Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2017
We really liked this campground. A bit far off I-90 but couldn't ask for a more beautiful drive! The sites were shady which really helped keep our rig cooler. It was easy to get into the park and other areas of interest.
Aug 28, 2017
Nice site- friendly staff
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Such a surprising oasis so close to the Badlands. A little off the beaten path but worth the drive.
Aug 28, 2017
No cellular service, so we really needed the wifi, which was pretty much useless (typical for KOA, so not a surprise). After spending 15 minutes searching my site for the cable TV connector I was finally told the site didn't actually have cable (surprise!). Still, we thought we might want to stay a third night, and were told we could. It took a lot of wasted time to find we actually couldn't.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
We arrived very late at the grounds on Aug.15 . Since ck in was already closed they have a very nice ck in box set up so you just find your paper work that tells you where to go. We rented one of the cabins for 10 days. When we found the cabin the air was on so the cabin was cooled off for us. We just could not get over how clean and nice every thing was set up in the cabin. Host were very nice.
Aug 27, 2017
Enjoyed everything.
Aug 27, 2017
cabin was perfect, good amount of space between sites, cook shack was a great option.
Aug 27, 2017
Kids had fun in the pool and playing mini golf
Aug 27, 2017
This was my 3rd stay in the past 4 years and it was fantastic as always!
Aug 27, 2017
Bathroom/showers were clean, but inadequate # for men or women. Personnel were polite, but impersonal, no sense of trying to welcome us. Surprised to find that there were "extra charges." 2 adults, 1 child, 1 small tent cost $18 extra over cost of "double wide" site, which was really a "bare bones" site, with minimal extra room. We only had 1 vehicle & 1 small pop-up camper. Disappointing.
Aug 27, 2017
Utilitiy hookup was on opposite side of camper utilities. Food service was okay.
Aug 27, 2017
Have stayed in this campground several years ago, it is much improved. Loved every part of it.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Nice and clean KOA. Basic amenities.
Aug 26, 2017
The campgrounds are very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had great time.
Aug 26, 2017
Very clean and neat very friendly workers camp sites were level and large very clean wash rooms would stay here again thank you.
Aug 25, 2017
Great place, very friendly, loved the easy after hours checkin.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
A well run campground. My criticism is the crazy amount of flies were unbearable and the deluxe sites are nice that they have a sink, but the wedge shape limits space especially if you're more than two people.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Indian taco was good
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Facilities were great; cook shack for easy breakfast, small playground, and pool. Stayed in a deluxe cabin that was beyond wonderful. Super clean and looked brand new. Can't beat the location - minutes from Badlands entrance and also close to a gas station and small restaurant. This is a gem of a place! Hope to go back!
Aug 24, 2017
A very helpful and a very clean Campground
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We reserved a full hookup site large enough for a 31 ft M/H and 19 ft trailer w/ a jeep on it. Advised we would be driving the jeep and wanted to keep the trailer attached to the M/H due to the difficulty removing it. Was advised that could be done. When we got there after a 12 hr. drive, that wasn't available, Also couldn't hookup to the sewer located at the back of the lot. Was very upset ! .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are enhancing our training to be sure our staff writes notes about specifics our guests convey by phone. We are sorry your sewer was not accessible without unhooking. Please call us more than 90 minutes in advance for a campsite more suited to your needs. It was the only one we had that you would fit onto when you called.
Aug 23, 2017
Wifi was terrible. Absolutely terrible. Love all of the trees and the shade. Pool was good. Restrooms are lacking. There aren't enough shower and toilet stalls to begin with, and when we stayed some were out of order.
Aug 23, 2017
Very good
Aug 23, 2017
It was great. Loved the location and I have never seen such clean restrooms for a campground. Would definitely stay there again if we are ever back that way...
Aug 23, 2017
Staff very friendly and courteous. All facilities were clean and comfortable. Great pulled pork sandwich at the outside cafe.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Very nice sites. We came in the middle of the night and were easily able to get a spot last minute.
Aug 23, 2017
There was poop spread all over the men's garbage can. We reserved a private tent spot and was given one under a light next to several other campers, there were areas of the park that had no one and would have been better. The women's bathroom only had two working toilets. Overall one of the worst campgrounds I've stayed at and I have stayed at over 50. Thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for this mess. This is the first time anyone told us about it. Housekeeping discovered it when cleaning commenced at the bath house at noon. We are very sad that no guest reported this after the event happened. We will try to check the bath house every hour from now on, instead of first thing and then when we clean at noon. Your deluxe site does have neighbors. Request remote.
Aug 22, 2017
Lots of shade trees (which is a real feature for this part of the country), excellent campground hosts, comfortable sites.
Aug 22, 2017
Friendly staff, respectful neighbors, but the site could use paved roads. I am used to one direction routes through a campground, but the roads were poorly visible at night and I was confused where the road was. Aside from that, everything worked out well.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Been there for over 10 years great place!
Aug 22, 2017
Reception was friendly, efficient and cannot be improved. This KOA is a gem. I will stay again when nearby
Aug 22, 2017
Staff is very friendly. Bob's food was awesome and reasonable. Love that Indian motorcycle!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. Park and restrooms clean clean clean !! Sites level and plenty of room. Would definitely come back !!
Aug 21, 2017
Shade can be hard to find in the Badlands, many nice and shady sites at this park. Nice pool, very friendly staff, camp store had all the items needed and at fair prices. Five star park for sure!
Aug 21, 2017
Great staff continually asking us during our 2 day stay if they were meeting our expectations. They did!
Aug 21, 2017
Stayed at the Badlands KOA 2 nights. Everything was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful upon arrival. The amenities were more than expected. After hiking the badlands it was nice to have the pool there that the whole family enjoyed using. The grounds and restrooms were well maintained and clean. If we make it back to the Badlands, we will definitely be staying here again!
Aug 21, 2017
People at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They escorted us to our site. There was no cell service, and we were warned that their internet would probably become slow since the campground was full that night. We were surprised and happy that it was more than adequate for our use. Hookups all woked well with good water pressure, too.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award