Campground Reviews

Oct 21, 2022
Oct 16, 2022
Oct 16, 2022
We know it was end of season. Only 1 bath house/laundry, main store open & nothing else. ATV rental said Open, but locked w/ sign to go to main. Main store said "sign's there all the time but we don't deal w/ that"-um-OK-fix it. Last day=1 Oct, ckout 11am @8am workers already in bath breaking down & taking out toilet paper. Went to buy items @main, w/ 3 left in line, put up sign & closed. Rude.
Oct 11, 2022
This particular KOA was HUGE and clearly oriented to children. Unfortunately, everything they had to offer, short of the playground (which we had no interest in), was closed for the season. This is not the fault of the KOA, but Mt Rushmore is a complete tourist trap with all the typical junk that goes with it and this KOA has perfectly conformed to the tourist trappings of the area. Not our speed.
Oct 09, 2022
Oct 08, 2022
Everything was great, except the bathrooms. Used to be much cleaner.
Oct 08, 2022
WE HAD A WONDERFUL WEEK, SO WE EXTENDED OUR STAY FOR 3 XTRA NIGHTS
Oct 07, 2022
This resort exceeded our expectations and we plan to stay here again in the future. But, the K-9 pet park was unacceptably small. For the amount of acreage devoted to campsites and kid activities, I would have expected a larger pet park. We enjoyed walking the large resort but would also have appreciated some off leash time for our dogs.
Oct 07, 2022
Oct 04, 2022
Really pretty place. Facilities were outstanding. Very close to Mt. Rushmore, crazy horse and Custer state park. Enjoyed my stay very much. We were there after labor day, many things things that drew me to this koa were no longer available after labor day, but I still enjoyed my stay. Only negative I can think of is there is no cell service here. Got me texting and phone messages when we went out.
Oct 04, 2022
Oct 03, 2022
Beautiful place, friendly people, great location. The only thing we had any problem with was limited wifi & cell phone service. Thank you!
Oct 02, 2022
Spots are short for towing with a semi but Sue made it work! Thanks Sue!
Oct 02, 2022
For a resort this size with little cell signal in the area it is unacceptable to have such crappy Wi-Fi! I mean horrible!!! KOA Vehicles buzzing around much faster than 10 MPH posted speed, a lot faster! No firewood for sale even though there was still 2 weeks left in the season.
Oct 02, 2022
Many of the amenities and activities had closed for the season, we were not told this prior to our arrival
Oct 02, 2022
Oct 02, 2022
Many amenities were closed. Disappointed as we were not told this. Kinda the reason we chose this place.
Oct 02, 2022
Oct 02, 2022
Great place, close to Rushmore. Friendly and helpful staff even though we were leaving the same day as they were closing for the season. Bonus perk - they have air compressor strong enough for 95 PSI. Room for improvement- the dog park is disappointing. Very small for the size of this park, all gravel and full of weeds and pickers.:(
Oct 02, 2022
It was great! The grounds are beautiful! We will come back next time when everything is open.
Oct 02, 2022
Oct 02, 2022
This place is always great to stay in.
Oct 02, 2022
We stayed at close of season but it was very enjoyable. Huge shout-out to Sue and Katie
Oct 02, 2022
Excellent grounds and facilities. Friendly staff at check-in with good knowledge of the community.
Oct 02, 2022
Had a great time - thank you. Showers could be cleaned better.
Oct 02, 2022
Oct 01, 2022
Great park! Was impressed with the constant upkeep of the grounds to try to keep everything looking great. Will be back for sure.
Oct 01, 2022
Oct 01, 2022
Oct 01, 2022
Katy was especially helpful in registering me & suggesting things to do; site #100 was absolutely perfect. Facilities are clean, well labeled & inviting.
Sep 30, 2022
First off, the bathrooms could have been cleaner. We were assigned a site upon arrival. Opening our camper door, we were right on top of the neighbors sewer connection. I told the office and showed them a photo of what I was dealing with. I did get moved, but to a pull thru site. then was charged an extra $20.00 for the pull thru. I feel I should have not been charged being a KOA Reward VIP status
Sep 30, 2022
EVERYTHING was closed! I understand closing part of the campground after the summer rush, but the campground was at least half full; some amenities could have been open. I was very disappointed that the internet was so poor. With no cell reception and a weak internet it was not easy to function. We live in our RV and use the internet to pay bills, and keep in touch with family.
Sep 30, 2022
My only regret was we didn’t plan to stay for more than a night. Very clean and extremely friendly staff, we needed a mobile mechanic and was given names to call! We used Phil! Thank you Palmer Gulch
Sep 30, 2022
It's the Disneyland of KOAs, a family/kids paradise. That said, if you're looking for a quiet spot to spend the evening it's not. Surprisingly though quiet hours were generally respected. Not the camping vibe I was looking for but if I had younger kids and was in a huge RV this would be the place!
Sep 30, 2022
Loved everything about this KOA and am already planning another trip with more family to enjoy such a great place. They have thought of everything that would be of use to people and i feel like they have gone above and beyond. Everyone should visit the area at least once in their life time and this is a perfect landing site to enjoy the whole area, the resort is perfect.
Sep 30, 2022
what a great place, so close to all the Rushmore activities and sites. beware though all of the amenities close after the labour's day weekend. this always brings me to the question of off season rates, why don't they have them as we do not have use of the whole park. other than that 5 star
Sep 30, 2022
Sep 29, 2022
Really nice place. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the dog park is the worst of any park I have stayed at. With all the open space here they could make a nice one in a grassy area not just a very small one that is all rock.
Sep 29, 2022
Great service and beautiful park and facilities! Could use better wifi access though. We will definitely come back!
Sep 29, 2022
Great campground, super helpful staff. Would have rated 5 stars, except most services at the campground were closed for the winter. Would have been nice to know that before we arrived...it was not stated on the website.
Sep 29, 2022
Outstanding staff, very helpful. Nice location. Sites had plenty of space. We stayed at the end of the season, so most amenities were closed. The WiFi and cell reception is terrible. This is a resort with 3rd world dial up internet speed if you can connect. In comparison, we stayed at another KOA journey level and the speeds were 30-40 times faster. Upgrade the WIFI and this place would be awe
Sep 29, 2022
Beautiful , clean and huge campground. Loved it here Would definately come back.
Sep 29, 2022
We've worked at four of the best parks Corporate KOA has; we're qualified to say, "you have a great park"!
Sep 29, 2022
Sep 29, 2022
Everything was great with the only exception being that they didn’t have any firewood. As we were tent camping and it was chilly at night it was definitely required. We were able to find some in Hill City.
Sep 29, 2022
Stayed late Sept,'22. All amenities (except the pool, ridiculous considering the average temperature) were CLOSED! The reason I chose this KOA was b/c of the impressive list of amenities (e.g.; on site restaurant, bar, pizza, ice cream, shops etc.). All of which were listed as open on the website when I booked our stay 1 week prior. I will explore the many other camping options in area next time.
Sep 29, 2022
Love the location!
Sep 29, 2022
We really enjoyed the cabin, only problem was the outside light was really dim and wasn’t able to judge where to step and ended up falling down the little hill our cabin sat on but other then that we really enjoyed it.
Sep 28, 2022
It's sad so many activities were closed but still the camp ground was so full. But for us it served our needs. A stay over for a few nights as we enjoyed the area. I really liked the propane station was open late so we could fill our tanks. Very clean, organized and loved all the grass and the trees. Oh yes, the swing, fire pit, BBQ and table was a complete surprised and used.
Sep 28, 2022
Excellent camp site
Dec 22, 2022
It was extremely busy when we were there but it was amazing!! So much for the kids to do! We will definitely be back!!
- Christy Reeder on Google
Dec 21, 2022
Beautiful area, horse riding, a literal water park in it, this camp ground has everything!
- Leif Engler on Google
Nov 30, 2022
Nice campground but our lot was very unlevel.
- T “Camp101” T on Google