Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch Reviews

Where you can do as much, or as little as you please!

Campground Reviews

Nov 05, 2019
It was a very scenic place to stay and see the beauties of South Dakota. The shower facilities were very spacious and well kept. Definitely willingly to stay here again.
Oct 25, 2019
Loved this location....the best KOA We have stayed at. We will be back.
Oct 12, 2019
I was okay with there not being cell phone service but I do wish somewhere on the confirmation e-mail or the website it was notified that there would not be cell phone service so I could make other arrangements for contacting family in an emergency with the person watching our house and our dog.
Oct 10, 2019
Good location as a base station; you will have to drive to sights. A touch pricey considering only the gift shop and laundry were open during our end of the season stay.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 05, 2019
Nicest, most diverse KOA that we have ever visited. So much to do and see. We will definitely return.
Oct 04, 2019
We had a great stay at Mount Rushmore KOA. Bathrooms were clean and campground was absolutely beautiful. Everyone we dealt with was very nice, they even worked with us on our stay keeping our campers grouped together and accommodating us after they closed. Thank you for the great stay!!
Oct 03, 2019
The nearness of each site is uncomfortable. You can here the people next door talking, using the bathroom... Unfortunately, we were not informed that most of the activities and amenities of the campground had already closed for the year. Many of our plans were foiled :-( Had they been open, I'd rate 4 1/2 stars all the way, - 1/2 for too close to next spot.
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
It had been raining before we arrived. There were numerous empty sites and we were placed in a mud/water hole! When I asked the man who guided us there if this was our site he said yes and left. Also, first night there was very tired and placed right next to bike place where they had a concert/party until 10pm. Not happy.
Oct 03, 2019
We had a great stay. The car rental on site was a high plus. Got to visit Mount Rushmore and several other sites also Crazy Horse memorial. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Thanks for a great stay.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
We were so disappointed that almost all the amenities were closed for the season during our stay. There was nothing on the website to tell us this when we reserved it back in January 2019 or anytime we visited the site since then. We found out when we checked-in. Your website should say clearly when your amenities close for the season. The deluxe cabin was great and front desk clerks helpful.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was wonderful! The KOA site is beautiful and close to all of the main attractions.
Oct 01, 2019
Beautiful facility, lots of amenities, close to Mt. Rushmore.
Oct 01, 2019
Stayed there just a couple of days before the campground closed for the year and it was an outstanding stay. We unintentionally avoided the crowds and it was great. The overall layout and camp structure was very well thought out and I see that even during the busy season, the campground would be a fantastic place to have a great campout.
Sep 30, 2019
Very clean, beautiful setting.
Sep 30, 2019
Super clean with a lot of activities, for adults and children. Couple of minutes from the local monuments and Museums. Definitely going back.
Sep 30, 2019
End of the season, and many of the amenities were closed, but still very nice, clean, well organized. Proximity to Hill City and Mount Rushmore made the location perfect. Looking forward to visiting again. Thanks
Sep 30, 2019
Very nice campground
Sep 29, 2019
Stayed in camping cabin. Needs a table and at least 2 chairs. Also a doormat would help. The bath and shower areas were outstanding. Location and amenities would be great in peak season. Make cabins a little more comfortable.
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
Beautiful KOA! It's the largest KOA that we've ever stayed at. It has something for everyone in the family. The surrounding area is beautiful...so much to do. We wished we stayed longer. We'll definitely be back. The only drawback was the WiFi...plus the normal cell service was horrible...being where we were we really depended on the WIFI.
Sep 29, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were exceptionally clean and accommodating. Very nice place to stay, already planning on staying here again next year!
Sep 29, 2019
This campground is huge! We had a great stay there and the facility has everything!! It is very clean and the staff is friendly. We were tent camping and the only problem we had was that the facility was going to be closing for the season a week after we were there and they had already shut down the water and bathrooms in the upper area where the tents and cabins were.
Sep 28, 2019
Best place for families, lots to do and staff is very nice. Sights clean and well maintained. Great place.
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
Very clean and friendly the German weekend was great close to many sights we wanted to see and not have to pull trailer. Had a Great Time.
Sep 28, 2019
I was at this campground 30 years ago with four children and this time as a retired person. Loved it both times!
Sep 28, 2019
We had a wonderful visit. Can’t wait to return!!!
Sep 28, 2019
We enjoyed our stay, but it was a little too busy for us. We no longer have children with us, but our site was right next to the fun zone. We should have requested a quieter site, that's on us. The cocktail lounge at your restaurant was subpar. The girls working did not know how to mix cocktails, and spent their time flirting while we were ignored. Your general store is also way overpriced.
Sep 28, 2019
One of the best camping spots we ever visited. BEAUTIFUL!!! During the season, a family could. Spend weeks at the campground and never be bored. Even off season- pretty nice!
Sep 28, 2019
Great location and very nice people that work there ! Our site was not very nice ! It's a very busy corner with a lot of vehicle traffic and didn't fit the truck and trailer?
Sep 28, 2019
Great camp. Only downside would be the campsite is too short for both camper and tow vehicle. Had to park our vehicle sideways and partly in the road. All the campsites around us was doing the same.
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
It was amazing! We loved the weather and workers were very nice. There wasn’t a lot of people there because it was at the end of September. But it just made it more romantic for my fiancé and me!
Sep 27, 2019
We stayed September 2019 and it was wonderful. Even though the season was winding down, the facilities and people were amazing.
Sep 27, 2019
We had no internet service, even while trying the camps service. Will not stay there again.
Sep 26, 2019
Absolutely beautiful! I realize we arrived at the end of your season but, the flowers were gorgeous. Everyone working there went out of their way to help us. Such a warm welcome! Loved how much space you had for each trailer. I highly recommend this campground not only for the family fun activities but wonderful walk and running paths amongst the forest.
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Very friendly and clean!!!
Sep 25, 2019
Excellent all the way around.
Sep 25, 2019
Outstanding operation. Beautiful site and surroundings and so close to Mt Rushmore and hiking trails. Only downside was it was near end of season and campground was in downsizing mood
Nov 04, 2019
Coolest koa ive ever seen and stayed at!
- Eric Holbrook on Google
Oct 27, 2019
(Translated by Google) Pricey campground but the location is great (Original) Prijzige campground maar de locatie is top
- Hans Kuipers on Google
Oct 25, 2019
Perfect family resort! My family and I stayed at this KOA for 4 nights over labor day weekend. We usually camp in a tent or our camper in the black hills, but this time decided to try out one of the rustic cabin rentals, which was perfect for our family of 4. The resort is very large, two pool areas, a stable, restaurant and cafe on site, lots of activities for kids and adults. We enjoyed the splash pad for our small kids and the mini golf. Food in the restaurant was great, we ate there a couple of times. The location of the resort is very convenient for all black hills activities. Would definitely recommend this KOA!
- Olivia Caspers on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.