Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2024
See you next year! Love the new playset in the splashpad area, wish it would have been open last weekend. Kids are excited for it!
Jun 18, 2024
Great RV park with a lot of activities. Should restrict the use of side by side to and from camp only. Too many people were driving around the camp sight seeing and speeding.
Jun 18, 2024
Usually 5 stars but our site was not cleaned and mowed as usual. Grass was pretty tall. Chairs were scattered and table dirty when we arrived (not including the pollen which we understand) otherwise great stay!
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
Amazing facility with so much to offer. We had such an enjoyable time. The pools were awesome. The pancake breakfast was a real treat. The Rodeo was way above and beyond. This is without a doubt the very best campground where I have ever stayed and I have camped at hundreds. The only negative was the lack of cellular access.
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
Sites are way too close together. Trash dumpsters overflowing every day. Too much traffic on road. Firewood you sell is wet and the campground gets so smokey at night. Staff was great. Enjoyed rodeo.
Jun 18, 2024
Well organized campground! Our grandkids enjoyed playing in the play area and being in the swimming pool.
Jun 18, 2024
Not nearly enough ‘comfort stations, for such a large number of guests.
Jun 18, 2024
Jun 18, 2024
The KOA Mount Rushmore was the most pleasant experience I’ve had. The trail rods were extraordinary and all of the people that worked there in the barn and also the people working at the KOA were fantastic. The bathrooms were extremely clean and the layout and amenities were perfect.
Jun 18, 2024
Showers near the rodeo area had no bench and no shower curtain.
Jun 18, 2024
Roads in between rv sites are too narrow and people park their vehicles in the road making difficult or impossible to exit
Jun 18, 2024
Absolutely the best KOA I have stayed at.
Jun 18, 2024
No internet and it costs over 100 bucks a night
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
great experience. the kids were disappointed that the new playground was still under construction. it is good to see that the grounds crew has been working on the drainage issues around the mini golf as that area was a swamp in the past two years we stayed there.
Jun 17, 2024
We greatly enjoyed staying at Palmer Gulch for two consecutive family reunions. There were activities for all ages. The staff if friendly and professional. I would highly recommend Palmer Gulch for a memorable camping experience.
Jun 17, 2024
The location worked very well for visiting in the Mt Rushmore area. Price was a little higher than I prefer to pay but probably a good value if using all the services and activities they have to offer.
Jun 17, 2024
WARNING-There is little to no connection to the outside world at this “resort”. It’s 2024! Wi-Fi was useless. Little to no cell service. If you like to disconnect, go for it. If you desire to watch tv, text or call anyone and you do not have satellite or Starlink, DO NOT COME HERE. Lois, my receptionist, was very helpful. We left early and went to Spearfish KOA. Their WiFi is off the charts.
Jun 17, 2024
such a cool place to stay - the pools, hot tubs, parks, jumpy pad - only wish the splash pad was open during our visit. Some feedback I would like to give to make it better for others - please have more than one person working at the coffee shop. There were long lines basically all weekend long. Loved the rodeo, enjoyed our stay greatly!
Jun 17, 2024
Lower numbers bc of Reunion Hall trash pick up and for how Expensive it is to stay there. ?? for the Reunion Coordinator ... If one is Renting the Reunion Hall couldn't the "Reunion Block" include the cabins and campsites close by? If in a Reunion Block situation STILL A $30 "reserve my site" fee is added???? We brought in 100 + people & I don't think my reservation showed one bit of a disc
Jun 17, 2024
You need to upgrade your WIFI as it is very week and nonexistent in most places.
Jun 17, 2024
Excessive additional fees and charges
Jun 17, 2024
This was our second time at this KOA. I was disappointed this time for a few reasons. We didn't know they had construction happening in the play area, concrete dust was everywhere, the mini golf course was patched with concrete that didn't dry so the kids had concrete on their new shoes. Staff was not friendly in the kids area and kept shutting down the trampoline because of concrete dust.
Jun 17, 2024
The entire facility is top notch and very clean. My family and I had a great time and hope to return. Just so close to all the great places to visit, and so much to do at the KOA facility itself.
Jun 17, 2024
Kids were looking forward to the splash pad I think under construction. Might want to put a note on the website if there isn't one I missed. Overall we had a great time so many things to do.
Jun 17, 2024
Top notch campground. Beautiful scenery and all the amenities you could want! Perfect location for all the activities in the Black Hills. Amazing and friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2024
Great campground for families with many activities and events. Only complaint is the WiFi which was terrible at our site. And at least with Verizon, there was absolutely no service so plan to be quite disconnected while staying at Palmer Gulch.
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
My spouse and I stayed in one of the Campers single room cabins. It was a perfect size for the two of us and our pup. Between the events and friendly people in every direction you go, we never got bored. It was truly a wholesome experience. The same day I turned in the keys for the cabin I was already looking to book another one. Thank you Rushmore KOA for the hospitality and experience.
Jun 17, 2024
Nice camp spot TENT site) Amenities were great and plenty of them Mostly paved roads Staff very friendly Showers and bathrooms were great Just need to either clean the shower curtains or replace them often Pancake breakfast good Location to area sites good
Jun 17, 2024
Good stay had fun. The shower need to cleaned. Bathrooms north west shower and Bathrooms need a remodel bad.
Jun 17, 2024
Completely disappointed in the lack of customer support. I called on Friday night (our stay was for Saturday) and explained we were having traveling difficulties and couldn’t make our stay on Saturday. Instead of having a heart, they still charged us. It’s not like we were taking up some huge rv spot, it was tent camping. I’ve had hotels be more accommodating when ur car breaks down. What a
Jun 17, 2024
Internet was lacking. Plenty of things to do in the park.
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
Our stay was really great. Staff were really helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2024
Little to no signal or WiFi service if this is something that is needed during your stay.
Jun 17, 2024
Jun 17, 2024
No cellular reception, and no WiFi connection.
Jun 16, 2024
Had the most wonderful time. Was very impressed with property and how friendly all the staff we encountered were. Loved the ammenities available on site for fun things. Also loved the food options and that there were gluten free options available. Would highly recommend and love to go back some day.
Jun 16, 2024
Very roomy campground with loads of things to do. Nice clean showers\rest rooms.
Jun 16, 2024
Such a gorgeous campground, the best KOA we have been to! We had a back in patio site and loved it! So many things for families and children and adults alike. The playground was under construction but that’s ok. We enjoyed our long horseback ride and music at night down by the shops. 15 minutes to Mt. Rushmore, Custer, and more. Wish we had more than 4 nights!
Jun 16, 2024
Spaces are tight. No wifi available and no tv. great for families but not so much for senior citizens.
Jun 16, 2024
Jun 16, 2024
Jun 16, 2024
Jun 16, 2024
Loved our stay here. Extremely clean & friendly staff. The only knock is how expensive everything is/was, but as they say, “you get what you pay for.”
Jun 16, 2024
Jun 20, 2024
Couldn't have asked for a better experience!
- Dan DeBacco on Google
Jun 20, 2024
Hard to imagine a nicer place to stay in the black hills. Convenient location for Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Hill City, etc but really the draw is the amount of amenities and their quality standards. Playgrounds, pools, fishing, hiking, horses, etc. If you're reading reviews, you probably already know everything they have here. We only stayed 3 days/2 nights and could have easily stayed a week.
- Pro-Series Fabrication on Google
Jun 19, 2024
We recently stayed at the Mount Rushmore KOA in Hill City for a family reunion, and overall, it was a fantastic experience. The amenities were top-notch and truly made our stay enjoyable. We had a great time cooling off in the pools, spending time at the dog park, and playing pickleball. We also enjoyed hiking at the nearby Custer State Park, which added to our wonderful experience. However, we were quite disappointed to find that there were no recycling options available on-site. When we inquired at the lobby, we were informed that the county doesn't recycle. A quick Google search revealed that there is a public recycling facility just 15 miles away. It's disheartening that the largest KOA in the US doesn't prioritize recycling, especially when options are available nearby. This is an area that could really use improvement. Despite this, we had a memorable stay and would recommend the Mount Rushmore KOA for its excellent amenities and beautiful location.
- Kim M on Google