Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 19, 2019
this is truly the RV equivalent of a Resort; however, all services are only available Memorial Day through Labor Day. We stayed in mid-May and had to dodge spring construction crews, and several amenities were closed. Wi-Fi works intermittently; we were frequently booted off the connection. Nevertheless, we had a delightful time and would not hesitate to stay there again.
May 19, 2019
Everything was closed. I am sure when everything opens it would be nice. Construction was ongoing so it was noisy. No phone service but the internet worked fine.
May 19, 2019
Love the place. Beautiful campground. Too early for some of their amenities to be open. We would go there again
May 19, 2019
Nice location, close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Easy check-in, nice gift shop, many resort amenities - most of which weren’t available mid-May (pool, snack bar, trail rides, etc.). Laundromat is open 24 hours. No hot water in bath house for two days. Reported it, and Jenna said I was the first to complain. (?). That night we had hot water in bath house. Fairly quiet. Beautiful setti
May 19, 2019
Très beau site nous faisons le tour des US c est un des plus beau
May 18, 2019
The nicest KOA we have been too. Great location to local sights and so much to do at the resort. We will be back!
May 17, 2019
We stayed very early in the season actually it was your first day May 2nd 2019. Most things weren't open yet but we could tell that it was a terrific place to stay. We have already recommended it to two of our friends and a family member. A special shout-out to Ben who was extremely friendly and helpful. Since we were in an RV it was very nice to be able to rent a car at your facility.
May 17, 2019
The staff was professional and friendly. All facilities were very clean and well maintained. Will be back.
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
We arrived at Palmer Gulch early in May. The campsites were cleared of snow and very level. There was a lot of snow still on the ground in places and the ground was very wet yet. We stayed for 4 day though and as the days went by the conditions improved immensely. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed having this as our base of operation while we toured the sites.
May 17, 2019
Horrible... this place was repairing their blacktop roads, LOTS of construction vehicles back and forth (bigrigs, tar trucks, dump trucks, skid-steer, steam-rollers, etc. NOISE! This occurs from 7am to 7 pm, all day. Diesel exhaust, road dust in our 5th-wheel. Why didn’t they tell us during reservations?? They placed everyone in the repair area when others sites were open. Poor management!!
May 16, 2019
The spots are quite tight there was a power outage while we were there we understand that was not the KOAs fault. However the 630am steam rollers Bobcats lawn mowers & other park equipment driving back and forth thru the entire camp was in the control of the KOA. Im a KOA member&have been 2 a lot of different ones...The laundromat prices at this particular KOA are highway robbery just FYI
May 16, 2019
When we arrived, May 10, none of the restaurants or shops were open. The only shop open was the main store/ check in. There was road construction going on in for the 5 days of our stay. The park is in a wonderful jump off location. The camp is maintained nicely. The rates are for a resort. Unfortunately when we stayed the facility did not offer resort amenities. Nor did they offer rate reductions.
May 16, 2019
May 16, 2019
The resort is nice but no run for dogs and they had construction going on the hole time we were there are motor home go full of dust because the tractors drive back and forth not to mention the noise the def. was not doing the 10 mph we went there to get away from the. Noise of the city and don’t feel like we had much of a vacation because of the none stop noise until 630 pm every night
May 15, 2019
One of the most beautiful campgrounds..so full of amenities and the friendliest staff ever! Highly recommend
May 15, 2019
Best campground ever! Friendly staff, well maintained and competitive rates�
May 15, 2019
May 13, 2019
Very clean and very friendly staff. Excellent campground!
May 13, 2019
Nice nice park, except doing landscaping and construction while there. Showers and bathrooms nice and clean. Nothing open as far as food,pool .basically not fully functional in May. 55 a night.
May 12, 2019
The first night we camped in a tent at a deluxe spot. There was a lot of flat rock in the ground which made it difficult to put the tent pegs in. The weather was crazy and out tent leaked. So the next night we stayed in a 1bedroom cabin. The bed was comfortable and the cabin clean. I was impressed by the quality of everything there. The bathrooms and showers were clean and it’s a convenient spot
May 12, 2019
The stay was GREAT. The KOA is right between Crazy Horse and Rushmore. A short drive to either one. The weather could have been better but you hav no control over that.
May 10, 2019
May 10, 2019
2nd yr back Love the area. Very clean. Like that you are able to rent a vehicle there.
May 09, 2019
May 08, 2019
We had a really great time even with most of the activities not open for the season. We can’t eai to return to enjoy everything once it’s open.
May 06, 2019
New bathrooms are amazing!
May 06, 2019
Great place, nice people, highly recommend it! Looks like a fun family place for the summer months! Good location as well!
May 05, 2019
It had snowed a few days before I got there and it was a little muddy but they upgraded me to a better spot and even refunded me money. Never did find the bathrooms. The place is huge and looks like it would be a lot of fun in the summer with families. Closer to the monument than I thought. I don’t like the gate arm before entering the campground. They didn’t tell me what to do with it.
May 05, 2019
I was exhausted after a long drive. The campground was closed, but a posted sign offered dry camping. In the morning the staff, who were getting ready for the opening the next day, were very kind to me. They allowed me to come into the lodge & use the restroom & fill my water jug. The maintenance guy checked on me to make sure I was ok to drive in the snow, and he plowed a path for me to get out.
Dec 15, 2018
We a had a great time. Enjoyed watching the horses coming down in the morning.
Oct 30, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, however, we were assigned a primitive site next to tent campers where they were at our doorstep. The picnic table and fire pit was on the opposite side of door and awning side. And we were charged a high price.
Oct 20, 2018
We enjoyed our overnight stay.
Oct 16, 2018
Absolutely beautiful park and very friendly staff!
Oct 15, 2018
Clean and friendly staff!
Oct 09, 2018
A very nice park and everyone was very friendly, but disappointed that we couldn’t use our free night stay there as they do not honor those specials due to the type of park they are. We were unaware of that.
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 09, 2018
Always a great stay , beautiful setting and location our second stay in two years . Friendly helpful staff ! Clean and orderly !
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
I don not understand why they charge a resort fee after all the resort activities are shut down for the end of the year.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 07, 2018
Great proximity to beautiful country!
Oct 06, 2018
Always love staying at my Rushmore KOA!
Oct 06, 2018
Great place for a home base. The black Hills are awesome...
Oct 05, 2018
Loved the family friendly atmosphere! However, the all you can eat pancakes were not good. And the front desk staff we talked to did not have good knowledge of the the hiking from that location.
Oct 05, 2018
Oct 04, 2018
Great people. Able to rent car to explore the area without worries that RV wouldn't fit thru tunnels of Black Hills & Custer State Park.
Oct 04, 2018
Oct 03, 2018
Wonderful camp grounds! We enjoyed our stay very much. We appreciated you accommodating our changing schedule and a need for a cabin. Weird not having Wi-Fi, but it was fun "pretending it was the 90's, and talking to each other!" ;) We would very much like to stay there again. Our son enjoyed the water slide and especially had fun mining for gems. So much to do!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals