Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch

Open May 1 - October 1

Reserve: 800-562-8503

Info: 605-574-2525

Email

12620 Highway 244

Hill City, SD 57745

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2017
the only thing they need better wifi internet as there wifi-interned doesnt work
Aug 21, 2017
We (5people) stayed in a 1-room camping cabin and it was perfect. The location is ideal for sight seeing, very close to all major attractions. The activities at campground kept the kids very busy. The Rodeo was a nice bonus during our stay. We also took advantage of the free President Wax Museum visit and mini-golf in Keystone. We will definitely be back and hope to bring more of our family with.
Aug 21, 2017
We were there 23 years ago with our kids. This time we brought my mother and my wife's dad. Wow has it changed. How is a good time so much to do and everybody is so nice to you. Definitely will be back with our grandkids. Thanks for the good time
Aug 21, 2017
We have stayed here at least 4 times over the years, and LOVE it! We would never stay anywhere else and recommend it to our friends and family often. Thank you for another great stay!
Aug 21, 2017
we enjoyed the stay. friendly staff, clean grounds. there was plenty to do on site as well in a hundred mile radius. Had a great time, will return.
Aug 21, 2017
It was an awesome place to stay very kid friendly I took my 3 grand kid's with me aging from 9 to 15 and there was something for all of us to do. Don't know if I will be back that way but I will be picking KOA camp ground's to stay in.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Wow!!! What an amazing stay we had at KOA Mt. Rushmore! With so much to do right at there we almost wish we had planned another day during our SD trip JUST for campground activities! Beautiful grounds with so much for kids of all ages, this campground says FAMILY! It was more a camp resort and we loved it! Clean, gorgeous site, friendly staff. This is THE place to stay for a memorable trip!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
We loved everything about this place. You could spend 2 days just at the campground and not do everything they have to offer. Everything is reasonably priced and the staff is exceptional! We will definitely be back.
Aug 21, 2017
We had a great time. Kids kept busy only thing bad was Wi-Fi.
Aug 21, 2017
A lot of fun activities to do without having to leave the camp grounds. Bathrooms were nice but showers were always dirty/muddy. The convenient store was way too expensive. Other than that, I enjoyed my cabin. Clean and really cute small bed above the full size.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very noisy the quiet time was not enforced. People started to get quiet after 12:00 midnight. We will not go to this place again. Ken. Edwards
Aug 21, 2017
disappointed when first showed up and there were three employees trying to figure out how to get an employee discount on something instead of talking to me. Then when I finally did get service I had to go out and get my license plate numer I came in and the lady was gone. Someone else had to come and help me. Other than that, the stay was fabulous.
Aug 21, 2017
It was very convenient for exploring Mount Rushmore and having the yellow school bus take and pick us up was perfect. We explored the area everyday and enjoyed the Saturday evening rodeo.
Aug 21, 2017
We stayed 9 nights with a 5 year old, 1 dog and 2 new puppies, and I would do it all over again! Our spot was perfect, the people were very nice and helpful, and the activities were fun! I am looking forward to next summer so we can do it again!
Aug 21, 2017
Grandkids loved it!
Aug 21, 2017
Great time
Aug 21, 2017
Note, this "resort" not your typical KOA. (Read packs of very young, screaming kids running unsupervised everywhere, particularly in front of cars/RVs!) Quiet time not enforced. Tent site so small, couldn't even wedge in between bushes, road and car. Mandatory escort to site took forever. Registration not slightest bit apologetic you'd have ZERO cell phone/internet service. Unacceptable in 2017.
Aug 21, 2017
We had such a great family vacation at the Rushmore KOA. It was pretty crowded and the horseback riding was expensive but we loved the Rodeo and the activities for the kids. The campground was beautiful, surrounded by hills and trees.
Aug 21, 2017
The site was so small and rocky it was almost unusable, the site next to us was so close we heard every word and suffered smoke inhalation every night, it was the worst camping experience in 40 years.i will never camp there again.
Aug 21, 2017
Rodeo was fun! Stay was beautiful! Pancakes were awesome!
Aug 21, 2017
Everything was great, mostly impressed with how many gorgeous flowers they maintain! Camping cabins always seem to me like they could be cleaner. I get that they aren't hotels, but there are always dead bugs and dirt piled in the corners. Seems like a more thorough sweeping, and maybe a quick mop would improve it for me. That's my only complaint - we will be back!
Aug 21, 2017
Definitely not your ideal camping, while it's fun for the kids that's about it. People are crammed in so tight, no room to do anything.
Aug 21, 2017
Campgrounds very nice and we had a very enjoyable time
Aug 21, 2017
A lot of things to do.
Aug 21, 2017
Very expensive for a campground, although there is a bunch of stuff to do. But not everyone spends EVERY minute there using the facility. WiFi is a joke, would never connect and there is no phone service in the area either. Nice campground though overall.
Aug 21, 2017
Wonderful campground except we were put on a site next to all the hired help down in the bottom near the sewage field. Terrible oder one night and service vehicles flying back and forth all day . Overall looked like a wonderful campground just a little disappointed they allow the staff to be so sloppy around there campsites!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I do believe the folk sites you are speaking of were other campers. The worker sites ate far removed from other campers. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Aug 20, 2017
Very family friendly great place to stay. Only a couple small complaints being we camped across from the #3 washroom and the door from outside going into the building would slam quite load and wake us up. Small issue and easily fixed.
Aug 20, 2017
WIFI TERRIBLE other than that great spot
Aug 20, 2017
Way too pricey for what you got and very crowded. The lady confirming our reservation talked way too fast and tacked on charges ($50 worth) had no idea what they were she talked so fast. It was during the rush hour and should have contested lated but seemed to always be too busy. The Sturgis crowd made it really crowded but not KOA's fault.
Aug 20, 2017
They put us in a way too small of a site for our trailer....had to park our truck somewhere else.... front desk didn't care and we were there for 3 nights ... Wi-Fi never worked anywhere in the park .... would not return
Aug 20, 2017
Great facility for kid friendly activities. We liked our little cabin. Our only drawback was the bathrooms were often dirty and we could not access firewood past 10 pm.
Aug 20, 2017
We stayed 5 nights. Originally in k308, which was a poor location (unusable fire ring/table due to hill). We spent 1 night & were easily able to move to k301 the next day. MUCH better location. Beds very uncomfortable - had to buy air mattresses for 2 adults. Great amenities! Showers could use extra cleaning throughout day.
Aug 20, 2017
Wow so many amenities and things to do. Will recommend this place to family and friends.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Their biggest issues is that GPS gives bad info and even though they warn you of that, their directions are poorly worded. (there was an event in town and no detour signs) Second, their staff in the store/reservations office were extremely friendly and willing, but clearly poorly trained and had either too little training or too little supervision. I would still go again.
Aug 20, 2017
I would recommend this KOA location to anyone. Incredibly clean, great staff and a wonderful location for family fun. From the fun zone to the shops, it had everything you could or would need for a vacation!
Aug 20, 2017
Excellent facility. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean and in excellent condition.
Aug 20, 2017
check in was at 3 we got there at 430 the cabin wasn't ready we had to wait a half hour that sucked with 3 kids that had been in the car for 2 days
Aug 20, 2017
I had a great time at your facility. Your staff was excellent, the entire campground clean, and the experience was memorable. Thank you.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Kids are always excited to stay. Always something to do. I haven't found a better campground yet.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
The site we had really had no place to put a tent. Hard ground with rock underneath that made it hard to stake.
Aug 20, 2017
This koa was a ton of fun, especially if you have kids. There were a couple of things I think they should fix 1. Move the fire pits from in front of the cabin. Our cabin was filled with smoke after making smores. 2. Update your bathroom by the pool. Other than that it was great!
Aug 20, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy