Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 26, 2017
The wifi needs vast improvement and we didn't care for the zero cell service. The reservation lady in Rapid City was a complete B****. I will not deal with them again.
Sep 26, 2017
Beautiful campground in a beautiful setting minutes from Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and so much more. No cell or wifi service. The bathrooms and showers are due for updating.
Sep 26, 2017
Great staff.
Sep 26, 2017
The area is beautiful, the campground was one of the nicer ones we've stayed at. The location was close to all the attractions. The only drawback was the cost per day, that would be a consideration on the next trip.
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Very nice staff but way too expensive. For that kind of money, we should have pavement to drive on and park our RV on....the mud and puddles were awful especially when walking to the office. $78+/night warrants pavement!!!!
Sep 25, 2017
The the camping area was to close to other campers.
Sep 25, 2017
Very impressive place
Sep 25, 2017
Our stay was great. I was surprised that the main lanes through the campground were not paved, which made for sloppy walking during and after some rain. Great camp store and very friendly staff people. I would stay there again.
Sep 25, 2017
The only complaint we have is the lack of recycling.
Sep 25, 2017
Very clean campground and the staff was very friendly! Thanks for a great stay and a trip that the kids will remember for the rest of their lives!
Sep 25, 2017
This wasn't our 1st stay at the Hill City (Mt. Rushmore) KOA. It wasn't even our 2nd time- this is one of our most favorite get-away places. BUT it was the later in the season than we've ever stayed before. Probably won't do that again... Don't recommend it. No activities at the resort at all. Great sales at the store but that's the only upside.
Sep 25, 2017
We had a nice stay in one of the cabins. Everything was clean and ready for us when we arrived. Staff were friendly and helpful. Conveniently located for our plans. Very Quiet.
Sep 25, 2017
Everything about our stay was great. We had a good campsite close to restrooms which were very clean. Staff was very friendly.
Sep 25, 2017
great time
Sep 25, 2017
Failed to give me the key when I checked in, did not show me where water or bathrooms were. Based on the price I expected a cabin in better condition.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Fantastic campground! Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Will be back with the grandkids when all amenities are open. Rent a UTV - awesome trails and beautiful views. Restaurant very good - great breakfast and dinner. Perfect location for all South Dakota has to offer.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
the first words out of the welcoming lady was this is closed and on and on when she had x,ed out over 3/4 of the campground map my wife asked why the rates were not discounted and was ignored. The udrive looked like it had been in a demo derby but the condition reort said no damage. Last time we were here we said all campgrounds should strive to be this good Now we will say go somewhere else
Sep 24, 2017
Fantastic stay. Beautiful accommodations. Thank you for a great stay!!
Sep 24, 2017
just spent one night there. did not know that this was a resort and geared for families. We had a small pop up camper and did not utilize most of what was there.
Sep 23, 2017
I wish you continued all your activities until you close for the winter ... the hot tub should be available ... and your shuttle to the lighting ceremony at Mt. Rushmore.
Sep 23, 2017
We stayed for 5 nights in our 5th wheel toyhauler. We had a request for a wide site since we have a side loading ramp for our cycle. The staff took us out to a few sites to see which on would work best for us. We appreciated that. It was nice having 2 separate pools, one more for children near all the kiddie activities and another quieter one with hot tub that we enjoyed after long cycle rides.
Sep 23, 2017
Great place to stay. Well kept and exceptionally clean bathroom facilities. Been there three times and always has been a great experiance! A+++++
Sep 23, 2017
Super location! We were there off season and shops closed. Need to have the coffee shop open! WiFi limited to shop area. Make it available to camping areas. The camp grounds are nicely maintained showers and rest rooms clean. Staff friendly and professional
Sep 23, 2017
thes is a good plac but to big for us we lovd the littal one
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
The place was great. The staff was excellent. I will definitely come back
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
The campsite was very nice, but the bathrooms were not close to the camping cabins we were in, and there was no wash station at the bathrooms/showers. It was very convenient to view Mount Rushmore and the surrounding attractions, so that made it worth it.
Sep 22, 2017
Great location for sightseeing. Staff was very helpful. Comfort station 2 needs better shower heads otherwise perfect.
Sep 22, 2017
Need better WiFi. A great place to stay.
Sep 22, 2017
Wifi terribly bad and unusable. A shame for the biggest KOA!!!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This place is huge, not what we were expecting. The office is very unorganized!! A pit bull charge my dog and I, when we went to the office to report it I waited at least 20 minutes to talk to someone. Stood in line so long (30 minutes) to sign up for the bus to Mt. Rushmore it left without us.
Sep 21, 2017
We had a awesome time! Staff was awesome!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
No mobile phone service in almost all of the park. Otherwise enjoyed our stay. Staff is awesome.
Sep 21, 2017
Nice campground, but a little tight on the spaces. Also, there were puddles everywhere.
Sep 21, 2017
Having a Roadtrek the #104 campsite was perfect.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Our stay was OK except for poor cell and Wi-Fi, And they need new shower curtains The one in the stall I used looked like some cut it in half with an ax It only covered 1/2 the opening causing water to get all over the floor So the floor was wet making it difficult to find a dry spot to stand on to get dressed.
Sep 20, 2017
This is a pretty campground in a very convenient location for Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. The only negative besides being on the expensive side is that there is zero cell service and the wifi is almost nonexistent.
Sep 20, 2017
Beautiful spot with super clean bathroom and showers. Staff was friendly efficient and accommodating. It would have been nice to have water nearby the rent sites for washing utensils and dishes but we managed. Bring a bucket and a basin.
Sep 20, 2017
Had a wonderful time, plenty of things to do in camp.
Sep 20, 2017
Stayed here years ago and it was great. This time it wasn't. Website should say EVERYTHING is closed. We expected the pool to be closed but not everything else. Cabin was not worth $67! Swing was broken, wife sat down fell backwards and spilled hot coffee on her. No heat website should tell you that for sure! Someone's sweater left under bed, dead bugs everywhere! Very unkept. Gross!
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Sites were crowded but adequate. Staff was very helpful and friendly. WiFi and phone service was very poor but cable TV was great. DO NOT FOLLOW GPS DIRECTIONS!!! GPS brought us on barely passable dirt road, thought we would never see civilization again!! Convenient to all the area attractions (Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc)
Sep 19, 2017
Some staff unfriendly, beautiful campsite. Didn't disclose up front some services or buildings clos d for the season....such as pool. Laundry mat and bathroom/showers close to our site. Nlimited internet.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy