Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2017
The campsite was nice and clean and the laundry facilities were great!
Aug 28, 2017
Didn't like that the swimming pool was separated by a picket fence and the horse stables were on the other side of it. Everything else was great love the location between Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The grounds the bathrooms and the people that worked there were all fantastic.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was clean and beautiful, with pretty flowers everywhere! The front pool was warm and clean. We enjoyed the evening singing performance and the smores. The food was good at both places. Lots of activities for kids. Friendly staff and a great location for many tourist activities. The best campground we have ever seen!
Aug 28, 2017
What a place! So much to do for the children. We have to say an employee named Martin, was phenomenal with the kids activities and was very kind. Love all the places to explore, horse riding was great, the store employees were friendly. The only things that needs improving is the cleanliness of the bathrooms. Overall a great stay! Thank you!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
My kids loved the fun zone....our campsite was amazing and the bathrooms were always super clean. We stayed at tent site 310 and loved the view....the morning we left a deer walked through our site while I was drinking coffee....amazing way to end the trip. We enjoyed watching the horses run back to their stables in the evening and the beauty of it all.
Aug 28, 2017
Wish I could have stayed longer to see more of the surrounding area.
Aug 28, 2017
Very awesome place to camp! Loved the amenities. Like mini golf and pool hot tub.. also came with free museum and mini golf in keystone! Loved it! Very happy
Aug 28, 2017
I wasn't real happy about the first day that we where right next to the garbage and had many visitors thru our site, but the KOA team made it right and we had a great time after that.
Aug 28, 2017
Great time!!! So much fun for the kids!
Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay, very close to everything and lots to do for everyone. Would change the fire pit location as it was 4 feet from our door, couldnt open the awning and still have the smoke smell in the motorhome.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
We loved it there! Everything about the KOA was wonderful from the staff to the clean bathrooms!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
We loved our stay. The staff was always polite and the bathrooms were spotless. We were very happy with our stay at KOA
Aug 28, 2017
Great facilities! Two important remarks: 1) a squarrel demolished our tent by throwing at least 50 pines from a tree. We reported this dangerous event at the reception. They where familiar with the squarrel and didn't take any actions 2) The pancake breakfast was Nice however resulting in a pile of plastic trash afterwards. An improvement will be tot ask visitors tot bring there own reusable pla
Aug 28, 2017
Our first KOA adventure. Clean, great facilities. What a kid friendly place! We'll be back. Oh, pancakes were delicious!!
Aug 28, 2017
Great staff, clean, great for kids. Internet was useless and no phone service. Cost was excessive.
Aug 28, 2017
Structure of the cabin was good. The beds sucked. Bathrooms were pretty gross. This is a very busy campsite. Front desk staff seemed pretty rude.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Although the premium site was very nice, not to have cable service is unacceptable. Being out in nowhere, there is also no TV over the air. This needs to be advertised as satellite only sites.
Aug 27, 2017
With so many things to do and so close to Mt. Rushmore you can't go wrong. We wish we would've stayed more than 2 nights. Horseback riding, restaurant, bar, pool, bike rentals, and snack shack...nice!
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful place. Lots,of stuff for the kid's to do. You do need to take care of the pools better. The water in all of them was kinda scummy looking. Did get a little better during the week though.
Aug 27, 2017
We had two parties and stayed a week on top of the hill in the trees. Our two camp sites weren't very level at all, sewer hookup was a problem, both our campsites we were downhill from the sewer hookup. The amenities were great through, the kids did everything. I would come back again except next time I would stay on the flats at bottom of the hill.
Aug 27, 2017
Stayed 3 nights in a 4-person cabin. Cabin was clean. Mattresses were reasonably comfortable. Location of fire pit was awkward. Lots of kids activities. Bathrooms were very clean. Food onsite was not good. Nice and quiet at night.
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice campground for camping, too many lights for looking at the stars, overall very happy with our stay.
Aug 27, 2017
We brought our 6 grandkids for a week. So much to do. Rented a golf cart which we used every day. Loved loved the rodeo, our granddaughter even participated in the mutton busting and scored a 81 for her first time. The only negative was no cell service. I heard other families complain about that also. Wish you would make improvements in that area. We like to report in with their parents....
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Very Pleasant stay liked having Security 24 7
Aug 27, 2017
Love the KOA and stay there often thru the years but I do NOT like when leaving a day early that you did NOT refund the " resort" fee ( $10 per day). The resort fee seems annoying to 'tack on' to the price ,why not price it $10 higher per day? It is one of those sort of 'added fees' that annoy me but if it was figured in the price, not so annoying! Love the KOA, great job, great employees!
Aug 27, 2017
Verry disappointed-no WiFi, no cell phone, small camping sites, speeding traffic.
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice facilities, nice campsite. The kids loved the fun zone.
Aug 27, 2017
This is definitely a 10. Lots of activities from horseback riding to bikes to swimming. All you can eat pancakes to 2 other restaurants to wine tasting and fudge. Definitely a great KOA, one of the best.
Aug 27, 2017
Great location with tons of family fun stuff. Staff is friendly and keeps everything clean.
Aug 27, 2017
We loved this campground! Probably our all time favorite!
Aug 27, 2017
It was like the Disneyland of camping... the kids had a blast! Definitely would stay again!
Aug 27, 2017
Great facilities! Just wish that all streets were paved so dirt would not be tracked into the rest rooms and showers.
Aug 26, 2017
Can't wait to go back!! Beautiful location, plentiful amenities, can't wait to share with friends.
Aug 26, 2017
Good
Aug 26, 2017
Nice and clean KOA in a great location.
Aug 26, 2017
Friendly staff amazing store, and restraunts! Unfortunately as with almost every KOA that promises wifi it was non existent!!
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We had terrific time; so much to do and see in the area and at the campground. Definitely could have stayed longer. You won't be disappointed!!
Aug 26, 2017
We loved that it had so much to do the kids never wanted to leave camp.
Aug 26, 2017
Stayed four nights, very beautiful park, lots of activities, quiet at night. Be aware if you are connected to the hip by your phone forget it as there is no signal to be had until you go to town. Shuttle to Mt. Rushmore very convenient, saves driving at night over curvy roads. Would stay again anytime.
Aug 26, 2017
Everything was good. Only thing I will suggest to put fish in the lake,many kids were desiponten no fish to catch
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
No Internet or phone. Sites graded with rough rock and dirt. Pancake breakfast not open at posted times.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy