Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 10, 2018
Excellent
May 10, 2018
Great facility that will wow you, huge property, lots to do, great staff, amazing store. Thank you very much!!
May 09, 2018
Loved the facility. Dog park needed the grass cut and new bags during our 3 day stay. We were there before all the amenities were open. No coffee creamer available to buy in store. And the internet issue is a disappointment.
May 09, 2018
Very nice people, great WiFi, have cable tv, clean shower and toilet
May 09, 2018
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
Very clean and spacious place to stay. Lots of avaiable activities.
May 08, 2018
It’s the 1st time we stay at a KOA as soon as we drove in and went to the registration office you can feel the friendly, family atmosphere. Everyone we met there was very helpful. We are looking forward for our next trip to stay at a KOA instead of a different kind of lodge in. Thanks to every staff member
May 08, 2018
May 07, 2018
May 07, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 07, 2018
Beautiful area and facilities. The workers and other guests were very helpful and friendly. We loved our stay.
May 07, 2018
Very nice not that crowded for this time of the year. Relaxing and enjoying MT. Rushmore. Very courteous and respectful. Thanks.
May 07, 2018
May 06, 2018
It was great. Best KOA we’ve ever seen. Please tell me were we could purchase a cabin like the one we stayed in. We’d like to put it in our own vacation lot.
May 06, 2018
Great place very clean. We only stayed overnight but enjoyed ourselves. Personal who met us in the office were very friendly and professional.
May 04, 2018
Very nice staff. Huge, pretty campground. We arrived on opening day for the season. They were still getting the resort ready for the season and most of the amenities weren’t open. However, it looks like after Memorial Day, it will be a fun place with lots of family activities. Mount Rushmore was just 5 miles away. We knew ahead of time, but we had no internet or cell service during our stay.
Nov 13, 2017
Oct 28, 2017
Oct 27, 2017
Nice campground however there is no cell service. We stayed here in June of 25-2016 and was told they where going to put in a cell tower. This time without thinking I assumed they had done so but on arrival found out they had decided not to put up a tower. We had reserved a spot for a week and where refused our deposit after deciding to move to another camp ground that had cell service.
Oct 26, 2017
Our favorire RV park. Always clean.
Oct 26, 2017
It was great for 1 night, we were the only ones there. Glad you were open, great location, nice level sight.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Was too foggy to see Mt Rushmore but the KOA was one of a kind. Will definitely be back to visit again!
Oct 09, 2017
Very nice campground and great spot to stay when visiting the Black Hills
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Really nice park. No cell service but that can be a good thing.
Oct 09, 2017
Beautiful campground location, close to Mount Rushmore. Pet and kid friendly, clean and tidy, amenities provided during summer months would be excellent for family.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
a good place, but very bad Internet!
Oct 03, 2017
Very fun and exciting lots to do with the kids and my boxers
Oct 03, 2017
Great place with fun activities for the kiddos
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Loved the campground and all it offers but everything was closed. We wish we had been told that they had closed all the pools, bike rentals, hot tubs, wine store, pizza shop, pancake house, miniature golf, etc. when we called to make the reservations. We did love the on site car rental and location was perfect. Hated that there was no phone service and minimal wifi. Nice staff. Clean.
Oct 03, 2017
Beautiful setting with pond and rock outcroppings. Modern spa-like heated comfort station. A chair and bedside shelf in the cabin would be a nice addition.
Oct 03, 2017
When we booked, they told us the restaurant was open, when we arrived, we found out every thing in the campground was closed. They charged us full price. We were expecting a fun weekend, should have just stayed home
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
The wifi was inadequate. The people were friendly and helpful. It was the end of the season. I thought the rates could have been lowered since all resort activities were shut down
Oct 01, 2017
We rented a D282 cabin and it was so cold after 5 hours that we had to find someone at 11:00PM to accomatate us to another place to sleep. The security man was very willing to help us and dirtected us to the lodge for the night. The next morning at 6:0am we went down to our cabin and it had warmed up, but the bunk room heater was not working. Our cabin was "dirty" too much to list out of room!
Oct 01, 2017
It's hard to imagine a campsite being nicer than this one! Kids loved it and participated in many of the activities (pool, water slide, movie, jumping pillow, chess). We wish we had more time to go horse riding! Facilities were in great shape and the location was ideal.
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
The campground is beautiful, in a very central location to Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Our 3 day stay was late in the season, most campground activities were closed as were food services, yet the cost was full price, very expensive, no off season rate. Wi-Fi weak, not listed in KOA as a service, considering price. Full service site excellent. Would recommend for families with children.
Oct 01, 2017
Excellent stay at this KOA. Close to many sights, clean, heated shower/restroom buildings. Not allowed to have campfires though. I would stay here again next time I'm in the Black Hills.
Oct 01, 2017
this place is amazing! we stayed in a tent site - beautiful green grass where you could place your vehicle however it suited you best. The staff were very friendly and helpful - cute little store and restaurant with good food! Definitely would come here again. Great rates.
Oct 01, 2017
Great, helpful,friendly staff. Less than 8 miles from Mount Rushmore !!
Sep 30, 2017
Lots of activities for children and adults. Enjoyed the rodeo!
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Grounds beautifull a d well keep. Great location for touring the area. Easy in and out. RV sites spaces
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy