Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2019
Palmer Gulch has an amazing staff, and offers a great deal of activities for kids/families. However, RV sites are packed really close together... not to thrilled that the neighboring campsite sewer hookup was less than 8ft from the front door of our camper.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
upon making reservations , we were not given what has been requested reservations were made year in advance. If you had nice RV's and huge motorhomes you were treated very well. Horrible customer relations, Will not recommend to anyone.
Jul 15, 2019
Lots of amenities for the family to do throughout your stay. My big issue would be the sizes of some of the spots. Some could be eliminated and used as additional space for playgrounds/picnic areas. Also, there are a lot of flat spots or low spots that collect a lot of rain fall and become mud pits. I would have been very disappointed to arrive to see that was my spot.
Jul 15, 2019
great place to stay as it is close to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The internet lacks coverage. That needs to be upped to reach out thru the camp please. The $3.50 daily pancakes have very long lines as well. I did enjoy the yoga class.
Jul 15, 2019
Nice resort staff was very friendly. Only knock was gps on I-phone took me to wrong location and had tough time getting through to live person to get directions to site. The wagon dinner and horseback riding was a blast even though it is not part of the Koa resort
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Had a great time, Easy access to surranding stuff,. My grand kids love the park and singer and hoop dancing ..Every one on your staff were very friendly.
Jul 15, 2019
We paid a fortune for one of their nicest spots for 6 nights and did not have any cable. I get it you are not there to watch TV but at $100+/night you would expect everything to work. Had to talk to 3 people to finally get a $10/day discount. Very busy campground with kids running everywhere, kids do have a ton of stuff to do which is nice. Roads were a little rough, think they had a lot of rain.
Jul 15, 2019
Great site, much better than most. It's a but crowded and the roads had lots of potholes and I was glad to have a smaller rig. Felt super sorry for the sits bogged in mud. Put in more drainage paths and rock to keep those sites ok for folks. Some people could not get out without mud...no cell service on Verizon was a blessing and a curse.
Jul 15, 2019
This Koa had a lot going on for the kids which is what we needed. Its close to a lot of the main attractions in the area. We really enjoyed our stay here.
Jul 15, 2019
The UTV rentals were the best. Happy Trails rental, very helpful,very professional and very kid friendly guys.
Jul 15, 2019
WE arrived there Tues., 7/10 and found out our camp spot was flooded with mud and water and had a illegal car parked in it. The kOA ambassador kindly tired to get us a better spot that wasn't full hookup but had water and electric. It was better and also close to a bathroom/shower. We got a credit for the cost. We liked being there. Bathrooms/showers wee mostly clean and had spotty shower issue,
Jul 15, 2019
Your campground was our last stay in our two week journey. We were very pleased. My only suggest would be to consider planting trees in the rv area. We were in spot 604.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
The staff was friendly and helpful, there was alot of activities offered and their campsites were nice and clean.
Jul 15, 2019
Awesome place to stay.
Jul 15, 2019
My stay was great, and my children really enjoyed all of the activities available at the camp. We had a nice family reunion, and the cabins were terrific. My family slept in our tent, and I will say that being in a tent was the noisiest campground I've ever experienced.
Jul 15, 2019
Nos encantó, mis hijos se divirtieron mucho! Queremos regresar pronto
Jul 15, 2019
We were very impressed by the free activities for kids!! We would have never even had to leave the resort there was so much to do!! We’ve decided to make this our annual trip!! Highly recommend!
Jul 15, 2019
Great location, very clean and organized, friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2019
Our tent site was amazing
Jul 15, 2019
I was mostly pleased with this KOA. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, My disappointment was the WiFi. My phone would connect, but it would say NO INTERNET. All 4 in my party had the same issue. My phone only got internet once for about 5 minutes. I did not want it to catch up on the world, but to see where and how far our next activity. In this day, this WiFi non-experience is TERRIBLE.
Jul 15, 2019
We loved everything about staying here!!! Such a great family friendly location and SOOO many activities!!!
Jul 15, 2019
My husband , dog and myself enjoyed 3 nights in your wonderful campground. It was the best KOA we have ever stayed at. You had so much to offer for activities, eating and entertainment. Our spot was a little small but it worked well.
Jul 15, 2019
So much to do. Want to bring kids and grandkids one day
Jul 14, 2019
Tent site 441 - at the top of the road. Best view, lots of room, and bonus exercise doing the hill. One of the days we woke up to the restroom being closed down due to a gas leak, so no hot water. It was literally fixed super FAST. Highly commendable! Friendly staff, beautifully kept area. Great stay. Thank you!
Jul 14, 2019
Phenomenal campground!!! Lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff was excellent. Shops and restaurants onsite were very good. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quality campground in this area.
Jul 14, 2019
Poor wifi Bathrooms/showers needed more regular attention Great convenient location Lots to do for family
Jul 14, 2019
Washrooms were in desperate need of cleaning and laundry room dryers never got warm enough to actually dry even after 1 1/2 of drying a small load.
Jul 14, 2019
No kitchen facilities near cabins. Bathhouse not big enough for amount of users. No separate wash sinks from toilets. Good location in Black Hills.
Jul 14, 2019
Great staff and amazing facilities!! We loved the water slide and mini golf. Cool to see Mt Rushmore on the way in and the location was fabulous for sight seeing! We went down to Hot Springs for Wild Horse Sanctuary and Mammoth Site. Highly recommend both!
Jul 14, 2019
The pools were good and many options for food onsite. It’s a very busy and cramped place. It wasn’t the experience we were wanting but it might be for another family. We didn’t have hot water at our bathroom, the cabins had cobwebs, and the late night noise brought our rating down.
Jul 14, 2019
Very fun place! My Grandson & I had a blast. I rented the basic cabin. I do have 2 concerns: after we got there our cabin did not have a picnic table. That would have been handy for cooking with my camp stove. I noticed the cabin next to mine had 2 tables! I spoke to personnel in office about & she said she would let maintenance know. I never got our picnic table.
Jul 14, 2019
Great staff. Amazing activities for the whole family regardless of age!! Loved every minute of our stay!
Jul 14, 2019
Amazing!
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
We stayed at a tent site. Initially, we were given a site that was way too small for us, but it was easy to change to a much better site with the help of a few people up at the office. The WIFI didn't always work very well and was a little spotty throughout the resort. Maybe it was because so many other guests were using it at the same time.
Jul 13, 2019
Most fun ever for all of us. Highly recommend to all.
Jul 13, 2019
Jul 13, 2019
The place is ok for kids as there are many activities for them. However, for adults the place leaves a lot to be desired. The road in our section had potholes. Between the tents and the barking dogs, I felt we were in a refugee camp. Everything seemed cramped. There were too many sites per bathroom so the bathroom was perpetually dirty. We pumped quarters in a dryer that never got warm. Overprice
Jul 13, 2019
It was a great stay! The kids had many activities to do and we were able to relax.
Jul 13, 2019
Best family vacay yet!
Jul 13, 2019
Lots of things to do and the staff was great. They even looked up some info for us on a couple near by attractions. Just an FYI, this is a huge campground and there is a lot of people staying here so if peace and quite is your thing then this may not be for you.
Jul 13, 2019
Our stay was very nice, except for the fact that the facilities for taking a shower (station #4) were horrible! Mold and mildew everywhere, walls, shower curtain, plastic stool, etc. Had to keep our flip-flops on entire time for fear of stepping in/touching the surfaces while washing-up! Told camp workers/front desk about it twice. Also, no place to put your soap/shampoo while showering, really?
Jul 13, 2019
Wonderful time!!! Booked for next year!
Jul 17, 2019
We just returned from a camping trip with our 4 grandkids ages 8-10 and we just loved it. There are so many things to do that will keep kids busy all day. Swimming and arts and crafts with a nightly movie were big hits as was family bingo with prizes for winners. They liked horse back riding also. The resort is just huge and has cabins to rent as well as motel rooms for those without campers. It might seem expensive but remember the activities are free except horses.
- daler225 on Trip Advisor