Lava Hot Springs KOA Reviews

Lodging Reviews

Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed at this campground for many years. The beautiful setting as well as the annual improvements to the campground keep us coming back. We stayed in a cabin this year and loved it. The staff is very helpfuly, friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The owners are very nice people who understand what it takes to work with a public. Thank you for awesome stay. We will return. -CONRNME

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Very kind of you to take the time for this thoughtful review. We appreciate it, and glad to hear you enjoyed the cabin as well as the campground. We are starting this month with more construction and updates to the campground.
Oct 29, 2019
Very nice cabin and location with a river just beyond the back door. Within easy walking distance to the big warm springs. Would have been much nicer stay if the weather had been warm (snowed in late October). A bit expensive for the off season (if there is one) but still worth it. Thanks!
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
The cabin we stayed in was right next to the highway which had a patch on a sinkhole. The patch on the sinkhole was poorly fixed. Every passing heavy truck shook the cabin violently. When I checked out, I tried to tell the lady at the cash register but she did listen to me. That was the worst experience at any hotel, motel or campsite that I have stayed at in my life. Before I leave a google
Oct 17, 2019
Beautiful and very peaceful. I will be back
Oct 15, 2019
Great location; very close to town and gorgeous views of the river. I splurged on a cabin that had a toilet and shower in it (because we had 2 babies with us) but the shower only had cold water. Wasn't worth the extra money at the end of the day. Additionally, it would really help if you listed what the cabin has (details -- like pots, pans, utensils, etc) in the description.
Oct 07, 2019
The managers were great about answering questions before our stay. They were very kind to work with us on a late arrival. The cabin was very clean and well cared for. Could not have asked for anything more. Thanks !
Oct 06, 2019
The cabin was great and cozy. It would have been perfect if it wasnt right next to the highway. We had a hard time sleeping with semis driving by and rattling the whole cabin and using their engine brakes. Won't stay there again for that reason.
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Great cabin, perfect stay. Please install ceiling fans in the cabins so we can push so of the warmer air up at the ceiling down to the ground.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 28, 2019
Fantastic as usual
Sep 10, 2019
The large cabin was very clean and spacious and we enjoyed the deck and river that was close by. I would definetly stay here again. Thank you.
Sep 09, 2019
It was great. Road noise and train noise was a surprise, but we didnt stay in out cabin much anyways, and it's just the way the canyon is put together. I wish there was a dog yard in the middle instead of just on the one end.
Sep 09, 2019
We come to lava hot springs at least once a year. We will definitely switch to staying at your place. We were later in the season this year, it was a little cold. We will see you next summer.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
Shower broke the last day, maintenance people in and out. No shower usage.
Aug 27, 2019
Great cabins
Aug 26, 2019
Loved it! Too bad it was so expensive or we would have stayed a week!
Aug 26, 2019
Staff was really nice and friendly and the cabin was very accommodating and clean
Aug 15, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
Our first visit to Lava! We stayed in cabin D1 (family of 5) and it was fantastic. Town was a short walk, the back deck was perfect with the seating, grill & propane fire as well as a great view of the portneuf river. After reading reviews, I was concerned about traffic/train noise and it wasnt bad at all. Will stay again with KOA.
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Jul 31, 2019
One of our all time favorite campgrounds! Clean, well maintained, courteous staff!
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
Jul 28, 2019
it is a great place. However the train and road noise is a little annoying at night.
Jul 27, 2019
A friend was in her RV at your KoA and suggested a cabin when our other accommodations fell thru. Wow, what a nice surprise! The Deluxe Cabin was wonderful! We spent many good times at KoAs during our 18 years of full-time RV living, but did not think of it now that we no longer travel in our motorhome. We will definitely do this again! Thank you for a terrific experience.
Jul 23, 2019
Very peaceful just what we wanted
Jul 16, 2019
We had a blast at the cabins. Great location to the river. Very clean. Friendly staff at the office. We will definitely stay here again!
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Very Super Spot..Love all The Shade ..And Our Cabin was Perfect .
Jul 14, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
I love the deluxe cabins and the beautiful views with the noise of the river and the train that passes by.. love love this place �ϋ�
Jul 08, 2019
We had a trailer site and we were in a accident with our trailer. We still came to koa and they accommodated us after the tragic news by putting us in a cabin. Thank you to all the caring staff
Jul 07, 2019
Been there a few times and love it
Jul 05, 2019
It’s over priced for what you get. $277 for a deluxe cabin. That was a check in at 3pm Check out next morning at 11am. Not even a full 24 hours for that price. I requested and was told in an email that we could have an extra late check out at 2pm. When we arrived, staff said they decided 2 days prior that there would be no more late check outs. Email should have been honored. Not worth the money
Jun 30, 2019
Jun 28, 2019
Jun 28, 2019
We love the cabins! Very clean and nice.
Jun 28, 2019
The staff is very very friendly and helpful. It's just a touch pricey but we keep coming back.
Jun 26, 2019
Jun 23, 2019
Beautiful and clean place
Jun 18, 2019
awesome as usual. Thanks
Jun 17, 2019
Front desk was awesome and so were the accommodations.
Jun 16, 2019
Had a nice time. The cabins were nice and cozy. I would definitely stay again. I've had good luck with koa campgrounds in my camping experiences. Thank you. Dave
Jun 11, 2019
Jun 10, 2019
We had stayed before but this time the stay had a few problems the fold out was broken. We had trouble with our grill the first night and they sent a young man over to fix it to no avail there was not enough silverware. For 200 bucks plus a night you don’t expect these issues.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear about these issues. We will definitely get them resolved.
Nov 11, 2019
Such a fun place to rent tubes and float the river, swim and dive in the huge pool or relax in one of their 5 hot pools.
- Marsha Kimberlin on Google
Nov 07, 2019
management really takes it serious when creating an amazing it environment. So many improvements in the last few years. I love to hear the train from the Thunder Mountain railroad rumble past. I love the river. In the summer of the trees provide amazing shade. Staff is always very helpful and friendly. I have been camping at this KOA for the last two decades. If you don't have it RV, the cabins are very affordable and comfortable.
- Conrnme on Trip Advisor
Oct 28, 2019
Awesome people
- Aida Kraja on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.