Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
The three night stay was wonderful; loved that we could get shuttle to Mt. Rushmore and rent a car for a day at a reasonable price
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
We definitely enjoyed the campsite and the various amenities around the site. The kids really enjoyed the Fun Zone. Our first two nights things were pretty quiet, but then it filled up completely on the Friday night. This made things a little too busy for my liking, and less fun for the kids. If you like big crowds and a big campsites this is the place for you, if not best look elsewhere.
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
We have stayed at Palmer Gulch many times over the years and loved it. This time we were very disappointed in the condition of the Sites. They are so crammed up that we could not have our Pickup in front of our Fifth wheel. We had to park it on the small patch of grass. We saw many campers who felt the same as us. We will not be back! So sad!! We truly loved our stays before.
Sep 03, 2017
We had a great stay and rather stayed at the KOA than go look at some sights, we will be back.
Sep 03, 2017
it was a great spot nice and quiet. Lots of things to do with the kids in the evenings. All amenities clean. In a great central location for all local attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful. cell phone and wifi could use some improvement as it is a resort more than camping.
Sep 02, 2017
Great location. Don't use GPS for campground entrance brought us to back entrance really tight turns. Main road was excellent once we found it. Camp is very clean, staff very friendly and accommodating.
Sep 02, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay and would come back. There is so much to do and our kids (13, 11, and 8) enjoyed the pool and water slide.
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
Campground was quiet for the size. Make sure to make your camper length longer than it is if you want to be about to park your truck anywhere in the site too. We couldn't even pull thru our pull thru site due to trees and also didn't even have room to put out our awning. Kids had fun at the pool and water slide. Only thing was that every single shower we used that week was disgusting with mold.
Sep 02, 2017
Perfectly location and top shelf personal.
Sep 02, 2017
It exceeded our expectations! I would recommend that your desk staff know a bit more about what is provided in the deluxe cabins. We brought things such as towels, cooking items, etc. after calling to find out if those things were provided. Otherwise it was awesome!
Sep 02, 2017
Our whole family lived it
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
First Koa with a 10$ resort fee, we are not interested in pool, horse ride, kids zone, etc. The only thing we need is Wifi, which we have not be able to get, not even one minute.
Sep 02, 2017
Great camp, enjoyed our stay and would stay again, thanks.
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
Great Koa . Kept very clean and very friendly people working there. We feel that the Wifi should have been available in all camp sites. We would be looking for a place that provides this service next time. Other than that great place.
Sep 01, 2017
Kids zone was amazing, it's the only reason I would recommend. At first we were given a campsite that was too small for a tent. The staff were helpful in helping us find another. We wanted a site with a standard outlet so the staff showed us some on the map. Turns out the map was incorrect. Also, one of the women's bathroom stall door's lock was broken jamming the door shut for 5 days.
Sep 01, 2017
Had a great stay. Kids really enjoy the area.
Sep 01, 2017
Disappointed to find little to no internet or decent Wifi access, always has been available in most smaller sites that we have rented. If we had an emergency,we would have not been aware. Need to recycle, always do at home. Gray haired guy in a golf cart said I couldn't wash my RV at the site, but I only had a hose and bucket to wash the bugs off.He said it is the rule here, No rules at office !
Sep 01, 2017
We had some frustrations on our visit. We had to drive back and forth 3 times from camp sites to the front desk until we got a spot, other people were already in the spots they kept giving us. We wanted a tent site with electric and water, but these spots are for campers, not really for tents. We were given wrong info on the horseback riding which resulted in us not being able to do it.
Sep 01, 2017
Good stay I think the rates are a bit high
Sep 01, 2017
Camp ground was spacious and very nice and clean. All the safe was very helpful. We would defenitly come back to this camp site.
Sep 01, 2017
Great campground - one of the best we've been to - great visit!
Sep 01, 2017
Great place to stay. Service was great. wish could have stayed longer.
Sep 01, 2017
Very nice, clean, very hospitable, lots of stuff to do for the family. Close to Mt Rushmore & the city of Keystone where there are several activities for the family.
Aug 31, 2017
Busy when we got there, campsite was not as expected. Amenities were okay.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Enjoyed helicopter ride!
Aug 31, 2017
We had a great time, the park had so much to do without ever leaving the park. The bus ride to Mt Rushmore was so very helpful for us
Aug 31, 2017
Our stay was extremely memorable and enjoyable! The staff were extremely helpful!! The resort was amazing and we can't wait to come back!!!
Aug 31, 2017
Everyone was very helpful, the cabin was perfect, the location was beautiful and everyone had a great time. The one draw back, would be Wifi. I had homework that needed to be sent out, I purchased a cable at the store and still had a difficult time connecting to Wifi. Please do not advertise free Wifi when it is non-existence. I drove to Hill City and used my Hot Spot.
Aug 31, 2017
It was very crowded and difficult to get around the campus the day we were there. It was nice that our stay included admission to the rodeo that was going on that night (reason for the crowds I'm sure) we did not end up going. Definitely one of the largest campgrounds I have ever stayed in, the Kabins on the hill are very nice and the girls had fun in the pool and adjecent recreation area. Thanks
Aug 31, 2017
Wonderful!
Aug 31, 2017
Koa accommodated us with our 'old' campsite which meant a lot to our son who met us there and stayed on that site when he was a child. Very friendly and effective staff, especially the landscape staff and particularly the effectiveness of the security man on duty who responded to a noise complaint quickly and quietly. I also was impressed with the quietness of the campground after 10. Very peac
Aug 31, 2017
our only complaint would be we were in the Dead Zone. No reception at all. The grounds were wonderful! Easy access to everything we wanted to see.
Aug 31, 2017
It was a great stop off point to relax and add to our vacation. Thank you for being so accommodating.
Aug 31, 2017
Friendly staff, lots of things to do, and extremely clean. Dog park needs some attention and holes and chunky spots there need to be filled in. Wifi could use a boost, it was exceedingly slow. Ten dollar a day resort fee should just be calculated into the cost of a space, not added on. If so, I should have had an option to decline it. All in all, an excellent place that is very well run.
Aug 31, 2017
As an older man (75) I didn't make use of your "amenities". I feel like a campground designed around family is a good idea for younger folks. We ate at the Ponderosa three times and I felt that the management was rude, but the wait help was very professional. Staff of KOA were friendly.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Plenty of clean showers, great amenities, beautiful area, very helpful staff. Love this campground!
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Very friendly helpful people. The campground is very central to all major attractions.
Aug 30, 2017
Camp sites too close and staff not that friendly. Herd you in like cattle. Tell you park here and then they drive off. No interaction at all. Facility is clean but just not friendly.
Aug 30, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy