Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 13, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
The sites have plenty of room but some areas are very hard to maneuver in. Not enough driving room. I had a pull thru site(502) but was not able to pull through when we were leaving because they had a big tree branch that needed to be trimmed and the utilities of another site directly in front of me. Other then that we had a great time and loved the campground.
Jun 12, 2018
Always clean and friendly! Love this place!
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
This was by far the nicest KOA that we have stayed at. A great team of employees from the front desk, the cleaners, the crews working in the stores and snack shops and restaurants. Everyone was very friendly and professional. We will be back even though we don't need to see Mt Rushmore again!
Jun 12, 2018
A nice spot. Very high volume park. Lots of kids activities but many were only opened limited hours. 1 hour for bouncy castle, 90 minutes for water slide. 2 hours for splash park per day which was disappointing considering the extra daily “resort” fee tacked on. I would have expected most amenities to be opened most of the time - not the other way around.
Jun 12, 2018
Very crowded and bathrooms were not very clean.
Jun 12, 2018
Staff is awesome but you can tell its understaffed. Many workers complaining about qoeking past shifts end and not getting breaks
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Super nice campground awesome employees so many cool things to do right at the campground probably the nicest KOA Campground I’ve ever been to would recommend it highly to anyone
Jun 12, 2018
Great resort for families!! Would recommend to all that want to visit the black hills as well the attractions it has to offer.
Jun 12, 2018
Very nice campground.lots of activities. Only complaint is no path to bathrooms/showers. Had to walk through campsites. Need a well marked path so fellow campers know there is a walkway to bath houses
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Highly recommended so much to do great staff. Hired the ATV, kids went horse riding
Jun 12, 2018
We had a great time. The kids had so much to do. We will be coming back.
Jun 12, 2018
very clean and well organized campground. lots of campers and staff. when we checked in, lady checking us in didn't know answers to questions and the "supervisor", didn't either.......website listed cable tv and wi fi as available at campsite.....NOT. if you advertise and charge for amenities, PROVIDE them. wi fi at a couple of spots up front(office and laundry) is not what was listed.
Jun 12, 2018
I would recommend not eating at the restaurants on site. The Turtletown restaurant took 30 minutes to get our food after ordered. The chicken breast was cooked to a hard crisp and not edible. The price was the same as full service restaurant, but had less food and no quality. The chicken that was not over done did not have a good flavor. The park outside of that was a good place to stay.
Jun 12, 2018
Other than cell service and tv reception your KOA is wonderful
Jun 12, 2018
Sherie from CO at the front desk was super helpful in finding us a campsite that better suited our needs. Also Ben took time on a very busy check in day to show us the different camsites. Great customer service!!
Jun 12, 2018
Awesome place! Lots to do, or not do!
Jun 12, 2018
We had the best time ever! We would come back in a heartbeat!
Jun 12, 2018
Very loud. Tent sites on a hillside?!?
Jun 12, 2018
We had so much fun. The ladies at the gift shop where awesome.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
This is the best campground! So many helpful, friendly staff members, a plethora of activities and a beautiful setting. Consistently exceeding expectations.
Jun 12, 2018
Reservations were messed up Too many unattended children
Jun 12, 2018
I cannot say enough good things about this campground and resort! We were surrounded by beautiful views and helpful people while doing activities tailored to each member of my family.
Jun 12, 2018
The campground has a lot of amenities, but they are all at the bottom of the hill that we were placed on. We are KOA members & got a spot that was way up the hill & very sloped. I felt like I was in a vortex, I felt like I was being punished. We had to walk down a steep hill to the showers, pool etc. The pool in the front is placed right next to the horses & it stunk. Not worth the money we paid.
Jun 12, 2018
Nice place and location, amenities but crowded and little space between sites
Jun 12, 2018
Overcrowded small sites at premium rates.
Jun 12, 2018
Great place. Lots to do. Great staff.
Jun 11, 2018
loyal KOA camper, first time here, should have planned more days .great place great location.close to lots of local attractions trail rides. great sites easy access.pool area/lots of stuff for the kiddos to do/morning breakfast if you like. all great except very limited wi-fi in this world of " must be connected at all times". on this trip alone we stayed at several KOA camping locations.loved it
Jun 11, 2018
It was our first stay at a camp ground. This KOA was awessome. We stayed in one of the cabins. Everything was provided. I loved that we were able to buy food in the store or resturants. The activities for the kids was great and kept them busy. They especially like the horse rides. I would highly recomend this KOA.
Jun 11, 2018
Had two issues: the individual could not take us directly to our site - seemed distracted. Other issue - lack of WIFI service.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
We had a great time at the KOA with our family. The campground is clean and all of the staff were very friendly. Our kids had a great time in the fun zone!
Jun 11, 2018
Excellent campground don’t have to leave for anything great for families very happy with our stay great rodeo
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Staff was very friendly and there was a lot of activities to choose from. This campground Was the best KOA we’ve ever stayed at.
Jun 11, 2018
We had a great time on our vacation. Definitely the best KOA that we have stayed at. We really liked all of the activities and the rodeo was fun as well.
Jun 11, 2018
Back in site was very big and clean. Lots of kids activities. Huge campground. WiFi spots didn’t seem to work for me. Catch and release fishing was fun. Very close to Mount Rushmore.
Jun 11, 2018
So much fun! So much to do! Super cute deluxe cabin and rodeo on site. Wish we could just have stayed longer!
Jun 11, 2018
Staff outstanding, everything was crazy clean, tons of activities for kids, spacious lots. Tremendous time for our family.
Jun 11, 2018
Terrific facilities, so many things to do, very clean. Very pretty location. Cannot wait to come back.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
There is so much to do here! We stayed a week and wished we could have stayed longer! The staff was super friendly and the campground was fun and well-maintained. Just awesome!
Jun 11, 2018
Was so impressed with the kindness of the staff, especially a golf cart man after my husband injured his head and we asked about an urgent care. He took me and my daughter-in-law up to the first aid kit in the laundry room to get first aid stuff. Also, the grounds were so CLEAN and neat - you have a FIRST CLASS operation there and we will be back. Best campground we have ever stayed in. Thanks
Jun 11, 2018
First tent site did not have a flat spot except next to the road on a curve. They did change it out when I complained. Bathrooms and showers were good.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy