Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 20, 2018
Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. Disappointed that they are now charging for pet. We feel rates are high enough. Husband told worker there were no bags at k9 dog park and after 2 days still had not filled it up.
Jun 20, 2018
First trip west. This Great location very central to everything, literally it’s 20-30 miles from every attraction in the Black Hills. Campground has many family activities. Pancake breakfast is awesome. Bathrooms are clean but, they’re small for the size. There are 3 but, the main one by the pool is small & could use an update. Really enjoyed this KOA. Quality like all the other KOA’we've vi
Jun 20, 2018
This is a wonderful place to play and to stay. VERY family friendly! It's clean and the staff is amazing. Everyone is very kind and helpful. Close to fun activities!
Jun 20, 2018
Campsites were close together. No internet or cell phone service. If you have kids it is a great place, lots of activities for them.
Jun 20, 2018
So many amenities. So many missing basic services. No recycling - SHAME ON YOU. Deplorable. You advertise free Wifi. That is a lie. You have no functional Wifi anywhere on the grounds - including the buildings the map showed there would be Wifi. The employees I asked all told me the Wifi really just doesn't work. And - you don't offer fresh cream with the coffee for sale in the lodge.
Jun 20, 2018
The guest service was great the only thing I wasn't happy with was that they promise WiFi and it never work, when I ask they flat as told me it will not work and did not like that at all.
Jun 20, 2018
We were very fortunate to have fantastic weather during our stay (until the end when the rain came...we're tenters). The activities staff were amazing...we had a blast getting to know them! The Mt. Rushmore KOA is what every KOA should strive to be! WE WILL BE BACK!
Jun 20, 2018
The kids had a great time but I will not go to the pancake breakfast again what a rip off
Jun 20, 2018
Upgrade your WIFI and you have had higher ratings. we had to stand in your registration office in order to get any signal. Now i agree that we should be having fun with the immentities and nearby sights to see, but we couldnt even communicate with our family that were not there with us, Other than that, you have a nice park with tons of stuff to do. Thank you
Jun 20, 2018
The amenities for the kids was great. Two heated pools and hot tubs, the water slide, pedal carts, and the bouncer were all great. Showers and restrooms were clean and well maintained. My only complaint was the lack of wifi on the grounds. No wifi meant we couldn't search for things to do or sights to see. We couldn't check weather. Kids couldn't text to tell us they were changing pools.
Jun 20, 2018
My encounters with the staff at the front desk were outstanding. I look forward to staying there again.
Jun 20, 2018
The staff and visitors were very kind.
Jun 20, 2018
No WiFi. Says available at 3 locations including main laundry. However, there is a sign inside that informs you can get a cable. But does not mention you have to pay for it. #Misleading. Need to pay bills online- so traveled 20 miles to Walmart. Also, rained all day/night for 2 days and the streets at the park were muddy and slippery. Other than that, it’s a nice park.
Jun 20, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
The Mount Rushmore KOA is in a lovely setting. The sites are relatively close together and there are not any sites with trees to add some privacy. There is no cell service available and while they offer WiFi, it is doesn’t work at the campsites and is very spotty in a few central locations.
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Wonderful park with a great staff, I will definitely be back.
Jun 19, 2018
Someone to direct us to our campsite would be helpfull...
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Everything was in excellent shape and very kid friendly!
Jun 19, 2018
Awesome campground! It exceeded our expectations, customer service was paramount and the facilities were great. Only downside is the WiFi and cable, WiFi was basically non existent and cable was very weak and spotty. Everything else was great!
Jun 19, 2018
Extremely nice facility. Very nice people. Wished I’d had more time to stay there on our trip.
Jun 19, 2018
Great!!!! They had so many activities in the fun zone-the kids had a blast!!!! It was so quiet at night, I was surprised. It's a great location, central to everything!
Jun 19, 2018
Great Stay! Would recommend to all.
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Friendly, excellent staff. Beautiful grounds and facilities. Staff helped with sightseeing options in area. Definitely recommending to family and will stay there again when in the area.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Spots were nice size, several full timers in this campground so not all spots are available for over night stays. Front store staff were helpful but did have some issues getting my fathers day discount applied to get my kids in for free. They don't pick up your trash at this site.
Jun 18, 2018
We LOVE this KOA, the grounds/bathrooms were so clean & nice. The pool/playground are great. We LOVED Turtle Town & ate there several times, the food was great. We also loved the convenience of the general store & shopped there often. However PLEASE get WIFI/phone service. This would be the only reason we would stay somewhere else next time. Mt Rushmore has it only 4 miles away, you can too!
Jun 18, 2018
This is an absolutely awesome place with alot of activities if you are camping with kids. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 was its wi-fi. Since there is no cell phone service we had to rely on the wi-fi internet connection. They supposedly have 3 hot spots, but the signal was so weak and unrealiable that it was very frustrating.
Jun 18, 2018
Loved everything about this KOA! Grandchildren had a ball with all the activities! Friendly professional staff in the entire site! Very well kept! Pancakes were delicious too! Our site was well kept (except the wasp nest under our picnic table) Would come back and recommend highly
Jun 18, 2018
No wifi even though it’s advertised to have it. Management described it as “spotty”. Employees admit it is non existent. Signal was present but the system would not let us join. Seems like a issue of insufficient capacity for the number of campers. I hate dishonesty and that’s exactly what this is...advertising WiFi to compete with others campgrounds when you have none! Should’ve st
Jun 18, 2018
The only thing I would have liked changed was that we can with other family so 5 campers and we were so split up in the campground. It would have been nice with a bigger party that accommodations would have been made to keep us closer together.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Loved the stay! Only visit if you have kids!!!
Jun 18, 2018
This was our 5th visit. We keep returning because we love it so much!
Jun 18, 2018
Every staff person was friendly, helpful, smiling. Beautiful, clean, lots to do, we loved it. Also quiet at night. Loved the rodeo, pools, games for kids. This is a one stop, with so much to do, and near tons of attractions. So much to see and do in SD. Loved our quiet site on the hill. Thanks
Jun 18, 2018
The sites are way to close to each other. Also we did not have any water pressure so we could not even take a shower in our camper.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
We had a quick overnite stay but were very impressed @ not only the size of the KOA but the acivities offered. We took the shuttle to the evening program at Mt Rushmore. What a treat after a long day of drivng!!!
Jun 18, 2018
No phone service and limited to no WiFi. More WiFi hotspots needed. Beautiful setting and can’t wait to come back.
Jun 18, 2018
Great facility, perfect location. It’s a high volume KOA, lots of people, but the staff does a great job staying on top of things. Very kid/family friendly. Only complaint is the WiFi is 100% inaccessible. we Stayed 5 nights and never once able to connect. While that can be a good thing, it also means no access to weather forecasts, plan daily adventures or pay bills online.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
What a campground resort. I would say it was by far the best My Family has stayed at. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a great experience.
Jun 18, 2018
Campsite small and not level. Dirty. Only good was the car rental and the check in person was efficient. Food ok at grill, service terrible.
Jun 17, 2018
One of the nicer KOAs we have stayed at. Tons to do on sight. Very clean!!!
Jun 17, 2018
The park has a lot of amenities and things for kids to do. The sites are small and tight. They don't lead you to your site like most KOA's which is actually needed in a park this size.. Our biggest problem was the VERY poor wifi and lack of phone service. I have a business that I need to check on and this made it tough.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy