Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
As always great camping, pancake breakfast. Love it there.
Sep 14, 2017
Crowded and yet the season was over so not everything was open.
Sep 14, 2017
The only disappointment was the lack of cell phone and Wify availability. When lots of us are still active business people and we need access to the internet. When you pay $100 per night + I expect better.
Sep 14, 2017
Beautiful campground. Clean facilities.
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very nice, cable hookup too far. Asked for 50 foot cable and was told that they had a lot of complaints about that but still didn't carry them. ? Would still come back. Enjoyed our stay.
Sep 13, 2017
NO CELL SERVICE - BIG problem for folks traveling with a child with severe allergy (poss. medical emergency). Only other negative was a bit of a wait to check in (long line). Great facility. GREAT proximity to Rushmore and many other activities.
Sep 13, 2017
It was fine, but nothing to rave about. No fish washing area.
Sep 12, 2017
We stayed in a single cabin at this KOA for one night on our way to Wyoming. The experience was okay, the close proximity of the cabins meant we heard our neighbors talking into the night. There were plenty of activities to do, we would have liked to stay a bit longer to experience. It also was a very popular KOA, it was very busy and lots of people staying there.
Sep 12, 2017
Your facility was great, but I wish we could have had internet service. Don't feel that the amount we paid for our site should have included this.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
It is a wonderful place, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff was excellent. It is one of the nicest parks we have stayed and I would highly recommend this park to anyone . It has so many amenities you would not be disappointed.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
I was disappointed that much of the resort was closed. I don't understand that when the park was full of RV's they don't force the independent store owners to keep open until the park has few staying there. To give me a coupon for the Ice Cream shop after they were closed is not good customer relations..
Sep 12, 2017
Our awning bent as we were pulling away and your maintenance guy saw we were having trouble and came over with a tall ladder and tools to help us get it fixed enough to go home. He was so kind and helpful!!!!!!! We couldn't have gotten it fixed without his help!!! Please compliment him on his EXCELLENT SERVICE! I can't remember his name but he was tall with gray brown hair. We did make it home
Sep 12, 2017
Great place, great location - totally crap WIFI which is not acceptable at the prices charged and in the year 2017.
Sep 12, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, as were the facilities. This was the off season after Labor Day so many of the fun stores were closed. The only down side was there was an "Event" that had a very very loud band that played through the evening but they stopped at 9:50 pm. Kind of ruined the peaceful evening anticipated, but, they played well.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Great place, plenty of things to keep the kids busy. Unfortunately, we stayed at the KOA for a week and were placed in a heavy traffic area up front with no shade. The cabin would have been better suited for a family coming in late and leaving early - not extended stay. Also, we were down wind from the stables. Smell was not as bad as the cabin placement though.
Sep 11, 2017
Great facility. the spots were a little close together for our liking, but otherwise everything was great!
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Everyone at this KOA was extremely friendly and helpful. I hit a turkey with my truck and travel trailer right before pulling into camp that destroyed my radiator. They were extremely helpful and let me use their land line as there is no cell reception. Can't thank everyone enough for all of the kindness and help.
Sep 11, 2017
Very nice campground and experience. Very unfortunate that cell phone signal was not available and that you charge for internet service. That seems unfair when you were a more expensive campground.. it seems like it should have been included.
Sep 11, 2017
wish we could have stayed longer !!!
Sep 11, 2017
Best thing was the staff! Patient and gracious.
Sep 11, 2017
Great weekend. Beautiful scenery. Clean campground.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying again. Very close to the monuments!
Sep 11, 2017
Very enjoyable
Sep 10, 2017
This is the first time we stayed at a RESORT KOA. We did reserve an upgraded site, but the patio was pretty cracked in some areas. We spent most of our time sight-seeing and away from our campsite, so in the long run it didn't matter, but it was not pleasant to look at. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Our disappointment was when everything shut down after Labor Day. Wish we knew ahead of time
Sep 10, 2017
Big KOA. Lots to do. Great people. Great location.
Sep 10, 2017
Loved all the activities....horse back riding, rodeo, miniature golf, two swimming pools and hot tubs. Nice to have a place to get sandwiches, pizza and ice cream right on site. Beautiful scenery and friendly staff.
Sep 10, 2017
Always a great time here. Wish the pool would have been open longer.
Sep 10, 2017
nice stay but way too busy to be able to relax.
Sep 10, 2017
Very nice campground but we had an issue with our motorhome and without phone service it was very inconvenient.
Sep 10, 2017
Love this place! Large and surprising quiet and well maintained. Staff was beyond helpful when I had made an error in my reservations! I have already recommended the Mt Rushmore KOA to a number of other campers
Sep 09, 2017
A PERFECT location to get the most of your time in the southern area of the wonderful Blackhills. A TON of free things for kids, of all ages, right in the KOA camp area. VERY friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Sep 09, 2017
Nice campground, beautiful surroundings .....close to attractions But showers were filthyĆ°
Sep 09, 2017
Very poor wi-for No phone reception
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Wi Fi didn't work, All shops were closed up to early in the year . Beautiful grounds and nice people.
Sep 09, 2017
This wasa a return visit for us. We really enjoy the location and facilities.
Sep 09, 2017
Lots of fun amenities; definitely enjoyed the ice cream! Staff was super friendly and helpful.
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
From the moment we arrived, everyone was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, a big storm came on the second day, but the staff was extremely helpful in upgrading us from a tent to a room in the lodge! Would definitely stay here again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy