Jul 06, 2020
Everyone was so nice
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
It was wonderful! Very impressed with the resort and kid friendly activities. By far the cleanest bathrooms! We will definitely be coming back!
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
We had an amazing time at Palmer Gulch KOA. The location of this park is perfect! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Thank you for helping make our vacation awesome!
Jul 06, 2020
Could not have asked for a better location to camp. Minutes from Mt. Rushmore, beautiful views no matter where you look. KOA campsites are the best
Jul 06, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 06, 2020
I stayed for one night in a tent site for an ‘on the road’ night stop. It was great and welcoming. The place was bustling with activities and everyone abided by the quiet hours. Overall great place with awesome amenities and plenty of options for kids.
Jul 06, 2020
We love the campground but you need to fix the phone reservation system. No one answers. I must have tried 20+ times to change my reservation. I finally gave up. Unacceptable.
Jul 06, 2020
Service not very friendly or helpful. Good location, but address in booking email takes you completely wrong direction, at least a half hour out of the way.
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
We just stayed 1 night in our tent but would love to come back for a week in our camper. Top-notch campground with plenty to do onsite and some great sightseeing in the area.
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Facilities were nice but crowded. Overall, good stay.
Jul 05, 2020
Family had a great time here, and we'd love to return. The only reasons I give it 3 stars instead of 5: our site wasn't cleaned before we were checked in and WIFI is non-existent. The KOA is so remote you don't get a cell signal. I actually believe it's a safety issue not to have solid wifi in the park when cell signal doesn't exist. That really needs to be fixed for us to be able to return.
Jul 05, 2020
I was disappointed in the lack of care given to our current pandemic. None of your employees were wearing masks and you did not require customers to wear masks while indoors. I feel that this type of attitude is careless.
Jul 05, 2020
Short stay, but was good.
Jul 05, 2020
Bathrooms-washrooms were dirty .
Jul 05, 2020
Good except I lost my place to someone who didn't have a reservation and I had to move. Was not happy how it was handled
Jul 05, 2020
Our stay was wonderful! All staff was so friendly.
Jul 05, 2020
Beautiful facility, staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Lots of activities. Would have liked to see a little more follow through on the COVID precautions though. Thanks for a wonderful time.
Jul 05, 2020
Very friendly staff, nice location, many onsite things to do, especially for kids and teens,
Jul 05, 2020
Jul 05, 2020
Cabin was clean and very spacious. Will definitely be booking again for our next trip.
Jul 04, 2020
Were disappointed the shuttle to Mount Rushmore had been cancelled, would have made other arrangements. The WiFi signal was a big issue no matter where you were at on the grounds. Huber didn't have any available service in the campground 3 separate times we tried to use Huber.
Jul 04, 2020
I never expected to have to plan my entire Black Hills vacation around pool times for our kids. It's understandable that adaptations needed to be made regarding Covid, but there should have been a better method to using the pool more then 1 hour a day especially when a full resort fee was paid. For the most, the KOA staff was nice, clean facilities, & the Chuckwagon Dinner was fantastic!
Jul 04, 2020
Great campground, very clean. Good location.
Jul 04, 2020
Outstanding park and location
Jul 06, 2020
It's only our first day but this place is more like a resort than a Campground
- Kayla Lunt on Google
Jul 09, 2020
Loved the campgrounds just the bathrooms really need to get cleaned.
- duct tape Mia on Google