Boone KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 19, 2019
Everything was fine except that I have a 35ft. Tt It was very hard to maneuver out. Had to backup through 2 spaces behind me in order to get out. The trees make it very hard.
Sep 19, 2019
Beautiful views,extremely cramped and extremely expensive. We headed that way, unsure of what hurricane dorian would do in our area, while thankfully they were able to accommodate our family, I wish they had better weekly rates.
Sep 18, 2019
Unique
It is always awesome! This is my 4th stay in just over 2 years and I tell everyone I can about the campground. The price is a bit steep unless there’s a buy one get one night. I’ve found some air bnb and vrbos that are about the same or not much more than the cabin that is $89 so I may explore some of those but I truly love the campground!
Sep 18, 2019
The site was very tight and we had a hard time getting in and out. We also had a hard time getting level. A permanent resident was next to our site who was very protective of her space and made it very difficult for us to enjoy our stay. The staff were friendly.
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
very quiet and clean
Sep 16, 2019
EVERYTHING WAS GREAT THANKS FOR THE HELP WITH YHE TRAILER
Sep 16, 2019
Spaces were a little tight but that is expected. My kids enjoyed all that was on hand for them to do. The staff was awesome and very helpful. Will definitely stay again.
Sep 16, 2019
Boone KOA is a friendly campground with plenty of activities to keep your family engaged. Located near Todd, NC, and just minutes from the campus of Appalachian State University, Boone KOA is a nice retreat from the hustle-bustle nature of the very popular college town. Feed the goats, play on the merry-go-round, read a book, or borrow a movie. Staff was nice, and the sites are sufficient.
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice place, lots of stuff for kids to do. But really tight getting in with RV. And no tv, internet is a hit or miss. People in the office was very nice and helpful
Sep 16, 2019
Nice campground. Maintenance could be better. Never see staff anywhere but the office. Sites are unlevel and tight. Help with getting onto the sites would be welcome.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Everything went well, and personnel were very acomidating
Sep 16, 2019
Our space was very small and we couldn't open our awning all the way but it was a good campground.
Sep 16, 2019
Didn't stay whole trip. Left early on Saturday. Had the worse spot in park, no cable, no internet. Could only get 1 bar of wifi and that's when it would come up. Roots from a big tree is what I had to park on with my camper. Was sandwiched in between a big tree and some little ones. The big tree blocked my whole window. Thought I was getting cable since I picked full hook up 30/50amp spot.
Sep 16, 2019
Overall nice! It was gross to find dog poop under our tent from a previous person, though.
Sep 16, 2019
Nice cabin, very nice staff, no problems at all with anything!
Sep 16, 2019
Came to visit my daughter at App state for the weekend. We had a blast at the campground. Staff, site and facilities were excellent.
Sep 16, 2019
The campground is beautiful and close enough to town to enjoy both nature and some commercialism and restaurants.
Sep 15, 2019
Always a great stay, clean bathrooms, and great location.
Sep 15, 2019
Lovely site and friendly. Clean and good water pressure.
Sep 15, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
It was a darling campground. We are seniors and met many nice people and we look forward to staying there again. It’s shaded and doesn’t seem cramped. We loved that it was very pet and kid friendly and will book something there next summer with the grandkids for sure. It is a hidden gem and we loved the cows that were roaming next to the campground. Extremely nice staff too!!
Sep 13, 2019
Unique
Accommodations were good. Not much to do in the area as we were traveling with dogs. Would be a good place to go again in Fall but they close end of October. Don’t think we’ll make it this year. Thanks
Sep 13, 2019
The owner and staff were super friendly and very helpful
Sep 13, 2019
Plenty of shade, but the sites are built on a hillside, so are not level. They gave us the worst, H10, which is not only slanted from left to right, but head to tail. Moreover, the sewer connection at this site is higher than my sewer output, so draining is problematic at best. After a miserable night I asked to be moved to H07, and they gladly accommodated me. Bring plenty of leveling equipment.
Sep 12, 2019
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will start here again for sure.
Sep 12, 2019
Loved the surrounding thins to do. Hiking trails, Blue Ridge Parkway, downtown Boone and Blowing Rock. The staff was super nice and will be returning soon.
Sep 12, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Sep 11, 2019
Unique
Stayed for a week in Cabin 22. We thought we had reserved 23, but that didn't work out. Very relaxed atmosphere in the camp, even when it started filling up with people escaping Hurricane Dorian! We needed a week of rest and we got it! We will return ( for Cabin 23) ! Thank you.
Sep 10, 2019
Site K14 was definitely not the best, awkward positioning and right on top of a cabin. They should abandon this site and let it be a road.
Sep 10, 2019
I travel all over the Us I would say this is the worst Camp Ground have stayed at in a long time, The road getting to this is terrible. The Campground has no Cable, The Campground claims to have Wi-Fi but it only works half the time, the more people on it the worse it gets. Also the smell of goat and donkey poop was awful, My wife was so upset we left a day early.
Sep 10, 2019
Road a little rough for bigger rig and sites close together.
Sep 10, 2019
Awesome staff & friendliness that they show as well as trying to always be helpful to accommodate your requests.
Sep 10, 2019
We went to Boone KOA to escape Hurricane Dorian. This was our first camping trip in our new camper. We had an awesome time.
Sep 09, 2019
We had the most relaxing weekend ever! The staff is great at the Boone KOA. We have already reserved 5 spots for us and our friends for next 4th of July. Keep up the great customer service - it's truly appreciated. We always recommend the Boone KOA when people asked where to camp around our area.
Sep 09, 2019
In transition moving from eastern part of the state to western North Carolina. Stayed in Boone for the weekend to see the game. Close proximity to campus, clean bathrooms, and ample space to walk. Campsites are kind of close to one another but not terrible.
Sep 09, 2019
Easy check in, very friendly, nice sites, level, had a nice time.
Sep 09, 2019
We had some trouble getting level on the site. Also, our site did not have a fire ring.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Great people and clean place. Sites are a hit or miss. We switch 2 times to get a site we fit and the sewer line would reach. Getting to the campground is also sketchy. At night no good signs showing the way.
Sep 08, 2019
Staff was very accommodating to us when we asked to switch our site because we couldn’t get our RV level. We didn’t realize how high this campground was!
Sep 08, 2019
The main reason we stayed at the Boone KOA was because of hurricane Dorian. What we found was that the campground is a true gem. Quiet in the evenings and plenty of things to do in the day. It is a short distance from Blowing rock, Grandfathers mountain and other great attractions. I would recommend staying here.
Sep 06, 2019
It was very tight, spaces are small and very close. There was no trash cans anywhere without the grounds, you had to take all your trash all the way to there dumpster. Am long hike, not a good thing at all.
Sep 05, 2019
Would be nice to have the street light above tent sites 1 and 2 removed or moved. It was like sleeping in the daytime.
Sep 04, 2019
Unique
Sep 04, 2019
Another great weekend at Boone KOA! Thanks
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
The cabin we stayed at was clean and cozy. I love that our cabin porch had a porch swing. I noticed some cabins don’t. We lucked out. They should think about adding swings to all cabins. Bathrooms were clean. The staff are super friendly.
Sep 19, 2019
Nice place good facilities
- Ed Kozak on Google
Sep 16, 2019
Great location to serve as a hub for all Boone has to do. Kids enjoyed the amenities and were kept busy. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Will definitely stay again.
- Casey Vauthier on Google
Sep 15, 2019
This KOA campground is very well kept. We went to share a form of reunion with family members who live too far apart for ongoing visitations. It was a wonderful time and if I could have stayed on my own 2 feet it would have been even better!!! It was clean, organized and all-around just perfect to relax with family.
- Trudy Goodman on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.