Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 11, 2019
There was a family reunion that had 120 people they over took all the amenities, rest room shows, and the WI FI didn’t work. I felt like you are charging for every spot of grass you have.
Jul 10, 2019
Friendly staff, knowledgeable host.
Jul 06, 2019
I loved staying here to camp I sure will stay again
Jul 05, 2019
The Quelway a lava Hot Springs at the upper end of the town, is a nice campground. The staff are friendly, the campground is clean, and there are lots of options. The restrooms and showers are also clean. One thing to keep in mind is if you are a light sleeper the train comes by constantly even during the middle of the night. This is not Kay always issue, but just be aware of it
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 01, 2019
Beautiful campground, well maintained, with wonderful staff. Kids loved the playground. I even played a game of tetherball.
Jun 24, 2019
Very nice clean campground. Kip was great
Jun 24, 2019
Great place. Great time. Very crowded, but a nice facility. I highly recommend.
Jun 23, 2019
Jun 14, 2019
We had such a great time! My kids loved the playground. The bathrooms were very clean and super nice! Great place to stay!
Jun 13, 2019
Jun 09, 2019
Camp site was great and the facilities were very clean
May 28, 2019
Great stay beautiful location next to the river. Easy 8 minute walk to the springs; showers are clean and nice, all good will stay again!
May 14, 2019
Very nice facilities. Great individual bathrooms with showers. Close to town and a Thai restuarant.
Aug 29, 2018
Spent 3 nights and the camp staff was awesome. The gentleman that waters and cleans up the camp spots was friendly and helpful. The showers and bathrooms are clean and neat. We will be back!
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Good place to camp!!! i liked it :)
Aug 22, 2018
The campsite was clean and the camp host that manages all the sites deserves a raise. Very helpful, very friendly, and did a great job all around. My only complaint is the grass was dead.
Aug 20, 2018
I loved the campground and especially the bathroom / shower facilities. The only thing I would change would to have brought ear plugs for the busy trains that are operating through the night.
Aug 16, 2018
We were told that some of the bathrooms are kept locked when the campground is not at capacity. We were in a group of 25 and there was another big group there, plus several smaller camps. One night, there was a long line waiting for a bathroom to open. It would have been nice to have them all available, especially during the late afternoon early evening hours.
Aug 13, 2018
The campground was awesome, my only complaint was the restrooms were ALWAYS very stinky with the toilets clogged.
Aug 12, 2018
It was a great spot. The campground was well kept. My only complaint was it was so crowded with tents that the bathroom was always full. But that is to be expected with a campground near the hot springs and fun.
Aug 10, 2018
Lots of options for staying. Clean. Help was friendly. Pillows are flat and pathetic.
Aug 06, 2018
This is a great campground to stay in. It’s a little on the expensive side, but it has great restroom facilities to use for tent camping.
Aug 04, 2018
We’ve stayed here several times and our experience has always been fabulous! Love the camper kitchen, really nice and clean showers. Great playground!
Aug 01, 2018
very nice park. close to town if you want to check it out. Nice clean bathrooms
Jul 30, 2018
We enjoyed our visit. Clean facilities, fun atmosphere. Our only complaint is the restroom facility on the east side did not have restrooms separate from the showers so in the mornings, it was either a long wait with little kids or a trek to the front facility to use the toilet which is hard with small children who can't always hold it as long.
Jul 27, 2018
The showers are awesome! Our stay was as pleasant as could be. Thank you KOA for all the accommodations and preparations.
Jul 24, 2018
We had a bad experience with the lady at the front desk she was rude and it was not what we have experienced before we we did not feel welcomed
Jul 23, 2018
Was great! Loved the individual showers/toilets. Was right next to a train and highway, but being in walking distance to the Hot Springs and downtown was perfect! I would stay here again if passing thru!
Jul 23, 2018
I love this KOA location and I have stayed there many times before. The only thing was, that this time I was given a reference of TS1 or TS3 and I have stayed on TS1 and was expecting the same for TS3. But TS3 is very “hidden”, the heat gets trapped. Maybe clearing a little bit of the grass would make this one site better. I have loved all other tent sites.
Jul 23, 2018
A lot of the time when I went in the rest room and went to wash my hands either the soap was gone or I get one towel and that was all of the towel I would get.Other than that it was pretty good. The grass could have been a little bit better other then that it was pretty good.
Jul 20, 2018
The staff was so kind and generous to us. They were helpful and caring. The facilities are wonderful and kept up well. The only complaint is something no one can do anything about - the noise of the highway and train tracks. I couldn’t sleep at all. It’s sad cuz I loved it there. Maybe consider building a sound wall? I don’t know.
Jul 15, 2018
Really high price for 10 square feet of camping space. Facilities are nice though. The tents from the other camspits were less than 6 feet away.
Jul 14, 2018
This time we stayed on the upper campground and had grandkids with us. Very much liked access to the playground, and the nice restrooms and shelter nearby. Took advantage of the tubing on the Portneuf and had a great time. Just watch for rocks and limbs.
Jul 14, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
Love this spot I will always make my reservations here.
Jul 09, 2018
I had a great stay until the last two days when I got neighbors who blasted music and partied until 2am! I called the office but there is no way to get in touch with anyone after 10pm. We left a day early due to that. If that would not have happened I would have given the park a 10/10.
Jul 09, 2018
These sites are tiny and ridiculously expensive! We like the activities at Lava but will never stay at this KOA again.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
It was great, I would recommend changing the check out time at 12 instead of 11. Other than that everything was great.
Jul 07, 2018
t was good minus noisy neighbors entering are site and worrying about them using a bb gun in their site
Jul 02, 2018
Great stay with extended family for a reunion. Camp spot and facilities were fantastic. Our only complaint is the "nickle and diming" charges for everything. We have 4 kids and were charged extra for each kid. Extra, for cars, extra for tents, extra, extra extra. Holy cow. To spend $68.00 per night for a tent spot is really steep, especially since our total group rented so many spots.
Jun 30, 2018
Close to the hot springs, clean campground with nice bathrooms and laundry room.
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful spot. Some train noise. Interesting bathroom set up. Lots a little bathrooms in one building. Convenient.
Jun 26, 2018
The campground was fine. Our neighboring camp spot however rolled in at 11:30 PM and was setting up till 12:30. Noisy. Then they were up at 6:00 am. Noisy people. Got about 4 hours of sleep for the next leg of my journey. It made that day difficult to stay awake driving and was not in a good mood.
Jun 24, 2018
Great site , but noisy due to frequent freight trains .
Jun 19, 2018
laundry very nice, rest rooms very clean and waterhot, easy to walk to town
Jun 17, 2018
It was a great time and the location was perfect! Sometimes the truck and train traffic can be a bit heavy and loud but the fun surrounding the hit springs and pool(s) make up for it. It is a great place to enjoy being with your family!
Jun 11, 2018
The customer service was exceptional. The bathrooms, playground, and camp site were clean and great. I was not expecting how loud the train would be and how loud/close together the other campers would be. Our neighbor came in very late and played LOUD music until almost midnight and then again at 7am for all the camp to hear. I’m sure staff heard and it could have said something to the campers.
Jul 14, 2019
I was pleasantly surprised. The new owner was awesome. Told my wife of the improvements he had planned. He even helped us out when we ran into a snag in the campground. Love this place, and will definitely be back again.
- Fred Jensen on Google
Jul 06, 2019
Cabins clean but made me kinda nervous where we slept.. the train on side of mountain made me feel uneasy... if you see it you will understand..lol
- CHARLES MARSH JR on Google
Jul 03, 2019
A lovely campground, and the location is very convenient. Not far from the Hot Pools, and a short walk through Lava to check out the cute shops they have in town. This is a nice place to get away, we will be back later this summer!!
- Teresa T on Trip Advisor