Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Info: 605-574-2525

Email This Campground

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2017
While the facility itself was great, our actual campsite left a little to be desired. There was no where in our plot that was actually level to pitch our tent on. So we had a rough night of sleep while 'sliding down a hill' inside our tent.
Aug 24, 2017
we enjoyed pancakes mini golf and the fun zone. The shuttle was nice to go see the lighting of Mount Rushmore, enjoyed the driver's hospitality and knowledge of area. Facilities all very clean and well-kept. We also really liked the Sunday morning chapel service :)
Aug 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Great memories. Bus to Mt. Rushmore is wonderful, don't change any part of it!
Aug 24, 2017
A shuttle was provided to Mt. Rushmore's evening ceremony. A bit pricey, but convenient. We had stayed here 23 years ago. The resort has grown. We found it to be a little too busy for us. Our site was short and on the main road, and though our RV is only 25' long, there was barely room for the RV, car, and tow dolly. You're packing them in too tight. Probably won't go back again.
Aug 24, 2017
Stay was good. But the no phone service and wifi in only certain places kind of sucked. We were on our way through, with a stop at My. Rushmore. Kind of road weary. Stayed overnight. WiFi at our site would have been stellar. The current set up would be ok if we were to stay several days. But I couldn't even use my own data to check my email etc at my site.
Aug 24, 2017
The campground is a true resort! Incredible how much there is for guests to do. I wish I could have spent more time there. I want to thank Mike Atkinson for showing me around, clearly a big job for all the employees.
Aug 24, 2017
We like the facilities at Palmer Gulch. 2nd time staying here. Our one big complaint is the WiFi. Even sitting right outside the supposed hotspot areas, it was difficult to connect and signal was terrible. If you are going to advertise having WiFi, you need to do much better.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time at Mount Rushmore and at our stay at the Rushmore KOA! The program and night time lighting of the monument is well worth the time. It was a very touching program. The morning pancakes were delicious and hit the spot! Will definitely return here with grandkids!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This is the 7th or 8th year we have stayed there and we love that we can reserve the same site for the next year when we leave. Next year we are staying almost 2 weeks during Sturgis bike week. We always have a great time and the workers at the KOA are outstanding. See ya next year. Dan Rodriguez - Las Vegas Nevada
Aug 23, 2017
Love the area,Love the people,we have stayed with you for several years and will continue to stay in the future. We are looking forward to the rodeo next year.
Aug 23, 2017
We had a amazing trip. Horseback riding (Little Kat was our guide - she was amazing!!!! We requested her for our second ride!!!) UTV rental - great time and Nathanial was great explaining the machine to us Cleanliness / bathroom etc amazing!!! Thank you for such an amazing time away with my daughters!!!
Aug 23, 2017
I really enjoyed the rodeo. I was extremely disappointed with the poor WIFI (useless actually). After asking a staff member I was told that they knew it was poor but there was nothing that could be done. With the extremely high price point of this KOA, the WIFI should work properly.
Aug 23, 2017
Rest room and showers could be cleaner!!
Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic!
Aug 23, 2017
Loved our stay, best campground with tons of activities hands down. We will definitely be back. Our new favorite place!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice big RV park. I liked the ice cream shop. Great to see all the horses. There is alot of stuff for the kids, more so than any other park I have been to. Two cons I was not crazy about. The site was very unlevel and the bathrooms need to be cleaner. For the price, they need to either update their bathrooms or fix them up.. Every shower I used had no hooks that were ripped off walls.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
This was our 3rd stay and each one has been better than the previous. You all have always been so friendly and helpful when needed. LOTS of things to do and LOTS of space to do them in. We were really happy to have been there this year on Rodeo night. We'll try to plan our next visit on a future Rodeo. Thank you!
Aug 23, 2017
everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved the rodeo that was included with our stay and the wine tasting was awesome. We are planning to stay again next year, but for a few more days!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Our stay was wonderful! There's so much for the kids to do, fun bike paths to cruise around on, mini golf, pools, waterslide and so much more all while your being surrounded by beautiful scenery! Couldn't have enjoyed it anymore than we did. We will be back!
Aug 23, 2017
Great location! Wonderful activities for kids. Clean cabins and friendly staff. My only real complaint is that the showers were pretty gross.. like dont put anything clean on the floor especially children (which is quite a feat when you need to shower your child!). Also.. after being at the koa in glacier the beds were also not as comfy but that's getting really heavy on the clam in the camping.
Aug 23, 2017
The most crowded campground I've ever visited, no wifi and shouldn't be advertised that there is, lots of activities for children, have to drive out a couple miles to get any cell service,
Aug 23, 2017
Very enjoyable, beautiful and friendly
Aug 23, 2017
1 night first ever kamping kabin stay (motorcycle trip). Very cool rustic and fun. Mattress was kind of hard after a long day on bikes, but expected that. Didn't get to do any activities, but plan on returning someday with RV!
Aug 23, 2017
2 nights in camping cabin Saw Mount Rushmore, crazy horse and a few local towns
Aug 23, 2017
Although a very busy place, the busyness never impacted any aspect of our stay. Something for everyone. Music one night was the Hill City Slickers. They were funny and the music was fun and well done. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.
Aug 23, 2017
You have some of the nicest people in the world. Our family enjoyed a long overdue vacation.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was good except for the K9 run. It was out of bags for 2 days and became a minefield. When we left the camp, the situation was still not taken care of.
Aug 23, 2017
A wonderful time, the kids love the fun zone and the location is great! We all enjoyed the Rodeo!
Aug 23, 2017
The campground is in a beautiful location but was far too busy for our liking. Our campsite was very close to our neighbors and not very level at all, not to mention we almost hit a tree because the turns were pretty narrow up by our site. the facilities weren't bad though. The number of people is what will keep us away in the future.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Let them know we would be arriving late, they didn't leave us a key. After 14 hours in the car we had to find someone to let us in the cabin. 42 degree weather and no heat, had to walk about 1000 feet to get to the dirty bathroom, the place smells like horse manure. We left and checked into a hotel in Custer, $20 more/ night included breakfast and a heated pool and Jacuzzi.
Aug 23, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at..
Aug 23, 2017
Absolutely stunning camping resort. Friendly folks
Aug 23, 2017
The shower I used was dirty! Definitely not cleaned recently.ps..you should advertise you have wifi.. when you don't !
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
No complaints exceptmore bathrooms and cleaner bathrooms/showers. Great amenities! Love the surroynding area. Great views! Very family friendly!
Aug 22, 2017
Great location, clean, friendly staff. So much for the kids to do you wouldn't have to leave to have fun.
Aug 22, 2017
What a great property! We have four kids (mostly under 10) and we always opt to stay in simple properties because we spend most of our time out sightseeing. This time, however, we decided to make this KOA a base to give the kids a break after our touring each day. The activities and events were fantastic and we all REALLY enjoyed the accommodations (tent for us). Thanks for the great time!!
Aug 22, 2017
Way too crowded. Overpriced.
Aug 22, 2017
Tons of great family things to do. Could easily spend a week here and never get bored.
Aug 22, 2017
This is our favorite KOA! It's going to be next year's family vacation as well. Can't say enough good about this place.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Best KOA facility we have stayed at. Will definitely stay there again if/when we come back to the area.
Aug 22, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 22, 2017
Great koa. Big but very nice. Had a full service pull through. Perfect for a 26ft toy hauler to unload harley. Location perfect for what we had wanted to do. Take their bus to my Rushmore lighting. Don't fight the traffic.
Aug 22, 2017
very enjoyable, the bathroom were a little messy.
Aug 22, 2017
This was our second visit to this particular KOA. The first time, it was just e and my husband and we secured a tent camp site. We enjoyed it so much, that we planned a visit with the kids for this year and stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was a gorgeous site, and we LOVED the spacious cabin. The kids wanted to stay and play all day. My son mentioned to me a few times that he wanted to live there.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy