Campground Reviews

May 17, 2022
Very nice campground-clean, sites spacious, nice store, large park with lots of walking paths.
May 17, 2022
Always a great stay at Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch. Kind of sad things were not open yet but understand we were early. Great Staff / friendly / always helpful. Thank you
May 17, 2022
Nice and quite
May 17, 2022
May 17, 2022
Nothing was open.laundry didnt work fpr half of our stay.
May 17, 2022
May 17, 2022
It was sad that nothing was open for being mid-May… Like the blow-up bouncy thing. The staff at check in were very kind and welcoming! The restaurant was terrible, poor service and the food was not good. Wish the pizza and ice cream place was open.
May 16, 2022
This is our 3rd time staying with you, it was another great stay. Only suggestion I have is I think you might want to check the first set of showers (the ones closest to the check in building) the hot water was not working when we stayed.
May 16, 2022
Staff and accommodations were the best I have ever experienced.
May 16, 2022
Everyone was very friendly, had to cut our stay short due to my parents in a accident on there way out.
May 16, 2022
May 16, 2022
Great campground, really family oriented; will keep the kids off the electronics for hours. Beautiful lodge, scenic, and WONDERFUL STAFF like Katie and Matt! Thank you so much for a memorable experience.
May 16, 2022
We came 2 weeks shy if Memorial and nothing was open, however it seems like this place is really awesome when fully running. Clean, organized, nice staff. Downside, lots and lots of poop! From wildlife of course, but nevertheless still lots of it. My real complaint is lack of space for vehicle if pulling. Once unhitched trucks get in the way really fast. Definitely will stay again though!
May 16, 2022
Pregnant and was out at a cabin that I had to walk down a big hill and halfway down the rv park for a bathroom. Cabin was very dirty with glitter and dirt all over the floors. You can rent a golf cart for the day for $70. If you want to spend a lot of money they make profit of everything. But one of there parks are falling apart and a lot of the amenities need to be updated for the pricing.
May 16, 2022
Nothing advertised on the website was available during our stay. When we asked the staff about this they said that none of the shops or activities are available before memorial day. The website mentioned that some of the activities were closed, but literally nothing was open aside from the playground. The staff was not willing to do anything other than let us checkout early.
May 16, 2022
Absolutely amazing campground !!!!
May 16, 2022
We were so thankful you were open and had a place for us to tent camp. We met some really nice people. Loved our stay. Only complaint is the water was brown and wasn't sure if we could drink it, so didn't. The guess from everyone was the pipes were just turned on for the season, or maybe it was construction related. Anyway, we loved getting to stay there and are very thankful. Would recommend!
May 15, 2022
I enjoyed the facility, but we were there before Memorial Day, and none of the attractions at the park were open. We travel with pets and wish there was sand or grass in the dog run instead of rocks. It was quiet and peaceful.
May 15, 2022
Love this park! Wished the rest of the stores and pizza had been open. Highly recommend this park so close to Mt. Rushmore.
May 15, 2022
Absolutely wonderful! We’re bringing our extended family back. You have great facilities for all 3 of our generations. Every single employee was super helpful and kind.
May 15, 2022
Not much open at the time of year we went. But not overcrowded which was amazing! The person I contacted was very helpful!
May 15, 2022
Loved it!!!
May 15, 2022
Very clean & orderly Knowledgeable staff The Grill restaurant sucked. Waitress couldn’t speak/understand English
May 14, 2022
May 14, 2022
Would be nice to have some kind of signal for cell phones or tv (kids).
May 14, 2022
Great location, nice office and helpful staff. Bathrooms and showers need renovation. WiFi unreliable in most areas.
May 14, 2022
May 14, 2022
Great staff and a ton to do. Awesome location to Mt Rushmore
May 13, 2022
Great service- easy rental car. Very clean and well maintained park. Safe and very close to Mount Rushmore.
May 13, 2022
We had a great stay at Palmers Gultch KOA. People were helpful and friendly. The only downside was the Peak Restaurant. I know it’s early in the season, but the staff was so inadequate. We ate there twice, and both times the service was bad. Plus, the servers had no clue about most menu items. We asked if they had “root beer”. She went to the bar & asked for a beer. Hopefully they will get b
May 13, 2022
Awesome staff! Not so awesome wifi. Also need more garbage cans—unless u pick it up…wasnt sure.
May 12, 2022
Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect, just a short drive to Mount Rushmore.
May 12, 2022
Very well maintained campground. Early season nice since not very crowded.
May 12, 2022
Beautiful scenery, lots of things to do but most of them were not open for the season yet. Would love to come back in the summer to try all the resort amenities like pool, hot tub, etc.
May 12, 2022
Convenient, clean and well kept... excellent friendly staff, amenities for the entire family. When cell service is obtained it will be even better.
May 12, 2022
Excellent people working there. Sabrina was a fantastic manager and Wanda and all the ladies in the registration were fantastic. Can’t say enough about the worker’s being friendly, helpful and caring. The grounds are excellent too.
May 12, 2022
The season starts Memorial weekend. I wish the laundry had been open. Overall we enjoyed our stay
May 11, 2022
It was ok for us showers not to warm service was hood
May 11, 2022
May 11, 2022
Friendly staff, all comfort stations were not open even though signs said they would be by May 1st. Otherwise great stay.
May 11, 2022
Clean facilities and friendly people.
May 10, 2022
This review has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 10, 2022
our campsite was next to a service road that had high KOA traffic all day long , construction trucks with stinky blacktop, plus all the normal camper traffic. the campsite was too small, had to park mini van in grass, our camper is small 17 foot long. had dinner at restaurant, staff not trained to wait tables. McDonalds has a better menu and food. Management focused on the big picture, not little
May 10, 2022
Loved our stay. Staff was very helpful from jumping off a dead battery to recommendations about restaurants and car mechanics.
May 10, 2022
Would love to have been able to patronize the coffee shop and the other businesses on the property but they weren’t open during our stay. Very nice property! Lots of things to do. Sites are fairly close together but clean. We enjoyed our stop!
May 10, 2022
One night but great.
May 09, 2022
It was calm and quiet. We had a wonderful relaxing mother's day weekend. A lot to do with a lot to see. Wild deer roamed nearby giving us a wilderness ambient experience.
May 09, 2022
The park is very nice and well maintained. The staff was very nice and helpful.
May 09, 2022
We tent camped was very refreshing and relaxing. Only down side is the restraunt needs do better!! the food was HORRIBLE and way over priced. Poor representation of native fry bread can not be over kneed it or it is chewy and it should be thin and large not small and thick and should have salt for flavor. If this is the quality "IN SEASON" then they should NOT have a restraunt at this location
May 09, 2022
Very clean showers and bathrooms. Really big campground with lots of amenities (not many open during my stay since it was still early in the season) but that was fine. Close to lots of trail heads, which is where I wanted to be. They have a "night patrol" you can call and I felt really safe here as a solo traveler.
May 17, 2022
Campground was great, the only thing is I wish they would have let us pick our camp site when we booked it online. We did not like being so close to the road in a tent. There were lots of other tent sites open and we would have rather been where there were trees to block the strong winds. The bath rooms were very clean. The crew were very good about letting us interrupt for a minute to go to the bathroom.
- Donna on Google
May 11, 2022
Beautiful campground, views are amazing and if you are touring the Black Hills this place has so much to offer, centrally located among Black Hills attractions. I am a Member of Scull Construction, we have done alot of work here and work in progress on bettering this place even more for the enjoyment of guests. Nothing disappointing here!
- James Carson on Google
Mar 31, 2022
June of 2017. The park was very clean, easy to navigate, beautiful views, and plenty of activities for everyone to enjoy.
- C JC on Google